Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Stolen silver Suzuki Jimny, Dublin

• 20-03-2021 12:12am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53 ✭✭

My little car was stolen this morning from Glasnevin area...a silver Suzuki Jimny with a body lift....if anyone spots it...drop me a PM or contact Finglas Garda Station

Image added by mod

jimny1.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,088 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

Reg? any pictures of it? Anything unique? (dent, scratches etc)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,686 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

Will keep an eye out for it, what year, original alloys or after market? Anything out of the ordinary on it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53 ✭✭Jemm

Sorry, couldn't upload the pic on my phone. I've attached two now, thanks for your reply. It has a raised body, gold on the wheels, Japanese import and reg is 05WH8393. It was modified before import, it's the only one in Ireland at the minute. Also automatic rather than manual

M

Fairly unique, never seen one with wheel arches like that, will keep an eye out in north Dublin. Likely to be parked up somewhere. Hope you get it back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53 ✭✭Jemm

Thanks guys! Any leads would be appreciated. I only imported it a few months ago so raging it has been taken.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

One image added to OP

Sorry for your trouble OP- most definitely will keep an eye out

• Closed Accounts Posts: 992 ✭✭✭Bikerman2019

That should be easy to spot if it appears on the street. Hopefully it will.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,676 ✭✭✭strandroad

Get onto local social media ASAP and offer a reward so that people will actually make an effort to find it. Engage local teens and their social circles if you know any. It was probably taken for joyriding and will end up burned out in a field somewhere. Some scrotes' Friday or Saturday night entertainment.

strandroad wrote: »
    Get onto local social media ASAP and offer a reward so that people will actually make an effort to find it. Engage local teens and their social circles if you know any. It was probably taken for joyriding and will end up burned out in a field somewhere. Some scrotes' Friday or Saturday night entertainment.

I was thinking more like to be shipped abroad in a crate with other stolen vehicles to be sold

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,250 ✭✭✭Andrewf20

We had an old car stolen in 2012. It was found abandoned a few miles away a few days later in good shape. Best of luck with the search.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 808 ✭✭✭FrankC21

Just a question? How they did manage to steal it, can they hot wire it? Tow truck?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 276 ✭✭mookishboy

I saw a video unfortunately of a jimny being joy ridden to day in Tallaght. will try yo link it if possible. i can whats app it to you to see. pm me your number

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Crap, I just got that video too :(

Scum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,644 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

Is it on YouTube?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,298 ✭✭✭Lewis_Benson

Sorry to hear OP,
    Hope you get it back.

M

More and more with crime I believe the solution is outside the justice system for career criminals.

Needs to be more heavy handed, but the PC Brigade will not like it.

colm_mcm wrote: »
    Crap, I just got that video too :(

Scum.

Was it the OPs?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 481 ✭✭RobertM

_Kaiser_ wrote: »
    Was it the OPs?

Seen the video as well. Looks like it was the OP's. Real shame

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Was it the OPs?

Sadly yes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,724 ✭✭✭Dilbert75

That's lousy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 767 ✭✭✭dontmindme

I haven't seen the video but has anyone passed it on to the guards?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,782 ✭✭✭dmc17

dontmindme wrote: »
    I haven't seen the video but has anyone passed it on to the guards?

I think the guards are in the video. Link is here. Think it's the same one. Shower of scumbags. What will these people ever contribute to society?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,984 ✭✭✭✭kippy

dmc17 wrote: »
    I think the guards are in the video. Link is here. Think it's the same one. Shower of scumbags. What will these people ever contribute to society?

Feck all. A few weeks on the bog or picking winkles might soften their coughs a bit.
    So sorry for this OP.
    Yet another time an insurance policy cannot replace what you lost.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,964 ✭✭✭Kopparberg Strawberry and Lime

Just watched the video. F me they really rule the city now by the looks of it. Running away from gardai, complete disrespect etc etc.

That fffing clown should've been shot down from that roof and all the other clowns dealt with the hard way. Unfortunately the gardai are a laughing stock to this pricks.

Mayor of New York did it years ago where he gave the cops the resources they needed and also gave them a "free pass' as such , to go out and clean up the place. And by god they did it. I would pay to see something like that happen in Dublin. It really is such a **** hole and it's blood boiling.

As for the OP , very sorry for your car, even if you do get it back, is after being treated like that, Who knows damage etc. Unfortunately again it's another one of those you can't have nice things in ireland. Pricks

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,630 ✭✭✭✭antodeco

Ah Jesus OP. Heart breaking seeing that video. Assuming it's yours. Can't have anything nice in this world. If you've had the car for a while it becomes like part of the family. Absolutely ****ty thing to see happen.

In that video linked above, does anyone know which park at the end that was and when?

Absolutely lost for words after looking at this! :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 715 ✭✭✭Stihl waters

Dirty knackers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 808 ✭✭✭FrankC21

Feel sorry for you OP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,599 ✭✭✭newmember2

antodeco wrote: »

In that video linked above, does anyone know which park at the end that was and when?

Looks like Brickfield

https://www.google.com/maps/@53.3330433,-6.3112686,3a,75y,71.99h,68.07t/data=!3m6!1e1!3m4!1sFJX6wBzytbeEmAAObLby2w!2e0!7i16384!8i8192

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,078 ✭✭✭Vic_08

kippy wrote: »
    Yet another time an insurance policy cannot replace what you lost.

Rest assured the insurance company will do their level best to pay the OP as little as they can possibly get away with.

5 figure settlements for laughable personal injury claims; of course.
    Less than the annual premium for a policy holder whose car has been trashed by scumbags; sure it's over 10 years old, you should be thankful they were so generous to insure it at all, you'll get SFA.

Car insurance policies in Ireland aren't actual insurance policies for the policyholder's benefit, they are a protection racket on behalf of the Irish legal profession and their scumbag clients; the parents of the dregs in that video.

Just watched the video. F me they really rule the city now by the looks of it. Running away from gardai, complete disrespect etc etc.

That fffing clown should've been shot down from that roof and all the other clowns dealt with the hard way. Unfortunately the gardai are a laughing stock to this pricks.

Mayor of New York did it years ago where he gave the cops the resources they needed and also gave them a "free pass' as such , to go out and clean up the place. And by god they did it. I would pay to see something like that happen in Dublin. It really is such a **** hole and it's blood boiling.

As for the OP , very sorry for your car, even if you do get it back, is after being treated like that, Who knows damage etc. Unfortunately again it's another one of those you can't have nice things in ireland. Pricks

Exactly, give the ARU something to do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,519 ✭✭✭TrailerBob

That is disgusting in the true sense of the word. So many levels of anger... the OP's Jimny is likely destroyed, those little feral children climbing on roofs and laughing at the Gardai, and then the crowds of onlookers who have nothing else to be doing but running around to see whats going on (with no masks or distancing by the looks of it either) so they can video it and probably have a go at the Gards for harassment.. I am so angry at this. I feel so hurt for the owner as I can imagine how I would feel if it were mine.

Now don't get me wrong, human rights are important and need protecting for the vulnerable, but there is too much protection for lawless rats like this.

So angry....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,680 ✭✭✭mondeo

Grew up watching joy riders in Tallaght, seems it hasn't changed much since I ran a mile from it.

TrailerBob wrote: »
    That is disgusting in the true sense of the word. So many levels of anger... the OP's Jimny is likely destroyed, those little feral children climbing on roofs and laughing at the Gardai, and then the crowds of onlookers who have nothing else to be doing but running around to see whats going on (with no masks or distancing by the looks of it either) so they can video it and probably have a go at the Gards for harassment.. I am so angry at this. I feel so hurt for the owner as I can imagine how I would feel if it were mine.

Now don't get me wrong, human rights are important and need protecting for the vulnerable, but there is too much protection for lawless rats like this.

So angry....

Those feral scum shouldn't have any rights for the way they behave.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,484 ✭✭✭Peintre Celebre

Cut off these scumbags dole and get them out of their council houses. Suppose there'd be uproar from the friends of the scum Paul Murphy, Boyd Barrett prick or the waster loving Hazel Chu.

Don't you know well, "ah leave them alone, they have nothing else do to"

Put them out in fields picking stones.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,926 ✭✭✭Grab All Association

Scum of the earth. I’m sorry OP. I know everyone will rightfully condemn the scumbags here, but the ones to share the most blame are the County Council and An Garda Síochána. Scumbags are only scumbags because they let their grandparents become scumbags. We really don’t have a police force in this country, we have glorified traffic wardens in cheap Hyundai’s. I hope someone sets up a GoFund me for the OP and try to raise money to buy her a Jimny because insurance aren’t going to cover this. Makes me sick to my stomach.

Hard to disagree with this. Plenty of Twitter posts about stopping people on motorways, or for no tax/NCT which don't get me wrong, are indeed offences too - but when you see the lawlessness and contempt for the Gardai in that video, you have to ask is it the best use of resources or are they going after low-hanging fruit?

Automate the former and get those lads out of the traffic cars and onto the streets of places like Tallaght, Darndale and elsewhere.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Automate the former and get those lads out of the traffic cars and onto the streets of places like Tallaght, Darndale and elsewhere.
    And bugger all will happen K, until the so called "judges" in this country hand down appropriate sentences and our so called public representatives insist they do and give them the back up to do it. The Guards well know that even if they catch them in the act, almost nothing will happen to them. The criminals know this and they'll laugh at the Guards on the court steps.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 767 ✭✭✭dontmindme

mondeo wrote: »
    Grew up watching joy riders in Tallaght, seems it hasn't changed much since I ran a mile from it.

This footage is Drimnagh not Tallaght.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,348 ✭✭✭GhostyMcGhost

I’d happy contribute something.... with the insurance money too, while it won’t bring you back your car OP I really hope you manage to pick up something nice in the end

Yea the insurance will offer buttons and deem it uneconomical to repair (it looks like it got a fair whack in even the few seconds of that video) so she'll need to replace unfortunately :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,812 ✭✭✭mailforkev

If it's any consolation, these lads live miserable existences and will never contribute anything to the world. They will probably also be gone well before the average man due to their poor life choices, and the planet will be better for it.

I'm a bit of a Guardian reading liberal leftie but I'd be in favour of the coming down like a ton-of-bricks approach to crimes like this (joyriding/burglary/general ASBO stuff).

The Gardaí really need the resources and policies to sort these dirtbags out. Allowing a scummer to stand a few feet away from a Garda while taunting him is not something that society tolerates elsewhere. Prison space increase too.

The legal roundabout/gravy train needs serious review too, perpetually keeping scummers on the street can not be allowed to financially benefit certain people while wrecking society.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,484 ✭✭✭Peintre Celebre

Not sure on what planet the gardai are to blame for these morons behaviour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,679 ✭✭✭MAJJ

Wibbs wrote: »
    And bugger all will happen K, until the so called "judges" in this country hand down appropriate sentences and our so called public representatives insist they do and give them the back up to do it. The Guards well know that even if they catch them in the act, almost nothing will happen to them. The criminals know this and they'll laugh at the Guards on the court steps.

I could not agree more.
    In most areas of life there is a consequence for our behaviour.
    What we are seeing is tolerance of generations of anti social behaviour.
    How demoralising must it be to be a Guard dealing with someone when they both know the system is rigged in the favour of the lawbreaker.
    This lack of consequence emboldens the lawbreaker.
    It's up to all of us to make this an issue for our politicians as this will take years to unravel. I have profound sympathy for the decent people trapped in these communities, they can't exactly sell up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,926 ✭✭✭Grab All Association

Not sure on what planet the gardai are to blame for these morons behaviour.

Trying not to go off topic

People have short memories in this country. During the 1980s the police force in this country started becoming lazy. Heroin and other heavy drugs started arriving and was sold on every corner of Dublin. Gangs formed in these council estates The state, county councils and AGS let this happen. It certainly wasn’t me or you.

Broken Ireland started to emerge back then. It’s not a recent thing. Have the most kids to get a council house and benefits, don’t care for these kids and let them ramble around stealing from and intimidating hard working decent people until they have their own crotch goblins and the circle continues. Not benefits bashing because these people take benefits that could be used to help people who genuinely need them. The vast majority are law abiding decent citizens.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,370 ✭✭✭Homer

Presume people have seen the video doing the rounds on WhatsApp of that jeep being ruined by joyriders unfortunately.. scumbags

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,555 ✭✭✭SuperSean11

Nope, why would someone send me that