Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Warranty cover for brakes?

• 13-03-2021 5:15pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,503 ✭✭✭✭

silly question perhaps but would brakes be covered under a twelve month engine and transmission warranty ?

the brakes failed on my brothers four year old landcruiser last week , he had noticed a slight grinding noise when stopping on occasion for about two weeks before hand , it was occasionally noticable more than a constant feature , his mechanic told him he was surprised the garage who sold it had not put in new pads before selling it , brother has run up around thirteen thousand KM since buying it last summer

mechanic said the brake fluid completely emptied on it and ruined callipers and all

i suspect something like that is not covered under warranty , brother lives a bit far from the garage he bought it from so just went to his own mechanic , thats obviously his fault if its the case warranty would cover a brakes failure like that but im curious myself about it anyway

Brakes would be wear and tear items like tyres and even the clutch

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,519 ✭✭✭TrailerBob

Regardless of whether or not the garage put new pads in, they are a wear & tear item. I'm interested to know how the calipers are damaged as a result though? Discs i could understand as steel on steel would munch them. There would want to be a catastrophic system failure for Toyota to stand over it, eg, a design flaw in the master cylinder or something

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭OldmanMondeo

TrailerBob wrote: »
    Regardless of whether or not the garage put new pads in, they are a wear & tear item. I'm interested to know how the calipers are damaged as a result though? Discs i could understand as steel on steel would munch them. There would want to be a catastrophic system failure for Toyota to stand over it, eg, a design flaw in the master cylinder or something

The heat generated from the pads on the steel transferred to the caliper would damage the seals, probably why the brake fluid was also gone. Landcruiser calipers tend to fail quite a lot, second only to VAG calipers.

OP, Might have been plenty of friction material on the pads when sold, driving style could have worn them down and also might have been a cheap brand fitted by previous owner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,585 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

Mad_maxx wrote: »
    silly question perhaps but would brakes be covered under a twelve month engine and transmission warranty ?

the brakes failed on my brothers four year old landcruiser last week , he had noticed a slight grinding noise when stopping on occasion for about two weeks before hand , it was occasionally noticable more than a constant feature , his mechanic told him he was surprised the garage who sold it had not put in new pads before selling it , brother has run up around thirteen thousand KM since buying it last summer

mechanic said the brake fluid completely emptied on it and ruined callipers and all

i suspect something like that is not covered under warranty , brother lives a bit far from the garage he bought it from so just went to his own mechanic , thats obviously his fault if its the case warranty would cover a brakes failure like that but im curious myself about it anyway

Why on earth would the seller have changed the pads if there had still been 13k worth of wear left on them?

Brakes are absolutely not a warranty item, they are a wearable item and that wear is significantly influenced by the driver.

A better question would be why somebody drives on for weeks after hearing a grinding noise from their brakes...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,503 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

TrailerBob wrote: »

that could be a misquote on my part , he referred to the callipers during the conversation but perhaps the brake fluid completely emptying and spilling everywhere just involved the discs ?

only spoke to him today , he told me the slip indicator icon came on the dash last week and a beeping noise came on and all of a sudden he had almost no braking ability , he managed to get it to his mechanic but was crawling along

his mechanic bollicked him for not coming to him as soon as he started hearing the " grinding " noises when stopping

anyway , he himself didnt think it was covered under a warranty on a dealership warranty but i just wanted to ask myself

The heat generated from the pads on the steel transferred to the caliper would damage the seals, probably why the brake fluid was also gone. Landcruiser calipers tend to fail quite a lot, second only to VAG calipers.

OP, Might have been plenty of friction material on the pads when sold, driving style could have worn them down and also might have been a cheap brand fitted by previous owner.

i think you have it right , so a dealership warranty would not cover this ?

would need " bumper to bumper " like on a brand new car ?

toyota warranty is only three years on landcruisers , he bought it as a three and a half year old

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,721 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

This is a clear cut case of a driver damaging their own car by ignoring obvious warning signs.

The brakes did not fail, your brother failed to maintain his vehicle, as a result he has damaged it and that falls solely on him. You would be laughed out the door if you go asking for warranty.
    It would have been much cheaper to fix the problem when it arose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,685 ✭✭✭✭wonski

Yep. No warranty issue.

And sure lesson learned that grinding noise from brakes means change pads now.

Why on earth would the seller have changed the pads if there had still been 13k worth of wear left on them?

Brakes are absolutely not a warranty item, they are a wearable item and that wear is significantly influenced by the driver.

A better question would be why somebody drives on for weeks after hearing a grinding noise from their brakes...

i agree with you that ignoring sounds like that is extremely unwise

his mechanic did however say the garage who sold it last summer should have put in new pads , jeep was bought with fifty nine thousand KM on the clock , nearly 73 k on it now

CianRyan wrote: »
    This is a clear cut case of a driver damaging their own car by ignoring obvious warning signs.

The brakes did not fail, your brother failed to maintain his vehicle, as a result he has damaged it and that falls solely on him. You would be laughed out the door if you go asking for warranty.
    It would have been much cheaper to fix the problem when it arose.

agreed , ignore at your peril

thanks folks for all the replies , i was 99% sure it was not a warranty case

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 49 Deseras

When places sell a car they do minimum work
    I presume it passed nct

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,982 ✭✭✭kravmaga

No, its normally engine ,gearbox, battery, exhaust systems (including catalytic converter) parts & labour. 12/24 months respectively.

Brake pads, discs, tyres, wiper blades & any trim items are classified as normal wear and tear of vehicle.

The dealership your brother bought from is not liable for the brakes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,585 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

his mechanic did however say the garage who sold it last summer should have put in new pads , jeep was bought with fifty nine thousand KM on the clock , nearly 73 k on it now

Sure. And maybe they should have repainted it and done the timing belt as well. And replaced all the tyres for the craic.

The pads were clearly fine at the time of sale, evidenced by the fact that they lasted the guts of a full year before finally wearing out. The real problem is the driver who doesn't seem to understand what they are and how they work.

Your mechanic knows this full well, sounds like one of those lads you'll always hear blaming other garages, trying to big himself up by pretending that the other dealer didn't do things that he would have done...

Sure. And maybe they should have repainted it and done the timing belt as well. And replaced all the tyres for the craic.

The pads were clearly fine at the time of sale, evidenced by the fact that they lasted the guts of a full year before finally wearing out. The real problem is the driver who doesn't seem to understand what they are and how they work.

Your mechanic knows this full well, sounds like one of those lads you'll always hear blaming other garages, trying to big himself up by pretending that the other dealer didn't do things that he would have done...

they ( dealership ) did put four new tyres on it but otherwise i agree with you , it was a 45 k jeep , i dont know my brothers mechanic , im just saying what he apparently said ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭Toyotafanboi

they ( dealership ) did put four new tyres on it but otherwise i agree with you , it was a 45 k jeep , i dont know my brothers mechanic , im just saying what he apparently said ?

It's shockingly common for mechanics to "shoulda, woulda, coulda" other peoples work. It's very easy to do so in hindsight and when the other person isn't present.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 472 ✭✭Turbohymac

Hi op on top of his brake pads wearing out..is it possible that he tows a heavy trailer that might have next to no brakes which in turn would be roasting the brakes of the jeep..that landcruiser is very heavy on its own and certainly wouldn't be designed to try to hold back an unbraked trailer as well..

Turbohymac wrote: »
    Hi op on top of his brake pads wearing out..is it possible that he tows a heavy trailer that might have next to no brakes which in turn would be roasting the brakes of the jeep..that landcruiser is very heavy on its own and certainly wouldn't be designed to try to hold back an unbraked trailer as well..

he tows a trailer fairly regularly , yes ( few tonne perhaps once per month )

repair cost was only 380 including labour , he text me a while ago , way he was talking yesterday , he seemed to think he had a hefty bill on the way

It's shockingly common for mechanics to "shoulda, woulda, coulda" other peoples work. It's very easy to do so in hindsight and when the other person isn't present.

on a different note , the same mechanic went off on one about how my brother got the jeep remapped , claimed that "mapping always causes trouble of some kind down the line" , he got the BHP increased from 178 bhp to circa 210 bhp six months ago , was finding it very sluggish

he tows a trailer fairly regularly , yes ( few tonne perhaps once per month )

repair cost was only 380 including labour , he text me a while ago , way he was talking yesterday , he seemed to think he had a hefty bill on the way

That's just a normal brake pads and disks replacement which he would need every few years especially if pulling a trailer. Wear and tear!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,519 ✭✭✭TrailerBob

Doesn't sound like calipers were changed for thst money. I did calipers and discs on the front of mine last August and parts alone were that.

Hi op yes glad that he got sorted out but get him to keep a regular check on that jeep from now on..possibly a quarterly drop in to his mechanic friend will prevent him from burning linings down to steel..
    But while his mechanic came under a lot of negative criticism yesterday ..I would agree that mapping up the power in that jeep will definitely cause problems..
    A friend of mine had a 2018 landcruiser down here and even though he never chipped it. His claim was that the 2.8 engine was not a Toyota bullet proof one like the older 2.5 and 3litre. But was a Nissan engine and they had issues cracking pistons. His one got new pistons under Toyota warranty so I wouldn't be stressing that engine further than what the manufacturers has it set to..
    Yes also there all very dead..the brother here has a very low mileage 161 hilux invincible 3litre 171 bhp. . We have a nugent 12 foot livestock trailer and last year I took a few loads yearling to the mart . Two runs were with my old 07 2litre scudo van pulling the trailer with 2 bad hills on route..van made it on each in second gear and trailer weight 3100kgs. Did last run with the jeep the following week and cattle were lighter on weigh in ..so towing 2900kgs the jeep died in third gear and only struggled on in second. But there the type of beasts those jeeps are. Very low down torque but nothing up higher and also the jeeps on their own are very heavy.. no I wouldn't chip he will have endless ****e with that down the road with fuel and emissions/ dpf etc.
    Tell him to slow down a bit it's not a ferrari..
    Good luck

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Title clarified that this is for brakes.

Hi biko.
    Were simply clarifying another topic relating to the same vehicle that the op also highlighted..and is certainly relevant to why the brakes possibly wore out to the steel back plates..
    Keep your hair on..