Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Calf/lamb dumping

• 12-03-2021 6:47pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,046 ✭✭✭

Ffs, these are the farmers who give the rest a bad name. It's only 15euro a calf, to the knackery, a box of fags.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,201 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Ffs, these are the farmers who give the rest a bad name. It's only 15euro a calf, to the knackery, a box of fags.

Imagine the effort of loading the calf up and then dumping it probably in the dark. I had a lad looking for a calf off me not tagged. I said no.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,370 ✭✭✭893bet

Thought a calf was more than 15 to dispose?

If they are all the same farmer and he has lost 15 calves what else is going on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,294 ✭✭✭homingbird

why didnt he get a jcb to dig a big hole.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 370 ✭✭Stepping Stone

This is depressing:
    https://www.radiokerry.ie/investigation-launched-remains-lambs-dumped-south-kerry-river/

I know of someone through the grapevine in another county that was caught dumping calves in a river. He is not mentally well by all accounts and has form for a good few calves dying every year.

It’s hard to be sympathetic when you look at the lambs in the link above and think about the absolute waste of life and further destruction caused by people who shouldn’t be in charge of caring for a lump of rock, never mind living things.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,037 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

This is depressing:
    https://www.radiokerry.ie/investigation-launched-remains-lambs-dumped-south-kerry-river/

I know of someone through the grapevine in another county that was caught dumping calves in a river. He is not mentally well by all accounts and has form for a good few calves dying every year.

It’s hard to be sympathetic when you look at the lambs in the link above and think about the absolute waste of life and further destruction caused by people who shouldn’t be in charge of caring for a lump of rock, never mind living things.

Just ban them from keeping livestock.
    It's a totally mental breakdown and things getting on top of them and not thinking straight but to let this continue says as much of the authorities as it does the farmer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 370 ✭✭Stepping Stone

Just ban them from keeping livestock.
    It's a totally mental breakdown and things getting on top of them and not thinking straight but to let this continue says as much of the authorities as it does the farmer.

I completely agree! The whole thing is a joke. Ironically, stopping them keeping livestock might help with the mental health in some cases.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,037 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

I completely agree! The whole thing is a joke. Ironically, stopping them keeping livestock might help with the mental health in some cases.

Of course it would.
    In the short term they'd probably think their life has ended and people would be afraid of silly thoughts entering their head. But if they're dumping calves and lambs silly thoughts are there already.
    A farmer I know used to spend their days after sheep breaking out all over the country and cursing the world living under a cloud. Then they set their land. They had money coming in without doing any manual labour and yeaning sheep and wettings cursing the world. It transformed the person. The house was renovated and they lived a second life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,455 ✭✭✭✭Base price

AFAIK the Courts decide if a livestock owner/keeper can keep animals or not. It's not a decision that DAFM can make.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 1,916 Mod ✭✭✭✭Albert Johnson

Base price wrote: »
    AFAIK the Courts decide if a livestock owner/keeper can keep animals or not. It's not a decision that DAFM can make.

Those decisions are rarely enforced afterwards though. I know of several lads that have been banned (some multiple times) from keeping livestock/dogs/horses and there still trading. It takes year's and a catalogue of offenses to get a conviction brought against someone and then it would need to be enforced afterwards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,596 ✭✭✭kerryjack

Some people don't think straight in times of crisis, I wouldn't judge anyone until we see what the full story is hopefully they can be traced and see what's going on. Maybe we should have free dead animal collection.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,883 ✭✭✭Lime Tree Farm

It used to be free if you dropped off the dead calves to the depot yourself. I think the €15-25 charge was brought about 2 yrs ago.

I was talking about this with the vet at testing the other day. She said the department dont engage with the real rooters as it's opening a can of worms.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 604 ✭✭✭TooOldBoots

whelan2 wrote: »
    I was talking about this with the vet at testing the other day. She said the department dont engage with the real rooters as it's opening a can of worms.

That's really unfair on the average Farmer if they won't tackle these messers

That's what I said and she agreed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 363 ✭✭Tig98

I think it would be very hard to justify prohibiting someone from keeping livestock indefinitely.

For most farmers, especially the older ones, its their job, hobby and social outlet. I could genuinely see huge mental distress as a result. They'd be better off fining them and forcing them to complete environmental awareness courses etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2 buddyt1

Seems to be the way with everything.

The people who are top of the pile.
    The people who never make any effort.
    And the squeeze middle who are forced to keep the whole thing going.

Got the bord bia report back recently 60% of the AFIs were completely incorrect as Auditor never asked the questions. 20% were wrong but who am I to argue with them, and the final 20% were correct. Yet if you ring in and appeal nothing is done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 831 ✭✭✭satstheway

€35 For a calf here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,107 ✭✭✭cute geoge

satstheway wrote: »
    €35 For a calf here

The knackers charges for calves are pretty steep ,this does not help the cause considering a cow is E55

The dept raided a farm a few years back that used be late reg. calves .Only a small no. of calves dna matched with the mothers over 100 calves were destroyed

cute geoge wrote: »
    The knackers charges for calves are pretty steep ,this does not help the cause considering a cow is E55

A cow is subsidised if it's over a certain age

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 1,916 Mod ✭✭✭✭Albert Johnson

I think it was anything over 48 month's had to be tested for BSE which was subsidised and therefore reduced the knackery fee.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 49 Deseras

Just get a drone and follow the river find sheep grazing then visit that farm and go through books sheep will only float about a mile

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 4,053 Mod ✭✭✭✭Siamsa Sessions

I’m guessing knackery cost is only part of the issue.

Local farmer here used to take in dead calves years ago as he kept hunt dogs. No cost or paperwork - real back in the day stuff. He told me one neighbour of his used to drop off dead calves in the middle of the night. Same man would then be boasting in the co-op about how he never lost a calf.

Trading as Sullivan’s Farm on YouTube

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,795 ✭✭✭148multi

kerryjack wrote: »
    Some people don't think straight in times of crisis, I wouldn't judge anyone until we see what the full story is hopefully they can be traced and see what's going on. Maybe we should have free dead animal collection.

Would agree with this, seen a case where the dept spent four years trying to sort out and destock a farmer, the i***a were providing fodder on the qt, the day he was convicted it is alleged the ispca made a complaint to the local garda Station. The dept got Reggie's crowd to shoot all the animals and were buried on site.
    Know of two cases were the owner was genuinely unable to take care of the animals, one a suckler herd, nice animals, calves, weanglings, stores untagged, animals were well fed but were all over the place, they just loaded they just sent them all to a factory.
    The other case was a man that was once a great farmer, but went down a wrong road, the circumstances were very bad, dead and dying animals dumped, eventually animals were tested and a relative bought them.
    Will we all know the true story to every case, people are messed up for different reasons and some are just terrible fe***rs.
    There are stories of all the entities with a finger in the animal welfare pie having unclean hands.
    When these things happen it is terrible for the animals and that is the only thing that I am definitely sure of any more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 363 ✭✭Tig98

55 if over 4 years, if under that its 120 or so if memory serves correct

Had a cow die here last year that was ten days off of 4 years old, they said if we wanted to hold onto her for another ten days we could get the lower price. Fairly disgusting...

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,752 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

satstheway wrote: »
    €35 For a calf here

I think there is a case to be made for on farm composting for dead calves and lambs. It's done in Canada why not here? I know foxes would be a problem, but in Canada the heap is wrapped in chicken wire to stop wild animals digging it up.

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

blue5000 wrote: »
    I think there is a case to be made for on farm composting for dead calves and lambs. It's done in Canada why not here? I know foxes would be a problem, but in Canada the heap is wrapped in chicken wire to stop wild animals digging it up.

God that would be a nightmare to regulate, might be ok in Canada with large farms no services and a small population in rural areas.
    Can you imagine the stink that would be created if a few walkers got a quiff, a fox would nearly kango concrete to get to fresh meat.
    What about the likes of foot and mouth, I think the knackery is the only way

Knackery man was telling me before of people complaining about the smell from his lorry. He was saying what can he do if people leave animals for a week before ringing them. Also complaints if there was a leg sticking up out of the lorry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,332 ✭✭✭razor8

Deseras wrote: »
    Just get a drone and follow the river find sheep grazing then visit that farm and go through books sheep will only float about a mile

Aye. What if someone just threw them from the bridge? Coincidence that they all were found in same area

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,181 ✭✭✭Lady Haywire

razor8 wrote: »
    Aye. What if someone just threw them from the bridge? Coincidence that they all were found in same area

Looking at the photos there's one lamb marked with a number in red, it'd make sense to look for sheep & lambs numbered similar first.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,891 ✭✭✭Bullocks

Looking at the photos there's one lamb marked with a number in red, it'd make sense to look for sheep & lambs numbered similar first.

I'd say if anyone really wanted to spend a bit of time they wouldn't be long finding the owner.
    Locally a few farmers would know the handful of people that could do it if nothing else

Bullocks wrote: »
    I'd say if anyone really wanted to spend a bit of time they wouldn't be long finding the owner.
    Locally a few farmers would know the handful of people that could do it if nothing else

how the **** can you prove it unless every suspect farmer sheep are all dna

There just might be a sheep with a tattoo