Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dealer offended by my offer.

• 08-03-2021 2:44pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 808 ✭✭✭

Went to look at a 2012 nissan micra at a local dealer his charging €4000 for it with 160,000km mileage and Nct Feb 2022.

Went and did the check, first thing notice was the disgusting smell of cigarette lingered all over the car, the previous owner must have been a heavy smoker.

Told the man if he will clean the car and changed front tyre he said yes and he will only changed 1 tyre on the front.

*Oil seems on the level, coolant maxed out, don't know if the timing belt was change but saw a tip-ex mark 88 written on the engine bay.

*Pipe coming out of the air filter but it wasn't connected to anything, is that common with the micra?

*Front tyre bad condition.

* Gear stick was pretty loose when you shake it.

*test drove it, engine very responsive and accelerated quick, clutch soft as a pillow, engine was loud, the air filter case was rattling, is that normal?

*the end, i offered him €2,500 for it, he somehow got offended and said that I came down to his garage to give him ridiculous offer, told him what's the best you can give, he said €150 of the asking price but he won't clean and change the tyre. So i said no thanks and left.

cool

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,410 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Same thing happened me once. Saw something I was interested in buying. Seller wanted me to pay a particular price. I wanted to pay a different one. Didn't buy it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,646 ✭✭✭California Dreamer

FrankC21 wrote: »
    i offered him €2,500 for it, he somehow got offended and said that I came down to his garage to give him ridiculous offer,

If you lowballed me with near 40% discount request, I would not be 'offended' but you might be with the choice of words I would use in your direction!:mad::rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,910 ✭✭✭begbysback

That would be a different tactic than what I see mike brewer uses, but surely you could get a better car for 4k

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,318 ✭✭✭Miscreant

I think he was done with you once you made that offer and doesn't want to deal with you any more. This is most likely why he only gave 150 off and won't be fixing the 2 issues.

I had similar recently when looking to change my car. I had a good conversation with a dealer until he asked how much I would be looking for trade in for my current car against one they had in stock. When I told him, his answer was "I'll save you the trip to the garage as I won't be offering anywhere near that" and that was the end of the conversation..... Got me a bit angry TBH and I walked away. I went elsewhere and got within 10% of my desired trade in price!

My advice: Move on to another garage or seller as there are plenty out there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,751 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

If only there were other Micras of a similar vintage for your consideration.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,076 ✭✭✭GustavoFring

If it’s the one it looks like it’s the second cheapest on done deal and the cheapest dealer car. I don’t know what demand for those horrid yokes is like but it that basic little piece of research alone should imply to you that an offer of 40% off might not fly. At that price it’s either priced well or a bit of a dog.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,362 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

Never a dull moment in Frank's world. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,294 ✭✭✭✭banie01

Certainly does the stereotypical view of those who drive Micra's no good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

It happens. Move on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,479 ✭✭✭The Continental Op

The dealer wasn't offended. He just wanted to get rid of you. He knows how much he can get for the car. It may take him another month to sell but even if it does that still works out not much short of €400 a week for very little effort.

I'm not saying the car is worth €4000 but that or very close is what the dealer thinks he can get.

Wake me up when it's all over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 331 ✭✭chalky_ie

Crazy that someone was upset at you offering 60% of the asking price.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 657 ✭✭✭I Am The Law

The dealer wasn't offended. He just wanted to get rid of you. He knows how much he can get for the car. It may take him another month to sell but even if it does that still works out not much short of €400 a week for very little effort.

I'm not saying the car is worth €4000 but that or very close is what the dealer thinks he can get.

The problem is everyone needs to be offering 2500, but there will always be some schmuck throwing the asking at him complete with disgusting smell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,584 ✭✭✭✭Creamy Goodness

engine very responsive and accelerated quick, clutch soft as a pillow, engine was loud

*looks up date, nope April fools day is still 3 weeks away*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,479 ✭✭✭The Continental Op

The problem is everyone needs to be offering 2500, but there will always be some schmuck throwing the asking at him complete with disgusting smell.

Totally agree. I went with my wife to buy her a run around end of last year and she wouldn't even hear of me making an offer :rolleyes:

Wake me up when it's all over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,841 ✭✭✭✭AMKC
    Ms

@OP Be thankful. They are a horrible car. I look the other way whenever I see one on the road or parked. I would not drove one if it was giving to me for free. The Micra before and the Micra after are both far better cars than this 3rd world designed Micra.

How about looking at good cars say a Peugeot 207 or a Renault Clio both far better than that heap of ugly metal you did not get to buy.

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭Toyotafanboi

You have to enter these situations with a bit of cop on.

Offering 2500 for a 4k car from a dealer is silly. Think about it, it probably cost him more than that. He didn't get the car for free and he's looking to make money on it.

You would have been better off in saying you weren't interested in it, that would have been the polite thing to do.

Everyone likes a haggle and the dealer was surely expecting one but ffs.

OP, not sure what's going on in your mind but given that in your other thread below you have 2k max to spend why did you waste time going to look at a 4k car and then get the hump when your offer of 2.5k was refused?

https://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2058166780

That sort of mindset goes on over in adverts.ie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 76 ✭✭Will_I_Regret

You have to enter these situations with a bit of cop on.

Offering 2500 for a 4k car from a dealer is silly. Think about it, it probably cost him more than that. He didn't get the car for free and he's looking to make money on it.

You would have been better off in saying you weren't interested in it, that would have been the polite thing to do.

Everyone likes a haggle and the dealer was surely expecting one but ffs.

I haven't a clue about haggling with cars. I made an offer, just today, of just shy of €1200 under the asking price of a €24k car and the dealer pretty much hung up the phone on me.

Is it only a few hundred that dealers will ever take off?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭Toyotafanboi

It depends on the car itself, how it's priced and about a thousand other factors.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,378 ✭✭✭✭jimmycrackcorm

bazz26 wrote: »
    Never a dull moment in Frank's world. :D

When you troll both online, and a dealer in the real world.
    Kudos.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,598 ✭✭✭kerryjack

Always go to Dublin to buy a car dealers down here would rather them rot in the yard than to do a deal, I bought my last 2 cars off a garage on the old Naas road, no haggling policy but a great price. I think OP was right to offer what he thought car was worth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 491 ✭✭Dirty Nails

Went to look at a 2012 nissan micra at a local dealer his charging €4000 for it with 160,000km mileage and Nct Feb 2022.

Went and did the check, first thing notice was the disgusting smell of cigarette lingered all over the car, the previous owner must have been a heavy smoker.

Told the man if he will clean the car and changed front tyre he said yes and he will only changed 1 tyre on the front.

*Oil seems on the level, coolant maxed out, don't know if the timing belt was change but saw a tip-ex mark 88 written on the engine bay.

*Pipe coming out of the air filter but it wasn't connected to anything, is that common with the micra?

*Front tyre bad condition.

* Gear stick was pretty loose when you shake it.

*test drove it, engine very responsive and accelerated quick, clutch soft as a pillow, engine was loud, the air filter case was rattling, is that normal?

*the end, i offered him €2,500 for it, he somehow got offended and said that I came down to his garage to give him ridiculous offer, told him what's the best you can give, he said €150 of the asking price but he won't clean and change the tyre. So i said no thanks and left.

Best of luck with your bid to win tyre kicker of the year 2021. :)
    Last Micra to have a timing belt was 1992.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 76 ✭✭Will_I_Regret

It depends on the car itself, how it's priced and about a thousand other factors.

Thanks a million.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,219 ✭✭✭bigroad

12 reg car for 4 grand you may dial in another grand for the fix.

Fellas rocking up offering 50% or 60% of the asking price seem to think they are providing a public service and the seller should be grateful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 638 ✭✭✭gary550

Did you mention you were paying in cash? I reckon that would have sealed the deal for you :rolleyes:

On a less sarcastic note I'm not sure where you picked up the idea that offering €2.5k for a €4k car was a wise thing to do

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,688 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

I haven't a clue about haggling with cars. I made an offer, just today, of just shy of €1200 under the asking price of a €24k car and the dealer pretty much hung up the phone on me.

Is it only a few hundred that dealers will ever take off?

No some will have trade in money built in so will have room to move. Others price keenly and wont be able to move alot.
    I dont see anything wrong with your offer - Dealer just probably knows he has you and will give in or else its something just arrived in stock and he is willing to stick it out for a while.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,839 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

begbysback wrote: »
    That would be a different tactic than what I see mike brewer uses, but surely you could get a better car for 4k

'Old out yer 'and!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,477 ✭✭✭Buddy Bubs

What happened to the Fluence, Frank?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 808 ✭✭✭FrankC21

I was asked to come along and check the car, if you saw the state it was in, black tar on the steering wheel and all over the dash board, stained seat, and awful cigarette smell before even opening the door, with scratches all around car. It wasn't kept and maintained properly, my fcking wheelie bin was even better maintained than that micra and More like 10 years older than 2012.

Will not changed my offer and still stand at €2500 or less.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Why would you even want to buy it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 992 ✭✭✭Bikerman2019

I was asked to come along and check the car, if you saw the state it was in, black tar on the steering wheel and all over the dash board, stained seat, and awful cigarette smell before even opening the door, with scratches all around car. It wasn't kept and maintained properly, my fcking wheelie bin was even better maintained than that micra and More like 10 years older than 2012.

Maybe thats why you still have no car......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,982 ✭✭✭kravmaga

Have you a link to the car, so we can all have a look at her

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,477 ✭✭✭Buddy Bubs

I was asked to come along and check the car

I don't get this thread at all. The car is in a heap, but you still offered to buy it. I wouldn't buy it at all it could end up costing more than a mint one if it's as bad as you say. Plus all the effort to put it right.

You said you were asked to look at it but you say it's your offer?

Are you making this up?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 794 ✭✭✭Zurbaran

You just dont make an offer at all if you think it’s worth 40% less. Imagine looking at a car that a dealer has up for 20k and then offer 12k cause it’s a bit of a stinker. No point is there?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,605 ✭✭✭cpoh1

[HTML][/HTML]
    Zurbaran wrote: »
    You just dont make an offer at all if you think it’s worth 40% less. Imagine looking at a car that a dealer has up for 20k and then offer 12k cause it’s a bit of a stinker. No point is there?

I disagree - big difference between haggling with cars that are 20k and 4k.

See nothing wrong with someone offering well below the asking price on a car if thats what you think the car is worth. Nothing ventured nothing gained.

Think this thread might be more of a response to the poster rather than the post because offering 2500 for a car asking 4k if its well below the condition advertised is fair game. All you have to do is say no.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,910 ✭✭✭begbysback

cpoh1 wrote: »
    [HTML][/HTML]

See nothing wrong with someone offering well below the asking price on a car if thats what you think the car is worth. Nothing ventured nothing gained.

Think this thread might be more of a response to the poster rather than the post because offering 2500 for a car asking 4k if its well below the condition advertised is fair game. All you have to do is say no.
    There’s a fair number of car dealers on here, I think all of them are offended at the op’s offer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,106 ✭✭✭dar83

Well played Frank, well played.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,474 ✭✭✭Notch000

2.5 grand hold out your annnddddddd

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 808 ✭✭✭FrankC21

colm_mcm wrote: »
    Why would you even want to buy it?

I was asked to come along by a friend to view the car, and friend asked what do I think he should offer I told him, that it is not worth 4k and it's worth 2500 by the state of it, told him I will tell the dealer myself, that's what happened, that was it, just trying to be honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,688 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

I was asked to come along by a friend to view the car, and friend asked what do I think he should offer I told him, that it is not worth 4k and it's worth 2500 by the state of it, told him I will tell the dealer myself, that's what happened, that was it, just trying to be honest.

I wouldnt worry about a salesman being thick - they get like that when you dont buy.
    Way back in 08 i travelled across the country to view a 2 year old A6 that was for sale at a main dealer of another brand. Called them up to be sure it was there - all grand.
    So they bring out the car. It was rough as rough could be. Panel gaps around the front were all over the shop and just generally not what i was looking for at all.
    Firstly sales guy tells me its not the garage thats selling it, its the service manager who owned it for a few years. Alarm bells! When i commented on the front, that was blamed on doing the timing belt which the history said wasnt near due - it was clearly badly repaired. After a walk around it, I told him I would leave it and there was no point in driving it as it was not in the condition i wanted. Well he got awful upset, muttering about time wasting and took off around the back with car.
    I was after spending a full day travelling to view an incorrectly advertised car yet he got upset about me wasting his time in driving it from the rear to the front of the dealers.
    Salesmen can be awful scummy so I dont worry about offending them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,203 ✭✭✭partyguinness

About 10 years ago I was selling a 320 BMW coupe on Carzone. Only 4 years old, great spec and keenly priced.

I received telephone calls from some right clowns. One lad stands out as he just ranted at me about the asking price in a stupid turnip muching bog man accent. I just had to tell him eff off at the end. He didnt even ask for a viewing/test drive. Utterly pointless call.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,654 ✭✭✭✭road_high

Even though they were the worst, most low rent Micra generation ever they’ll still be popular, easy to sell on and with a loyal following from learners and elderly motorists. It’ll sell on and is at the cheaper end already

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 794 ✭✭✭Zurbaran

cpoh1 wrote: »
    [HTML][/HTML]

It’s not different though is it? If you deem the car to be 40% less than the asking you walk away. I’d let them know what I thought but there would be no offer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,605 ✭✭✭cpoh1

Zurbaran wrote: »
    It’s not different though is it? If you deem the car to be 40% less than the asking you walk away. I’d let them know what I thought but there would be no offer.

It really is different. The % difference money wise at cheap car territory at 40% less is substantially different than at big money.

For what its worth ive haggled successfully to get 40% off a sticker price on a cheap car for family in the past. No way could you do the same margins on a near new car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,599 ✭✭✭newmember2

How did you arrive at valuing the car at €2500?