Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What's with this 'Poem in a Dublin accent' thing?

• 14-02-2021 12:00am
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 165 ✭✭

They're all the go the last few years. It's either a poem or a sort of rap song thing. And they ALWAYS go on for ever. You get the impression that these sorts think their poem will have a more working class hero feel to it if they exaggerate the Dublin accent.

You get these sorts on the Tommy Tiernan show every now and then. Half way through the interview they say "oh I've a poem". You can generally tell by the intellect of the individual whether that means a real poem, or one of these gish-galloping attempts at poetry with the usual references to drugs and murder and how the rich steal from the poor. You'd feel sorry for poor Tommy just sitting there. In fairness to him though, he doesn't pretend to like it. When they finally finish he'll just say something like "where was that from then?".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,275 ✭✭✭Your Face

It's not exclusive to Dublin buts it's fake working class folksy nonsense.
    Recited by some soft-handed gimp who never did any real manual labour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,130 ✭✭✭Surreptitious

If people wish to express themselves I don't see the issue. Fellas be moaning about everything these days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 807 ✭✭✭French Toast

Urban poetry. It's a niche interest. Especially when delivered in a Dublin accent. Could be up to worse I suppose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,428 ✭✭✭✭EmmetSpiceland

Just sayin’

“It is not blood that makes you Irish but a willingness to be part of the Irish nation” - Thomas Davis

This is the only one that I like

maybe it's the fact that it's a piss-take of the other one that appeals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 691 ✭✭✭jmlad2020

Straight outta tha Dublin Ghettos. WUH BUD

*Had food on the table everynight and the latest PlayStation / X Box Games Console with Wide-screen TV growing up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 763 ✭✭✭doublejobbing 2

The Imelda May poem in particular was a disgrace. Spoken from a distant pedestal of wealth,

If you're going to rant and rave about homelessness and high rents and housing lists and inequality, and stay silent when Syrian refugees and others get handed out gaffs, you're not a rebel. You're a lacky.

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/social-affairs/republic-to-settle-nearly-3-000-refugees-over-next-four-years-1.4118514

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,779 ✭✭✭1o059k7ewrqj3n

Is this the dreaded Spoken word poetry? I don’t have a lot of time for it. The beauty about regular poetry is any person could read it, whereas this stuff is highly dependent on the speaker. It feels very cringey, it’s just a monologue that is trying to be clever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,532 ✭✭✭Hangdogroad

John Cooper Clarke, the original and best.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,606 ✭✭✭✭blade1

John Cooper Clarke, the original and best.

Two ugly sisters from Fordham
    One day took a walk out of boredom
    On the way back
    A sex maniac
    Jumped out of a bush and ignored them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 645 ✭✭✭rtron

Ioma rapper from Dublia
    Iom always rappin' about Dublia
    If Iom not doin' a rap, oil write a poem that is crap
    And if ya don't like it... yez can sucona

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,810 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Urban poetry. It's a niche interest. Especially when delivered in a Dublin accent. Could be up to worse I suppose.

Like stabbing and shooting each other?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,772 ✭✭✭Montage of Feck

Just as long as its not gangsta or crime stuff that fetishises violence and drugs whats the problem?

🙈🙉🙊

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,991 ✭✭✭✭Danzy

Your Face wrote: »
    It's not exclusive to Dublin buts it's fake working class folksy nonsense.
    Recited by some soft-handed gimp who never did any real manual labour.

Middle class activists pretending to be working class, speaking about working politics and values.

Often taking positions that would be completely alien to the working class.

Ego.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,772 ✭✭✭Montage of Feck

The Imelda May poem in particular was a disgrace. Spoken from a distant pedestal of wealth,

If you're going to rant and rave about homelessness and high rents and housing lists and inequality, and stay silent when Syrian refugees and others get handed out gaffs, you're not a rebel. You're a lacky.

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/social-affairs/republic-to-settle-nearly-3-000-refugees-over-next-four-years-1.4118514

That story was about genuine refugees being selected from UN camps, shouldn't be confused with those who fly into Dublin Airport, or otherwise enter illegally, with a poxy hard luck story.

🙈🙉🙊

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,708 ✭✭✭Hamachi

Danzy wrote: »
    Middle class activists pretending to be working class, speaking about working politics and values.

Often taking positions that would be completely alien to the working class.

Ego.

Indeed. Richard Boyd Barrett of PBP fame was a tutor in UCD in the ‘90s / early 00’s. A friend of mine, who is genuinely from a working class Dublin background had the misfortune to be ‘tutored’ by him.

Everything was about the fall of aristocracy and the rise of the proletariat. My buddy, who is from Finglas, was fully aware of the irony of being lectured to about this nonsense, by a rich boy from Silchester. However, he kept his mouth shut and regurgitated the ‘right’ opinions to get his 2:1.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,717 ✭✭✭pgj2015

Hamachi wrote: »
    Indeed. Richard Boyd Barrett of PBP fame was a tutor in UCD in the ‘90s / early 00’s. A friend of mine, who is genuinely from a working class Dublin background had the misfortune to be ‘tutored’ by him.

Everything was about the fall of aristocracy and the rise of the proletariat. My buddy, who is from Finglas, was fully aware of the irony of being lectured to about this nonsense, by a rich boy from Silchester. However, he kept his mouth shut and regurgitated the ‘right’ opinions to get his 2:1.

Not a fan of his or his party but I suppose he cant help that he was brought up in a wealthy background. If I was in his position I wouldnt care about the proletariat and just work away mixing with my own social class and not worrying about the problems of the working class.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 691 ✭✭✭jmlad2020

I troi toy roym like a rappah
    But all you are is a durti slappah
    Drug deals, hoes and wacka backa
    A life of pain burning a stain,
    Welcome to Eire, a loyfe of pain

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26 social.lite

pgj2015 wrote: »
    Not a fan of his or his party but I suppose he cant help that he was brought up in a wealthy background. If I was in his position I wouldnt care about the proletariat and just work away mixing with my own social class and not worrying about the problems of the working class.

I doubt if his radicalism is making him any poorer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,717 ✭✭✭pgj2015

I doubt if his radicalism is making him any poorer.

He would have had a comfortable life any route he choose id say. The working class shouldn't bite the hand that is helping them.

They should indeed know their place.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,023 ✭✭✭Gruffalux

A Donegal accent makes everything better...

https://twitter.com/NostrilShorts/status/1203031742598275072?s=20

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,363 ✭✭✭saabsaab

I got no future cause i've got no plan
    Me pals are goin' nowhere and me horse's an also ran
    I don't eat meat and I don't work
    and if you try and make me I'll go berserk!

Yis know i'll go on and on with some auld scutter
    but I need to find a word that rhymes with fu**ker.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

The working class arent helped in their problems by Rich Boy, they could do without him.

Anyway, he's moved on, the working class arent as oppressed as the lads coming in from out foreign looking for their free gaffs :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,363 ✭✭✭saabsaab

Gruffalux wrote: »

Brilliant! Eminem has nothing on him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,962 ✭✭✭r93kaey5p2izun

I actually know one person who is trying to make a career out of this, and has been promoted by RTE a few times. The accent is definitely authentic. Personally, it's not for me. I find it cringeworthy. But if they enjoy expressing themselves like this, and some other people enjoy listening, then fair play to them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

I blame NatWest and their wanky ads involving poetry.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,779 ✭✭✭1o059k7ewrqj3n

razorblunt wrote: »
    I blame NatWest and their wanky ads involving poetry.

When anything gets adopted to promote corporate interests - especially a ****ing bank - you know it's bankrupt spiritually.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,858 ✭✭✭Church on Tuesday

I assume this is in relation to David Balfe's appearance on said chat show last night.

First off, his genre of music is simply not for me, in fact as a result, I never even heard of the lad until last night.

I thought he was an intelligent likeable chap, the interview itself was tough going but genuine and honest. Was it heavy fare for a Saturday night with the **** going on on the world right now? yes, but the subject matters have never been more relevant.

Yet some posters over on the Televison thread are mocking the lads appearance :rolleyes:

One thing I can confirm, Balfe is a lot more talented than that head melt Kirwan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,006 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

Didn't see the TT show last night, but if people are talking David Balfe, I know one of his songs (he sang it on BBC) was inspired by dealing with at least one suicide amongst his friends.

I assume this is in relation to David Balfe's appearance on said chat show last night.

First off, his genre of music is simply not for me, in fact as a result, I never even heard of the lad until last night.

I thought he was an intelligent likeable chap, the interview itself was tough going but genuine and honest. Was it heavy fare for a Saturday night with the **** going on on the world right now? yes, but the subject matters have never been more relevant.

Yet some posters over on the Televison thread are mocking the lads appearance :rolleyes:

The unexceptional will always find some way to “take down” others, especially those more talented, and likeable, than themselves.

“It is not blood that makes you Irish but a willingness to be part of the Irish nation” - Thomas Davis

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,639 ✭✭✭completedit

Some comments were less than complimentary.

Also, some were mocking his mental health problems and grief.

🙄

Dial down the arrogance.

It's this sort of snooty rubbish that has killed the left.

🙄

Dial down the arrogance.

It's this sort of snooty rubbish that has killed the left.

The Left cannibalized itself a long time ago.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,029 ✭✭✭um7y1h83ge06nx

Not my thing although I have been a fan of Scroobius Pip who sort of does something similar but in music.

https://youtu.be/O3HCXh9WQSo

The Left cannibalized itself a long time ago.

Meat picked off the bone and the bones are now stewing to make a broth.

Lot of this is the result of watching too much YouTube and movies about working class England in the 80s.

Look at the pretension going on in St Pats and Bohs, copying St Pauli.

It's the disingenuous bollox of it all more than a problem with it, itself.

Authentic working class experience delivered on Amazon prime.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,853 Mod ✭✭✭✭riffmongous

3 pages and nuthin from Rats, you people should be ashamed of yisserselves

You can't be using language like that.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 165 ✭✭Deemed as Normal

One thing I can confirm, Balfe is a lot more talented than that head melt Kirwan.
    Fair enough, but David Belfe was not the first of these sorts on the Tiernan show.

I'll never know which one of them is more talented because they all sound the same to me.

Fair enough, but David Belfe was not the first of these sorts on the Tiernan show.

I'll never know which one of them is more talented because they all sound the same to me.

He has played on Jools Holland. He must be doing something right.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,445 ✭✭✭Rodney Bathgate

Boomtown Rats?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,962 ✭✭✭r93kaey5p2izun

Boomtown Rats?

Rats from the flats.

Look at the pretension going on in St Pats and Bohs, copying St Pauli.

What have Pats been doing? I was well aware of Bohs’ anti-racism campaigns, I’ve seen the posters around the city, and putting “Refugees Welcome” on their jersey.

This has, obviously, angered a lot of their far-right “supporters” but haven’t seen much out of St. Pats in that regard. Fair play to them if they’ve been doing the same.

I did see that Balfe guy holding a Shels flag on Jools Holland’s show.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,445 ✭✭✭Rodney Bathgate

Rats from the flats.

Vermin.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 353 ✭✭discodiva92

I think must people are laughing at him trying to come across as oppressed and being from the ghetto

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,058 ✭✭✭✭anewme

I think must people are laughing at him trying to come across as oppressed and being from the ghetto

I don't think most people are laughing at him.