Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Parking ticket €40 in the post. Nothing on the day?

• 11-02-2021 3:15pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 222 ✭✭

Should I pay it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,277 ✭✭✭km991148

I say no. But no consequences for me!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,277 ✭✭✭km991148

Who from?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 799 ✭✭✭POBox19

No, not without evidence of the offence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,782 ✭✭✭Xterminator

did you break the parking rules or not?
    have they evidence of it?

if yes to both you should pay.

yes. Tickets are not put on windscreens anymore

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,795 ✭✭✭Isambard

they generally seem to take photos now. No doubt they'd provide these if you want to challenge it but the costs may add up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Take it to court.
    Let us know how you get on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,226 ✭✭✭Stallingrad

Yup, happening a lot with eejits parking all over the place, hindering access for rescue services.

Just pay up and move on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,191 ✭✭✭Dr_Colossus

Isambard wrote: »
    they generally seem to take photos now. No doubt they'd provide these if you want to challenge it but the costs may add up.

Surely the parking ticket itself has to give basic details such as date, time and location the offense was committed in? If there were obviously wrong then you could challenge it.

obviously, where in the OP iis it suggested that it doesnt?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,191 ✭✭✭Dr_Colossus

obviously, where in the OP iis it suggested that it doesnt?

No where, OP is very sparse on detail. I was more curious as to what a parking ticket entailed if you don't get warning of it's issuance at the time.

Street, date and time of the offence will be on it.

In the old times the ticket was put on the window but now its just posted out. People get confused because they still think they go on the window. Thus in parking / cycling threads you will see people moan about lack of enforcement as a result of no visible ticket

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 482 ✭✭costacorta

Guards or traffic wardens aren’t obliged to put a ticket on vehicle. I received a ticket in. my local town last week for exceeding time limit €40 and first I knew of it is when I got it in post a few days later .

I paid it in local council office and girl there was able to show me photos of my car taken by warden and asp show me times he recorded my number and time he issued ticket ..

She said it’s up to warden if he puts tickets on windscreen but with covid they seem to just record and let it go by post. I’ll be more careful in future with my free 2 hr parking..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,795 ✭✭✭Isambard

i imagine those details were on the posted notice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,620 ✭✭✭CoBo55

I got one at a wedding, left the car on the street as the Hotel car park was full, meant to move it later.... you know yourself.. got darted about 3 weeks later, feck sake..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,630 ✭✭✭jrosen

Work colleague had one come through the door, her husband reckoned they dont take them seriously and not to pay. She didnt. 2 months later another letter this time the fine was higher, not sure if it was doubled but it was more because she didnt pay originally