Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How are you people on music charts these days? Honestly I would not have a clue today

• 10-02-2021 8:12pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,839 ✭✭✭✭AMKC
    Ms

15 years ago I knew who was number 1 in the charts and cared about music. There was still some good music back then. I used to love buying the top singles and albums of singers I liked.

Now do I honestly do not have a clue. Do they even have charts these days and if so where do you buy a single or an album anymore. Not in Tesco anyway.
    So anyone here still by music or know who is number 1 and for how long?

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,228 ✭✭✭The Mighty Quinn

There was a time, from say 1997-2008 I'd know it all. Waiting for the top 30 countdown each week on the radio was a big thing.

Now? No idea. Not a clue.

I think Spotify and YouTube killed the thrill of hearing your favourite song on the radio, and waiting to see what was on the charts, couldn't look it up on the phone.

...that and I'm getting 'old', mid-30s now... but I think music is consumed differently now than it was, it's changed and can't go back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,292 ✭✭✭Ubbquittious

Havn't a clue. I go through phases where I listen to the radio and check out new stuff on youtub but then I get sick of hearing the same sh1te and give it a rest for a while or revisit my archives.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,921 ✭✭✭buried

Don't know about the pop charts. Only chart I look at is the boomkat record store chart. Good resource for good independent music releases. You'd definitely find something among the top 50 bestsellers you would like.

https://boomkat.com/bestsellers

Its all fairly good. End of year charts are worth a look at too. Then again, you might not like none of it, but worth a look if you do like music.

Make America Get Out of Here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,839 ✭✭✭✭AMKC
    Ms

Glad to see I am not the only old one here out of touch with music these days.

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

• AMKC wrote: »
    15 years ago I knew who was number 1 in the charts and cared about music. There was still some good music back then. I used to love buying the top singles and albums of singers I liked.

Now do I honestly do not have a clue. Do they even have charts these days and if so where do you buy a single or an album anymore. Not in Tesco anyway.
    So anyone here still by music or know who is number 1 and for how long?

Used to listen to Top 30 on 2fm Sundays religiously up until around 2010.

Wouldn't have a clue these days. A lot of tripe out there. Nothing is catching my ear.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,969 ✭✭✭✭alchemist33

Not a clue. Dunno if its my age or that charts are pretty meaningless these days, with most being accounted for by streams and downloads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,921 ✭✭✭buried

We can't rely on the radio anymore to provide us with what we want to enjoy. That day is done and gone. But that doesn't mean that the music we enjoy isn't being created, it definitely is, but all of us now have to work and search a bit ourselves to get it. Which makes it more rewarding IMO. Ye need to delve further into what your own musical tastes are, ask yereselves what ye enjoy and then search for that work yereselves. Search for it on the internet. Loads of places to do it. Bandcamp being one.

Make America Get Out of Here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,503 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

havent followed who was in the top ten since circa 2001

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 202 ✭✭Papa_Bear

I don't know why ye even bother, everything's ****e since Roy Orbison died.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,858 ✭✭✭Church on Tuesday

SLAAYER!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 807 ✭✭✭French Toast

Not a clue at the minute.

Spin SW is always on at work during the summers, so I usually get to know the lyrics to the top 3 songs off by heart.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,117 ✭✭✭✭Junkyard Tom

HfmwyOdI_400x400.jpg

The good old days when people like Gary Glitter and Jimmy Saville were on TOTP and all those young girls dancing in the audience.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 523 ✭✭✭Stormington

You leave things behind as you get older.

This is a banger though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,275 ✭✭✭Your Face

So what do you make of this music television?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 618 ✭✭✭Arduach

Not a clue.

Is Barbie Girl-Aqua still number 1?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,093 ✭✭✭Rubberchikken

I loved listening to radio luxembourg. Then in the early 80s wat hing Mtusa on a Sunday was a must.

Now I love Spotify. Can listen to what I actually want.

Happened to hear redfm late the other night at work and God maybe I'm showing my age but every bloody song sounded alike. They all seem to repeat the same few lines with the same whiney music. Couldn't tell one from the other.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,023 ✭✭✭Gruffalux

In fairness John Kelly and John Creedon between them play a lot of the music one needs to keep up with. Wet Ass Pussy does not feature.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,597 ✭✭✭tdf7187

Arduach wrote: »
    Not a clue.

Is Barbie Girl-Aqua still number 1?

Nah Whigfield's "Saturday Night" has now beaten it to the top spot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,597 ✭✭✭tdf7187

I loved listening to radio luxembourg. Then in the early 80s wat hing Mtusa on a Sunday was a must.

Now I love Spotify. Can listen to what I actually want.

Happened to hear redfm late the other night at work and God maybe I'm showing my age but every bloody song sounded alike. They all seem to repeat the same few lines with the same whiney music. Couldn't tell one from the other.

The only time I listen to recent music (meaning last 15 years or so) is while in newsagents, petrol stations etc and ffs...what is it with this trend of modern male singers singing in that awful whining tone?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

Some Geezer called The Weekend played the Superbowl the other night. I swear, I didn't have a clue who he was.

"The Weeknd", one of the few I do know from the last 5 years. Seems a talented guy to be fair, some of his vocals echo Michael Jackson type in my opinion. "I can't feel my face when I'm with you" is a tune!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,109 ✭✭✭RikkFlair

Cardi B is a person...and here I was thinking it was the name of the ward in my local hospital for people with heart issues.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,324 ✭✭✭JustAThought

RikkFlair wrote: »
    Cardi B is a person...and here I was thinking it was the name of the ward in my local hospital for people with heart issues.

A lot if it seems to be blacksploitation talkey style rap - can’t relate to it and wouldn’t be bothered listening to it twice. Billy Ellish has some dark tunes ( not that you could sing most of them) - bit dark when you realise she is a 16 year old schoolgirl - especially when you see the videos :0

whats number one today?
    I used tune into the online MTV charts under the desk but the ads at the start and end of every tune ruined it for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,825 ✭✭✭Relikk

I usually watch The Hit List on BBC when it's on and can get most of the songs from the 60's up to the mid 2000's, but 2010 seems to be my limit. Anything after that just doesn't register. Partially because I don't follow popular music as much as I used to, but it's also partially because the music is largely forgettable, homogenised, derivative, unimaginative shite by samey sounding and talentless "musicians", and no, that's not because I'm getting older, it's because it's shite. There was always a time during pop musics history where you would find a lot of it catchy even if it wasn't to your tastes, but since at least 2010 onwards there is nothing memorable.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,023 ✭✭✭Gruffalux

In fairness though even with all the shyte there do come recentish pop tunes that absolutely compel one to shoulder dance while driving. As Justin so correctly says, can't stop this feeling, so just dance dance dance.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 40,519 CMod ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

At some point in the near past, grime went from being an undesirable descriptive to a genre at music. I think that my failing to notice this is confirmation that I am no longer with "it".

The foreigner residing among you must be treated as your native-born. Love them as yourself, for you were foreigners in Egypt. I am the LORD your God.

Leviticus 19:34

Relikk wrote: »
    but since at least 2010 onwards there is nothing memorable.

I'm going to have to pull you on this one. While I agree that much more of it is forgettable and derivative auto-tuned samey-samey stuff, there has been some great songs over the last decade (getting regular radio play), just they're fewer and farther between than before I think.

Since you said from 2010 onwards, I'll list a few memorable tracks in my opinion, I don't like them all, but they are recognisable songs;

2010:
    2011: Adele - Rolling In The Deep/Foster The People - Pumped Up Kicks
    2012: Gotye - Somebody That I Used To Know/Fun - We Are Young
    2013: Macklemore - Can't Hold Us/The Lumineers - Ho Hey
    2014: Pharrell Williams - Happy/Bastille - Pompeii
    2015: Bruno Mars - Uptown Funk/Walk The Moon - Shut Up and Dance
    2016: Twenty One Pilots - Stressed Out/Mike Posner - Took A Pill In Ibiza
    2017: The Weeknd - Star Boy/Niall Horan - Slow Hands

...then I start to run out, but I'm sure there are a few

• Closed Accounts Posts: 763 ✭✭✭doublejobbing 2

One of the few benefits of Covid unemployment is I never find myself in earshot of lads on site who insist on having FM104 / 98FM/ SPIN 103.8 on all day every day with the same seven or eight songs on every hour, just in different order. I can't understand it, lads in their 40's who will listen to any old shiet just for background noise.

Up next, Ariana Grande. After that, Picture This, Ed Sheeran, Followed by Lizzo, then Justin Bieber. Then The Weekend.

Just switch the order around every hour.

It's only interrupted only by celebrity news updates about some coont off Love Island who nobody with an IQ over 4 could care less about.

Classic Hits by right should be a great station but they seem to loop the same 100 or so songs for a few months at a time.

There used to be plenty of pirate dance stations about Dublin, they seem to have taken a hit with Covid with less advertisers willing to back them.

I've always fancied the idea of being a DJ for a classic hits radio station. It'd be a dream job, i'd love it. Anything from Chuck Berry to Bill Withers to Dire Straits to Del Shannon to Stereophonics. It'd be great!!

Relikk wrote: »
    There was always a time during pop musics history where you would find a lot of it catchy even if it wasn't to your tastes, but since at least 2010 onwards there is nothing memorable.

Reeling in the Years the 2000's edition, the music is seriously poor compared to the prior decades. Like you say, is there really much 2010s pop music that will be remembered in 35 years the way, say, Wham would be today? I seriously can't see it. There's just no charm or fun in any of it.

And Oasis were the last great working class band. What have we got now? ****ing Picture This?:pac::pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,825 ✭✭✭✭nullzero
    °°°°°

One positive about working from home is not having to listen to the pop music radio that's pumped into my office any more.

Music isn't the cultural touchstone it used to be and the chart music these days is bland and boring.

You'd love to hear something original or in some way daring (singing about sex has been going on for longer than any of us have been alive so that doesn't count).

The real crime of modern pop music is that it's just re threading old ideas all the time. Electronic music has been around so long there's sweet fvck all original to do with it. A lot of the music we all look back on so fondly now remains infinitely more daring and original than what's on offer now.

Glazers Out!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,100 ✭✭✭randd1

I wouldn't have a clue. I think the charts, festivals music in general is more a teenage/early 20's thing. By the time you've hit your 30's you'd have found your genre, and stick with that thereafter.

That being said, I reckon there would be an audience for another round of "Top 30 Hits" that used to be on RTE back in the day.

nullzero wrote: »
    One positive about working from home is not having to listen to the pop music radio that's pumped into my office any more.

Music isn't the cultural touchstone it used to be and the chart music these days is bland and boring.

You'd love to hear something original or in some way daring (singing about sex has been going on for longer than any of us have been alive so that doesn't count).

The real crime of modern pop music is that it's just re threading old ideas all the time. Electronic music has been around so long there's sweet fvck all original to do with it. A lot of the music we all look back on so fondly now remains infinitely more daring and original than what's on offer now.

You could start a band that sings songs about snuff films, necrophilia and human trafficking.

"I was trafficking a woman around Mizen Head,
    But when I opened the container she was already dead.
    Not wanting to have wasted my time on this jaunt,
    I had sex with her body that was rotting and gaunt".

Granted it's absolutely horrible, but there's probably a market for shock lyric songs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,431 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

"The Weeknd", one of the few I do know from the last 5 years. Seems a talented guy to be fair, some of his vocals echo Michael Jackson type in my opinion. "I can't feel my face when I'm with you" is a tune!

as my 9 yo told me "there's something wrong with you if you don't like that chorus"

re the weekend, blinded lights

randd1 wrote: »
    You could start a band that sings songs about snuff films, necrophilia and human trafficking.

Granted it's absolutely horrible, but there's probably a market for shock lyric songs.

how old are cannibal corpse now?

nullzero wrote: »

You'd love to hear something original or in some way daring .

It is amazing how society has went 360 in such little time.

Eminem was putting out his most controversial content 20 years ago, stuff that you would never get away with now. It was controversial then, but there was no such thing as Twitter so nobody gave a fcuk about a couple of dozen unemployed losers with placards outside an 80,000 ticket concert.

A show like South Park wouldn't see the light of day now either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,825 ✭✭✭Relikk

Since you said from 2010 onwards, I'll list a few memorable tracks in my opinion, I don't like them all, but they are recognisable songs;

2010:
    2011: Adele - Rolling In The Deep/Foster The People - Pumped Up Kicks
    2012: Gotye - Somebody That I Used To Know/Fun - We Are Young
    2013: Macklemore - Can't Hold Us/The Lumineers - Ho Hey
    2014: Pharrell Williams - Happy/Bastille - Pompeii
    2015: Bruno Mars - Uptown Funk/Walk The Moon - Shut Up and Dance
    2016: Twenty One Pilots - Stressed Out/Mike Posner - Took A Pill In Ibiza
    2017: The Weeknd - Star Boy/Niall Horan - Slow Hands

Adele and Pharrell granted because I know what those sound like. I wouldn't have been able to pull them from off the top of my head as being memorable, but rather they were overplayed and irritating. The rest of them are terrible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,405 ✭✭✭Mr. teddywinkles

"I used to be with 'it', but then they changed what 'it' was. Now what I'm with isn't 'it' anymore and what's 'it' seems weird and scary. It'll happen to you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,752 ✭✭✭quokula

I don't buy that "music used to be better" or whatever, everyone just forms an attachment to whatever they listened to in their formative years and it is all entirely subjective. A decade or two from now there'll be people saying new stuff is nowhere near as good as what was popular when they were a teenager in 2021.

That said, the advent of streaming has changed the way the industry works and the whole concept of the charts is probably a bit outdated these days as there are different groups who consume music in different ways, in contrast to the old days when it was a simple matter of totting up record or CD sales.

Everything from impregnating his own dog in a coke binge to raping relatives, getting head off his grandmother and eating a foetus. All while sitting on the jacks eating hot dogs while reading the Koran (imagine getting away with that one today)

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5Fc7Eme-FQM

Everything from impregnating his own dog in a coke binge to raping relatives, getting head off his grandmother and eating a foetus. All while sitting on the jacks eating hot dogs while reading the Koran (imagine getting away with that one today)

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5Fc7Eme-FQM

Jaysus

Jaysus

Probably hit his lyrical best 2:32 into this

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sWDLO2BjCAE

An@l c*nt are hard to beat also, even reading their song titles is a good laugh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,772 ✭✭✭Montage of Feck

The music that they constantly play it says nothing to me about my life.

🙈🙉🙊

Before the internet, when I was listening to songs I liked it used to feel so heady and impactful and enjoyable. Now music rarely has that effect on me, it's just too readily available, dilutes the value of it. Overstimulation and overabundance tends to do this. Granted I was a teen back then but even by my early 20s (early 2010s) music had stopped feeling as impactful. Cared very little about music over the 2010s and often have only a vague idea correct to within a span of 5 years for when any given song came out.

The music that they constantly play it says nothing to me about my life.

You know what you have to do :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,091 ✭✭✭Hyperbollix

I believe Noel Gallagher on the phenomenon of awful mainstream music over the course of the last 10 to 15 years.

He has become a multi millionaire and seen and did it all over a 30 year span, so I think he knows a fair bit more than lads on boards who tell you "You're just old and not cool anymore, man!"

Basically the industry has changed beyond recognition and record companies no longer need to find and hone talent from new musical movements because they can now treat music like McDonalds, ie refine the process down to a well oiled machine, and keep feeding a mass produced product to a large audience who is quite happy to accept lowest common denominator drivel.
    Technology of course has aided in this and has put the nail in the coffin for the idea of real "artists" in mainstream.

I fully accept that good music is out there but one of the greatest things about it in the old days was the shared experience. Different generations of people having an affiliation to certain genres or bands, and those bands often having a direct connection to what was going on politically/socially/culturally. Where has that gone now. What does Ed Sheeran or Cardi B say to or about the current generation who grow up believing that is the pinnacle of musical talent!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,117 ✭✭✭✭Junkyard Tom

Facebook, Tik Tok, Instagram, television, and so on, forms a sort of integrated system that infects everything with a culture of sameness but, in fairness, it's nothing new.

Anyone remember the Stock, Aiken and Waterman years? The same cookie-cutter confected shite being churned out like a 'hits factory'.

A band such as pink floyd are a great example, somewhere in the wide spectrum of sounds in the mix , there could be an Irishman talking, someone banging a door or ringing a bell , or any number of subtle sound effects that are not there to be obvious but there to be discovered...

Nowadays we have the “loudness war “ where such subtleties are not required, instead of challenging the listener , the producer is expecting you to be listening on a sh1tty format or in a shop and only wants you to hear a portion of the production but wants that portion in your face and louder than everything else you hear

I prefer people like our own Kevin shields in his lab experimenting with amps and mics and sh1t
    https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Loudness_war

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,035 Mod ✭✭✭✭Say Your Number

Anytime I hear channels like RTE Gold, they always play a fair amount of sh1te music, I could imagine a thread like this if Boards was around in 1991 "Nirvana? sure it's just this blonde lad roaring his head off to an awful racket, why is there no one like Bing Crosby, Elvis or Frank Sinatra these days, music has really gone to sh1te"