Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The death notices and Late Late Show Friday 5th February 2021

• 04-02-2021 3:32pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,216 ✭✭✭✭

Mental Health/Suicide probably
    Legendary rockstar Dave Grohl, drummer from Nirvana and frontman of Foo Fighters, joins Ryan Tubridy.

Cancer discussion
    Ryan also will speak to Lynsey Bennett, the 32-year-old mother-of-two from Longford, who this week settled her CervicalCheck High Court action.

Racial abuse story
    PE teacher Emer O'Neill will discuss her role as the newest Múinteoir on RTÉ's Home School Hub, the importance of diversity on Irish television screens, and her battle to overcome racial abuse.

Light entrainment.
    The Late Late Show has a surprise "special number" along the same lines of the Garda dance.
    Some type of Jerusalema dance.

Covid chat and Maybe Snip Snip chat
    Singer-songwriter Ronan Keating will discuss the challenges and rewards of making music over the past year, and welcoming a new addition to his family. (I think I read somewhere he might be getting one.

Photo Time
    Sportsfile's Ray McManus will then present a selection of images from A Season of Sundays, a look back at the unique 2020 GAA season as captured by some of Ireland's best sports photographers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,297 ✭✭✭Be right back

^^ Thought there was supposed to be fun in the show?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,829 ✭✭✭StevenToast

The Late Late Show needs to be a once a month style show....something has to change...

Cutting tubridys salary by 5% simply isnt enough...

A 75% pay cut would be a start.

"Don't piss down my back and tell me it's raining." - Fletcher

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 199 ✭✭Morries Wigs

Appalling sh1te obsessed with death and covid

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,216 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

^^ Thought there was supposed to be fun in the show?

There doing a dance tough!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,508 ✭✭✭KevRossi

If Ryan Tubridy does not ask Dave Grohl about Kurt Cobain's suicide, I'll donate €50 to a charity of the OP's choice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 781 ✭✭✭SNNUS

I think it's live from a funeral home this week..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,173 ✭✭✭piplip87

New FOO fighters album out tomorrow. Ryan will ask about the Irish physio who treated Dave after he broke his leg, Kurt Cobain and does he have any Irish Roots.

Such a waste of an interview with a music legend

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,691 ✭✭✭ford fiesta

QUOTE=piplip87;116166269]New FOO fighters album out tomorrow. Ryan will ask about the Irish physio who treated Dave after he broke his leg, Kurt Cobain and does he have any Irish Roots.

Such a waste of an interview with a music legend[/QUOTE]
    Indeed ..just imagine if Kurt was on the Late Late

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 74,297 ✭✭✭✭Welsh Megaman

Nevermind.jpg

Kittenmind_1.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,811 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Danse Macabre...a little Middle Ages number.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 2,610 Mod ✭✭✭✭horgan_p

Indeed ..just imagine if Kurt was on the Late Late

I think that would get me to tune in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,527 ✭✭✭Masala

Holy Gawd...... enough to drive anyone to drink

So ...where is the remote control.

Actually ... BBC4 usually has something good on revolving around music etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,028 ✭✭✭✭ButtersSuki

Friend of the (radio) show múinteour Emer ticks a few #woke boxes from memory.

No, I won’t be joining ye!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,282 ✭✭✭PsychoPete

"So Dave, you've a new album out but tell us about Kurt killing himself"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,162 ✭✭✭jelutong

The Monster Mash ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,530 ✭✭✭PieOhMy

Ryan talking to Grohl and trying to resist asking about Cobains suicide will be like the tour guide in the caves on Fr Ted trying to resist saying 'I dont beeeeeleeeeeeeeive it!' to Richard Wilson.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,895 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

9Qx7CM.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,734 ✭✭✭✭Ol' Donie

This week's puppeh and kitteh are extra excellent.

I'm choosing to tentatively look forward to Dave Grohl's appearance, although the rest isn't immediately encouraging.

I think I will Stay Away from tonight’s LLS. All that misery p0rn is enough to completely Drain You. You just know Ryan is going to Milk It for all its worth.

All Apologies for the Nirvana puns (whoops).

:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,840 ✭✭✭✭AMKC
    Ms

I said to a friend during the week after seeing the story about Lydsey Bennet that it would not surprise me if Ryan Tubridy had her on the Late Lare Show it's that predictable now. It's worse than Formula 1 even.

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,785 ✭✭✭KungPao

I hope Ryan’s researchers inform him that Grohl doesn’t like talking about Kurt Cobain’s death willy nilly. Hope it doesn’t end up like The Bee Gees and Clive Anderson if he does, or a video call version of it and he just closes his laptop.

I think Grohl is too chilled for that, but you know Tubbs. Just keeps poking. More misery please.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,444 ✭✭✭✭Skid X

KevRossi wrote: »
    If Ryan Tubridy does not ask Dave Grohl about Kurt Cobain's suicide, I'll donate €50 to a charity of the OP's choice.

Ha, very good

Since I read that I've been saying Charity of my choice in a dodgy Spanish accent.

I'll cancel myself now

https://twitter.com/onlyfoolslines/status/1239230783870599168?lang=en

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,840 ✭✭✭✭AMKC
    Ms

First guest for the Late Late show for next week* will be a woman awarded 3 million because instead of using a footbridge she crossed a dual carriageway that the footbridge went over and got hit by a car out of pure laziness.

*Note not confirmed just me guessing it will be.

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,185 ✭✭✭screamer

Ah thanks RTE just when we need something to lift our spirits, when things are pretty sh:t and boring, you just pile the misery on top, every week.
    I’ve stopped watching this, maybe if enough of us do likewise, it’ll be cancelled. Utterly depressing round up of misery every week, it’s as constant as Covid at this rate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,206 ✭✭✭Samsgirl

piplip87 wrote: »
    New FOO fighters album out tomorrow. Ryan will ask about the Irish physio who treated Dave after he broke his leg, Kurt Cobain and does he have any Irish Roots.

Such a waste of an interview with a music legend

Might throw in some US politics too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,748 ✭✭✭Pelvis Parsley

I wonder what manifestations of "dialling up the fun-o-meter" we'll see this evening.

Samsgirl wrote: »
    Might throw in some US politics too

They played for Bidens inauguration. The man worked with some of the biggest stars in music, sold millions of albums,played massive stadiums all around the world,done some fantastic documentaries but you just know rte will focus on the "irishness"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,084 ✭✭✭✭neris

Is there any other country in Europe or even the world where they start the weekend off with misery, death and suffering? Every other channel either has a movie or some sort of entertainment or even crap comedy on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,713 ✭✭✭HBC08

Obviouly nothing interests me on this line up except Dave Grohl.
    Imagine tommy Tiernan doing that? It would have the potential to be one of the great iconic Irish tv moments,id say Dave wouldn't know what to make of Tommy and the craic would flow.

As it is expect Tubridy to focus in on any tenuous Irish connection,continue on to really zero in on that well past the point of cringe.Talk about the US election or politics and touch on tradegy with a view to getting Dave to talk about Kobains suicide.
    I absolutely would bet my life that (Even though he would have been early 20s at the time and has worked in radio his whole life) Tubridy cant name one Nirvana album

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,785 ✭✭✭KungPao

HBC08 wrote: »
    Imagine tommy Tiernan doing that? It would have the potential to be one of the great iconic Irish tv moments,id say Dave wouldn't know what to make of Tommy and the craic would flow.

As it is expect Tubridy to focus in on any tenuous Irish connection,continue on to really zero in on that well past the point of cringe.Talk about the US election or politics and touch on tradegy with a view to getting Dave to talk about Kobains suicide.
    I absolutely would bet my life that (Even though he would have been early 20s at the time and has worked in radio his whole life) Tubridy cant name one Nirvana album

Tubs’s favourite Nirvana album is probably Smells like Teen Spirit, with Sweet Child O’ Mine being a highlight, that drum intro by Eddie Vedder made the song.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,029 ✭✭✭um7y1h83ge06nx

I'm just going to follow this thread to see if he goes on and on about Cobain's suicide to Grohl.

Dave Grohl always comes across as a nice guy and up for a bit of craic - he's wasted on Tubridy.

Was talking about the Late Late and all the misery with my parents earlier in the week. Thankfully they said they have stopped watching it ages ago.

As good as the late late threads can be it just isn't worth it having to sit through watching it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 658 ✭✭✭Summer2020

Jesus Christ they’re really piling on the misery. I’m very sorry for what the women suffering from cervical cancer are going through and I wish them the very best but I don’t want to see it on a Friday night. Seeing it on the news is enough. I’ve told my elderly parents to stop watching rte and in particular the late late show as it would utterly depress you if you weren’t already.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,713 ✭✭✭HBC08

PsychoPete wrote: »
    As good as the late late threads can be it just isn't worth it having to sit through watching it

Totally agree.
    I enjoyed it recently (purely for this thread) but its hard to make fun or smart comments about the guests he has on and their genuinely terrible circumstances.
    The death intro last week where he just named off a load of Covid victims was a watershed moment for me.The fact that he was throwing in little story's like "and Maureen loved her cat Pickles,now Pickles is sad as well as Michael her devouted husband" was so weird and disgusting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,420 ✭✭✭✭sligojoek

I wonder what manifestations of "dialling up the fun-o-meter" we'll see this evening.

I came on to post something similar.

It's obvious RTE took absolutely no notice of all the criticism they got after last weeks show.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,084 ✭✭✭✭neris

sligojoek wrote: »
    I came on to post something similar.

It's obvious RTE took absolutely no notice of all the criticism they got after last weeks show.

what happened last week?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,748 ✭✭✭Pelvis Parsley

neris wrote: »
    what happened last week?

Same thing that happens every week, Pinky.

Tubbers gets a chubber as he tries to make someone blubber.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,536 ✭✭✭Cole

HBC08 wrote: »

Ah here...I know Tommy T has his fan club, but the idea that he's some kind of chat show/interviewing genius is ridiculously overstated imo.

Cole wrote: »
    Ah here...I know Tommy T has his fan club, but the idea that he's some kind of chat show/interviewing genius is ridiculously overstated imo.

In fairness the bar in rte isn't set very high

Riptide Movement on aswell.

Like The Riptide Movement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,185 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

Hi all - hope all going well.

Going to try a show with no wine. Ginger Beer here.

Are we getting some proper sneachta or what?

Hi all - hope all going well.

Going to try a show with no wine. Ginger Beer here.

Try wine, take a sip everytime misery is mentioned and you'll be passed out by 10

Ol' Donie wrote: »
    Are we getting some proper sneachta or what?

The normal in RTE every day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,673 ✭✭✭torrevieja

Here We Go Folks :

"""The Doom And Gloom Show and here is your Host "" : Doom Durbidy

PsychoPete wrote: »
    Try wine, take a sip everytime misery is mentioned and you'll be passed out by 10

No said I'd try a dry Feb - and a good auld Friday night Whine

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,323 ✭✭✭phonypony

Dave Grohl always comes across as a nice guy and up for a bit of craic - he's wasted on Tubridy.

Sums it up perfectly