Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How much are you willing to pay to tax a car?

• 21-01-2021 12:58am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 293 ✭✭

I'm looking at a few cars.
    I've my eyes on something sporty that'll be fun to drive every day.
    I'd rather a petrol, that usually translates to - expensive to tax.

I'm considering a car that's €1250 to tax.. I'd be driving it everyday.

My parents think anything over €280 is insane.

What's your stance on tax, what's your cut off?
    Post edited by LIGHTNING on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 807 ✭✭✭French Toast

I always feel sore handing over the current bill of €710 tbh. Anything much higher and I'd be checking out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 293 ✭✭ifeelabreeze

I always feel sore handing over the current bill of €710 tbh. Anything much higher and I'd be checking out.

I think for myself it’d depend on what car it is.
    €710 on an old Octavia or something of the likes wouldn’t sit right with me but for a Clio 197 I’d be fine

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,127 ✭✭✭✭Idbatterim

Do your parents think the thousands they lose every year and the attached interest is insane. Or is it just the few hundred extra in tax that actually lets you drive something decent?

I will tell you something about the E1250 rate though, I pay E1809 now. I will only pay ridiculous tax, if the car is ridiculous and someway justifies the insane begrudement tax. What car are you looking at?

The next band down is E750. Honestly that is probably the max I would go for the vast majority of emissions based cars, you should get decent sport petrol for that amount...

How many km a year you driving? what have you previously driven? what is your max budget. Can maybe make few suggestions when we know this...

Idbatterim wrote: »
    Do your parents think the thousands they lose every year and the attached interest is insane. Or is it just the few hundred extra in tax that actually lets you drive something decent?

I will tell you something about the E1250 rate though, I pay E1809 now. I will only pay ridiculous tax, if the car is ridiculous and someway justifies the insane begrudement tax. What car are you looking at?

Just the tax.
    The car I’m looking at is a Renault Sport Megane RS250 Cup, beaut, and it’s reasonable to insure (first year own name at €1400!)

It’s just hard to swallow considering a Fiesta St is €380 and a Clio 197 is €750.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,039 ✭✭✭✭Geuze

I'm used to paying 190-200 now, but I would stretch to 250-300.

Just the tax.
    The car I’m looking at is a Renault Sport Megane RS250 Cup, beaut, and it’s reasonable to insure (first year own name at €1400!)

It’s just hard to swallow considering a Fiesta St is €380 and a Clio 197 is €750.

fellow boards user just sold his m235i. motor tax was E750. The thing is, motor tax is likely to be pocket change in ownership costs...

I dont know much about the cars you are mentioning. Biggest concern is the total cost of ownership. E180,200,300 all of it, its free tax, its irrelevant. The high tax here and I mean high, 3l or higher on cc, is what makes the cars DIRT cheap to buy , or they certainly were for a long time...

I will say one thing, you will probably get absolutely sick of handing over that kind of money to them... its not an issue if after a year, you have had your fun and wont lose a fortune on depreciation. You know what the motor tax is from the get go, the depreciation on the other hand, is usually the absolute killer... of course some cars wont depreciate or barely will, but in general, that is what you need to be aware of...

back to your questions in the OP, whats my limit. Exotics or supercars only for the E2350 rate. E1250 rate, the likes of a merc s500 twin turbo putting out nearly 500 bhp, which sits a fraction below the E2350 limit, and I am considering for my next car. But in fairness, there is probably a handful of cars, I would even consider paying the E1250 rate for. The E750 rate is where you probably strike a fair trade, between decent car, acceptable rate of motor tax...

fellow boards user just sold his m235i. motor tax was E750. The thing is, motor tax is likely to be pocket change in ownership costs...

I dont know much about the cars you are mentioning. Biggest concern is the total cost of ownership. E180,200,300 all of it, its free tax, its irrelevant. The high tax here and I mean high, 3l or higher on cc, is what makes the cars DIRT cheap to buy , or they certainly were for a long time...

I will say one thing, you will probably get absolutely sick of handing over that kind of money to them... its not an issue if after a year, you have had your fun and wont lose a fortune on depreciation. You know what the motor tax is from the get go, the depreciation on the other hand, is usually the absolute killer... of course some cars wont depreciate or barely will, but in general, that is what you need to be aware of...

back to your questions in the OP, whats my limit. Exotics or supercars only for the E2350 rate. E1250 rate, the likes of a merc s500 twin turbo putting out nearly 500 bhp, which sits a fraction below the E2350 limit, and I am considering for my next car. But in fairness, there is probably a handful of cars, I would even consider paying the E1250 rate for. The E750 rate is where you probably strike a fair trade, between decent car, acceptable rate of motor tax...

In regards to the Megane they've pretty much levelled out in terms of depreciation, €12k for a 2010.
    As my father says 'sure it's still a Renault', but the people buying these cars aren't considering the base model and vice versa..
    It's a completely different beast.

I'm seriously considering a Peugeot 208 GTI because I've heard they're great fun to drive, they're relatively cheap, €280 to tax, 200bhp, and cheap to insure but I can't see them holding their value, at least not as well as the Renault.

I know a fella with a Ferrari FF, I told a friend about it and his response was 'jesus what's the road tax on that!', I honestly don't think the fella batted an eye at the road tax when he was buying a car in that ball park.

My parents are very much of the mindset - Diesel, cheap tax, base model.
    If I mention Golf GTI, my mother will show me a base model 1.6 diesel that's 4 years newer and half the mileage for the same price..

I live beside a mechanic, diesel new, yeah maybe, shift it before they become problematic. Diesel when they are ten plus years old? bad idea, unless you do the mileage to warrant a diesel.

They stink, they are filthy ,rough tractor engines in most of them...

The likes of an S3 etc, are there any of them in petrol? Make sure you check insurance first before buying any car...

I will tell you my opinion, you are getting the car for enjoyment, buy the proper car, not the half assed job with a different number, on a piece of plastic...

would you consider like a bmw 325 or 33o coupe etc? or do you want smaller, like hot hatch only?

The next band down is E750. Honestly that is probably the max I would go for the vast majority of emissions based cars, you should get decent sport petrol for that amount...

How many km a year you driving? what have you previously driven? what is your max budget. Can maybe make few suggestions when we know this...

Completely missed the last part!

Budget is around €12k for the car.
    I'm commuting 40km one way, that's only twice a week at the moment (work placement from home), if college goes back in person next September it'll probably be that mileage 7 days a week. Edit - That placement lasts until May/June, I'll probably end up working a few more days over Summer so I'll be up on 5 days a week then too.
    Right now though I'm making a mint, I've kept up my part time job, getting paid for placement and I'm living at home.

Current car is an old Mk5 Golf, 1.4 petrol, it's seen better days.
    I've had a couple Mx-5s, 1 project and 1 daily that I ended up selling on.
    I've driven my fathers 5 series, my brothers 3 series, and a few small 1 litres, got a spin in a 911 once and my face hurt from smiling.

It seems like anything RWD is going to come with a high insurance loading, so I've been focusing on FWD Hot hatches.
    I just want something that's I enjoy driving every cold miserable morning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,761 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

Went full fat €1809 before, you need to look on the total driving cost over a period of say 3-5 years, factor in depreciation against a Joe Soap car and the levels of comfort and power the full fat will offer, you may get to drive a €100k plus car for the price of a sitting room suite.

For me I wouldn't spend more than €5k at that full fat level of tax as it's a complete gamble in terms of if a major job comes up like a gearbox it will cost more than you bought it for to put it right. You need to accept that anything over €500 in tax in todays world is deemed by most as crazy so be prepared to be buying something you may never sell with ease in the future.

Completely missed the last part!

Budget is around €12k for the car.
    I'm commuting 40km one way, that's only twice a week at the moment (work placement from home), if college goes back in person next September it'll probably be that mileage 7 days a week.

Current car is an old Mk5 Golf, 1.4 petrol, it's seen better days.
    I've had a couple Mx-5s, 1 project and 1 daily that I ended up selling on.
    I've driven my fathers 5 series, my brothers 3 series, and a few small 1 litres, got a spin in a 911 once and my face hurt from smiling.

It seems like anything RWD is going to come with a high insurance loading, so I've been focusing on FWD Hot hatches.
    I just want something that's I enjoy driving every cold miserable morning.

at least if you get it now, the cost of petrol etc does not matter, with the tiny amount of mileage you are doing at present.... golf gti seen as they really hold their value maybe?

or maybe get small petrol car with turbo remapped? rather than going for the usual high insurance suspects...

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/2-0-tfsi-audi-quattro-stage-2d/26998125

or would you go for this, power output a joke for that size engine, but sure a remap would unlock a good bit more. it has been up a good while, price just dropped again...
    https://www.donedeal.ie/all?words=audi%20a7

Went full fat €1809 before, you need to look on the total driving cost over a period of say 3-5 years, factor in depreciation against a Joe Soap car and the levels of comfort and power the full fat will offer, you may get to drive a €100k plus car for the price of a sitting room suite.

For me I wouldn't spend more than €5k at that full fat level of tax as it's a complete gamble in terms of if a major job comes up like a gearbox it will cost more than you bought it for to put it right. You need to accept that anything over €500 in tax in todays world is deemed by most as crazy so be prepared to be buying something you may never sell with ease in the future.

That's a good way of looking at it.
    Sadly for me that means I haven't a hope of getting insured.
    I can get insured on a 300bhp FWD hatchback but not a RWD 320D for reasonable money.
    I checked a 325D and got quoted €2400.

My current insurer won't touch me on anything but I'm getting quotes elsewhere.
    I checked an old Boxster (2002) My father loves them but I know it'd be a stupid purchase.
    Got quoted similar money as the BMW funnily enough.

I live beside a mechanic, diesel new, yeah maybe, shift it before they become problematic. Diesel when they are ten plus years old? bad idea, unless you do the mileage to warrant a diesel.

They stink, they are filthy ,rough tractor engines in most of them...

The likes of an S3 etc, are there any of them in petrol? Make sure you check insurance first before buying any car...

I will tell you my opinion, you are getting the car for enjoyment, buy the proper car, not the half assed job with a different number, on a piece of plastic...

would you consider like a bmw 325 or 33o coupe etc? or do you want smaller, like hot hatch only?

Some people would say I'd warrant a diesel when everything is in full swing but I'd rather stick to petrols.
    S3 would be nice, new ones are out of budget and I can't get insured on an old one (2002) unfortunately.

I got quoted €2300 on a 325D, 2011 €13k.
    Anything too old and I can't get a quote.
    08 335i was a no go.

I think I'd just rather something smaller than a 5 series, beyond that I'm really not pushy if I can get insured on it!

What do you mean by the proper car not a half assed job?

bamg on with the above post. You probably are a few decades off, but a merc could be cheap on insurance, my insurance actually dropped when I went from a bm 325 coupe, to a merc S500. last thing the insurance probably think of when insuring a merc, is boy racer risk :D

at least if you get it now, the cost of petrol etc does not matter, with the tiny amount of mileage you are doing at present.... golf gti seen as they really hold their value maybe?

or maybe get small petrol car with turbo remapped? rather than going for the usual high insurance suspects...

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/2-0-tfsi-audi-quattro-stage-2d/26998125

or would you go for this, power output a joke for that size engine, but sure a remap would unlock a good bit more. it has been up a good while, price just dropped again...
    https://www.donedeal.ie/all?words=audi%20a7

I've been eyeing up this GTI actually - https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/gti-vw-golf-mk6-manual-rare-gti/26579614

The last link didn't load to a specific ad, I'm guessing it's the 2.8 Audi A7?
    I'd love one of those, I know I said something smaller than a 5 series but it's hard to pass on those looks.
    €1300 to get insured.. and they wouldn't look at me when I checked the diesel version.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,409 ✭✭✭1874

In regards to the Megane they've pretty much levelled out in terms of depreciation, €12k for a 2010.
    As my father says 'sure it's still a Renault', but the people buying these cars aren't considering the base model and vice versa..
    It's a completely different beast.

I'm seriously considering a Peugeot 208 GTI because I've heard they're great fun to drive, they're relatively cheap, €280 to tax, 200bhp, and cheap to insure but I can't see them holding their value, at least not as well as the Renault.

I know a fella with a Ferrari FF, I told a friend about it and his response was 'jesus what's the road tax on that!', I honestly don't think the fella batted an eye at the road tax when he was buying a car in that ball park.

My parents are very much of the mindset - Diesel, cheap tax, base model.
    If I mention Golf GTI, my mother will show me a base model 1.6 diesel that's 4 years newer and half the mileage for the same price..

If you have a lot of other things set up or in place, or a good bit of it, why not have a nice car, Life is for living. I'd say it depends on your financial situation and where you are in life and what kind of use you have in mind (ie commuting long distance?).
    If you're saving for a house or living at home?

I like cars, still consider myself environmentally conscious, but you need a car/your own transport in this country one way or the other, why not have something with some features and even something nice.

When I was in my mid 20's I was somewhat set up and on fairly ok pay and I didn't go for anything nice, looking back, I wanted to but took the advice not to splurge on anything at all. Im in my forties now, my own mother baulked at the suggestion I'd buy myself a new EV car recently, and is horrified I have a second older car which I hardly drive, constantly asks when Im selling it.

Diesels are for work vehicles/or for people who need them because they give good economy for their long commutes (even though I consider Hybrids & EVs could match the economy for certain ranges).

The only thing about nice cars is they are a magnet for bad attention, I'd prefer a more subdued exterior with features and comfort. Id be fairly sick to pay above 750, but Id stretch to 1250 for tax, would be too much to consider for me above that these days, but never had a low tax car since as could not afford until recently (and still saving to better my situation), which makes me think, there is always something to save for and the longer you wait, the longer it gets left. It would be nice/good to have somewhere to keep a nice car and then have a cheap daily driver, eventually some fooker will ding it in a carpark with a trolley or door. I didn't used to count depreciation as a cost, but it is really imo, I wont be going ferrari, but maybe cheap luxobarge route for me.

I can just see, your mother sounds like mine, will be appalled, may not even speak to you if you turn up in something nice :pac:.
    Choose wisely young man :D.

I've been eyeing up this GTI actually - https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/gti-vw-golf-mk6-manual-rare-gti/26579614

I'd love one of those, I know I said something smaller than a 5 series but it's hard to pass on those looks.
    €1300 to get insured.. and they wouldn't look at me when I checked the diesel version.

yeah the 2.8 petrol a7. they look class alright! that was E1300 to insure?

By some grace of god chill quoted me €1300, might look a little strange seeing a 20 something jump out in his supermarket uniform but I'm fine with that!

id get a kick out of that :D What 20 something year old has an a7? ;)

out of budget, but bit of car porn here!

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/late-2016-audi-a7-black-edition-quattro/26520285?campaign=3

1874 wrote: »
    If you have a lot of other things set up or in place, or a good bit of it, why not have a nice car, Life is for living. I'd say it depends on your financial situation and where you are in life and what kind of use you have in mind (ie commuting long distance?).
    If you're saving for a house or living at home?

I like cars, still consider myself environmentally conscious, but you need a car/your own transport in this country one way or the other, why not have something with some features and even something nice.

When I was in my mid 20's I was somewhat set up and on fairly ok pay and I didn't go for anything nice, looking back, I wanted to but took the advice not to splurge on anything at all. Im in my forties now, my own mother baulked at the suggestion I'd buy myself a new EV car recently, and is horrified I have a second older car which I hardly drive, constantly asks when Im selling it.

Diesels are for work vehicles/or for people who need them because they give good economy for their long commutes (even though I consider Hybrids & EVs could match the economy for certain ranges).

The only thing about nice cars is they are a magnet for bad attention, I'd prefer a more subdued exterior with features and comfort. Id be fairly sick to pay above 750, but Id stretch to 1250 for tax, would be too much to consider for me above that these days, but never had a low tax car since as could not afford until recently (and still saving to better my situation), which makes me think, there is always something to save for and the longer you wait, the longer it gets left. It would be nice/good to have somewhere to keep a nice car and then have a cheap daily driver, eventually some fooker will ding it in a carpark with a trolley or door. I didn't used to count depreciation as a cost, but it is really imo, I wont be going ferrari, but maybe cheap luxobarge route for me.

I can just see, your mother sounds like mine, will be appalled, may not even speak to you if you turn up in something nice :pac:.
    Choose wisely young man :D.

My current situation is I'm 3 years into a 4 year degree, currently doing my work placement which is paid and from home.
    I'm keeping up my part time job so technically doing up on 60 hours a week but it's grand.

I'm living at home, commuting when college is in person and it's grand.

I've been spending money here and there but my costs are minimal unless I suddenly decide to buy a motorbike or a boat.

I commute 40km each way (sometimes more), sometimes 7 days a week.
    At the minute that's only 2 days and it'll be like that until June.
    Then it'll be a few days here and there over the summer.

I'm only working part time in a supermarket.
    But I can afford to have a nice car, I'd just have to go without buying other crap I don't need.
    I'm not a big fan of drinking anyway.

I'll be in this position for probably 2 years yet so I think I'm alright to splurge on a nice car.

My ever knowledgeable mother thinks now would be a great time to buy a nice new economical something-or-other that'll last me for years to come.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,761 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

I'd look at horse power per € of motor tax and reliability when purchasing the bigger engined stuff.

I suppose one thing I didnt cover is, Id be careful around private sales (even business sales, make sure you have all the details, dont feel rushed etc), make sure you get details of seller/ownership, when (if) you are handing over money, be careful how you do it etc, so someone doesnt know you are coming with a chunk of cash etc, check the car online.

personally Id prefer a dealer on the higher price angle, as you have the legal right for comeback (might be difficult to enforce) but you have zero with a private sale.
    Others here will be able to fill you in on price/value/problems of specific make/models, I like an older car with lower mileage, hard for me to say, Id be aiming lower mileage and price, but it looks nice. Not to put you off, but when I saw that ad, the brickwork looked familiar, maybe its just me, memory aint what it used to be, maybe a legit private sale.

Didnt mean to seem like I was asking you to outline personal circumstances details, more was asking where you are at, how much you spend and on what is down to you, you will have ongoing costs and unforseen costs, 40km is not diesel territory imo.
    And not meaning to undermine your mothers views, I can see where she is coming from, maybe strike a happy medium to keep her happy, look at the luxobarges too ? I stopped myself looking in bangernomics and luxobarges as I didnt want to make myself sick salivating over cars Id like cos I got a nice bangernomics with bells and whistles. Nice but cheap is possible too, look at all options.

I'd look at horse power per € of motor tax and reliability when purchasing the bigger engined stuff.

I was eyeing up a Mk2 Audi TTS that was 265 BHP AWD for €9k, don't think the ad was relisted though.

that hundred thousand euro car, is now likely to be bought for near ten thousand euro! How much better value can you get? ;) seriously though, that audi looks wise, is streets ahead of anything at that budget in my opinion... that isnt mental tax and potential money pit like a facelift s class etc...

I was eyeing up a Mk2 Audi TTS that was 265 BHP AWD for €9k, don't think the ad was relisted though.

Drooled over one here on boards/donedeal, just look into the technical side too, I think some of the TTS had oil related problems (scavenge or starvation??), always worth knowing you aren't getting a lemon, plenty of knowledge on boards about all that though.

1874 wrote: »
    Drooled over one here on boards/donedeal, just look into the technical side too, I think some of the TTS had oil related problems (scavenge or starvation??), always worth knowing you aren't getting a lemon, plenty of knowledge on boards about all that though.

That's why I passed on it really, luckily for me my brothers boss has a new TT and he was originally looking at an old TTS, but he'd heard bad things about them and he relayed that onto us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭Toyotafanboi

For me, i think 710 on the cc rate/ 750 on the Co2 rate would be my limit, but might consider stretching a little further if it was a car i really wanted.

I think that's a tolerable figure for someone living in the real world (not their mammys bedroom) on a modest income, say sub <€50k gross who is happy to pay "car bills" but not want their car bills to compromise other aspects of their lifestyle.

Obviously you can look at total cost of ownership on cheap to purchase yokes with crazy tax bills and balance that over 12 months or whatever but a big motor tax bill whether it be bought as a 12 month disc or a 3 month disc is a thankless interruption to cashflow to a fair extent.

Some lads are happy to suffer massive bills for interesting cars and there's nothing wrong with that, sure you could be doing worse things but it wouldn't/ couldn't be for everyone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,658 ✭✭✭kermitpwee

I

My ever knowledgeable mother thinks now would be a great time to buy a nice new economical something-or-other that'll last me for years to come.

Your mother is probably correct from a financial point of view. Not every decision needs to be from a financial point of view, what about fun?
    Some people are fixated on numbers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,106 ✭✭✭dar83

If the car is right, I'd pay whatever the tax is. The only caveat to that is the newer top rate of 2350 or whatever it is now. I'd refuse to pay that just because over 2k a year for something I wouldn't be using every day and a a lot of my day (20min commute to and from work in normal times wouldn't be enough value for me!), seems a bit much. i'd happily pay the 1809 tax rate for something worthwhile and V8/10/12 though, for sure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 237 ✭✭tobothehobo

My two cents is don't overlook the fiesta st. Tax is 280 per year and its great fun. I've daily driven one for the last 2 years and it still makes me grin from ear to ear on a back road. Easier to get than most performance cars in Ireland. But still rare enough you don't see many about.
    Did I mention how fun it is? Its really really fun!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 331 ✭✭chalky_ie

How much money do you have to spend on fixing a car, if something goes wrong? Usually, the higher the tax, the higher the cost of repair. Getting some 10 year old German luxury car for 8k because it has high tax is all well and good until something breaks, and it's 4 figures to fix it. If it's your first car on your own policy, I'd be trying to get something like a hot hatch that is cheap to fix, unless you have the money to spare, and don't care about spending it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,216 ✭✭✭reubenreuben

depends on the car but i think E1809 (max on cc rate) or 2350 (emission rate)are a joke.
    I pay 710 now, probably 400 on a newer car would be reasonable

conor-w wrote: »
    How much money do you have to spend on fixing a car, if something goes wrong? Usually, the higher the tax, the higher the cost of repair. Getting some 10 year old German luxury car for 8k because it has high tax is all well and good until something breaks, and it's 4 figures to fix it. If it's your first car on your own policy, I'd be trying to get something like a hot hatch that is cheap to fix, unless you have the money to spare, and don't care about spending it.

One of the cars I've really been eyeing up is a 2010 Megane RS250 Cup, they're not known to have any major issues (and yes it's a Renault), parts are relatively cheap too.
    Full service history, a folder full of work that's been done on it and all.
    That's €1250, which sounds mental considering that's more than what my current car is probably worth but I'd be willing to pay it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,211 ✭✭✭dave 27

Hi all, im currently looking at an audi a7 2012 which has a tax of 280, very hard to see what rate it will be in a year or 2 or 3. Can anyone give any advice on this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,109 ✭✭✭✭elperello

It's impossible to predict the future but we can look to the past.

In 2008 when the system of taxation changed cars that were on the old system were left on it.

This disadvantaged many motorists because the new system was cheaper for the majority of cars.

My own guess would be that they will do the same again and apply the revised rates to newly registered cars.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,363 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

The boards.ie crystal ball is no more accurate than yours. Nobody knows.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42 mac167

My 1.8 Civic cost me 400 in motor tax which actually surprised quite some friends of mine when I mentioned it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,772 ✭✭✭Montage of Feck

Better paying it on tax for some joy in your life rather than pissing or snorting it away.

🙈🙉🙊

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,142 ✭✭✭Mad_Lad

Motor tax is a lot cheaper than a new car !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,238 ✭✭✭hoodie6029

I miss the days when we had mods, a three year old zombie thread would’ve been locked and that’d have been the end of this pointlessness

This is water. Inspiring speech by David Foster Wallace https://youtu.be/DCbGM4mqEVw?si=GS5uDvegp6Er1EOG

You really have a lot to worry about don't you ?

Boards is super modded so I don't know what you're talking about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,109 ✭✭✭✭elperello

Second that.

I reported an incidence of the "blank pages bug" tonight at 22.25 and it was actioned and sorted by 23.00.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,331 ✭✭✭kdevitt

€750 max these days, more or less refuse to pay more. Had the full whack tax on my Cayman, and given the fact I take the train to work it drove me nuts every time the renewal came in. Having a limit really reduced / focused the options when I came to change - was more or less down to an M2 with the SMG box or the i8, which I went for.

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 724 CMod ✭✭✭✭LIGHTNING