Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Viability of small dairy farm

• 17-01-2021 6:07pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 241 ✭✭

Farming 60 acres, 12 acres silage and the rest grazing, 8 acres over the road, 35 acres grazing at home,10 acres is a bit rough but would do fine for calves (5 acres waste ground off silage ground) Currently have 19 sucklers, their calves and a few bought in calves, generally around 45 animals between cows calves everything on the farm at one time (very understocked i know), 24 cubicles on one side of the shed and straw bedded are on the other side.
    Wondering whats the viability of buying in 24 fleckvieh heifers, average 6500-7000 litres a year and you have a good solid beef calf aswell, milk solids would be around 3.4% protein and 4.1% butterfat, assuming milk price would generally be around 35cent for this but will assume worst case scenario of base price in local coop of 31c/l, milk alone would be worth €2000 and keeping the calf to a year to keep the rough ground grazed, would be worth around 600-800 local mart, meaning 2600 per cow per year over 24 cows would be 62,400 income, second hand parlour off donedeal and new bulk tank, youd be in the door of dairy for 40,000 and you'd have that paid off in 3-4 years, we do our own slurry, contractor would do silage, we have a pit for first cut also could put second cut in there too and take a few paddocks for bales.
    Once i'd have a bit saved up then i would plan to expand to 50/60 cows, put up a new 60 cubicle shed and new milking parlour and sell all calves at 2-4wks old

This is just hypothesising not a definitive plan just wondering would it work

Also has anyone ever used the injection to bring cattle into heat all at once AI them all on the one day that you could calve them all on the one day and would save a lot of long nights, same injection that would be given to young heifers if they have been bulled to get them to cycle and get rid of calf.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,742 ✭✭✭lalababa

If you can get a contract and suitable collection days then nothing wrong with 20 to 30 cows.I'd let the calves go at 3 weeks and give the extra time & fodder to the cows! Rough ground...? Let the cows on it/ Change/work it to meadow or lease it out and rent silage/grazing ground.
    Know nothing bout induced cycling 🙂

• Closed Accounts Posts: 604 ✭✭✭TooOldBoots

I'd say it would all depend on your lifestyle, it would be a no no if you have an off farm job. Otherwise I wouldn't rule out a new milking machine and you could price one and see is there grants available. I've a neighbour who bit the bullet and done it, all second hand stuff, he bought in dairy heifers as calves, I know he was picking them up for less than €100 each!! and yes it was a bit of a gamble as the EBI numbers were unknown.
    He had Suckler stock to sell, the cows were not too old and averaged €1000 + the Weanlen off them that year so he brought in a load of capital from the Sucklers.
    I think the biggest issue he had was from the second hand milking machine and regretted not going new as he could have gotten a grant.
    afaik the fleckvieh isn't all sunshine as they can be bad tempered, eat as much as a suckler and are a bigger cow. I would think you'd be better off with the British Friesian as the bull calf is still valuable unlike those jersey type yolks.
    I wouldn't worry about holding size as once you are up and running you can always keep an eye out for another farm to rent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 839 ✭✭✭staples7

Nice plan and I think you need to be optimistic in farming. With smaller herds unless your working off farm also then managing outgoings is extremely important. You calculate 62k income but have you worked out costs. Feed, fertiliser, vets, breakdowns, contractors? Again not criticism but once you go in with eyes open.

We’re milking just over 110 and whatever is left over almost certainly has to go straight back in

Ford4life wrote: »
    Farming 60 acres, 12 acres silage and the rest grazing, 8 acres over the road, 35 acres grazing at home,10 acres is a bit rough but would do fine for calves (5 acres waste ground off silage ground) Currently have 19 sucklers, their calves and a few bought in calves, generally around 45 animals between cows calves everything on the farm at one time (very understocked i know), 24 cubicles on one side of the shed and straw bedded are on the other side.
    Wondering whats the viability of buying in 24 fleckvieh heifers, average 6500-7000 litres a year and you have a good solid beef calf aswell, milk solids would be around 3.4% protein and 4.1% butterfat, assuming milk price would generally be around 35cent for this but will assume worst case scenario of base price in local coop of 31c/l, milk alone would be worth €2000 and keeping the calf to a year to keep the rough ground grazed, would be worth around 600-800 local mart, meaning 2600 per cow per year over 24 cows would be 62,400 income, second hand parlour off donedeal and new bulk tank, youd be in the door of dairy for 40,000 and you'd have that paid off in 3-4 years, we do our own slurry, contractor would do silage, we have a pit for first cut also could put second cut in there too and take a few paddocks for bales.

Also has anyone ever used the injection to bring cattle into heat all at once AI them all on the one day that you could calve them all on the one day and would save a lot of long nights, same injection given to young heifers if they have been bulled

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,718 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Will milk collection be an issue ??

Obviously it’s all artics now so you’d need space for that. But I’ve been told that they aren’t taking on small suppliers as they don’t want loads of small stops.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,932 ✭✭✭jaymla627

_Brian wrote: »

Obviously it’s all artics now so you’d need space for that. But I’ve been told that they aren’t taking on small suppliers as they don’t want loads of small stops.

It’s only logically to be fair, with glanbia they almost entirely operate owner driven lorries and supply the tank, with a fixed rate paid per litre delivered to factory, the lad that collects here once he gets into oct/nov has to do 10 plus stops to fill a tanker, and once dec hits could be 15, you can’t run a artic around the countryside at that craic

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 9,041 Mod ✭✭✭✭greysides

Also has anyone ever used the injection to bring cattle into heat all at once AI them all on the one day that you could calve them all on the one day and would save a lot of long nights, same injection given to young heifers if they have been bulled

Works better on heifers than cows. More variable response.

Calving 'everything' on the one day sounds great in theory, but in practice there's limits.... help to cope, availability of suitable housing, one big batch of calves going through all stages together...
    It's isn't going to be like that anyway. Even with heifers, some will repeat. Admittedly, the heats will be synchronised, to a point, but...

There's a different protocol for cows, but 'all in the one day' isn't achievable.

The aim of argument, or of discussion, should not be victory, but progress. Joseph Joubert

The ultimate purpose of debate is not to produce consensus. It's to promote critical thinking.

Adam Grant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,189 ✭✭✭ruwithme

God be with the old days,tractor &tank arriving same time everyday,lads carting cans &tanks to the creamery.

Do i hear a few groans??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,316 ✭✭✭tanko

jaymla627 wrote: »
    It’s only logically to be fair, with glanbia they almost entirely operate owner driven lorries and supply the tank, with a fixed rate paid per litre delivered to factory, the lad that collects here once he gets into oct/nov has to do 10 plus stops to fill a tanker, and once dec hits could be 15, you can’t run a artic around the countryside at that craic

I think i remember being told that the Glanbia lorry around here could do 30 - 40 stops to fill it in quiet times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 241 ✭✭Ford4life

lalababa wrote: »
    If you can get a contract and suitable collection days then nothing wrong with 20 to 30 cows.I'd let the calves go at 3 weeks and give the extra time & fodder to the cows! Rough ground...? Let the cows on it/ Change/work it to meadow or lease it out and rent silage/grazing ground.
    Know nothing bout induced cycling ��

I'd be keeping the calves because currently we are keeping 19 suckler cows and their calves on the 35 acres without any fertilizer spreading at all even through the droughts the past 2 years and the grass would still nearly outgrow them, so to have good quality of grass you'd want to spread a small bit anyway, its not very rough tbh kind of half rock half grass, in the future i will reclaim it hopefully, access wouldnt be great to rent it out to a fella as they would have to go though all our fields to get to it so its not really possible, with the calves I would rear them inside for the first month, put them in the field closest to the yard, bit of ration every day and then once theyre off milk send them down to the 'rough' fields and then bit of ration when I would go down to collect the cows for milking, wouldnt take much time at all, with the 12 acres we cut at the moment twice can also cut the 8 acres so would have more than enough silage ground, closed off on all sides with grazing ground unless we cross cows over a busy main road which may be possible down the line if I do expand to 50/60 cows but for the moment i wouldnt risk it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,807 ✭✭✭Birdnuts

Has anyone looked in the economics of Dairy goats?? The reason I ask is that half the family and friends appear to be switching to it for various "health" reasons and there certainly seems to be more of it on offer in major supermarkets

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,221 ✭✭✭davidk1394

Birdnuts wrote: »
    Has anyone looked in the economics of Dairy goats?? The reason I ask is that half the family and friends appear to be switching to it for various "health" reasons and there certainly seems to be more of it on offer in major supermarkets

We were going to do it here a few years ago. There is a market but it's niche. Unless you process it yourself Glenisk is the only creamery that will buy it. Also there is no market for the male goats. They have to be kept in nearly all year round. You'll have to deliver the milk also.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,457 ✭✭✭✭Base price

Do milking goats not be kept indoor a lot of the time cause they won't eat grass in a field as they are browsers rather than grazers.
    Edit to add - zero grazers are used to bring the grass into the sheds.

I'd say it would all depend on your lifestyle, it would be a no no if you have an off farm job. Otherwise I wouldn't rule out a new milking machine and you could price one and see is there grants available. I've a neighbour who bit the bullet and done it, all second hand stuff, he bought in dairy heifers as calves, I know he was picking them up for less than €100 each!! and yes it was a bit of a gamble as the EBI numbers were unknown.
    He had Suckler stock to sell, the cows were not too old and averaged €1000 + the Weanlen off them that year so he brought in a load of capital from the Sucklers.
    I think the biggest issue he had was from the second hand milking machine and regretted not going new as he could have gotten a grant.
    afaik the fleckvieh isn't all sunshine as they can be bad tempered, eat as much as a suckler and are a bigger cow. I would think you'd be better off with the British Friesian as the bull calf is still valuable unlike those jersey type yolks.
    I wouldn't worry about holding size as once you are up and running you can always keep an eye out for another farm to rent.

Have seen second hand 6 or 8 unit parlours on donedeal for around €5k, do fine for a year or two kind of thing, then in a few years id go all out with a new 60 cow cubicle shed and a fancy new milking parlour, 60 cows would be more than enough for 35 acres grazing once i reclaim the rough land, its just as a cheap way to get into the industry without a hole pile of debt incase **** did hit the fan! Plenty of farmers up to their eyeballs in debt as they had to keep up with the neighbours and take on the rented land nearby, buy another 80 cows and then employ a fella to milk them! Makes no sense to me. Suckler cows we have and their calves would cover the majority of the cost of the heifers and may even have a bit of change in the pocket after selling them, quite surprised about some of them being aggressive as i heard they were a very docile animal, i was planning on them as they were more like a suckler tbh, have a calf worth a decent bit at the end of it but now id be more inclined to the british friesen if they really are bad tempered, fairly closed off on each side unless we cross a busy main road which would make it awkward for expansion but might be manageable down the line

ruwithme wrote: »
    God be with the old days,tractor &tank arriving same time everyday,lads carting cans &tanks to the creamery.

Do i hear a few groans??

Crosskeys in Cavan has a stream of wee suppliers arriving in the morning with mobile tanks behind cars and tractors to meet the lorry to lift the milk. It’s the only place in Cavan I know of that this is happening

davidk1394 wrote: »
    We were going to do it here a few years ago. There is a market but it's niche. Unless you process it yourself Glenisk is the only creamery that will buy it. Also there is no market for the male goats. They have to be kept in nearly all year round. You'll have to deliver the milk also.

Ye.
    If your not near glenisk it’s a non runner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,807 ✭✭✭Birdnuts

davidk1394 wrote: »

A bit like Big dairy so;) - I see what your saying alright in terms of processors(though I noticed in Dunnes the last day that they have an own brand that appears to be processed in Donegal:confused:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 378 ✭✭trg

Fair play OP

What's your SFP?

What cost per litre would you be projecting?

Only wondering would a slightly more intensive effort at the sucklers yield as much in your pocket at the end of the year?

Obviously if you don't want to farm the sucklers any more then good look to them.

I'm only probing what will put most money in your pocket for your time

staples7 wrote: »
    Nice plan and I think you need to be optimistic in farming. With smaller herds unless your working off farm also then managing outgoings is extremely important. You calculate 62k income but have you worked out costs. Feed, fertiliser, vets, breakdowns, contractors? Again not criticism but once you go in with eyes open.

We’re milking just over 110 and whatever is left over almost certainly has to go straight back in

A quick few calculations on a napkin kind of job 😂
    Around 5,000 for silage, around 7,400 of fertilizer would be the absolute maximum that would be spent on that, hopefully wouldnt need the vet but well say the vet once a year per cow, 2400, currently running a ford 7810, ford 4000 with loader, massey ferguson 35 and a recent addition of a JCB 412S farmmaster so very little to go wrong with them touch wood, we'll say 3000 in parts though, tis around 450kg of ration per cow per lactation isnt it? If so that would be working off the pricing of bags of ration being €9 that would equate to 4,320 but buying in bulk would help bring the cost down, 10,000 in bank repayments, any few surprises or machinery that may need to be bought, 8,000 would bring it up to 40,120 leaving me with roughly 22k, give or take a few thousand as these figures are rough as a badgers arse, money would be going back into the farm and hopefully in a few years I would put up a 60 cow cubicle shed and a shiny new milking parlour, want to get in cheap first and see how it goes for the first year or two, fairly good at managing the grassland with the sucklers but with milking cattle it would be a different story so would act as a training period for the first couple years, plus if the arse does fall out of the dairy industry there are a lot of fellas that will get burned badly, wasnt so long ago the milk price fell to 19c/l my father was telling me

_Brian wrote: »

Thats what my father said too when I mentioned it to him, right off a busy main road so that might be an advantage, but this is just me half thinking out a plan and getting opinions on it, nothing definite about it 👍

jaymla627 wrote: »

Drinagh coop would be the milk collector around here, that would be some pain in the hole for the lad collecting i must say, around my area lot of big farmers so they would be going past my place anyhow right off a main road so thats an advantage i would say, thankfully not down a beaten track
    😂

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,492 ✭✭✭JustJoe7240

Nothing more to add to what has been posted really, as for synchronisation. In theory it's possible but realistically that would never happen. Did calving on a large dairy farm. Had the numbers you're talking about regularly.it wasn't fun, and they had the facilities to handle it

greysides wrote: »
    Works better on heifers than cows. More variable response.

Calving 'everything' on the one day sounds great in theory, but in practice there's limits.... help to cope, availability of suitable housing, one big batch of calves going through all stages together...
    It's isn't going to be like that anyway. Even with heifers, some will repeat. Admittedly, the heats will be synchronised, to a point, but...

There's a different protocol for cows, but 'all in the one day' isn't achievable.

24 would be manageable enough I would of thought, I would have my father around the place aswell to give a hand if needs be, with the synchronised breeding then in theory if 12 repeat, we could easily keep 12 cows in the straw bedded part of our current shed until they do calve, and we can split the cubicle shed down the middle to have half and half for once they do calve and keep them seperate from the ones that repeated so theres no sorting off ones that havent and bolloxing around at milking time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,992 ✭✭✭Mongfinder General

There’s a market out there for pasteurised homogenised and non homogenised milk in a glass bottle. Try finding one in Dublin. No chance. Ardfert and Dunlavin fairies are the only two I know of but they only sell in their local area.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,808 ✭✭✭✭Water John

You should be able to pick up a second hand parlour for something over €1K and it will do the job for years fine.
    At least with Drinagh you'll have one of the best prices in the country, but you'd need to check early that they'll collect.

ruwithme wrote: »

Do i hear a few groans??

Much simpler times, single cluster portable milking machine if ya were lucky and bucket and stool for most people my father says, no brakes or a bit in the tractor, be parked facing down the hill also or have a screwdriver handy for starting them 😃

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,611 ✭✭✭Mooooo

If your in west cork, go away and work on a dairy farm if you can this spring it will give you an idea of what involved. If you cant do that approach the coop/ teagasc and ask if there is a local discussion group that wouldn't mind you attending a few meetings.
    Tbh I'd stay away from the fleckveih, they'll eat all round them and hol/ fr will beat them for milk. Starting out with a young herd yields will be closer to between 5 and 6k litres. Something to consider would be just have cows, buy in replacements as needed, would simplify the system. What you need to know is how much grass you can grow and then you'll know how many cows you can comfortably carry.
    Plenty knowledgeable lads down there so a discussion group would be a good place to start

Would be around a 3-4 hour drive one way with a car from here, nevermind with a few thousand litres of milk behind ya 😂 how expensive would it be to get all the processing equipment required?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,344 ✭✭✭Grueller

I have done similar to what you are talking about. 60 cows on 35 acres. New 12 unit parlour. Reduced sucklers from 85 to 40 to use an outfarm.
    Here is my advice and I am assuming that you are under 25. Go away and get a qualification that you can work part time with good earning potential. I manage the farm with no help, but contract out most machinery work. I work off farm 10 hours per week but earn more than full time the average industrial wage from that. This makes the farm seriously viable as I can take minimal drawings from it. Spend 5-10 years getting to that position.

Would be around a 3-4 hour drive one way with a car from here, nevermind with a few thousand litres of milk behind ya 😂 how expensive would it be to get all the processing equipment required?

Maybe check with Glenilen if they'd be interested in using a goat or sheep milk supply, if you're open to the idea.

trg wrote: »
    Fair play OP

What's your SFP?

What cost per litre would you be projecting?

Only wondering would a slightly more intensive effort at the sucklers yield as much in your pocket at the end of the year?

Obviously if you don't want to farm the sucklers any more then good look to them.

I'm only probing what will put most money in your pocket for your time

Sucklers are being forgotten by all the politicians that were promising us money, we keep our costs to an absolute minimum and still lose money on them, and thats without even accounting for the hours worked per year, cost of keeping a cow for the year is about €600 for us, sell the calf at 9 months and they tend to make 800/900, this means a rough profit of 5700 at 300 profit per head, this sounds great until you factor in the cost of keeping the calf at a couple hundred, insurance for the farm of 2000, diesel of around 500, contractor 2000, ration of around 1000 and general expenses of 500 for the odd parts needed that leaves you with a net loss of 300 euro and thats best case scenario �� sucklers are a waste of time unless we start getting €4 a kilo in the mart but even then a decent dairy bull at the same age wouldnt be far off making the same and you get the milk from the cow to sell also
    Forgot SFP, would be around 5k but still not near enough to make it worth the time involved in them, that would work out at paying yourself €4.70 for every hour you work, any bottom level job would be a tenner an hour and no risk involved, cow dies thats €800 down the drain, calf dies thats a waste of €600 keeping the cow for the year
    Forgot to mention the cost per litre but income would be 62k roughly, total costs would be in the region of 40,000 leaving 22k profit roughly

Nothing more to add to what has been posted really, as for synchronisation. In theory it's possible but realistically that would never happen. Did calving on a large dairy farm. Had the numbers you're talking about regularly.it wasn't fun, and they had the facilities to handle it

Thats why I'd use the synchronised breeding so it would all be over in 2 days and then 2 days more calving 3 weeks later and that would be calving season done with hopefully, if you had 20 cows calving each day over a couple weeks that just wouldnt be possible, it would wear you down and would break your heart. Would have the father around to help with keeping an eye on them and assisting, once they wouldnt be overfat is the main thing

Water John wrote: »
    You should be able to pick up a second hand parlour for something over €1K and it will do the job for years fine.
    At least with Drinagh you'll have one of the best prices in the country, but you'd need to check early that they'll collect.

31c/l as base price, tis some job, if they were closed down with covid then it would of finished christ knows how many farmers around here, right off a busy main road that they would be going past anyway which is a bonus but would definitely be ringing them up before anything would be bought

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 378 ✭✭trg

Sucklers are being forgotten by all the politicians that were promising us money, we keep our costs to an absolute minimum and still lose money on them, and thats without even accounting for the hours worked per year, cost of keeping a cow for the year is about €600 for us, sell the calf at 9 months and they tend to make 800/900, this means a rough profit of 5700 at 300 profit per head, this sounds great until you factor in the cost of keeping the calf at a couple hundred, insurance for the farm of 2000, diesel of around 500, contractor 2000, ration of around 1000 and general expenses of 500 for the odd parts needed that leaves you with a net loss of 300 euro and thats best case scenario 😂 sucklers are a waste of time unless we start getting €4 a kilo in the mart but even then a decent dairy bull at the same age wouldnt be far off making the same and you get the milk from the cow to sell also
    Forgot SFP, would be around 5k but still not near enough to make it worth the time involved in them, that would work out at paying yourself €4.70 for every hour you work, any bottom level job would be a tenner an hour and no risk involved, cow dies thats €800 down the drain, calf dies thats a waste of €600 keeping the cow for the year

What age are you?
    Do you work off farm?

I like your thinking anyway, it's easier give out about the sucklers than do something about it

Mooooo wrote: »
    If your in west cork, go away and work on a dairy farm if you can this spring it will give you an idea of what involved. If you cant do that approach the coop/ teagasc and ask if there is a local discussion group that wouldn't mind you attending a few meetings.
    Tbh I'd stay away from the fleckveih, they'll eat all round them and hol/ fr will beat them for milk. Starting out with a young herd yields will be closer to between 5 and 6k litres. Something to consider would be just have cows, buy in replacements as needed, would simplify the system. What you need to know is how much grass you can grow and then you'll know how many cows you can comfortably carry.
    Plenty knowledgeable lads down there so a discussion group would be a good place to start

Been planning it for this spring anyway but with the leaving cert coming up the mother has me inside "Studying" next year will definitely be possible and will be going to darragh college next year so theres a good few months of placement on farms with the dairy herd management course, carrying 19 sucklers that are generally around 600-700kgs each and their calves on the 35 acres without spreading any fertilizer or slurry on the land, throughout the drought of 2018 we had to feed 10 small square bales of hay roughly equal to a single silage bale so well understocked at that, 24 fleckviehs would be roughly equal to that and you'd have a good beef calf at the end of it, not to mention the rascists in the mart 😂 sold a black limousin and a red limousin in the mart, same weight same size, only difference was one was red and he made an extra 200 over the other fella, with the fleckvieh youd have the same colour as a limousin nearly and the beef farmers would pay a decent price for an animal that with a bit of ration could be 400kgs at 9mths, in theory spreading fertilizer would atleast double the grass production bringing it to 48 cows and spreading of lime required in a lot of the fields would probably bring it to 60 cows capacity roughly but that would be a few years down the line as i would save up to put up a new cubicle shed and a new milking parlour in the one go, 10 acres of half rock half grass that i would like to reclaim also

What would be the general opinion on jerseys? 40c/l milk price minimum roughly in drinagh coop and if cow was bred with a decent bull you wouldnt have the worst calf at the end of it

Grueller wrote: »
    I have done similar to what you are talking about. 60 cows on 35 acres. New 12 unit parlour. Reduced sucklers from 85 to 40 to use an outfarm.
    Here is my advice and I am assuming that you are under 25. Go away and get a qualification that you can work part time with good earning potential. I manage the farm with no help, but contract out most machinery work. I work off farm 10 hours per week but earn more than full time the average industrial wage from that. This makes the farm seriously viable as I can take minimal drawings from it. Spend 5-10 years getting to that position.

Currently heading into the dairy herd management course in darragh and then will go to pallaskenry for the agricultural engineering course, only about 2 fellas at it around here and charge in the region of 70 euro an hour and some contractors around here would nearly take a mechanic on full time, so fairly secure job once you get a bit of experience behind ya, plus the bonus of being able to fix any rare problems on our own machinery

Water John wrote: »
    Maybe check with Glenilen if they'd be interested in using a goat or sheep milk supply, if you're open to the idea.

I wouldnt say no at all if there was a lot more money in it but the problem would be them in year round, drawing in grass and drawing out **** so would it make it worth it the extra costs associated is the issue, how many goats would you feed for 1 milking cow would you know? 5-10 at a guess i would assume

trg wrote: »
    What age are you?
    Do you work off farm?

I like your thinking anyway, it's easier give out about the sucklers than do something about it

im 17, work off the farm but im thinking a few years in advance when the father might eventually hand over the farm and peoples recommendations for different things to do with it

Sucklers are not profitable by any means, if you have to rely on a SFP then its a waste of time, we are very understocked, keep the costs to a minimum and still lose money on them, unless we get €4 a kilo in the mart all of a sudden for weanlings then the last few sucklers will die out and leave the beef farmers rearing calves

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,109 ✭✭✭cute geoge

I never heard much about fleckl. cows ,if they were any use surely they would be more popular . you would be better off starting off with british fr/holstein cowand dont be expecting record yields starting out ,forget about rearing beef calves if you are milking as your milkers would make mote profitable use of the land

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 9,041 Mod ✭✭✭✭greysides

Thats why I'd use the synchronised breeding so it would all be over in 2 days and then 2 days more calving 3 weeks later and that would be calving season done with hopefully...

Just. Not. Possible.

Or it would be commonplace, in some form.

The aim of argument, or of discussion, should not be victory, but progress. Joseph Joubert

The ultimate purpose of debate is not to produce consensus. It's to promote critical thinking.

Adam Grant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,270 ✭✭✭carrollsno1

im 17, work off the farm but im thinking a few years in advance when the father might eventually hand over the farm and peoples recommendations for different things to do with it

Sucklers are not profitable by any means, if you have to rely on a SFP then its a waste of time, we are very understocked, keep the costs to a minimum and still lose money on them, unless we get €4 a kilo in the mart all of a sudden for weanlings then the last few sucklers will die out and leave the beef farmers rearing calves

You remind me of someone very similar to myself at that age, you seem to have been awful blinkered like myself growing up havent seen anything outside farming. You made remark about youre mother putting an emphasis on studying this year, id advise you to take her advice on that, i presumed i didnt need it and hadnt needed it until last year when i was 25.
    As grueller said go out and get educated hes dead right on that point as its not a hard load to carry. One thing i had thought of doing when i was around 20 was going with my uncles a few days a week on site to see something different but i stuck at the farming instead. Id advise you to forget about farming and go work on a site for the summer and see how it goes i didnt know what money was until i went working in Oz despite being on good twine here at the time.
    You mentioned a figure of €22k profit from the cows after all youre investment and everything else well i was only working the 6 months of last year as an apprentice and earned over €12k so going by that a first year apprentice is making more than you will be farming with no need to invest heavily in a set up and you still have to be there 7 days a week while im almost always a monday to friday man. Only downside is i have to travel s bit a standard day is being gone for 12hrs of the day maybe more when youre travelling to site but you just get on with it.

Also re the leaving cert im working with an awful dose at the minute whos just a genius and knows everything about everything so much so that he tells the tradesmen and everyone else how to do there job. Hes nearly 19 and was offered a start as an apprentive here after working as a GO for a bit but he told me he knows enough and he couldnt do one anyway even if he wanted to as he didnt bother with the leaving at the time as he was flat out farming and too cool for school.

Better living everyone

cute geoge wrote: »
    I never heard much about fleckl. cows ,if they were any use surely they would be more popular . you would be better off starting off with british fr/holstein cowand dont be expecting record yields starting out ,forget about rearing beef calves if you are milking as your milkers would make mote profitable use of the land

Theyre an austrian breed, average yield for a mature cow would be around 7000 litres so a heifer would produce roughly 6000 litres i would assume, sure if no one tried anything new then we would still be in the stone age, reason i'd be keeping the calves on to 9 months would be to graze the rougher land which are also the farthest fields from where i plan to put the parlour (half grass half rock kinda land, around 10 acres of it) in our current shed we only have 24 cubicles, hence the odd enough number of starting out with 24 cows and 24 cows is way too much for 35 acres of land, then in a few years i would put up a 60 cubicle shed and a new milking parlour in one go and get 60 cattle and sell the calves at 2wks to 4 wks old

greysides wrote: »
    Just. Not. Possible.

Or it would be commonplace, in some form.

Well that put an awful damper on my plans 😊

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,344 ✭✭✭Grueller

Currently heading into the dairy herd management course in darragh and then will go to pallaskenry for the agricultural engineering course, only about 2 fellas at it around here and charge in the region of 70 euro an hour and some contractors around here would nearly take a mechanic on full time, so fairly secure job once you get a bit of experience behind ya, plus the bonus of being able to fix any rare problems on our own machinery

Wrong road imo. If a lad is broken down in silage season or the harvest and needs to be going again asap he won't want to hear that you have 3 line of cows left and you will be on when you wash up.
    You are also working too hard. Think sitting down job. Have a bit left in the tank when you are finished your day job. The trades are fine if you don't want to do anything after work, but if you want to do a physical job in the evening your day job needs to be handy.

The Fleckveih is the most popular breed in Germany AFAIK. Good number in Austria, Switzerland and some in The Netherlands. A milking Simmental.

Wrong road imo. If a lad is broken down in silage season or the harvest and needs to be going again asap he won't want to hear that you have 3 line of cows left and you will be on when you wash up.
    You are also working too hard. Think sitting down job. Have a bit left in the tank when you are finished your day job. The trades are fine if you don't want to do anything after work, but if you want to do a physical job in the evening your day job needs to be handy.

Exactly right about getting calls during silage snd they could be at any time of the night or day too. Its grand to say youre charging €70/hr but if youre only doing ten hours a week over 7 days for say 6 weeks of the year st silage its not much. Someone in our line of work is getting €45/hr for a pen pushing job we thought its great money but an auld fella thats been around the block told us youd have very little left after you take PRSI, Income tax, youre pension, run a jeep and sort accomadation ln top of it all.

Better living everyone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,221 ✭✭✭davidk1394

im 17, work off the farm but im thinking a few years in advance when the father might eventually hand over the farm and peoples recommendations for different things to do with it.

I was the exact same as you at 17. All I wanted was farming, tractors, diesel, long days and pints on a weekend. I started off contacting and it helped me put money together. I'm currently building a parlor and going milking.

My advice regardless of herd size is finish school and go to college ideally somewhere away from home and enjoy yourself. Work in a different sector and if possible go abroad. You will have a different thought process when you go farming. The farm will be there for when you get older.

I did these things and looking back I'm delighted I did. There was some days in college I wanted to pack it in but I kept at it and made it through. Dont be in a rush home and live your life first.

You remind me of someone very similar to myself at that age, you seem to have been awful blinkered like myself growing up havent seen anything outside farming. You made remark about youre mother putting an emphasis on studying this year, id advise you to take her advice on that, i presumed i didnt need it and hadnt needed it until last year when i was 25.
    As grueller said go out and get educated hes dead right on that point as its not a hard load to carry. One thing i had thought of doing when i was around 20 was going with my uncles a few days a week on site to see something different but i stuck at the farming instead. Id advise you to forget about farming and go work on a site for the summer and see how it goes i didnt know what money was until i went working in Oz despite being on good twine here at the time.
    You mentioned a figure of €22k profit from the cows after all youre investment and everything else well i was only working the 6 months of last year as an apprentice and earned over €12k so going by that a first year apprentice is making more than you will be farming with no need to invest heavily in a set up and you still have to be there 7 days a week while im almost always a monday to friday man. Only downside is i have to travel s bit a standard day is being gone for 12hrs of the day maybe more when youre travelling to site but you just get on with it.

Also re the leaving cert im working with an awful dose at the minute whos just a genius and knows everything about everything so much so that he tells the tradesmen and everyone else how to do there job. Hes nearly 19 and was offered a start as an apprentive here after working as a GO for a bit but he told me he knows enough and he couldnt do one anyway even if he wanted to as he didnt bother with the leaving at the time as he was flat out farming and too cool for school.

Work with a fella at concrete work and general farm work on his farm slurry silage etc, at the moment, have no great love for the concrete work tbh fine the odd day here and there but couldnt do it every day the rest of my life and farming is where my heart is, im not putting 1000 hours a year into the farm at home when i might get paid a tenner at the end of it because of the money!

I find it very hard to concentrate on the studying, 10 mins into reading the books and my mind would be wandering, info goes in one ear and out the other generally, unless its something to do with the farm then usually i'm okay at remembering things

Doing the dairy course now next 2 years and then ill head off to pallaskenry for the agricultural engineering course, the two fellas in my area at it would be charging 70 euro an hour roughly and a few contractors would nearly have full time jobs for mechanics so pretty much a guaranteed job at the end of it.

Currently sat at around 300-350 points, just praying to god that stubborn bitch Norma Foley will give up on the traditional leaving as my memory is like a sieve and doesn't suit remembering 6 years worth of work and writing it down in 3 hrs.

I would be the type of fella to ask a tradesman why he does things one way and not another but by god I wouldn't tell them what to do, unless they asked me for my opinion specifically.

I can be a right stubborn bastard and thick as pig **** sometimes but in fairness if im proved wrong ill admit i'm wrong

The 22k figure would just be for a few years until i could get a new 60 cubicle slatted shed and new milking parlour up without having to take out too much of a loan, 60 cows would be more than enough, 5 years of milking 24 cows would nearly cover the cost of the 60 cubicle shed and then maybe 100,000 for new milking parlour, its just to avoid taking out 300000 from the bank and then if the milk price went to **** I wouldn't be badly burnt at having 40000 out for a second hand parlour and new bulk tank, compared to some of the lads that have 300/400k on loan from the bank

Im planning for the future after a few years of the mechanic work, that i could slow down on that side of things and get into the cattle, but also have that job to fall back on if milk price went to ****, plus the father could relief milk the odd time if he had to, im not afraid of the long hours and long days and to be honest i prefer them, hate sitting down and doing nothing unless its to watch someone else farming on youtube or whatever
    Could get a handy job in the council working as a mechanic 😉 9-5 would be manageable enough and take time off for calving or whatever is going on, hence why i was hoping that fellas would say synchronised breeding would be a massive success 😞 that they would all calve over 1-2 days

Work with a fella at concrete work and general farm work on his farm slurry silage etc, at the moment, have no great love for the concrete work tbh fine the odd day here and there but couldnt do it every day the rest of my life and farming is where my heart is, im not putting 1000 hours a year into the farm at home when i might get paid a tenner at the end of it because of the money!

I find it very hard to concentrate on the studying, 10 mins into reading the books and my mind would be wandering, info goes in one ear and out the other generally, unless its something to do with the farm then usually i'm okay at remembering things

Doing the dairy course now next 2 years and then ill head off to pallaskenry for the agricultural engineering course, the two fellas in my area at it would be charging 70 euro an hour roughly and a few contractors would nearly have full time jobs for mechanics so pretty much a guaranteed job at the end of it.

Currently sat at around 300-350 points, just praying to god that stubborn bitch Norma Foley will give up on the traditional leaving as my memory is like a sieve and doesn't suit remembering 6 years worth of work and writing it down in 3 hrs.

I would be the type of fella to ask a tradesman why he does things one way and not another but by god I wouldn't tell them what to do, unless they asked me for my opinion specifically.

I can be a right stubborn bastard and thick as pig **** sometimes but in fairness if im proved wrong ill admit i'm wrong

The 22k figure would just be for a few years until i could get a new 60 cubicle slatted shed and new milking parlour up without having to take out too much of a loan, 60 cows would be more than enough, 5 years of milking 24 cows would nearly cover the cost of the 60 cubicle shed and then maybe 100,000 for new milking parlour, its just to avoid taking out 300000 from the bank and then if the milk price went to **** I wouldn't be badly burnt at having 40000 out for a second hand parlour and new bulk tank, compared to some of the lads that have 300/400k on loan from the bank

If youre planning on doing the ag engineering course why are you going doing the dairy one first? It sounds like youll be doing the ag engineering work before the cows if daddys still at home. Theres more to construction than concreting the mechanical side of it is only getting bigger and bigger from what i can see and it sounds like thats something you might have an interest in if youre doing agri engineering. You say the two contractors would have full time work for a mechanic but you never mentioned anywhere in youre plan about serving youre time as a fitter or mechanic?

Myself and DavidK were in college together and like he said it was all about long days and pints at the weekend but theres a lot more to life than that.
    Theres probably as much lads after doing trades or going back to education after ag college out of our year than lads that went home fulltime and not to mention the lads that got stuck in at home wishing they did something else.

Better living everyone

Im planning for the future after a few years of the mechanic work, that i could slow down on that side of things and get into the cattle, but also have that job to fall back on if milk price went to ****, plus the father could relief milk the odd time if he had to, im not afraid of the long hours and long days and to be honest i prefer them, hate sitting down and doing nothing unless its to watch someone else farming on youtube or whatever
    Could get a handy job in the council working as a mechanic 😉 9-5 would be manageable enough and take time off for calving or whatever is going on, hence why i was hoping that fellas would say synchronised breeding would be a massive success 😞 that they would all calve over 1-2 days

Again re the mechanic part when are you starting the apprenticeship in rhat?
    Long hours and looking at tractors on youtube? I know theres little going on at the moment with Covid but theres better things to be at than that. Wait till ye head off to college and discover drinking and women the farmflix subscription will be long forgotten about then

Better living everyone