Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

2020 King George

• 14-12-2020 3:36pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,625 ✭✭✭

Usually the second best race of the year. Absolutely love this contest
    Looking at the AP market for this year's would hardly inspire you.
    Very ordinary field.

Real Steel ew probably be my play but hardly a riveting choice

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 976 ✭✭✭supremenovice

I think Vinndication 40/1 each way is a shout. That animal seems to prefer right-handed tracks and a lot of the horses shorter in the market will not turn up. I think Bailey has said already he intends to run. Could be 25/1 on the day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 823 ✭✭✭Coneygree

Hope Monalee wins but Allaho @33/1 is my bet although not certain yet if he makes the trip over.

Mullins usually likes to send something over. Kemboy is definitely a Leopardstown horse, Al Boum will go to Tramore so possibly Allaho.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 126 ✭✭Anniepowaa

Second best race of the year yet the first 3 picks are ginnits

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,625 ✭✭✭RivetingRoger

If Allaho travels I will be all over him but doubt he will.
    If he is 10s NRNB I will go in heavy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,771 ✭✭✭Dr. Bre

Clan des again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,142 ✭✭✭akelly02

Cyrename to travel all over them and right the wrongs of last year .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,047 ✭✭✭Itziger

Are ya having us on m8??!! Three-horse race with that clown Frankie telling us that Enable was a cross between Shergar, Frankel, Sea the Stars and Nijinsky.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,078 ✭✭✭IAMAMORON

Clan Des Obeaux will win handy again.

It would be nice to see Al Boum Photo take him on but we know that won't happen.

Wins handy, he was out for a jog at Haydock this will have been the plan for a while and I could see him be saved for Grade 1 at Aintree after.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,431 ✭✭✭Morgans

IAMAMORON wrote: »
    Wins handy, he was out for a jog at Haydock this will have been the plan for a while and I could see him be saved for Grade 1 at Aintree after.

Did you see the Haydock race? Out for a jog me hoop. The biggest danger is that he had too hard a race.

Morgans wrote: »
    Did you see the Haydock race? Out for a jog me hoop. The biggest danger is that he had too hard a race.

I saw it with my own eyes. Came handy and looked all over the winner and then wasn't fit enough to get by. He was not trained for that race. He picked up a nice few bob all the same.

Trainers do it all the time with horses, have them half fit at different times of the year depending on their targets. You can be sure Delta Work finishes his race better at Leopardstown than he did at Down Royal as well.

If I can get a lengths special on Clan Des Obeaux I will have a few there also, he pisses up. Nicholls knows what he is at.

I am just hoping that the wafflers get going in time for Cyrname to get backed and whatever else turns up, just so I get a nicer price. CDO wins handy. Have a look at last years race to see what he can do on a flat track. They will save him for Aintree then and I reckon he hacks up there also.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,016 ✭✭✭Hulk Hands

Luckily we've Nicholls to set it straight.

"I've no hesitation in saying Clan is ready this time. He looks fantastic, stronger and hard fit, and enjoyed an away day with Politologue recently.
    We are not using this as a warm-up for his hat-trick bid in the King George and there will be no excuses on the fitness front. Clan is a month further down the line compared to his first run of the season at Down Royal last year. He has had a lot of graft and I really fancy him."

https://betting.betfair.com/horse-racing/paul-nicholls/paul-nicholls-haydock-saturday-runners-preview-clan-is-hard-fit-for-betfair-chase-bid-191120-9.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,431 ✭✭✭Morgans

I saw it with my own eyes. Came handy and looked all over the winner and then wasn't fit enough to get by. He was not trained for that race. He picked up a nice few bob all the same.

Trainers do it all the time with horses, have them half fit at different times of the year depending on their targets. You can be sure Delta Work finishes his race better at Leopardstown than he did at Down Royal as well.

If I can get a lengths special on Clan Des Obeaux I will have a few there also, he pisses up. Nicholls knows what he is at.

I am just hoping that the wafflers get going in time for Cyrname to get backed and whatever else turns up, just so I get a nicer price. CDO wins handy. Have a look at last years race to see what he can do on a flat track. They will save him for Aintree then and I reckon he hacks up there also.

Id watch the race again. The last thing that a horse half fit needs is to be emptied on heavy ground. If he was 'out for a jog' he would have allowed Briston de Mai to go clear. He was driven all out to the line and was coming back at the winner from the last.

He was the horse I fancied for it but after this thread, its a no-bet race for me.

Morgans wrote: »
    Id watch the race again. The last thing that a horse half fit needs is to be emptied on heavy ground. If he was 'out for a jog' he would have allowed Briston de Mai to go clear. He was driven all out to the line and was coming back at the winner from the last.

He was the horse I fancied for it but after this thread, its a no-bet race for me.

There is nothing to see, I watched it before.

Lost in Translation underperformed and that was Bristol De Mai's Gold Cup and his main season target. Nicholls was looking to pick up some handy feed money for finishing 3rd or so and CDO suddenly found himself in front on the snaff with 500 yards to go, only about 60% fit I reckon.

I am not sure what else there is to say?

It would be nice to see Al Boum Photo take him on but we know that won't happen.

He had a terribly hard race for a nag
    that was out for a jog

akelly02 wrote: »
    He had a terribly hard race for a nag
    that was out for a jog

I honestly don't think so. He was not running in his preferred ground, he was not genuinely backed either. Lost in Translation was beaten half a mile out.

If Nicholls had him fitter he would have won handy, but Bristol De Mai wanted it more. Sam Twiston Davis barely raised his whip. He let Bristol De Mai get a run on him again, it was not the prettiest of rides. Only gave him a few cracks late on after BDM had taken 3-4 lengths off him in a few yards.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 2,036 Mod ✭✭✭✭The Mig

Favourite pub day of the year!

There is nothing to see, I watched it before.

Lost in Translation underperformed and that was Bristol De Mai's Gold Cup and his main season target. Nicholls was looking to pick up some handy feed money for finishing 3rd or so and CDO suddenly found himself in front on the snaff with 500 yards to go, only about 60% fit I reckon.

I am not sure what else there is to say?

Despite the betting market on the day disagreeing, the race video disagreeing and Nicholls himself disagreeing saying he had him in a month early and was hard fit.

Although I wouldn't agree he was just out for a jog it was a clever run from CDO at Haydock and a perfect prep race for the King George. He'll come on loads from that and will take all the beating.

Cyrname left me eating humble pie the last day but I still don't think hell stay the whole trip around Kempton. However maybe it was a case of like Altior, that race last year knocked the stuffing out of him and there's actually a much better horse in front of us than the really good one we see now.

I hope the race doesn't cut up too much, could be a really good renewal.

Hulk Hands wrote: »
    Despite the betting market on the day disagreeing

Waffle, he was MP 5/2 in a 3 horse race into 9/4. Hardly indicating a plunge or anything. Bristol De mai was the same price. The horse was not fancied.
    the race video disagreeing

More waffle , the video is a few posts above, have a look.
    and Nicholls himself disagreeing saying he had him in a month early and was hard fit.

What is he going to say in fairness?

Waffle, he was MP 5/2 in a 3 horse race into 9/4. Hardly indicating a plunge or anything. Bristol De mai was the same price. The horse was not fancied.

More waffle , the video is a few posts above, have a look.

What is he going to say in fairness?

You think that a horse that's in your words, 60% fit, is going to go off a rock solid 9/4 shot in one of the most lucrative races of the year? He was up against last year's winner, the runaway winner from the year before, he had been beaten on his previous two year opening starts yet went off almost favourite?

Nicholls has been doing those ghost columns for 20 years and has been honest to a fault in them.

I've never yet met a tenner punter so steadfast in his opinions

You think that a horse that's in your words, 60% fit, is going to go off a rock solid 9/4 shot in one of the most lucrative races of the year? He was up against last year's winner, the runaway winner from the year before, he had been beaten on his previous two year opening starts yet went off almost favourite?

Nicholls has been doing those ghost columns for 20 years and has been honest to a fault in them.

I've never yet met a tenner punter so steadfast in his opinions

If CDO was fit he would have won by 50 yards. He comes upsides on the Bridal, in fairness to Daryl Jacob he saw what was happening and got busy, it won him the race. But if CDO was fit he breezes by. Watch the video.

Paul Nicholls might be a straight talker but he is not going to admit that he would a send a horse into a race early season half fit, it is obvious what went on. There is a mild argument around BDM handling conditions at the finish better, insofar that he was able to quicken better in the conditions initially - that probably helped - but STD gave BDO a shight ride eitherways, even if the horse was fit. Had he got serious with BDO at the same time Jacob does, instead of letting him get ahead again, then he probably pulls clear. You can see he was gaining at the finish after he gets CDO going. Eitherway it was a poor ride on a horse that was not fully fit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 809 ✭✭✭Earendil

The Mig wrote: »
    Favourite pub day of the year!

Will they ferk you out after 2 hours?

Monalee confirmed
    Currently 8/1

Henry confirms Rachael will ride.
    Hmm.......might have to have a little wager on this race after all !!

Interesting contender
    Still no word on a WPM runner

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 2,036 Mod ✭✭✭✭The Mig

Earendil wrote: »
    Will they ferk you out after 2 hours?

No time limit if your table is more than 2m away from another ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 278 ✭✭Daraa

Allaho's price gone out to 25/1. Anyone hear anything? Looking like he wont travel?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,173 ✭✭✭piplip87

I'm thinking a few quid on Monalee but by jaysus I wont be watching on ITV. It will be the Rachel Blackmore show I think. Very patronising towards female jockeys.

piplip87 wrote: »
    I'm thinking a few quid on Monalee but by jaysus I wont be watching on ITV. It will be the Rachel Blackmore show I think. Very patronising towards female jockeys.

I like Laura Pearson myself.

Considering how class a jockey Rachael is she doesn't get too much if any special treatment I think. Especially compared to that wannabe romance poet across the pond who hasn't a tenth of the talent of Rachael.

Coneygree wrote: »
    Considering how class a jockey Rachael is she doesn't get too much if any special treatment I think. Especially compared to that wannabe romance poet across the pond who hasn't a tenth of the talent of Rachael.

Laura Pearson?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,028 ✭✭✭TheMilkyPirate

piplip87 wrote: »

They're only like that with Bryony frost. Sher don't you know she's the only female jockey in the world and is so amazing and inspiring

Thinking of cashing out my monalee bets
    Hardly travel now will they

Christ I didn't even think of that. Balls anyway.

They are still entered but I can't see Rachael going into a Tier 4 area can you?
    Wouldn't be half as inclined to back the horse without her tbh

Santini supplemented

Drifting now too

Dr. Bre wrote: »
    Santini supplemented
    Drifting now too

That is more than likely why.

Has Monalee ever won a Grade 1 before?

Bang goes my Vindication bet anyway. At least the appearance of Santini will make it interesting

lads

santini hasnt a hope

same story as native river , not his track , isnt his cup of tea, wont win.

If Santini started NOW the absolute boat wouldn't win

Black Op
    Clan Des Obeaux
    Cyrname
    Frodon
    Lostintranslation
    Monalee
    Real Steel
    Saint Calvados
    Santini
    Waiting Patiently

They're the ones left, be sure it'll cut up even more during the week.

Might be a no bet race for me tbh with Allaho gone, can't find an angle. Can't and won't back a Tizzard horse at the moment, Waiting Patiently has been messed around with and doesn't look like the horse he was a couple of years ago, Saint Calvados looks like he could threaten a grade 1 one day, and then looks like he belongs in a Cartmel handicapper race. Real Steel is a very hot and cold horse too. Monalee might be the bet but very unlikely to turn up now surely.

Cyrname and CDO reverse forecast I guess if I had an itch.

This is my AP accum bet for Christmas. Win only. 2 x 7folds , 13 x 6folds , 36 f 5 folds, 55 x 4 folds. You need at least 4 winning to turn a profit on the bet. I might cash out if I get 6 up by the time Sharjah takes his chance. I can see Notebook winning handy.

26th Dec LEOPARDSTOWN Racing Post Novice Chase - Racing Post Novice Chase Energumene 11/8
    26th Dec LIMERICK Matchbook Betting Exchange Faugheen Novice Chase - Matchbook Betting Exchange Faugheen Novice Chase Asterion Forlonge 11/8
    26th Dec KEMPTON King George VI Chase (Antepost) - King George VI Chase (Antepost) Santini 6/1
    26th Dec KEMPTON King George VI Chase (Antepost) - King George VI Chase (Antepost) Clan des Obeaux 7/4
    27th Dec LEOPARDSTOWN Paddys Rewards Club Chase - Paddys Rewards Club Chase Notebook 4/1
    28th Dec LEOPARDSTOWN Christmas Hurdle - Christmas Hurdle Fury Road 11/4
    28th Dec LEOPARDSTOWN Savills Chase - Savills Chase Delta Work 9/2
    29th Dec LEOPARDSTOWN Matheson Hurdle - Matheson Hurdle Sharjah 8/1

I would have thought CDO was a certainty before before the entry of Santini but I am genuinely worried now. Probably swinging and bucking at home and is a real danger to CDO. Monalee is not good enough IMO. He has not won a race in over 20 months and is unlikely to get his ground. Eitherways the King George is an attritional race and I can't see him staying the way the race is run, it is last horse standing stuff, I don't think he could outstay the principles. You need to be up with the pace and then be able to kick on the homestretch, he is not that good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 69 ✭✭spuddiesal

This is my AP accum bet for Christmas. Win only. 2 x 7folds , 13 x 6folds , 36 f 5 folds, 55 x 4 folds. You need at least 4 winning to turn a profit on the bet. I might cash out if I get 6 up by the time Sharjah takes his chance. I can see Notebook winning handy.

26th Dec LEOPARDSTOWN Racing Post Novice Chase - Racing Post Novice Chase Energumene 11/8
    26th Dec LIMERICK Matchbook Betting Exchange Faugheen Novice Chase - Matchbook Betting Exchange Faugheen Novice Chase Asterion Forlonge 11/8
    26th Dec KEMPTON King George VI Chase (Antepost) - King George VI Chase (Antepost) Santini 6/1
    26th Dec KEMPTON King George VI Chase (Antepost) - King George VI Chase (Antepost) Clan des Obeaux 7/4
    27th Dec LEOPARDSTOWN Paddys Rewards Club Chase - Paddys Rewards Club Chase Notebook 4/1
    28th Dec LEOPARDSTOWN Christmas Hurdle - Christmas Hurdle Fury Road 11/4
    28th Dec LEOPARDSTOWN Savills Chase - Savills Chase Delta Work 9/2
    29th Dec LEOPARDSTOWN Matheson Hurdle - Matheson Hurdle Sharjah 8/1

I would have thought CDO was a certainty before before the entry of Santini but I am genuinely worried now. Probably swinging and bucking at home and is a real danger to CDO. Monalee is not good enough IMO. He has not won a race in over 20 months and is unlikely to get his ground. Eitherways the King George is an attritional race and I can't see him staying the way the race is run, it is last horse standing stuff, I don't think he could outstay the principles. You need to be up with the pace and then be able to kick on the homestretch, he is not that good.

Some troll

spuddiesal wrote: »
    Some troll

They are all winners , fill your boots.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 680 ✭✭✭lemush

Seeing Santini called a boat while fancying Monalee for a King George is top notch comedy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,474 ✭✭✭longshotvalue

Santini surly can’t win . Waiting patiently after eliminating all bar the top 2 . Looks the value.

Harsh comments on santini . He nearly won the gold cup! Although I don’t think he wins the king George

lemush wrote: »
    Seeing Santini called a boat while fancying Monalee for a King George is top notch comedy.

Here buddy, Monalee is a bloody jet ski compared to the haulage ferry that is Santini!!!

Dr. Bre wrote: »
    Harsh comments on santini . He nearly won the gold cup! Although I don’t think he wins the king George

Harsh is the wrong word. It's not a criticism of him, it's just the same as laughing at the idea of say Hurricane Fly winning a Gold Cup, horses for races and courses

If Santini ever ran in a Welsh National for example, I would back him all day
    KG is just too truly run a race, especially with the horses running it this year for me to back him

Here buddy, Monalee is a bloody jet ski compared to the haulage ferry that is Santini!!!

Stop patronising us Ramjet.

What price is it to lay Monalee 3 places?