Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

You'd think that the Irish Freedom Party.......

• 09-11-2020 12:58pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,301 ✭✭✭

https://twitter.com/IrexitFreedom/status/1325030908303470595?s=20

You'd think that the patriots in the Irish Freedom Party would know:

a) that rank and file members of the Garda Síochána are just called Gardaí now, there is no special distinction for female guards.

b) how to spell Bean Garda in the first place :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

Id say she was arrested for more than handing out flyers.. please tell me I'm right, I don't want to agree with these loons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭Fann Linn

a) that rank and file members of the Garda Síochána are just called Gardaí now, there is no special distinction for female guards.

They haven't been called Bean Garda in years!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,301 ✭✭✭Snickers Man

Fann Linn wrote: »
    They haven't been called Bean Garda in years!!

Er, yes. That was Point a) in the OP :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭Fann Linn

Er, yes. That was Point a) in the OP :confused:

Oh Lord,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,412 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Trying to figure an amusing way to include the word ‘flick’ in my response...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,926 ✭✭✭Grab All Association

They were asked to release the video of the arrest on their Facebook page to prove she was just handing out leaflets.
    Niamh O'Kham No that's for the family to release. They said they would do it later.

Bart Simpson: Well, I'm not calling you a liar but... but I can't think of a way to finish that sentence.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 40,549 CMod ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

Id say she was arrested for more than handing out flyers.. please tell me I'm right, I don't want to agree with these loons.

Almost certainly. They're going to spin the victim angle to death and they need to dress it up as much as they can for that reason.

The foreigner residing among you must be treated as your native-born. Love them as yourself, for you were foreigners in Egypt. I am the LORD your God.

Leviticus 19:34

.....would slink off into the undergrowth with the other rodents.

https://twitter.com/gabriel20374016/status/1325108726097915907?s=21

The judge is also obliged to allow a pregnant woman take a shíte in his/her underwear

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,641 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

https://twitter.com/gabriel20374016/status/1325108726097915907?s=21

The judge is also obliged to allow a pregnant woman take a shíte in his/her underwear

is the judge allowed to take them off first?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,832 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

I don't think you spelled it correctly yourself!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 475 ✭✭AdrianBalboa

.....would slink off into the undergrowth with the other rodents.
    I'm surprised you're not a fan, they share your views on the Travelling Community.

Mod

Attack the post not the poster. Take 2 days off the forum.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 41,239 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

Does anyone know what was the outcome for poor innocent victim Katie?

Bean Garda is correct. Or was I should say when the term was in use.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 41,239 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

Surely the "Irish Freedom Party" would prefer a bán garda anyhow?

I see what you did there :)

https://www.teanglann.ie/en/fgb/bangharda

https://en.wiktionary.org/wiki/bangharda

I dont remember it being one word. It was Bean garda (2 words) when i was a nipper)

I only ever remember seeing it with "Ban".

Your teacher may not have been up to scratch :p

I only ever remember seeing it with "Ban".

Your teacher may not have been up to scratch :p

I dont see why. Bean means woman. Ban doesn't as far as i remember.

Iirc the Tara and Ben primary school books in the early 1990s spelled it as Bean Garda before they revised them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,184 ✭✭✭✭martingriff

Bán is white your right bean is woman

Badoom Tish! Love it. :)

But here's a point: what is the Irish/Gaelic idiom for a white person?

Duine dubh, meaning literally a "black person" actually means someone with dark hair.
    Duine bán, meaning literally a "white person" actually means someone with fair hair.

The Irish for a black skinned person is duine gorm, meaning literally a "blue person".

What is the Irish for a white-skinned person?

That was my thinking, and my memory, as well.

I see that my own (relatively new) foclóir has the compound term bangharda as well. Which, anyway, is not the way the IFP spelled it on their website.

That was my thinking, and my memory, as well.

I see that my own (relatively new) foclóir has the compound term bangharda as well. Which, anyway, is not the way the IFP spelled it on their website.

Ye are wrong. Bean on its own is for woman. The prefix to modify something to a feminine version is however "Ban"

rí = king

banrí or banríon = queen

You don't say "bean rí". That's like saying "King woman" rather than "queen"

etc. etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,138 ✭✭✭Gregor Samsa

It was “bangharda”. Here’s an archive of a Dáil debate on the terminology from 1991.

https://web.archive.org/web/20110607132614/http://historical-debates.oireachtas.ie/D/0404/D.0404.199102050035.html

Considering so many people call them “Guards”, I’m not surprised there’s confusion on the archaic feminine terminology.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 239 ✭✭JoannieG

As a former bangharda and later a garda, bean garda is incorrect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,721 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

a) that rank and file members of the Garda Sh are just called Gardaow, there is no special distinction for female guards.

The constant use of the word “police” bu a group that would be thinking they are all about the Irish nation. Makes them seem a bunch of clowns to me.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,853 Mod ✭✭✭✭riffmongous

Hm, so bangharda was the correct term, but since it's no longer used, wouldn't that make bean gharda correct now? Since it's no longer a term but a description

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,158 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

Hm, so bangharda was the correct term, but since it's no longer used, wouldn't that make bean gharda correct now? Since it's no longer a term but a description

So basically IFP are living in the 1950s

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,486 Mod ✭✭✭✭Quin_Dub

And want everyone** to come join them ,whether we want to or not.

** well.. not everyone obviously , but God fearing hetero-sexual Celts are most welcome..

That term was used well into the late 1990s, here in Tipperary anyway. It was used in schoolbooks into the mid 1990s. It’ll gradually fade out of use

Quin_Dub wrote: »
    And want everyone** to come join them ,whether we want to or not.

** well.. not everyone obviously , but God fearing hetero-sexual Celts are most welcome..

Lets do it. Lets Leave the EU and Euro, Reban condoms, gay male sex, abortion, divorce, women working after marriage and sure why not reopen all the Magdalene laundries.

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,293 ✭✭✭pinkyeye

So this thread has turned into a spell check?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,109 ✭✭✭katiek102010

It was tipp town around 4.30 they were being a nuisance. not thurles. It was at Dunnes.

The idiots were being really aggressive with people getting up very close, too close to people mainly women and elderly.

She did it to me and I had to jump away from her and no matter what way I went they were there.

My husband came out and she then left me alone, wouldn't mind but he's the softie.

Right shower of assholes in all fairness. Husband said I should have pulled a Gemma, whipped out the phone, recorded and start accusing them if assault etc.

Does anyone know what was the outcome for poor innocent victim Katie?

Released on bail. File being prepared

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,440 ✭✭✭✭Sardonicat

Lets do it. Lets Leave the EU and Euro, Reban condoms, gay male sex, abortion, divorce, women working after marriage and sure why not reopen all the Magdalene laundries.

But I can still get up to a bit of saphist shananagins? I'm cool with that.

Óh by the way I didn't see the arrest only saw the behaviour pre arrest.

I'd say the gardai would have a few good grounds all on cctv too.

Harrasment
    Intimidating behaviour
    Aggressive behaviour from her not the dara man with her.
    Restricting the movement of people, those attempting to leave the trolly bay area
    They also breached the travel restrictions. She's from Cork and he's from Galway

If going by Gemma law,
    assault
    Infringement of people's civil liberties

They did a call out on fb asking from protests at the Garda station to free the tipp 2, went i passed by nó one was there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,164 ✭✭✭rolling boh

Does anybody know anything about the irish freedom party disrupting a rosary service in Limerick yesterday that was being held for Ashling Murphy just saw it on twitter is it true and if so why they felt that was ok .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,389 ✭✭✭h2005

They disrupted a vigil by booming the rosary over speakers. There was no rosary as part of the vigil.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,164 ✭✭✭rolling boh

ah ok any reason given for their actions ?

I dont have huge time for these vigils....

but the acting maggot that went on there,with this religious shíte, is beyond scummy

A group of men doing a rosary some of whom are linked to IFP blasted their rosary into speakers to try and drown out speakers at a vigil for Ashling

Terry Pratchet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,389 ✭✭✭h2005

not quite the word I was thinking of. The word I was thinking of had a c in addition to the letters you picked.

Absolutely bizarre. one would expect any self-respecting fascist party to be making hay by promising safety for women by promising direct action. That they cannot even do this shows what clowns they are

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,427 ✭✭✭Quantum Erasure

The men's rosary group may have links to the far-right Irish Freedom Party, which held a rally at the same location, Bedford Row, earlier this month.