Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Wheeler Dealers TV show

• 20-10-2020 3:11pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,286 ✭✭✭

Is this the most recent Wheeler Dealers thread?

I'm based abroad, but since lockdown started they have been doing 2 episodes of Wheeler Dealers every weekday night.
    I'm enjoying it immensely with the new fella Ant.

We are on Series 15 and tonight is episode 19 & 20.

obviously a bit of a surprise when Edd left, but Ant is a hell of a designer and mechanic. The first episode that I saw with him, he added a third spoiler to a ford escort RS cosworth. savage stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Moved out from old thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,699 ✭✭✭advertsfox

The Escort episode was absolutely brilliant, esp. since they had the actual designer there to talk about the history as to why they never went with it.

1995_ford_escort_cosworth_rs_-_imperial_blue-78.jpg

Ant is a much more enjoyable host with his steel work and visual explanations. Hes far more charismatic and gets on better with Mike than Edd ever did, having rewatched the older episodes. I wish they showed a bit more of the process towards the end, the final touches / paint instead of skipping it but that's to be expected with US production.

My favourites so far has been the Mazdaspeed (new season), the Celica ST, Rabbit GTi, BMW M3, Cooper S and the Porsche Cayenne.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,620 ✭✭✭CoBo55

The latest season is sadly going the way of Edd and Brewer it's become very annoying to watch, scripted petty bickering that kind of stuff. Ant is very talented his work is top class.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,073 ✭✭✭✭cena

anyone watch this week episode. I fast forward the whole thing. I would like to see more ant working on cars than the first 15 minutes of Mike buying a car

cena wrote: »
    anyone watch this week episode. I fast forward the whole thing. I would like to see more ant working on cars than the first 15 minutes of Mike buying a car

Was that the Nissan who's engine magically appeared on the bench? Terrible terrible episode and some ridiculous figure like 29 man hours:mad:. I fast forwarded through most of it myself too, that scripted fake arguing is actually embarrassing for them both.

CoBo55 wrote: »
    Was that the Nissan who's engine magically appeared on the bench? Terrible terrible episode and some ridiculous figure like 29 man hours:mad:. I fast forwarded through most of it myself too, that scripted fake arguing is actually embarrassing for them both.

no. Mondays was they were going to fix up a crew member 2007 mustang but at the end, he got a different car. More of a bloopers episode.

It really has become a scripted show

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 17,860 Mod ✭✭✭✭Henry Ford III

Still a good programme. Ant is very highly skilled and seems a decent guy too. It's well worth watching.

p.s. Mike will explode eventually.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,104 ✭✭✭fatbhoy

I prefer Ant to Ed: I found Ed to be narky and slightly unpleasant, and I think Ant explains things better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,516 ✭✭✭RosieJoe

no. Mondays was they were going to fix up a crew member 2007 mustang but at the end, he got a different car. More of a bloopers episode.

Turned it off after 5 minutes and several fast forwards. Terrible episode

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

If you're more interested in Ant's segments, you could enjoy "For the Love of Cars." It's similar to Wheeler Dealers but focused on restoring and auctioning classic cars. The First season was for themselves and the second season was for the car owners.

He's also got his own show Master Mechanic. Which I've been meaning to check out.

RosieJoe wrote: »
    Turned it off after 5 minutes and several fast forwards. Terrible episode

Tried watching it I actually fell asleep and it was 4:30!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,503 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

Is this the most recent Wheeler Dealers thread?

I'm based abroad, but since lockdown started they have been doing 2 episodes of Wheeler Dealers every weekday night.
    I'm enjoying it immensely with the new fella Ant.

We are on Series 15 and tonight is episode 19 & 20.

obviously a bit of a surprise when Edd left, but Ant is a hell of a designer and mechanic. The first episode that I saw with him, he added a third spoiler to a ford escort RS cosworth. savage stuff.

prefer the mechanic ( tall guy ) from the older episodes

new guy ( ANT ) annoys me with his whole jason statham vibe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,054 ✭✭✭Tuco88

The Cossie episode was good alright. Not sure about that extra rear wing tho ��

Still think Edd and Paul was a massive loss. They sould pull the plug on Top Gear god its awful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,042 ✭✭✭kaizersoze

With the exception of the first couple of series, it always was.

Tuco88 wrote: »
    The Cossie episode was good alright. Not sure about that extra rear wing tho ��

Still think Edd and Paul was a massive loss. They sould pull the plug on Top Gear god its awful.

It's dreadful, Top gear that is. What's with this fake arguing? Do female script writers think that it's funny?

Lads ye need to watch car trek on youtube.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,273 ✭✭✭✭Hurrache

If you're more interested in Ant's segments, you could enjoy "For the Love of Cars." It's similar to Wheeler Dealers but focused on restoring and auctioning classic cars. The First season was for themselves and the second season was for the car owners.

He's also got his own show Master Mechanic. Which I've been meaning to check out.

I had thought he was just a semi random guy they got in for Wheeler Dealers, he's got a mightily impressive background.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ant_Anstead

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,792 ✭✭✭jmreire

Hurrache wrote: »
    I had thought he was just a semi random guy they got in for Wheeler Dealers, he's got a mightily impressive background.

For sure !!! Thats some CV he has.:cool:

Hurrache wrote: »

Lookin a bit shaky in the aul marriage stakes....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,282 ✭✭✭PsychoPete

I watched a few videos of Ant building a race car, they are a bit short but thought it was a decent watch

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 244 ✭✭Pythagorean

Anybody remember a series called Orange County Choppers (I think), it had a father and son Paul Teutel senior and junior, they built choppers from scratch. The problem was the two of them used to tear strips off each other, full blown rows, walkouts, etc. It got so that most of the show was hijacked by the arguing and bickering, I suspect organised by the scriptwriters to add "drama" to the process of building choppers. It got so tiresome I gave up watching the programme.

It was dreadful towards the end. It became very repetitive too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,464 ✭✭✭FGR

advertsfox wrote: »
    I wish they showed a bit more of the process towards the end, the final touches / paint instead of skipping it but that's to be expected with US production.

I think this was one of the main reasons Edd left - apparently filming the mechanical work is costly. I suppose it makes sense given the effort and time it would take to record and edit so much footage but thats why I loved the show and Edd left when he saw they wanted to cut back on those segments.

Edd and Ant are both very talented but I wish they'd revert back to the UK and work on restoring regular cars again. I enjoyed seeing them transform a banger of a 3 series into a nice all round car.

With US ownership and Ant living in the US though I can't see it happening.

Also - Ant seems to have had the life of an action hero. Youngest armed response officer in UK whilst also trained master mechanic followed by big move to the USA with two blonde stunning (ex)wives and successful tv career?

/Envyyyy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,882 ✭✭✭jeffk

Some good news, back in the UK and Marc ‘Elvis’ Priestley(he done a show called Dream Car with Mike and was good) taking over as Mechanic(shame to see Ant go)

https://mikebrewermotoring.com/news/wheeler-dealer/wheeler-dealers-returns-to-the-uk-with-new-co-host/?fbclid=IwAR37ko98ccVLSsnroP5iZmqx4eSyXh-_-PQ0_Og7m1Q2HaqLJ3hNZOr8WSo

https://youtu.be/cL5VFBnFrHs

Jesus Brewer is going through mechanics faster than a HDI goes through turbos. Things definitely seemed strained between them in this series. I'd say Brewer would rot your brain, especially when you'd be trying to get something done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,203 ✭✭✭PukkaStukka

There's a YouTube clip of
    Brewer accusing Ed China of a few things and blaming him for the fallout. I think he does himself no favours.

https://youtu.be/78yfDOD0-S0

I think I read it somewhere that Ants marriage had failed. could be the reason why he is stepping away and he staying in the states

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,866 ✭✭✭fancy pigeon

I can tell you straight out there's no way that could be done in that time. Having taken the engine out of my one it took a full day, along with the fiddly stuff like marking what vacuum lines go where and what plugs do what. Room is very limited and pipework is packed in tight, not to mention corroded as it's an old car (although this one had been apart so may have been easier in places)

The plenum on it's own is a hoor to remove with all the emissions stuff and TB coolant lines but I can't imagine the nightmare it is to put it back on (I've removed mine and fired it into the bin) especially the EGR into the plenum, hours would sink away easily as it's so difficult to access the 2 bolts to tighten to the plenum on each side

There has to be a team of at least 3 working in the background to do it in that time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 657 ✭✭✭I Am The Law

Jesus Brewer is going through mechanics faster than a HDI goes through turbos. Things definitely seemed strained between them in this series. I'd say Brewer would rot your brain, especially when you'd be trying to get something done.

Brewer is a knob, thinks he's talented because he can buy/sell a car. Ed was than man for me, learnt a lot from him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,997 ✭✭✭Dr Turk Turkelton

I think I read it somewhere that Ants marriage had failed. could be the reason why he is stepping away and he staying in the states

Yeah I saw it on insta. From reading the comments it seemed she gave him gate and it seemed to be almost a surprise to him as they hadn't been married long and had a kid less than one when it happened.
    He must be going to stay in California to be near the kid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,997 ✭✭✭Dr Turk Turkelton

Actually just came across this on Facebook. Definitely no animosity anyway and also a nice jibe from Ant about his love life.

https://m.facebook.com/story.php?story_fbid=730735787542295&id=26584618440

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,706 ✭✭✭fonecrusher1

Say what you want about WD's but its head and shoulders above that absolutely painful TopGear sh!te.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,088 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

Say what you want about WD's but its head and shoulders above that absolutely painful TopGear sh!te.

Real TG is called The Grand Tour these days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,706 ✭✭✭fonecrusher1

_Kaiser_ wrote: »
    Real TG is called The Grand Tour these days.

The GT isn't much better tbh.