Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Level 5 lockdown impact

• 19-10-2020 6:59pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 373 ✭✭

Can driving lessons still take place?

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 17,137 Mod ✭✭✭✭cherryghost

Reckon RSA will come out with something tonight or tomorrow morning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,644 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

Can't see it to be honest as there is to be no visits or gatherings etc etc....

5km rule to from house.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,071 ✭✭✭✭wp_rathead

The Journal is reporting that it Tests still going ahead
    Don't know about lessons?

https://jrnl.ie/5237766

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,008 ✭✭✭kksaints

wp_rathead wrote: »
    The Journal is reporting that it Tests still going ahead
    Don't know about lessons?

https://jrnl.ie/5237766

I don't see that on Gov.ie too clearly part U and V of section 14 refer to driving test but it looks like they're for people who need them for essential services only>

https://www.gov.ie/en/publication/c9158-essential-services/?referrer=http://www.gov.ie/essentialservices/#public-administration-emergency-services-and-defence

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,694 ✭✭✭✭ACitizenErased

RSA website says "RSA services and services that are operated on behalf of the RSA will remain open for business at level 3 and level 4 and customers should turn up for appointments. "
    But we're at 5 now, so... I can't see them continuing.
    I've my test middle of November.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,071 ✭✭✭✭wp_rathead

kksaints wrote: »
    I don't see that on Gov.ie too clearly part U and V of section 14 refer to driving test but it looks like they're for people who need them for essential services only>

https://www.gov.ie/en/publication/c9158-essential-services/?referrer=http://www.gov.ie/essentialservices/#public-administration-emergency-services-and-defence

Thanks for the link
    14 (u) Driver Testing Services provided by the Road Safety Authority for the purposes of section 33 of the Road Traffic Act 1961 (No. 24 of 1961) for people involved in the provision of essential services or essential retail outlets

14 (v)Driving instruction provided by instructors on the Register of Approved Diving instructors, established under Part 3 of the Road Traffic (Driving Instructor Licensing) (No.2) Regulations 2009 (S.I. No. 203 of 2009), where the person receiving instruction has a booking reserved to undergo a test for the purposes of section 33 of the Road Traffic Act 1961 (No. 24 of 1961)

I have a date for my driving test next week, will they ring and ask am I an essential worker or what's the craic

wp_rathead wrote: »
    Thanks for the link

I have a date for my driving test next week, will they ring and ask am I an essential worker or what's the craic

Don't know, they have to update us tomorrow. My test is scheduled for Thursday so I could do with knowing fairly quickly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 125 ✭✭Ciaranis

I passed my test last month and the earliest slot I could get at the NDLS centre to get my licence was Oct 28th. I wonder will those centres close in Level 5. Quite possibly. It's all a bit of a mess.

But in case the NDLS centres do stay open, those of you with tests coming up should book a slot now if you haven't already. In the event you pass, you could be waiting a while for that licence... Good luck if your tests do go ahead as planned

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,075 ✭✭✭smellyoldboot

I've a lesson tomorrow and a test at the end of the month and no idea will either take place. What a time to be alive.

Edit, me lesson tomorrow should be grand actually.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,272 ✭✭✭Barna77

On a side not, are the driving licence centers open? I have an appointment to renew my permit.
    Trying to contact them is a nightmare

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34 Marty984

Everywhere is surely open until tomorrow night, I'd show up anyway as there is no reason for somewhere to close today? I had to renew a learner permit yesterday and everything was normal there but I'm also not sure now will they have it in the post before lockdown on Wednesday. I believe it usually takes a week or so to process but I require it for insurance. Ah well :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 70 ✭✭sphinx501

I have noticed a lot of driving schools on social media are saying tests are going ahead in Level 5, still no official announcement though.

One example...
    https://www.facebook.com/1917581221805548/posts/2854512314779096/?extid=0&d=n

sphinx501 wrote: »
    I have noticed a lot of driving schools on social media are saying tests are going ahead in Level 5, still no official announcement though.

One example...
    https://www.facebook.com/1917581221805548/posts/2854512314779096/?extid=0&d=n
    I think they've misunderstood the RSA's tweet about attending as normal today and tomorrow. I think if they were going ahead they'd have said by now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,644 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

Absolutely ridiculous they can't come out and say yes or no, it's actually not that difficult but I suppose the quangos need to pass it on so they won't take any blame, pass the buck yet there are employees on big money that should be able to give a yes or no answer.

Exactly. The question should have been asked beforehand and a plan in place as a "what if", not sit scratching your balls/fanny and then fire off a weak email to "Dept of the Taoiseach" the day after the announcement. An announcement itself that was flagged in advance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 138 ✭✭locohobo

14 (v)Driving instruction provided by instructors on the Register of Approved Diving instructors, established under Part 3 of the Road Traffic (Driving Instructor Licensing) (No.2) Regulations 2009 (S.I. No. 203 of 2009)," where the person receiving instruction has a booking reserved to undergo a test for the purposes of section 33 of the Road Traffic Act 1961 (No. 24 of 1961)"

I'd say if you already have a booking to sit the test then you can take lessons

I think they've misunderstood the RSA's tweet about attending as normal today and tomorrow. I think if they were going ahead they'd have said by now.

I was hoping that the RSA were liaising with ADIs in the background, I heard the same statement that they would proceed in Level 5 from an ADI last week myself so it aligns, but the lack of guidance today is not well received!!

locohobo wrote: »
    14 (v)Driving instruction provided by instructors on the Register of Approved Diving instructors, established under Part 3 of the Road Traffic (Driving Instructor Licensing) (No.2) Regulations 2009 (S.I. No. 203 of 2009)," where the person receiving instruction has a booking reserved to undergo a test for the purposes of section 33 of the Road Traffic Act 1961 (No. 24 of 1961)"

I'd say if you already have a booking to sit the test then you can take lessons

The section above it says driving tests for essential workers only

I've a lesson booked for Friday again anyway. Fingers crossed they keep going or it could be next Christmas again still burning shoe leather.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 108 ✭✭Rosstopher

I expect all driving tests to go ahead in level 5 and, by extension, lessons for anyone with a driving test booked at the ADI’s discretion.

Driving tests have been upgraded to an essential service according to an RSA rep I spoke to last week, unlike the last lockdown.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,350 ✭✭✭Jeff2

I have to renew license but it's outside 5km same county so I'll go there on the day anyway if I'm not told not to.

On public transport.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,985 ✭✭✭beachhead

Rosstopher wrote: »
    I expect all driving tests to go ahead in level 5 and, by extension, lessons for anyone with a driving test booked at the ADI’s discretion.

Driving tests have been upgraded to an essential service according to an RSA rep I spoke to last week, unlike the last lockdown.

Correct and I've heard that NDLS centres will remain open due to the huge backlog

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 125 ✭✭Ciaranis

I hope that's correct but the NDLS has still not made any official announcement on whether they will remain open, which is ridiculous considering we went to Level 5 at midnight

They're taking their time with this. I think if it was yes they would have said by now, to be honest.

You could look at it the other way, if they weren’t going ahead you’d think they’d want to give people notice that their test tomorrow is cancelled.

Most murmurs I’ve heard are that they will continue.

That’s not to say it’s definitely the case, I could be wrong.
    But the main thing is, if anyone has a test in the coming days, I would recommend ploughing ahead with your practice etc with the test in mind and act like it’s going ahead.

Driving tests for essential workers only
    https://twitter.com/RSAIreland/status/1318975902085226497?s=20

https://www.rsa.ie/en/Utility/News/2020/Update-on-RSA-Services-affected-by-move-to-Level-5-Covid19-Restrictions/
    Driving Test
    Under Covid19 Level 5 Government restrictions effective from midnight on Wednesday 21 October, for six weeks, you can attend your scheduled driving test appointment provided you are an essential worker involved in the provision of essential services or essential retail outlets. You can find details on what is included in the list of essential workers and retail outlets on www.gov.ie

The RSA does not hold details that would identify the employment status of any customers among those who have been given a test date to sit a driving test over the next six weeks, therefore we will not be cancelling any existing scheduled driving tests. It is a matter for each individual with a driving test date to satisfy themselves that they are involved in delivering an essential service or essential retail outlet.

We would ask that if you are not someone involved in the provision of essential services or essential retail outlets, that you please cancel your test appointment online using the webform provided. Do not call or email the RSA to cancel your test. This cancelled slot can then be given to someone who does fall under this category.

Customers who have an appointment for a driving test over the next six weeks, and who is an essential worker involved in the provision of essential services and retail outlets should attend their driving test as normal. Anyone looking for a new driving test appointment and falls into either of these categories should first apply for a driving test online and contact the RSA by emailing urgentdrivingtest@rsa.ie

Anyone travelling to a driving test centre to sit a driving test, and is an essential worker, is exempt from Level 5 travel restrictions. It may be useful to bring proof of your appointment if stopped by a member of An Garda Síochána on your way to sit your test.

Grand. I'm going anyway. "Essential Worker"? I won't be saving anyone's life but as a Telecomms Design Engineer I'm on the list anyway.

Yeah you're fine. I'm a student unfortunately so it's a no for me. I can wait though as I don't necessarily have to go anywhere so. Still a balls.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 252 ✭✭Goose76

Is there any point, if a non-essential worker, ringing in the hope of a cancellation? Would I be allowed attend in this case?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51 ✭✭QJJQJDE

Goose76 wrote: »
    Is there any point, if a non-essential worker, ringing in the hope of a cancellation? Would I be allowed attend in this case?

They have no employment records, they're basically asking people who applied to cancel if they're not essential. If you wish, you can always just say you're essential, they've no way of checking

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 274 ✭✭woody84

I wonder would they do a motorcycle test for an essential worker?

woody84 wrote: »
    I wonder would they do a motorcycle test for an essential worker?

Considering it's 'safer' in terms of infecting someone with the virus, I'd be willing to say that they're still ongoing but I'm not sure. A call might clear it up maybe

Anyone think this is the RSA means to proceeding with reducing the backlog, by not cancelling tests - it would make more sense to cancel and have essential staff contact them?

I have a hunch that the RSA went to the Goverment to try make tests available for all but were turned down, so RSA left it up the people to decide!

sphinx501 wrote: »
    Anyone think this is the RSA means to proceeding with reducing the backlog, by not cancelling tests - it would make more sense to cancel and have essential staff contact them?

I have a hunch that the RSA went to the Goverment to try make tests available for all but were turned down, so RSA left it up the people to decide!

Pretty much, I had my test today, not a word was said to me about was I an essential worker or not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7 helen_regina

I had a test date for the end of the month and cancelled after I saw the announcement last night as I'm not an essential worker. Then texted my driving instructor to cancel the few pretest lessons I had scheduled. He said I should've contacted him before cancelling because tests are still going ahead for everyone. Does this mean there's the public RSA announcement that we should cancel but privately people are still being encouraged to attend? It's hard to know what to believe. Just very disheartening as I've been waiting since April to do the test and now wondering if I'll be put to the back of the list...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 783 ✭✭✭capefear

I did the test yesterday in Dublin and was not asked if I was an essential worker or not. When I was there three other people were there waiting to do their test as well. The tester said that its up to each person to decide if they should cancel or not as they dont know if your essential worker or not. If you are loooking to get a test over the coming 6 weeks as a cancelation then they (the people who organise the test will seek proof of you been an essential worker, I think a letter from work or something).

My advice would be if your booked to do the test and thing you can pass go for it.

Im surpirsed they are letting the tests go ahead as the roads are fairly quite and there was feck all pressure from other vehicles.
    I hope this helps.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7 helen_regina

So, officially you're not permitted to do a test, but unnoffically no questions will be asked if you do? Obviously they aren't going to come out and say it but it seems like they're silently encouraging people to break the rules which is questionable..

I already cancelled anyway so there's nothing else I can do now but settle in and wait. I have to cross county borders to get to the test centre, so likely would've been stopped along the way by the gards if I had of chanced it.
    capefear wrote: »
    I did the test yesterday in Dublin and was not asked if I was an essential worker or not. When I was there three other people were there waiting to do their test as well. The tester said that its up to each person to decide if they should cancel or not as they dont know if your essential worker or not. If you are loooking to get a test over the coming 6 weeks as a cancelation then they (the people who organise the test will seek proof of you been an essential worker, I think a letter from work or something).

My advice would be if your booked to do the test and thing you can pass go for it.

Im surpirsed they are letting the tests go ahead as the roads are fairly quite and there was feck all pressure from other vehicles.
    I hope this helps.

So, officially you're not permitted to do a test, but unnoffically no questions will be asked if you do? Obviously they aren't going to come out and say it but it seems like they're silently encouraging people to break the rules which is questionable..

I already cancelled anyway so there's nothing else I can do now but settle in and wait. I have to cross county borders to get to the test centre, so likely would've been stopped along the way by the gards if I had of chanced it.

In fairness, they aren’t “silently encouraging” anything. They have explicitly stated that you cannot attend unless you are an essential worker.

Could they ask for proof of your employment? Yes - but the only way this is “encouraged” is through word of mouth.

The testers know the rules and the risk. It is on the applicant to ascertain if they are an essential worker or not, and whether they want to break the law. And if they are stopped by a Garda for possible non-essential travel, this is when it may be pursued.

Rosstopher wrote: »
    It is on the applicant to ascertain if they are an essential worker or not, and whether they want to break the law. And if they are stopped by a Garda for possible non-essential travel, this is when it may be pursued.

It's not illegal, since travelling to a driving test in itself is deemed "essential travel". It also isn't illegal to claim you're an essential worker. Scummy? Possibly. But not illegal.
    For 85 euro a pop, and an 8+ month waiting list, I think it's realistic to expect people won't really care whether they're deemed to be essential workers or not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,924 ✭✭✭MascotDec85

QJJQJDE wrote: »
    It's not illegal, since travelling to a driving test in itself is deemed "essential travel". It also isn't illegal to claim you're an essential worker. Scummy? Possibly. But not illegal.
    For 85 euro a pop, and an 8+ month waiting list, I think it's realistic to expect people won't really care whether they're deemed to be essential workers or not.

Travelling to the driving test is deemed essential IF the candidate is an essential worker. This isn’t aimed at you but people can’t cherrypick which parts of regulations and legislation they want to follow or not. Anyone who cancels the test because the aren’t an essential worker will have their application prioritised when things open back up.

It’s equally as clear for instructors, although frustratingly we were told one thing off the record and a different thing materialised only 5 hrs before lockdown, in that we can only instruct someone who has a test appointment. Given that only essential workers can sit the test we can only instruct those workers preparing for test. The 2 clauses in the regulations are intrinsically connected. I’m therefore only doing the odd lesson with pupils who have a test date and are deemed essential and I’m telling them to have a letter from their employer with them on their lesson in case we hit a checkpoint.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,505 ✭✭✭but1er

got a test for the 6th of November as my 2nd licence was expiring on the 9th. Delighted had my lessons and pre tests lined up for that week and then level 5 hit.

All driving lessons cancelled as I'm not an essential service. Not confident to do the test without pre-tests.

Finally got an answer this morning from RSA who told me to just pay for a new licence €35 as you cant do the test. I'm not entitled to an extension on my licence which is shocking.

Went on to book a date to renew my licence and I cant get one till December.

What a shambles from RSA

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,709 ✭✭✭SleetAndSnow

Saw the RSA updated their page with the latest level 5 instructions... But the ADI part still only mentions level 3 restrictions. Presume they are just stopping again? :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,667 ✭✭✭Klonker

Saw the RSA updated their page with the latest level 5 instructions... But the ADI part still only mentions level 3 restrictions. Presume they are just stopping again? :(

My driving licence booked for tomorrow got cancelled (after being refixed from October already). This is a joke, there are going to be huge driving lessons and tests backlog and no word from government of any solutions on how they'll speed up this back log.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18 codriscoll1

Klonker wrote: »
    My driving licence booked for tomorrow got cancelled (after being refixed from October already). This is a joke, there are going to be huge driving lessons and tests backlog and no word from government of any solutions on how they'll speed up this back log.

In terms of clearing the backlog, they are currently taking applications for testers (I believe they are recruiting 40 in total but am open to correction on that figure), and it says in the job spec that the new testers may be required to work weekends also so that they can run the testing service 7 days per week.

And still no email from the RSA direct to ADIs. I can only assume it’ll be the same as last night but assumptions are useless, clarity is called for and required.

In terms of clearing the backlog, they are currently taking applications for testers (I believe they are recruiting 40 in total but am open to correction on that figure), and it says in the job spec that the new testers may be required to work weekends also so that they can run the testing service 7 days per week.

The last big recruitment drive took months to be completed. If the candidates got through the training programme, and some didn’t, they were then offered a job which could be miles and miles from home. Meath based people being offered Kerry eg. If they didn’t take that position they were waved goodbye. There will be existing testers who currently travel a fair distance looking to get moved to better locations prior to temporary, new recruits being offered positions. That 40 might not work out as 40 in reality.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,667 ✭✭✭Klonker

I get that's something but it's not enough. Take testers for example, how much have they worked since March while getting full pay? Why not have a bit of negotiation along the lines of for every 2 days off now you work a Saturday or Sunday when we are out of Level 5?

And I actually don't think testing should be cancelled in level 5 anymore now anyway, especially when gyms and retail are now opened. Provide medical level masks to testers and applicants to use.

In general though, I think learner drivers are being forgotten about in the media discussion about lockdown restrictions. It's all been about restaurants, hairdressers, sports etc.

Klonker wrote: »
    I get that's something but it's not enough. Take testers for example, how much have they worked since March while getting full pay? Why not have a bit of negotiation along the lines of for every 2 days off now you work a Saturday or Sunday when we are out of Level 5?

And I actually don't think testing should be cancelled in level 5 anymore now anyway, especially when gyms and retail are now opened. Provide medical level masks to testers and applicants to use.

In general though, I think learner drivers are being forgotten about in the media discussion about lockdown restrictions. It's all been about restaurants, hairdressers, sports etc.

Whilst a decent idea you’d basically be asking them to completely change their contract of employment. That, IF it happened, won’t happened overnight. As it stands they already do a couple of tests unpaid, something to do with the Haddington Rd agreement. I can’t see them doing more without being rewarded for it.

Last I heard there were over a dozen testers isolating due to close contacts. They do wear medical grade masks and give them to the candidates sitting their test.