Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Level 5

• 04-10-2020 10:41pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,625 ✭✭✭

If these absolute headcases at NPHET get their way and we go to 5,is that racing cancelled again?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,045 ✭✭✭I says

If these absolute headcases at NPHET get their way and we go to 5,is that racing cancelled again?

Life will be cancelled. Tony holahan is back causing havoc. Finish off destroying the economy. Let people die from easily treatable cancers because screening has stopped. Fcuking eejits have had six months to get ready for the second wave and the best they can do is drive the country into the ground.
    All this is doing is creating wave after wave of covid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,531 ✭✭✭pottokblue

International racing will still be on but bookies will be closed so I wont be doing any placepots. However I dont think we'll be level 5 this week that said I wouldnt be suprised if we are in lockdown this side of Christmas pending on ICU figures and death rates. Watched a bit of longchamps at the weekend and everyone seemed to be wearing masks. In general we need to wear more masks here, handswash, maintain more than 1m, good cough/spit/sneeze etiquette. Nobody is immune to the virus so at the end of the day whats for you wont go by you...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,547 ✭✭✭droidman123

Those "headcases" are professional medical people who sole concern is saving lives.the people you should be calling headcases are the halfwits who flouted the recommendations/laws during the last 6 months putting lives at risk.nphet know more about the projections and lack of icu beds than anyone onna two bit site like boreds.ie. childish outbursts about horse racing(and other sports) being cancelled are irrelevant.the fact is,lockdowns save lives,and we wouldnt even be looking at a level 5 if those selfish idiots who ignored the earlier advice from the govt and nphet were adhered to

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 809 ✭✭✭Earendil

Those "headcases" are professional medical people who sole concern is saving lives.the people you should be calling headcases are the halfwits who flouted the recommendations/laws during the last 6 months putting lives at risk.nphet know more about the projections and lack of icu beds than anyone onna two bit site like boreds.ie. childish outbursts about horse racing(and other sports) being cancelled are irrelevant.the fact is,lockdowns save lives,and we wouldnt even be looking at a level 5 if those selfish idiots who ignored the earlier advice from the govt and nphet were adhered to

Pint?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,775 ✭✭✭✭Slattsy

You dont post often enough, but when you do.... you talk sense.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 2,036 Mod ✭✭✭✭The Mig

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,625 ✭✭✭RivetingRoger

If you think Tony Holohan is a great man, that he is the expert of experts, you don't know enough about him and his NPHET cronies
    Google Tony Holohan Vicky Phelan and educate yourselves
    If they take us to level 5, and all that entails, whilst at a fraction of March levels, while leaving meat factories open, and you think this is acceptable?!

I asked the question from a racing perspective but it was subsequently taken elsewhere by others.
    They want to destroy this country and our very sporting and social fabric and I am NOT OK with that, and I do not accept that makes me a bad person

If you think Tony Holohan is a great man, that he is the expert of experts, you don't know enough about him and his NPHET cronies
    If they take us to level 5, and all that entails, whilst at a fraction of March levels, while leaving meat factories open, and you think this is acceptable?!

I asked the question from a racing perspective but it was subsequently taken elsewhere by others.
    They want to destroy this country and our very sporting and social fabric and I am NOT OK with that, and I do not accept that makes me a bad person

You dont know enough yet(and neither do i) what is going on in the backround.there have obviously been some developments that have made them jump to a level 5 recommendation.do you think they are doing this just to be famous? Maybe just for the craic? Or maybe just to drive everyone nuts.you seem mostly upset at the fact that racing will be shut down and that is very naive.i genuinely hope you have no family or friends to fall to this virus,its a horrendous experience.as i said before,the real headcases are the fools that are totally ignoring medical advice and putting us all in danger

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,645 ✭✭✭paddy no 11

Do they really, what would be there motivation for that......?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 160 ✭✭flos1964

Put your mind at ease...sporting and social fabric found alive and well in Blackrock Cork.

flos1964 wrote: »
    Put your mind at ease...sporting and social fabric found alive and well in Blackrock Cork.

And elsewhere,you may have heard on the news just now that all gaa matches are cancelled(a decision taken by the gaa themselves) because of a lack of social distancing at games.this is just a small example,its happening in lots of different social situations.i am baffled that some people cant see that its no nphet bringing in level five,but people themselves.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,078 ✭✭✭IAMAMORON

And elsewhere,you may have heard on the news just now that all gaa matches are cancelled(a decision taken by the gaa themselves) because of a lack of social distancing at games.this is just a small example,its happening in lots of different social situations.i am baffled that some people cant see that its no nphet bringing in level five,but people themselves.

If they keep the kids in schools it is fairly obvious what is going on.

This was last Thursday from NPHET

NPHET have further advised that Government extend the Level 2 measures currently in place for a further period of three weeks, with Donegal and Dublin remaining at Level 3. NPHET will continue to monitor this situation very closely.

https://www.thejournal.ie/new-household-visit-limits-but-no-county-level-increase-5220073-Oct2020/

So in 4 days they want to move counties in level 2 restrictions straight to a Level 5 full nationwide lockdown. Just doesn't make sense!

IAMAMORON wrote: »
    If they keep the kids in schools it is fairly obvious what is going on.

not obvious tome, gwan explain please

The Mig wrote: »
    This was last Thursday from NPHET

NPHET have further advised that Government extend the Level 2 measures currently in place for a further period of three weeks, with Donegal and Dublin remaining at Level 3. NPHET will continue to monitor this situation very closely.

https://www.thejournal.ie/new-household-visit-limits-but-no-county-level-increase-5220073-Oct2020/

So in 4 days they want to move counties in level 2 restrictions straight to a Level 5 full nationwide lockdown. Just doesn't make sense!

600 cases saturday puts is on a trajectory for 10,000 dead at christmas....no surpise....but govt will go level 4

10k dead by chrustmas you say....
    Is that you McConkey

10k dead by chrustmas you say....
    Is that you McConkey

Lol the tiniest of arguments and thats the best you can come up with...go back to your willie mullins fantasy land and don't.......lalalalalala

not obvious tome, gwan explain please

I think they are attempting to develop a herd immunity through the kids.

Lol the tiniest of arguments and thats the best you can come up with...go back to your willie mullins fantasy land and don't.......lalalalalala

Where is that 10K dead by xmas coming from?

Level 3. Racing can continue I'd imagine

Have you got proof of any of them projections of 10k dead by Xmas. Would love to have a read of it if so?

Its a prediction from the university of washington (they've done one for every country)......i wouldn't have much store in it either.....but youd have to laugh at people who think Dr Tony is evil incarnate for vicky phelan but then complain when he trys to protect people from covid

I'm in Galway for work this Friday (essential services), but should be finished by about 2PM.
    Anyone recommend a pub I can have a decent lunch and watch the racing in please?

All socially distant and slathered in disinfectant n' that of course lads.

There will be no more then another 500- 1000 deaths at worst before it is over.

10,000 is scaremongering garbage. They know how to treat it now and they know how to deal with the more vulnerable patients.

Earendil wrote: »
    I'm in Galway for work this Friday (essential services), but should be finished by about 2PM.
    Anyone recommend a pub I can have a decent lunch and watch the racing in please?

If you are around Eyre square I like Kennedy's. Very welcome, townie crowd and 2 bookies outside.

If it is food you are after go for the Huntsman Inn out the old Dublin Road. Paddy Power next door and parking. They should throw it on for you in the bar.

10,000 is scaremongering garbage. They know how to treat it now and they know how to deal with the more vulnerable patients.

You might be right....i don't think so and NPHET aren't going to sign off on a gamble either

you are right that treatments will continue to improve and some of the treatments in phasse 2 are very promising but we are a few months away yet.....and yes kids getting it will go some way towards a herd immunity effect

we have 2,000 deaths for a confirmed 2% prevalence rate so factor up and 10,000 is not scaremongering for widespread transmission in communities

It is not going to happen. Get over it.

I doubt we will see another 500 deaths.

It is not going to happen. Get over it.

I doubt we will see another 500 deaths.

you doubt it but don't know

I have nothing to get over....

If you are around Eyre square I like Kennedy's. Very welcome, townie crowd and 2 bookies outside.

If it is food you are after go for the Huntsman Inn out the old Dublin Road. Paddy Power next door and parking. They should throw it on for you in the bar.

Love you Moron

you doubt it but don't know

I have nothing to get over....

Only a turn of phrase, don't take it personally.

But 10,000 will not be happening, no where near it.

Only a turn of phrase, don't take it personally.

But 10,000 will not be happening, no where near it.

They won't because they'll keep levels low until effective phase 2 treatments come online in spring

18 people in nursing home get it according to news today.....some of them will die.......if we went for the free for all approach this would repeat across the country it would be 1,000's dead clearly.

I'm not scaremongering or in love with lockdowns or anything but they'll keep it at low level to spring and we can go mental from about paddys day on

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,586 ✭✭✭4068ac1elhodqr

I think they are attempting to develop a herd immunity through the kids.
    This seems correct, more so with Uni students who can be stuffed in gated type HoRs, and do their learning online, these students then observed and a benchmark established for the D614G strain. (Saves 5-10k on paying them to perform a 28day clinical trial also).

You do have to pity some old teacher wan in the late 50's/early 60's awaiting retirement packages as toddlers have at worse a bit of a tickly cough.

In relation to HR & Bets, can anyone predict (partly on the back of covid) what is likely on the way within e.g. 5yrs for the average C1C2DE type Joe punter?
    I can...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,812 ✭✭✭Brock Turnpike

May not be possible now unless you can find somewhere with outdoor seating and a TV

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,681 ✭✭✭BumperD

Thankfully they didn't get their way Roger.

https://www.rte.ie/news/coronavirus/2020/1005/1169652-covid-19/

In his own words, "Tánaiste says NPHET recommendation 'not thought through'"

Kind of like the attempted cover up of the cervical screening disaster from Tony.

Leo fairly chucked Tony and NPHET under the bus last night on CBLive. Certainly will be tensions going forward between the 2

I am delighted he did. I get the impression that underneath Leo's cool exterior there is the heart of a lion. He loves a good scrap deep down, fair phucks to him.

Holohan should know his place.

You can't have the doctor or the chef trying to sail the ship, that is the captains job.

May not be possible now unless you can find somewhere with outdoor seating and a TV

Sick to my tits of this thing. Chepstow meeting, first proper NH of the season :mad:

Just on that, would anyone know of such a place in Galway and I'll ring and try and arrange a booking?

Try Garvey's, they have a big smoking area, I am not sure if they are allowed open it though. The last time i was down was a few summers ago but they were showing the World cup in the evenings. Nice birds knocking around also.

Any of ye feckers remember calling me all sots of names when I had the thread in February/March wondering how serious this thing was and would it impact Cheltenham!!!
    Innocent times they were!!!!!!

Yeah you were like a worried oul one

rolling-on-the-floor-laughing_o_gifsoup_com.gif

You were worse than the chunts who were blaming Cheltenham for the Pandemic full stop. ( Or Kevin Blake
    the Hangman
    )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,474 ✭✭✭longshotvalue

Chances of next year being my first missed chelteham in 12-13 years 1.01.. There is literally no hope of being there. Ive resignedmyself to watching it on the box..

Cheltenham means a lot to me boyo's, I was sick with worry!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,172 ✭✭✭NaiveMelodies

aidankkk wrote: »
    Chances of next year being my first missed chelteham in 12-13 years 1.01.. There is literally no hope of being there. Ive resignedmyself to watching it on the box..

The fact you went this year means your one of the reasons it won't be on next year. Karma is a bitch ;);)

Total garbage. Only people who don't like like racing talk like that.

Finger pointing blame monsters love blaming Cheltenham on a Global Pandemic.

I suggest you go back to bed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,172 ✭✭✭NaiveMelodies

Total garbage. Only people who don't like like racing talk like that.

Finger pointing blame monsters love blaming Cheltenham on a Global Pandemic.

I suggest you go back to bed.

How dare you call me an FPBM. If the economic downturn, a direct result of Cheltenham, had not occurred I might still have a bed to go back to. I don't.

I slept in my uncles barn for a year.

It is doable, less dust in Autumn also.

My friend was a cat named mittens. I miss her.

Get up to bed.