Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

COUNTDOWN: Top 50 Music Albums Of All-Time.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,078 ✭✭✭IAMAMORON

Kolido wrote: »
    Are those your favourite 10 albums or the 10 you would consider the best from a music perspective.

I possibly got this wrong by nominating my favourite albums, 6 of which made the top 50. I could have submitted 10 that are widely considered the top albums but I probably have never listened to half of them before. I'm not sure how others were nominating.

To be honest they were the ones that came to my head at the time. I don't ponder it much. I am big into electronic music, you name it. I would consider all the selections I picked as being somewhat " mainstream".

Music is not a competition, everyone has different tastes. I mean I cried into my pillow for not including Lou Reed, Stevie Wonder, The Isley bros and my all time fav.... Terence Trent D'arby.

As I said I would be questioning the demographic... but it ain't no thang ... but a chicken wing.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,293 ✭✭✭Reberetta

Other multi-nominated albums which just missed the cut:

20 pts
    51.Michael Jackson Thriller
    51.Rolling Stones Exile On Main St.
    52. The Strokes Is This It?
    52. Vampire Weekend Vampire Weekend
    55.Tracy Chapman Tracy Chapman

19 Pts
    56. Alice In Chains Dirt
    57. Massive Attack Blue Lines

18 Pts

The Doors L.A. Woman
    David Bowie Low
    Counting Crows August and Everything After
    INXS Kick

17 Pts or less in descending order:

Kanye West My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy
    Arctic Monkeys Whatever People Say I Am, That's What I'm Not
    Prodigy Music For A Jilted Generation
    Led Zeppelin IV
    Radiohead Kid A
    Neil Young On The Beach
    Kate Bush Hounds Of Love
    Metallica And Justice For All
    Greenday Dookie
    The Smashing Pumpkins Mellon Collie & The Infinite Sadness
    The Knife Silent Shout
    The National Boxer
    The Smashing Pumpkins  Adore
    Echo and The Bunnymen Ocean Rain
    U2 The Boy
    The Cure Disintegration
    Waterboys This Is The Sea
    Whipping Boy Heartworm
    The Beatles Abbey Road
    Snow Patrol Eyes Open
    Depeche Mode Violator
    Bat for Lashes Two Suns

And The Rest

joni mitchel..song to a seagull
    Pearl Jam-Ten
    Florence and the machine...lungs
    Janis Joplin... pearl
    Blondie... parallel lines
    Talking Heads - Stop Making Sense
    Tori Amos...under the pink
    Sinead o Connor...i do not want what i haven't got
    Goldfrapp...supernature
    Aretha Franklin...lady soul
    Patti smith... Easter
    Pj Harvey... to bring you my love
    Fairport convention...liege and leaf
    Cat Stevens...tea for the tillerman
    Roy harper...flat baroque and bezerk
    Tim Buckley...goodbye and hello
    Bad company ....bad company
    Bryan Adams...reckless
    C.C.R..Cosmos factory
    The clash... combat rock
    Live,,, throwing copper
    Jefferson airplane... surrealistic pillow
    Jimi Hendrix exp...are you experienced us version
    Kula shaker....K
    The Byrds... notorious..
    The moody blues...days of future passed
    Rem... out of time
    dAvid bowie...lets dance
    The police...regatta de blanc
    The rolling stones...out of our heads
    Dead can dance / towards the within
    Depeche mode... violator
    The breeders... the last splash
    Mazzy star...she hangs brightly
    Modern English...after the snow
    Lou reed...transformer
    Nick cave and the bad seeds..skeleton tree
    Jimmy mccarthy..the song of the singing horseman6
    The horslips...happy to meet-sorry to part
    Joe cocker.... /with a little help
    Johnny cashAmerican recordings I-VI
    Peter Gabriel So
    Sanke River River Conspiracy -Sonic Jihad
    Foo Fighters - Foo Fighters
    Faith No More -Angel Dust
    Pink Floyd -The Wall
    Interpol - Antics
    Lunachicks -Pretty Ugly
    Menomena -Friend or Foe
    Jeff Buckley  Grace
    Donovan A Gift From A Flower To A Garden
    Neil Young Harvest
    Jimi Hendrix Experience- Electric Ladyland
    Talking Heads- Speaking in Tongues
    Korn- Korn
    Suede - Dog Man Star
     Pulp - Different Class
    The B-52s - The B52s
    Julianna Barwick - The Magic Place
    Dirty Three - Horse Stories
    Deerhoof Offend Maggie
    Joanna Newsom - Have One On Me
    Type O Negative-Slow Deep and Hard
    Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds - Push The Sky Away
    Casiotone for the Painfully Alone - Etiquette
    The Twilight Singers - Blackberry Belle
    The Breeders - Pod
    Mad Season - Above
    AC/DC - Back in Black
    Kings of Leon - Youth & Young Manhood
    The View - Hats Off to the Busker
    Airbourne - Running Wild
    Bell X1 - Music in Mouth
    The Ting Tings We Started Nothing
    The Fratellis - Costello Music
    Stereophonics - Word Gets Around
    The Zombies  Odyssey and Oracle
    Walking on Cars - Everything This Way
    Dave Matthews Band - Stand Up
    Nico - chelsea girl
    Lady GaGa - The Fame Monster
    Hole - Live Through This
    The Dixie Chicks - Taking the Long Way
    The Greatest Showman Soundtrack
    Pink - I'm Not Dead
    Dido - Life for rent
    Crow soundtrack
    Madonna - True blue
    Lady Sovereign Public Warning
    Simon and Garfunkel - bridge over troubled waters
    The verve - urban hymns
    Guns N roses Use your illusions 2
    Guns N Roses Use your illusions 1
    Pearl Jam - Vitalogy
    Grease soundtrack
    U2 - Under a blood red sky
    Eminem - Slim Shady LP
    REM - Out of Time
    The streets - a grand don't come for free
    Smashing Pumpkins Siamese Dream
    Tom Petty, full moon fever
    Guns & Roses Lies
    Art of trance - wildlife on one
    Lighthouse family - ocean drive
    Suede Suede
    The National, High Violet
    Smashing Pumpkins- Pisces Iscariot
    Brian Eno - Nerve Net
    Brian Eno - Ambient 4: On Land
    Donald Fagen - Kamakiriad
    Marilyn Manson-Portrait Of An American Family
     Dt8 project - Perfect world
    Sting - Brand new day
    Faithless - reverence
    Crash Test Dummies-God Shuffled His Feet
    Blind Melon-Blind Melon
    James Taylor - Sweet Baby James
    James bay-electric light
    beck-guero
    bloc party-a weekend in the city
    sia-this is acting
    imagine dragons-smoke +mirrors
    elbow-the seldom seen kid
    Daughty-baptized
    lianne la havis-is your love big enough?
    Johnny Cash: American IV - The Man Comes Around
    Eminem - Recovery
     65daysofstatic - Escape from New York
    65daysofstatic - We Were Exploding Anyway
    Enter Shikari - Flash Flood of Colour
    Britney Spears - Baby One More Time
    Westlife - The Love Album
    LUH - Spiritual Songs For Lovers To Sing
    The National - Alligator
    Manic Street Preachers Everything Must Go
    Portishead - Dummy
    Oasis - The Masterplan
    New Radicals Maybe You've Been Brainwashed Too
    Skeletonwitch At One With The Shadows
    Eminem - The Marshall Mathers LP
    Fight Like Apes - Fight Like Apes and the Mystery of the Golden Medallion
    The Gaslight Anthem - The '59 Sound
    Lawson-chapman square
    Bob Dylan-Desire
    Placebo -Without You I'm Nothing
    The Kinks-The Kinks Are Village Green Preservation Society
    Crosby, Stills & Nash-Crosby, Stills & Nash
    The Police - Synchronicity
    Julie London - Your Number Please
    Kenny G - Faith
    Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds - The Boatman's Call
    Bjork - Vespertine
    Cat Power - Moon Pix
    Captain Beefheart and his Magic Band - Trout Mask Replica
    Beach House - 7
    Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds - Push The Sky Away/Skeleton Tree/Ghosteen
    Interpol - Turn On The Bright Lights
    Björk - Homogenic
    Beck - Morning Phase
    Yeah Yeah Yeahs - It's Blitz!
    Soundgarden -Down On The Upside
    Eels-Beautiful Freak
    Red hot chilli peppers  californication
    AC/DC ballbreaker
    Ben Folds Five- Ben Folds Five
    The La's - The La's
     Lloyd Cole Lloyd Cole
    Prince Graffiti Bridge
    Green - REM
    Carrie & Lowell - Sufjan Stevens
    Paradise - The Shangri-Las
    Let England Shake - PJ Harvey
    Turn On the Bright Lights - Interpol
    American Idiot - Green Day
    One by One - Foo Fighters
    The Eminem Show - Eminem
    Apocalypso - The Presets
     Nouvelle Vague - Nouvelle Vague
    Illmatic - Nas
    A Walk Across the Rooftops The Blue Nile
    Electronic  Electronic
    Going for The One  Yes
    Suzanne Vega Suzanne Vega
    How Dare You!  10cc
    Agaetis Byrjun - Sigur Ros
    Good Kidd Madd City - Kendrick Lamar
    Demon Days - Gorillaz
    Lovers Lane - The Go Betweens
    Aja//Steely Dan
    The Kick Inside Kate Bush
    Between the lines  Janis Ian
    Crime of the Century Supertramp
    Whats goin on- Marvin Gaye
    Back to Black- Amy Winehouse
    Bad Brains - Bad Brains
    In a Silent Way- Miles Davis
    Straight Outta Compton- NWA
    Frank- Amy Winehouse
    How To Save A Life - The Fray
    A Fever You Can't Sweat Out - Panic! At The Disco
    Bad Blood - Bastille
    Red - Taylor Swift
    Sigh No More - Mumford and Sons
    Rust Never Sleeps - Neil Young with Crazy Horse
    Electric Warrior - T. Rex
    Brothers in Arms - Dire Straits
    Homework - Daft Punk
    Burnin - The Wailers
    Faded Seaside Glamour - Delays
    OK Cowboy - Vitalic
    Nobody Wants to be Here and Nobody Wants to Leave - The Twilight Sad
    In an Aeroplane Over the Sea - Neutral Milk Hotel
    Queens of The Stone Age - Queens of The Stone Age
    Queen of Denmark - John Grant
    Lost Souls - Doves
    Moon Safari - Air
    Radiator - Super Furry Animals
    Pronounced: Lynyrd Skynyrd
    Otis Blue: Otis Redding
    Photo Finish: Rory Gallagher
    Devils and Dust: Bruce Springsteen
    Solitary Man: Johnny Cash
     Fresh Evidence: Rory Gallagher
    Sticky Fingers: The Rolling Stones
     Kind of Blue- Miles Davis
    Fever to Tell - Yeah Yeah Yeahs
    The Fat of The Land - The Prodigy
    In Evening Air - Future Islands
    Doggystyle - Snoop Doggy Dogg
    Timeless - Goldie
    Experience - The Prodigy
    For Emma, Forever Ago - Bon Iver
    FOUR - One Direction
    I Am... Sasha Fierce - Beyonce
    The Clash - London Calling
    Bat Out of Hell - Meat Loaf
    Exile on Coldharbour Lane - Alabama 3
    It's a Shame About Ray - Lemonheads
    Closing Time - Tom Waits
    Surf's Up, Jim Steinman
    Ride the Lightning - Metallica
    RATM - Rage Against the Machine
    Permission to Land - The Darkness
    A Vulgar Display of Power - Pantera
    Leviathan - Mastodon
     The Hurting - Tears For Fears
    The Man Machine - Kraftwerk
    Steve McQueen - Prefab Sprout
    The Nightfly - Donald Fagen
    Tango In The Night - Fleetwood Mac
    Tapestry - Carole King
    She's The Boss - Mick Jagger
    Rum Sodomy and the Lash, Pogues
    Goodbye Yellow Brick Road, Elton John
    Document REM
    Heart - Heart
    Daughtry - Daughtry
    Exile in Guyville - Liz Phair
    Station to Station- David Bowie
    Dragonfly Summer Michael Franks
    Wonderland Judie Tzuke
    Reading, Writing and Arithmetic- The Sundays
    Copper Blue - Sugar
    Lovely - The Primitives
    A Rush of Blood to the Head  Coldplay
    Lionheart  Kate Bush
    Raw Power - The Stooges
    Bringing It All Back Home - Bob Dylan
    The White Stripes - Elephant
    Ween - The Mollusk
    Metallica - Master Of Puppets
    Weezer - Weezer (The Blue Album)
    Nirvana -In Utero
    Our Lady Peace - Clumsy
    ABC - The Lexicon Of Love (1982)
    The Magnetic Fields- Love Songs
    Travis - 12 Memories
    The Killers - Hot Fuss
    Japan - Tin Drum
    Kings of Leon - Aha Shake Heartbreak
    Serge Gainsbourg - Histoire De Melody Nelson
    Pet Shop Boys - Behaviour
    Various - Now That's What I Call Music 3
    Staind - Break The Cycle
    Dexys Midnight Runners - Don't Stand Me Down
    Style Council - Our Favourite Shop
    Love The Jam and Weller solo but this is the peak.
    Iron Maiden - Brave New World
    The Beatles -The Beatles
    The Mars Volta - Deloused In The Comatorium
    Red Hot Chili Peppers - By The Way
    Primal Scream - Screamadelica
    Animal Collective - Merriweather Post Pavilion
    The Name of This Band is Talking Heads by Talking Heads
    Misfits - Static Age

• Registered Users Posts: 5,990 ✭✭✭Declan A Walsh

The lack of ACDC was a bit of a surprise actually.

As regards The Stone Roses' debut album, I bought it and I would not have listed it in my own Top 50! :D

I nominated albums I’m really close to but would also consider candidates as “best music album of all time”-which is the purpose of the thread- there’s tons of albums I love but wouldn’t consider them best of all time.
    It just so happens many of the albums I know and love very well also feature regularly on best of lists

Irish Aris wrote: »
    I don't see what's funny about it, care to explain?

No I couldn’t be bothered :)

• Registered Users Posts: 4,934 ✭✭✭Irish Aris

IAMAMORON wrote: »
    To be honest they were the ones that came to my head at the time. I don't ponder it much. I am big into electronic music, you name it. I would consider all the selections I picked as being somewhat " mainstream".

Music is not a competition, everyone has different tastes. I mean I cried into my pillow for not including Lou Reed, Stevie Wonder, The Isley bros and my all time fav.... Terence Trent D'arby.

As I said I would be questioning the demographic... but it ain't no thang ... but a chicken wing.

That's another album that was just outside my top 10 - introducing the Hardline according to Terence Trent D'Arby. What an album!! I remember at the time he was hailed as the new Prince, alas lost his way very quickly. Not to say that the next albums weren't good, but nowhere near this amazing debut.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,919 ✭✭✭The Floyd p

1. Pet Sounds - The Beach Boys.
    2. Animals - Pink Floyd.
    3. My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy - Kanye West.
    4. Rumours - Fleetwood Mac.
    5. Songs in the Key of Life - Stevie Wonder.
    6. Kid A - Radiohead.
    7. Madvillainy - Madvillain.
    8. ATLiens - Outkast.
    9. To Pimp A Butterfly - Kendrick Lamar.
    10. Random Access Memories - Daft Punk.

I tried to represent some more modern albums, 4 rap albums in total. 3 of the top 10 being released in the 2010's.

Sad no other Pink Floyd album got a look in, personally think DSOTM is a bit overrated.

Just had a look at the full nominations.

It's amazing that there was no nomination by anybody of the following: Genesis, Phil Collins, New Order, Sade (Diamond Life), David Gray (White Ladder), more than one album by Coldplay, Closer by Joy Division, more than one album by Depeche Mode and Songs from the Big Chair by Tears for Fears.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,818 ✭✭✭✭ShaneU

Ten by Pearl Jam votes: 0
    The Greatest Showman Soundtrack votes: 1

There it is, black and white, we all know which album is best now

• Registered Users Posts: 84,956 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

Reberetta wrote: »
    We got fun and games

No sir.

That's it from me today folks. Tomorrow Sunday 1pm, the top ten in twenty minute increments.

1pm No. 10

1.20pm No. 9

1. 40pm No. 8

etc...

4pm No. 1

You wanted suspense, you got suspense! :cool:

One MASSIVE album missed the cut. But which one?

What was the MASSIVE album that missed the cut?

JP Liz V1 wrote: »
    What was the MASSIVE album that missed the cut?

Pearl Jam's Ten?

It's amazing that there was no nomination by anybody of the following: Genesis, Phil Collins, New Order, Sade (Diamond Life), David Gray (White Ladder), more than one album by Coldplay, Closer by Joy Division, more than one album by Depeche Mode and Songs from the Big Chair by Tears for Fears.

I’m not amazed at all-what criteria are you using to come to that conclusion? I’m guessing that the median demographic of a lot of voters here is around 38 years old- so 80s albums wouldn’t really feature strongly on their radar - I lived the 80s as a teenager and I wouldn’t put Phil Collins on a top 50 list no less a top 10 list.

I would say Thriller by Michael Jackson. It just missed the Top 50.

ShaneU wrote: »

Wolverine singing is awesome :D

80s pop (or pop in general for that matter) doesn't perform well in boards.
    The only that I could picture getting voted in would be Tears for Fears.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 16,093 Mod ✭✭✭✭adrian522

Surprised by some of the negative comments on here. Not everyone is going to have the same taste in music and the chances of the final list matching any users actual list is pretty small.

My list is below, I didn't spend a whole lot of time agonising over it, probably what I was listening to at the time, I could probably do this tomorrow and come up with 10 completely different albums.

I don't have the Stone Roses included but I easily could have, in my opinion its a great album, one of the best albums releases while I've been listening to music.

1. Bob Dylan - Blood on the Tracks
    2. The Beatles - Revolver
    3. Nirvana - Nevermind
    4. Radiohead - OK Computer
    5. Beach Boys - Pet Sounds
    6. Joy Division - Unknown Pleasures
    7. The Velvet Undergorund - The Velvet Underground & Nico
    8. David Bowie - Low
    9. Radiohead - Kid A
    10. The Clash - London Calling

JP Liz V1 wrote: »
    Wolverine singing is awesome :D

and such a heart warming film!!!! :)

I would say Thriller by Michael Jackson. It just missed the Top 50.

Yes, biggest selling album ever?

I’m not amazed at all-what criteria are you using to come to that conclusion? I’m guessing that the median demographic of a lot of voters here is around 38 years old- so 80s albums wouldn’t really feature strongly on their radar - I lived the 80s as a teenager and I wouldn’t put Phil Collins on a top 50 list no less a top 10 list.

I'm going by popularity and name recognition, but you have a point about the demographics. That said:
    - White Ladder was the 1990s. Coldplay are a 21st century act. New Order had albums in more recent decades. Depeche Mode has plenty of albums in the last few decades.

- The Top 50 included Joy Division's earlier album Unknown Pleasures even though it was in 1979.

- Tears for Fears first album The Hurting was amongst the nominations, albeit not in the Top 50.

Acts with the most different albums nominated:

Bruce Springsteen
    The Beatles  
    Bob Dylan  
    Radiohead  
    Guns N Roses
    U2  
    REM  
    The Rolling Stones
    Metallica 
    Smashing Pumpkins (Did not make top 50) 
    Eminem  (Did not make top 50)

Fleetwood Mac  
    Oasis  
    Foo Fighters
    Manic Street Preachers
    Pink Floyd
    Nick Cave (& Bad Seeds)  (Did not make top 50)
    The National  (Did not make top 50)
    Neil Young  (Did not make top 50)
    Kate Bush  (Did not make top 50)
    David Bowie (Did not make top 50)
    Suede  (Did not make top 50)
    Prodigy  (Did not make top 50)
    Talking Heads  (Did not make top 50)

Linkin Park
    The Pixies
    Led Zeppelin
    Nirvana  
    The Doors
    Lloyd Cole (and the Commotions)
    The B-52s (Did not make top 50)
    Sting   (Did not make top 50)
    AC/DC   (Did not make top 50)
    Daughtry  (Did not make top 50)
    Queens Of The Stone Age  
    Johnny Cash  (Did not make top 50)
    Miles Davis   (Did not make top 50)
    The Clash   (Did not make top 50)
    Pearl Jam  (Did not make top 50)
    65 Days Of Static  (same person)  (Did not make top 50)
    Amy Winehouse  (same person)  (Did not make top 50)
    Brian Eno       (same person)  (Did not make top 50)
    Rory Gallagher (same person)  (Did not make top 50)

• Registered Users Posts: 3,712 ✭✭✭NewbridgeIR

Irish Aris wrote: »
    80s pop (or pop in general for that matter) doesn't perform well in boards.
    The only that I could picture getting voted in would be Tears for Fears.

That's very true. Reminds me of school, I know lads terrified to admit liking pop songs. 35 years later they haven't changed. Even though the pop music of one's youth does make a mark and shape your tastes (it did for me anyway).

I bought Sonic Youth's EVOL and Now That's What I Call Music 7 at the same time in 1986 and will never forget the record shop guy's look of approval followed by disgust and contempt.

One-time nominated albums at number one:

Talking Heads Stop Making Sense
    Travelling Wilburys Vol 1
    65daysofstatic Escape from New York
    The Sex Pistols Nevermind the Bollocks, Here's The Sex Pistols
    The B-52's Cosmic Thing
    Manic Street Preachers Generation Terrorists
    Hozier Wasteland, Baby!
    McCartney and Wings  Band on The Run
    Dan Fogelberg Netherlands
    Pearl Jam  Ten
    Elliott Smith From A Basement On The Hill
    The La's The La's
    Ramones Ramones
    Sting Ten Summoner's Tales
    Adele  19
    Fleetwood Mac  Tusk
    Wire Pink Flag

For speckle, only able to cobble together the top eleven female-fronted albums.

1. Fleetwood Mac Rumours
    2. Alanis Morrisette Jagged Little Pill
    3. Velvet Underground & Nico  Self-titled
    4. My Bloody Valentine?  Loveless
    5. Fever Ray   Fever Ray
    6. Tracy Chapman Tracy Chapman
    7. Kate Bush Hounds of Love
    8. The Knife Silent Shout
    9. Bat For Lashes  Two Suns
    10. Fleetwood Mac Tusk/ Adele 19

Final Top 50
    Thanks to plentyohtoole for typing this out, save me the bother.

50.Queens of the Stone Age- Songs for the Deaf
    49.The Pixes Surfer Rosa
    48. Bruce Springsteen- Nebraska
    47.Bruce Springsteen- Born to Run
    46. Blur- Parklife
    45. Prince- Sign of the Times
    44. Tom Petty- Wildflowers
    43. The Pixies- Doolittle
    42. Bob Dylan- Blonde on Blonde
    41. Fever Ray- Fever Ray
    39. Linkin Park Meteora
    39. Led Zeppelin- Led Zeppelin
    38. Joy Division- Unknown Pleasures
    37. Radiohead- The Bends
    35. Foo Fighters- The Colour and the Shape
    35. The Eagles- Hotel California
    34. My Bloody Valentine- Loveless
    33. Velvet Underground and Nico- Velvet Underground & Nico
    32. The Smiths- the queen is dead
    31. Bruce Springsteen- Born in the USA
    30. U2- Achtung Baby
    29.Queen- Night at the Opera
    28. Oasis- Definitely Maybe
    27. Duran Duran – Rio
    26. U2- Joshua Tree
    25. Def Leppard- Hysteria
    24. Stevie Wonder- Songs in the Key of Life
    23. Bon Jovi- Slippery When Wet
    22. The Beatles- Sgt Peppers
    21. REM- Automatic for the People
    20. Lloyd Cole-Rattlesnakes
    19. Linkin Park- Hybrid Theory
    18. The Doors- The Doors
    17. Paul Simon- Graceland
    16. Manic Street Preachers- The Holy Bible
    15. The Rolling Stones- Let It Bleed
    14. Bob Dylan- Blood on the Tracks
    13. Metallica- Black
    12. Oasis- What the Story
    11. Radiohead- In Rainbows
    10. Guns and Roses- Appetite for Destruction
    9.  Morrissette- Jagged Little Pill
    8. Radiohead- OK Computer
    7. Pink Floyd- Dark Side Of The Moon
    6. The Beatles- Revolver
    5. The Beach Boys- Pet Sounds
    4. Stone Roses- Stone Roses
    3. Arcade Fire- Funeral
    2. Fleetwood Mac- Rumours
    1. Nirvana- Nevermind

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,078 ✭✭✭IAMAMORON

Sorry but eh, you’re laughing at the final list and you’ve voted Rio as the 5th best album of all time?
    Hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha

I am more than delighted you are having a laugh about that, I mean that.

But you should give it a listen. Simon Le Bon has one of the greatest voices out there, a massive range, not unlike Buckley, Bono or Thom Yorke for range.

Also the album epitomises for me the pop crossover. Without this album there is no Spandau Ballet, Tears for Fears, Simple Minds etc etc etc .

I mean I can't stop crying when I hear "Save a Prayer"..... that song really moves me. I dare you to turn on "Hungry like a Wolf" and not feel the energy. Duran Duran may not be cool enough for school, but they are an underrated and disrespected band. They rocked the 80's.

They had style and grace. Even Peter Gabriel was an avid fan.

But Bruce Phucking Springers , I mean please ....

Rio is their best but there's lots of gems scattered on other albums

The Seventh Stranger (Seven & The Ragged Tiger)
    Winter Marches On (Notorious)
    Palomino / The Edge Of America / Lake Shore Driving (all on Big Thing)
    Serious (Liberty)

plus that Arcadia album is a really atmospheric spin-off. Should have done a second one.

Rio is their best but there's lots of gems scattered on other albums

The Seventh Stranger (Seven & The Ragged Tiger)
    Winter Marches On (Notorious)
    Palomino / The Edge Of America / Lake Shore Driving (all on Big Thing)
    Serious (Liberty)

plus that Arcadia album is a really atmospheric spin-off. Should have done a second one.

+1 on Palomino, a great song!!!

Bruce is Boss, end of :p

Everyone has different tastes

That's very true. Reminds me of school, I know lads terrified to admit liking pop songs. 35 years later they haven't changed. Even though the pop music of one's youth does make a mark and shape your tastes (it did for me anyway).

I bought Sonic Youth's EVOL and Now That's What I Call Music 7 at the same time in 1986 and will never forget the record shop guy's look of approval followed by disgust and contempt.

You’ve just summed up the 80s in terms of music attitudes :D

Record store guy would have packed your record or tape carefully in a plastic bag if you brought the likes of -
    Talking Heads, The Smiths, The Waterboys, The Eurythmics, Jesus and Mary Chain, The Fall, Lloyd Coyle, Elvis Costello, Public Image LTD,

It was cool to hate U2 and like the Waterboys instead, Simple Minds were seen as U2 wannabes and Big Country were also rans.
    Metallica were Gods but had a very narrow following.

I never met a male fan of Duran Duran - ever.

ShaneU wrote: »

I forgot to put Pearl Jam Ten on the list.:pac:

Apologies lassykk.

Again.

Edited now.

IAMAMORON wrote: »
    I am more than delighted you are having a laugh about that, I mean that.

But you should give it a listen. Simon Le Bon has one of the greatest voices out there, a massive range, not unlike Buckley, Bono or Thom Yorke for range.

Also the album epitomises for me the pop crossover. Without this album there is no Spandau Ballet, Tears for Fears, Simple Minds etc etc etc .

I mean I can't stop crying when I hear "Save a Prayer"..... that song really moves me. I dare you to turn on "Hungry like a Wolf" and not feel the energy. Duran Duran may not be cool enough for school, but they are an underrated and disrespected band. They rocked the 80's.

They had style and grace. Even Peter Gabriel was an avid fan.

But Bruce Phucking Springers , I mean please ....

I love your efforts, I really do :D

I’ll listen to Rio if you promise to listen to one of my list you haven’t heard before

You’ve just summed up the 80s in terms of music attitudes :D

Record store guy would have packed your record or tape carefully in a plastic bag if you brought the likes of -
    Talking Heads, The Smiths, The Waterboys, The Eurythmics, Jesus and Mary Chain, The Fall, Lloyd Coyle, Elvis Costello, Public Image LTD,

It was cool to hate U2 and like the Waterboys instead, Simple Minds were seen as U2 wannabes and Big Country were also rans.
    Metallica were Gods but had a very narrow following.

I never met a male fan of Duran Duran - ever.

I know - I bought records back then by all of the artists you listed; but it got very tribal if you threw a pop album on the counter. I was happy enough to buy what I liked but others were a lot more careful about upholding an image.

Agree re U2; the begrudgery even then was off the scale. Simple Minds were respected initially (up to New Gold Dream) but by 1989's Street Fighting Years were seen as pompous stadium rockers and some people still dismiss them totally because of that.

There were a few male Duran Duran fans in my hometown. Two in particular were massive Japan / David Sylvian heads as well and did their utmost to carry off that look.