Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Reporting a family member to the police.

• 01-09-2020 12:27pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,794 ✭✭✭

I was speaking to my brother this morning, and he was telling me that he and a number of his friends are organising a 'massive rave' next weekend. This rave is going to be held in a shed that is on land that was given to us (my brother, sister, and me) upon the death of my Grandmother. He even tried to make a quip about it being an 'e'pidemic.

Now this is completely unacceptable at the best of times, but absolutely outrageous during the pandemic. Most of the people who my brother hangs around with are cockroaches and vermin, but even then I don't want there being some outbreak linked to this mucksavage dance party. Especially if it means my good name and impeccable character are dragged through the mud.

I've spent the morning trying to convince him to reconsider, but he is insisting it is going ahead as they've hired speakers, 'decks', and arranged for some drug dealer from Galway to be in attendance. He won't listen to my sister either.

So I've decided to report him to the Gardaí. I presume they accept an anonymous tip-off, and give him a warning to not go ahead with the party? I don't want him actually getting in trouble, as he hasn't been before Judge Mary Fahy in a number of years.

Has anyone any experience with this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,300 ✭✭✭Lewis_Benson

This will be good....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,326 ✭✭✭Scuid Mhór

I was speaking to my brother this morning, and he was telling me that he and a number of his friends are organising a 'massive rave' next weekend. This rave is going to be held in a shed that is on land that was given to us (my brother, sister, and me) upon the death of my Grandmother. He even tried to make a quip about it being an 'e'pidemic.

Now this is completely unacceptable at the best of times, but absolutely outrageous during the pandemic. Most of the people who my brother hangs around with are cockroaches and vermin, but even then I don't want there being some outbreak linked to this mucksavage dance party. Especially if it means my good name and impeccable character are dragged through the mud.

I've spent the morning trying to convince him to reconsider, but he is insisting it is going ahead as they've hired speakers, 'decks', and arranged for some drug dealer from Galway to be in attendance. He won't listen to my sister either.

So I've decided to report him to the Gardaí. I presume they accept an anonymous tip-off, and give him a warning to not go ahead with the party? I don't want him actually getting in trouble, as he hasn't been before Judge Mary Fahy in a number of years.

This has to be satire.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,903 ✭✭✭frozenfrozen

This has to be satire.

it is if you recognise the poster

What are you doing back in galway. Have you been let go from your high powered job?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,608 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

Surely someone with many years experience in a senior finance role in Germany would have the capacity to figure out a way to contact a local sergeant in advance of an event, and telling them to have a word with someone before any crimes were committed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,148 ✭✭✭Smee_Again

Thinly veiled I own a shed thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭JohnnyFlash

This has to be satire.

Don’t see what’s satirical about it. Strong notes of tosspot off it though.

OP, ring the Feds, say who you are, tell them to call down to your brother saying they got a tip off up town, and that they want him tucked up in bed by 9PM on Saturday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,608 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

Smee_Again wrote: »
    Thinly veiled I own a shed thread.

Or, a 'I'm a competing promoter in the underground EDM scene in East Galway who is having trouble with a rival' thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,123 ✭✭✭Trigger Happy

I would not be too worried about it OP. The weather will be poor next weekend.

I would like to follow up on the point about the dealer from Galway though. Any notion of what he is selling and the prices? Does he deliver?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,526 ✭✭✭FintanMcluskey

Massive fan of your posts and life stories Aongus.

Don't recall you mentioning a sister before!

Is she successful?

Hopefully she didnt end married to some production supervisor (with questionable teeth) in a medical device plant in Galway

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,631 ✭✭✭✭antodeco

My favourite part was when Jack told Kate to go on and have beautiful babies

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,238 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

749431.jpg?b64lines=IFRIQVQgTkVWRVIsIFVILCBIQVBQRU5FRCwKIERJRCBJVCwgSE9NRVI_

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,046 ✭✭✭Slideways

Snitches get stitches.

OP is a disgrace. If I was your brother me and the lads would rip your arms and beat you senseless for a dog act like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,283 ✭✭✭✭RobbingBandit

For such a man of irony would you not consider locking him in the shed with Cotton eye Joe on a 6 hour loop that oughta get all this notion of party out of him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,430 ✭✭✭✭EmmetSpiceland

Considering the story going around about that group of girls in Skerries throwing a “Covid Party”, I would suggest you report this “event” whatever way you can.

Last thing any of us want is another “lockdown” but morons will make it an inevitability.

“It is not blood that makes you Irish but a willingness to be part of the Irish nation” - Thomas Davis

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,138 ✭✭✭Gregor Samsa

Don't mind the rest of them, OP. This is a serious issue, and you're doing the right thing.

I had to do something similar to a family member. My grandmother had organised an illegal bingo night in her shed (we haven't inherited it yet, but are looking forward to being in the same position as your good self). As with your bro, she had a PA system hired, bingo machine, non-sterile markers etc. And like your bro, she was making inappropriate quips about it ("Covid Goodbye Teens Night", she was billing it as - to use the bingo parlance for 19). She didn't have any drug dealers in attendance, as all of the participants would have their own pills in those little boxes with the weekdays and "Morning" "Afternoon" "Night" printed on them.

Anyway, I called 999, while wearing a mask to disguise my voice. Whatever the mixup was with them not understanding me, they sent the fire brigade instead of the Gardaí. All the auld ones love a fireman, so they just thought it was part of the entertainment, and had a great time wearing the helmets and putting on the sirens. My advice is to tread carefully.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 475 ✭✭AdrianBalboa

For such a man of irony would you not consider locking him in the shed with Cotton eye Joe on a 6 hour loop that oughta get all this notion of party out of him.
    He'd be delighted, they love that song down the country.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,315 ✭✭✭nthclare

Don't mind the rest of them, OP. This is a serious issue, and you're doing the right thing.

I had to do something similar to a family member. My grandmother had organised an illegal bingo night in her shed (we haven't inherited it yet, but are looking forward to being in the same position as your good self). As with your bro, she had a PA system hired, bingo machine, non-sterile markers etc. And like your bro, she was making inappropriate quips about it ("Covid Goodbye Teens Night", she was billing it as - to use the bingo parlance for 19). She didn't have any drug dealers in attendance, as all of the participants would have their own pills in those little boxes with the weekdays and "Morning" "Afternoon" "Night" printed on them.

Anyway, I called 999, while wearing a mask to disguise my voice. Whatever the mixup was with them not understanding me, they sent the fire brigade instead of the Gardaí. All the auld ones love a fireman, so they just thought it was part of the entertainment, and had a great time wearing the helmets and putting on the sirens. My advice is to tread carefully.

I'd say some of them still have ponstan stashed away too.

I'm heard there's a ghost storytelling gathering in an old outhouse in somewhere on the Loop head
    peninsula and the guy who's telling the story is traveling across the Shannon from Co Kerry.

This is a travesty, if I find out where it's on and who's organising it.
    I'll sneak out and record the car regs and who's coming and going, post it up on twitter for the ultimate outrage.

The feckers will probably be smoking too as I heard that these aul lads are real old school lads, which is a bonus point, there's no way a Kerry man is getting away with this outrage.

There's also a pagan gathering going on somewhere in the Burren this weekend and that's more of it, some Wiccan Goths dancing naked around a Hawthorne tree somewhere near Carron I'm lead to believe.

More fodder for Twitter, and I think some birdwatchers are converging near Bannow in Co Wexford on Saturday afternoon... absolutely insane behaviour.

Theses are the type of person who'll lockdown this county, they should all be ashamed of themselves.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 572 ✭✭✭Errashareesh

All the auld ones love a fireman, so they just thought it was part of the entertainment, and had a great time wearing the helmets and putting on the sirens.
    Ah yes, much amusement derived by those ladies from the "hose" double entendre and similar. Gets them most excitable. I assume they brought the bingo "balls" into it also.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,433 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

this is outrageous

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,010 ✭✭✭Allinall

Slideways wrote: »
    Snitches get stitches.

OP is a disgrace. If I was your brother me and the lads would rip your arms and beat you senseless for a dog act like that.

Only took a short while for the hard woman to arrive.

Must have been lurking in the ditch.

Ah yes, much amusement derived by those ladies from the "hose" double entendre and similar. Gets them most excitable. I assume they brought the bingo "balls" into it also.

You wouldn't be up to them, Errashareesh. And it's the last time Mickey Puller from Spunkane will agree to call the bingo.

Good luck to them. Is it the Law or 'Guidelines'... A lot of them bloody guidelines are treated as Law by the tax collectors. Fcuq this bloody 'ban' on gatherings... Still, wouldn't 'chance' it meself, not that I'd have any interest in shindigs regardless....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 789 ✭✭✭Beanntraigheach

Have you considered hiring an arsonist to torch the shed before said 'rave' can take place?

(If interested I'm an expert and my prices are very reasonable.)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,185 ✭✭✭screamer

Ah Aonghus Von Bullsh:te strikes again, maith an buchaill.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,068 ✭✭✭Specialun

why are you engaging with such common folk OP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Yes, my brother also arranged a rave in a shed and I reported him to police.
    They came out and arrested everyone.

My brother was so grateful I handled it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,420 ✭✭✭✭sligojoek

Have you considered hiring an arsonist to torch the shed before said 'rave' can take place?

There's an experienced arsonist at a "loose end" down Galway way at the minute.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,921 ✭✭✭buried

Make America Get Out of Here

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 18,670 Mod ✭✭✭✭Leg End Reject

Does this field have road frontage?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,921 ✭✭✭buried

The commas around the word decks is gas. Very Alan Partridge-esque.

Make America Get Out of Here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,751 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

buried wrote: »
    The commas around the word decks is gas. Very Alan Partridge-esque.

AvB is Boards very own Adrian Mole

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 18,670 Mod ✭✭✭✭Leg End Reject

Aongus "wants" to be Emmet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,211 ✭✭✭✭ILoveYourVibes

Who is alpha dog here?

If it were you or your sister you wouldn't HAVE to report it to the guards. Its always a shame when families can't handle their own business. But i guess it has to be done sometime.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,787 ✭✭✭Feisar

Considering the story going around about that group of girls in Skerries throwing a “Covid Party”, I would suggest you report this “event” whatever way you can.

Last thing any of us want is another “lockdown” but morons will make it an inevitability.

I don’t mean to be a dick but could you please explain your use of quotation marks.

First they came for the socialists...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 572 ✭✭✭Errashareesh

Feisar wrote: »
    I don’t mean to be a dick but could you please explain your use of quotation marks.
    To "annoy" people/"provoke" a "reaction", as it were.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,788 ✭✭✭Cute Hoor

nthclare wrote: »
    some Wiccan Goths dancing naked around a Hawthorne tree somewhere near Carron I'm lead to believe.

Ah FFS this is total bullsh1t, nothing ever grew in Carron never mind a hawthorn tree

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,942 ✭✭✭topper75

Torching is out of the question. That and one third of the land is Aonghus's ultimate refuge asset, now that Covid has done an absolute number on the Frankfurter pot.

Why else do think he is back here?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,807 ✭✭✭ShatterAlan

Arranged for a drug dealer to be in attendance, did he? You really ought to put a bit more effort into your spoofs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,195 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

There was hussies dancing like wild animals in the moonlight outside Helen's Bar in Kilmackillogue the weekend, after a feed a' stout and mussels boiled in seawater. Witchcraft, I tells ye!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,195 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

Arranged for a drug dealer to be in attendance, did he? You really ought to put a bit more effort into your spoofs.

I assume you just send your local fella an RSVP?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,653 ✭✭✭✭Plumbthedepths

Only two days ago another lad was wondering about how to report a wedding if 75 taking place in a home setting.
    Increase of curtain twitching continues to rise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,010 ✭✭✭Allinall

Only two days ago another lad was wondering about how to report a wedding if 75 taking place in a home setting.
    Increase of curtain twitching continues to rise.

Phil Hogan must be turning in his pensions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,219 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

I'd say if the Gardaí did take action on this matter people will discuss who was told, etc. If your name was mentioned I'd say they know it was you OP.
    Also remember this is little Ireland and not a big German city that your used to.
    If your coming home at Christmas OP. You might get a kicking of lads in bootcut jeans.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,868 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

I'm speculating on what the brothers and sisters names might be. Perhaps Ferdinand and Isabella.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,908 ✭✭✭ablelocks

To "annoy" people/"provoke" a "reaction", as it were.

it's working, very well indeed. so much so, i'm considering putting "him/her/it" on the "ignore" list. never done it to anyone before (and I don't want to) but the continued overuse of "" for "so-called" "emphasis" makes me want to "bash" my head against the "proverbial wall"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,526 ✭✭✭FintanMcluskey

I'm speculating on what the brothers and sisters names might be. Perhaps Ferdinand and Isabella.

I hope Isabella is not the kind who drinks pints of cider while playing pool in the local pub on a Tuesday night, tattoos on each ankle and lower back, peroxide blonde hair and talking about which of the Galway hurler's could give her one

ablelocks wrote: »
    it's working, very well indeed. so much so, i'm considering putting "him/her/it" on the "ignore" list. never done it to anyone before (and I don't want to) but the continued overuse of "" for "so-called" "emphasis" makes me want to "bash" my head against the "proverbial wall"

It's amazing how a few pixels can get people so worked up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 298 ✭✭pjdarcy

I would suggest that you just lock the shed OP but let's be honest, the shed doesn't exist does it...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,787 ✭✭✭Feisar

It's amazing how a few pixels can get people so worked up.

Not really worked up. If someone wrote with CapsLock on all the time it'd be called out. Same sort of thing.

First they came for the socialists...