Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Fire destroys Co Galway house purchased by council for Traveller family

• 31-08-2020 1:08pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,577 ✭✭✭✭

Full story here...

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/crime-and-law/fire-destroys-co-galway-house-purchased-by-council-for-traveller-family-1.4342767

I’m not sure what I’m more appalled by, the fact that a perfectly good house was burned down or the fact the local council shelled out FOUR HUNDRED AND THIRTY THOUSAND for a house for a traveller family.

It makes me sick to my stomach, I am scrimping and saving for 5 years to get a deposit together and these absolute leeches to society have this just given to them. So when I look at the deductions every month to my payslip I know where they’re going.

Disgusting disgusting country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,390 ✭✭✭UsBus

No surprise really.
    Neighbours in the vicinity of the house took the only option available to them.
    Burn the house or risk having their own house value erased and their neighbourhood destroyed by rubbish and anti social behaviour. PCs mightn't like it but that is the reality of the situation. I wouldn't blame this action in any way

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 14,550 Mod ✭✭✭✭johnnyskeleton

I’m not sure what I’m more appalled by, the fact that a perfectly good house was burned down or the fact the local council shelled out FOUR HUNDRED AND THIRTY THOUSAND for a house for a traveller family.
    Former city mayor, Cllr Niall McNeilis, said there is concern that the fire might have been started deliberately to prevent the Traveller family moving in there.

I think the fact that the house was burned down, possibly motivated by local opposition to a traveller family moving in, is by far the most appalling aspect of this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,577 ✭✭✭✭MEGA BRO WOLF 5000

I think the fact that the house was burned down, possibly motivated by local opposition to a traveller family moving in, is by far the most appalling aspect of this.

So would you be happy with a traveller family moving next door to you? I assume by your post you’d have no issues with that.

Be honest now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

So would you be happy with a traveller family moving next door to you? I assume by your post you’d have no issues with that.

Be honest now.

obviously here is anonymous but on Facebook its all too apparent in comment sections

"this is awful" - Karen, donnybrook
    "travellers are fine to live beside" - Fionn , dalkey
    "Irish people are so racist against travellers" - Vogue double-barrel, killiney.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,698 ✭✭✭kenmm

Scummy behaviour all round and shows that we need to seriously rethink our housing strategy in this country.

But sorry - onward with the usual polarised views, traveler/social welfare/council estate/landlord stereotypes etc etc

• Closed Accounts Posts: 692 ✭✭✭unhappys10

430k is crazy when others are struggling to scrape deposits together, it shouldn't be happening.

Having said that, I live in a small estate (20 houses) and have a traveller family across the street. We've been renting here 2 years and there literally hasn't been a peep out of them, nothing, if I didn't see them coming and going I wouldn't know they were there at all. So not all are bad.

Guy at the far end of my estate has a traveller family one side of him and a Roma family the other side. They are hounding the council to sort it out with all the trouble going on. I don't know how he gets up in the morning

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,224 ✭✭✭DellyBelly

I'd agree with the OP here. 430,000 for a house for a traveler family is madness...why do we work at all...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,292 ✭✭✭TheBoyConor

House torched by locals to preserve and safeguard their own homes and families.
    I cannot hold anything against the locals. they did what they had to do because there would be a fair chance that if they did nothing, they were in for 20 years of antisocial behaviour, crime and possibly even unauthorised expansion of the place into an unofficial site with extended family members moving caravans and mobile homes onto the grounds of the house.

DellyBelly wrote: »
    I'd agree with the OP here. 430,000 for a house for a traveler family is madness...why do we work at all...

Waste of time, if you quit your job in the morning you'd nearly be better off.

Having said that, I live in a small estate (20 houses) and have a traveller family across the street. We've been renting here 2 years and there literally hasn't been a peep out of them, nothing, if I didn't see them coming and going I wouldn't know they were there at all. So not all are bad.

Possibly it is a drug-house, or some other illicit gig going on there and they are making an effort to stay off of the radar so as to not draw attention to their illicit activities.

Hardly, its 2 parents with 4 kids. They wash clothes and hang them out, they go to Tesco for shopping, they cook dinner in the evening. Surprise surprise, just like you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 340 ✭✭Zookey123

Jesus christ what people will say when they are anonymous on a Boards thread. Advocating for arson now are we? A new low i would say. Not a huge fan of travelers myself but wouldnt go around burning their caravans.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,753 ✭✭✭✭Timberrrrrrrr

What an absolutely idiotic post!

unhappys10 wrote: »
    430k is crazy when others are struggling to scrape deposits together, it shouldn't be happening.

you're either very lucky or something else is up,
    although how do you know they're travellers if theres not a peep out of them ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,372 ✭✭✭LessOutragePlz

I hope the council had insurance on the house.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,662 ✭✭✭Duke of Url

Im not surprised

It says a lot about you that you also favourited the post hypothesizing that they're drug dealers...

They came to the house last Halloween trick or treating.
    Probably scoping out the place :rolleyes:

kenmm wrote: »

But sorry - onward with the usual polarised views, traveler/social welfare/council estate/landlord stereotypes etc etc

It's this sort of opinion that allows a council to splurge 400k on a traveller house. Nobody puts the brakes on to ask why taxpayer money is being wasted in this fashion for fear of being labelled. Not many will admit to it, but a lot of people would take the same action if faced with this situation. It's the only option in this country anymore. I for one am not going to work all my life to live in anti social squalor if I can avoid it.

It says a lot about you that you also favourited the post hypothesizing that they're drug dealers...

don't forget the shanty towns to house those that are a bit of a scumbag - that was classic :pac: :pac:

Another bonfire of taxpayer money. And the Travellers have no problem fuelling it provided they never contribute a solitary cent.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,480 ✭✭✭Blondini

Copper pipes, wires and cylinder are probably salvageable?

They came to the house last Halloween trick or treating.
    Probably scoping out the place :rolleyes:

and did they say 'trick or treat, were travellers' or how did you tell ?

Other possibility is that the traveller family torched the house themselves as they might not have wanted to move into that house.

is the garden big enough for a stables ?

UsBus wrote: »
    It's this sort of opinion that allows a council to splurge 400k on a traveller house. Nobody puts the brakes on to ask why taxpayer money is being wasted in this fashion for fear of being labelled. Not many will admit to it, but a lot of people would take the same action if faced with this situation. It's the only option in this country anymore. I for one am not going to work all my life to live in anti social squalor if I can avoid it.

Ah I see you omitted my first comment about the desperate need for reform.

What point do you turn to arson? Where do you keep the pitchforks in case you don't get on with one of your neighbours?

Any evidence of this or are you just spouting rubbish?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,662 ✭✭✭Duke of Url

Another bonfire of taxpayer money. And the Travellers have no problem fuelling it provided they never contribute a solitary cent.

Maybe it was insured.

and did they say 'trick or treat, were travellers' or how did you tell ?

Don't be stupid, I have eyes in my head and 2 ears. I can spot travellers like most people can, just like I can spot eejits on the internet.

Travellers are oppressed but a council will spend 430K on a free house for them.

Sign me up to that oppression please!
    But they are oppressed in this case since their house just got burned down or did you not read the post?

I am speculating based on experience I had with that minority.
    I know of a house that was burnt out twice in 6 months. 1st time because of a feud. Council re-furbished the house and was almost ready. Then it was burnt out again by the family supposed to move back in. They didn't want to move back to the area as the feud would reignite when they did.

The average person who doesn't have much dealings with them doesn't actually have a clue as to what really goes on in that section of society. They are too insulated from reality. I could tell you stories you would not believe.

I know of a house that was burnt out twice in 6 months. 1st time because of a feud. Council re-furbished the house and was almost ready. Then it was burnt out again by the family supposed to move back in. They didn't want to move back to the area as the feud would reignite when they did.

The average person who doesn't have much dealings with them doesn't actually have a clue as to what really goes on in that section of society. They are too insulated from reality. I could tell you stories you would not believe.
    You're making incredible leaps in terms of your speculation because you don't like travelers. When somebody mentioned a traveller family not causing any trouble, you concluded they were drug dealers... That reflects on you more than anything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 653 ✭✭✭Irish_peppa

Must of been some 4 bed house for 430,000 in Carnmore !

You're making incredible leaps in terms of your speculation because you don't like travelers. When somebody mentioned a traveller family not causing any trouble, you concluded they were drug dealers... That reflects on you more than anything.

Maybe contact Galway Council. You could offer for them to move into your back yard for a few months. I'm sure you'd only be delighted to host a lovely traveller family for the winter when it must be oh so cold outside.

I have lived in close proximity to travelers for years and never had a good interaction but burning a families house down is ok?? They could have little kids inside. That was a real scummy move and whoever did it should face the full force of the law. You mightn't like travelers but they are human and some of them are actually all right.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 873 ✭✭✭StackSteevens

Having said that, I live in a small estate (20 houses) and have a traveller family across the street. We've been renting here 2 years and there literally hasn't been a peep out of them, nothing, if I didn't see them coming and going I wouldn't know they were there at all.

So not all are bad.

Well said. I belive that the issue here is that no-one knows whether the family that was going to get the house in Galway (or in other locations where similar fires have occurred) was a completely inoffensive one - like the travelling family in your estate - or was one of the more anti-social, "neighbour from hell" families that some other renters and homeowners have the misfortune to live beside.

So, just to be on the safe side, the house was burnt down.

It's probably impossible nowadays due to various rights and PC agendas, but if the Council's Traveller Housing Officer was able to meet with locals and try to reassure them that the family earmarked for that particular home were a law abiding and "respectable" (please excuse the judgmental term) traveller family, then these kinds of incidents mightn't happen.

In an information vacuum, rumours travel fast and people tend to fear the worst and act accordingly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,421 ✭✭✭jammiedodgers

Did the €430k include stables or were they extra?

Zookey123 wrote: »
    I have lived in close proximity to travelers for years and never had a good interaction but burning a families house down is ok?? They could have little kids inside. That was a real scummy move and whoever did it should face the full force of the law. You mightn't like travelers but they are human and some of them are actually all right.

the house was vacant, they hadn't moved in yet.

the only time travellers have ever had the house set on fire with them inside is that time in carrickmines the dad left the chip pan on when he fell asleep high on benzos and full of drink.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,078 ✭✭✭IAMAMORON

It is the corruption in the council that wrecks my head the most.

Somebody somewhere got a backhander to sign for € 430,000. That is a lot of money for a gaff all things considered.

I hope the CnAG investigates Galway Co council over this.

I have no issue with travellers wanting to settle, but Co Council backhanders are where it seems to be at. They forked out a million for the family in Dunsink. Do they pay them in cash or bank draft? Somebody somewhere is getting a backhander there too.

It's probably impossible nowadays due to various rights and PC agendas, but if the Council's Traveller Housing Officer was able to meet with locals and try to reassure them that the family earmarked for that particular home were a law abiding and "respectable" (please excuse the judgmental term) traveller family, then these kinds of incidents mightn't happen

That is grand but the thing is none the locals will believe them. They will see it as the council coming out to convince them that they are a nice family so that they can off-load them there without opposition. It'll be seen as them trying to sell the travellers to the area and they harder they try to convince, the more people will be suspicious that they might not be so nice.

IAMAMORON wrote: »
    It is the corruption in the council that wrecks my head the most.

Somebody somewhere got a backhander to sign for € 430,000. That is a lot of money for a gaff all things considered.

I hope the CnAG investigates Galway Co council over this.

I have no issue with travellers wanting to settle, but Co Council backhanders are where it seems to be at. They forked out a million for the family in Dunsink. Do they pay them in cash or bank draft? Somebody somewhere is getting a backhander there too.

The council paid €430k to someone to buy the house. Why would they need to pay a backhander when they are paying out that money to someone to buy a house?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,787 ✭✭✭Feisar

Zookey123 wrote: »

This isn't directed at yerself per se however you've provided an example of how we are so intrinsically set against travellers. Imagine we were talking about another minority, a comment like that wouldn't be allowed to stand. However like yourself I've never had a good traveller experience in fact any normal ones get marked as good almost like bonus points because they're a traveller.

First they came for the socialists...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 873 ✭✭✭StackSteevens

the only time travellers have ever had the house set on fire with them inside is that time in carrickmines the dad left the chip pan on when he fell asleep high on benzos and full of drink.

But ultimately didn't that turn out to be all our fault?

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/crime-and-law/carrickmines-fire-family-takes-legal-action-over-fatal-blaze-1.3470303

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,292 ✭✭✭✭Mrs OBumble

Well said. I belive that the issue here is that no-one knows whether the family that was going to get the house in Galway (or in other locations where similar fires have occurred) was a completely inoffensive one - like the travelling family in your estate - or was one of the more anti-social, "neighbour from hell" families that some other renters and homeowners have the misfortune to live beside.

In this case, Galway CITY Council purchased a property which is (just) inside Galway COUNTY council's boundary. Its likely that the city council are proposing to put this family out in the country for a good reason.

Feisar wrote: »
    This isn't directed at yerself per se however you've provided an example of how we are so intrinsically set against travellers. Imagine we were talking about another minority, a comment like that wouldn't be allowed to stand. However like yourself I've never had a good traveller experience in fact any normal ones get marked as good almost like bonus points because they're a traveller.
    I agree i should have worded that better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,292 ✭✭✭✭Mrs OBumble

Feisar wrote: »
    However like yourself I've never had a good traveller experience in fact any normal ones get marked as good almost like bonus points because they're a traveller.

I've had some good experiences - but many people didn't even realise that the family involved are Travellers.

You may well have had similar.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,078 ✭✭✭IAMAMORON

The council paid €430k to someone to buy the house. Why would they need to pay a backhander when they are paying out that money to someone to buy a house?

Maybe the house was only worth € 350k ?

Go figure.