Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Christmas 2020 purchases

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,749 ✭✭✭✭wes

Got all my brothers gifts bought and arriving soon. So I have begun in earnest!

I want to get the Christmas gifts done early this year, if possible. I tend to fail in that regard, but always worth trying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,253 ✭✭✭jellybear

Just bought the retro phone and pull along dog from Fisher Price for my little boy...that's his presents 100% finished :D

Need to get a token gift for my siblings other halves...they can be tricky to buy for. I'm hoping Rituals do free delivery before Christmas as I could pick up one pressie there :)

Just got an email from Next. They have matching family pjs for anyone looking :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,137 ✭✭✭SarahLil

Bought myself some runners from Nike with the discount very good price and a pair of Asics plus a dress from H&M
    Asics arrived they are lovely and comfy :)

No other gifts on the way just yet, didn't get around to doing an Amazon order that I need just yet, I haven't an account and haven't the first clue about Amazon but my OH says I can use his, I'm not getting any presents for him from there so its cool

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,219 ✭✭✭Sunrise_Sunset

It's Amazon prime day today and tomorrow for anyone looking to buy gifts from there. You might get a bargain, or two.

I am wary of signing up for a trial of Amazon Prime, I heard before its a nightmare to get away from?? I totally have not got a clue of Amazon :D

SarahLil wrote: »
    I am wary of signing up for a trial of Amazon Prime, I heard before its a nightmare to get away from?? I totally have not got a clue of Amazon :D

I signed up before for a free trial and I cancelled it before they were due to start charging me.
    My husband has signed up this time for a free trial. Will definitely be cancelling it afterwards though.

I signed up before for a free trial and I cancelled it before they were due to start charging me.
    My husband has signed up this time for a free trial. Will definitely be cancelling it afterwards though.

Cool thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,065 ✭✭✭otnomart

jellybear wrote: »
    Just bought the retro phone and pull along dog from Fisher Price for my little boy...that's his presents 100% finished :D
    Oh, thought you would like the Orange advert with the phone in it, then !

www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=114772971&postcount=13

Kdylass wrote: »
    I bought a Christmas tree from Littlewoods. I had to check it out to make sure it was ok - in case it needed to be returned. So I had to make it up...its lovely. It took me ages to fluff it out and I couldn't bear to take it down and put back in the box, so I've put it into the spare room waiting to be decorated...every time I walk into the spare room and see it, it cheers me up...

Which one did you get? We desperately need a new one and I can't really go anywhere to see them in person anyway, which I'd prefer. I did try woodies but the ones I liked were expensive. The one I had my eye on on their website looked dreadful in reality.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 115 ✭✭Kdylass

Which one did you get? We desperately need a new one and I can't really go anywhere to see them in person anyway, which I'd prefer. I did try woodies but the ones I liked were expensive. The one I had my eye on on their website looked dreadful in reality.

Green Regal Fir Christmas Tree (7ft) - €129.99 - Item code is LKXQD43...it looks really well - a nice full tree

otnomart wrote: »
    Oh, thought you would like the Orange advert with the phone in it, then !

www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=114772971&postcount=13

Oh I love it...I've never seen it before! Hopefully he gets that much fun out of it!!:D

Green Regal Fir Christmas Tree (7ft) - €129.99 - Item code is LKXQD43...it looks really well - a nice full tree

Thanks for the recommendation. That's the size I need as well. And it's in my price range :) I might bite the bullet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,765 ✭✭✭Curlysue76

Not really a poster here, just lurking for ideas mostly but I have to say it’s such a positive thread and gives me good feels, everyone seems so nice and friendly compared to some other threads. Much needed these days so keep up the good work x

Curlysue76 wrote: »
    Not really a poster here, just lurking for ideas mostly but I have to say it’s such a positive thread and gives me good feels, everyone seems so nice and friendly compared to some other threads. Much needed these days so keep up the good work x

The whole Christmas forum is great and has really been cheering me up too. I only discovered it recently myself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,297 ✭✭✭kitten_k

Welcome, hopefully you’ll stick around

kitten_k wrote: »
    Welcome, hopefully you’ll stick around

I love Christmas, in December, usually don't like looking at Christmas stuff in shops too early but this year has changed everything. I'm at home again since last Wed, no idea when I'll get back to work, so I've decided to just embrace Christmas early. My daughter usually starts asking to put up tree mid November but I hold off until Dec but if she asked to put it up start of November this year I'd probably just say feck it, go for it. :);)

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 12,523 Mod ✭✭✭✭byhookorbycrook

I love Christmas, in December, usually don't like looking at Christmas stuff in shops too early but this year has changed everything. I'm at home again since last Wed, no idea when I'll get back to work, so I've decided to just embrace Christmas early. ;)
    I found that, by shopping earlier- and most importantly sticking to the budget , resisting the temptation to add bits later, you can buy things people might actually like and, crucially, have some money in January!

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 12,523 Mod ✭✭✭✭byhookorbycrook

I have two huge square baskets that my late mother had made years ago. They live on top of a wardrobe and any and all purchases during the year go into them, and I keep a list in my wallet as to who has been sorted pressie wise . I got 4 of different designs of the scarves here for one group of people and 2 hats/gloves as "emergency presents" for that person that arrives with a present I hadn't shopped for. The emergency ones become birthday gifts if not used at Christmas. And if push comes to shove, they can become part of the following year's haul!

https://www.kilkennyshop.com/powder-scandi-fox-hare-scarf
    https://www.kilkennyshop.com/fraas-rose-pink-cashmink-scarf
    https://www.kilkennyshop.com/powder-cottage-garden-print-scarf
    https://www.kilkennyshop.com/fraas-aqua-fish-print-scarf
    "Fraas" is apparently a " good brand."

https://www.kilkennyshop.com/powder-henrietta-faux-suede-charcoal-gloves
    https://www.kilkennyshop.com/powder-henrietta-faux-suede-denim-gloves

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,645 ✭✭✭krissovo

I just received a few custom illustrations using Fiverr to commission the artists that I will use as Christmas cards and gifts. For less than €100 I got a custom Christmas card that is a beautiful drawing of our family in a snowy scene in Patrick street in cork, it also came as a stunning portrait size that we can hang at home. For my kids I commissioned a man to turn them into lego characters, for my son he has a lego GAA strip on and my daughter looks like a Hary potter lego girl. The likeness is amazing, these were €8 each.

For my wife there is a specialist artist who does amazing pin up girl art like from the 40's, its classy with a flattering sexiness' about it. The work he did was great with a great likeness of my wife, I will will get this framed and give it to her as a present.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 27,852 Mod ✭✭✭✭Posy

I wouldn't really trust the recommendation of somebody online. I'd suggest buying the tree, but putting it up the day you buy it, just to be on the safe side.

>_>

<_<

Posy wrote: »
    I wouldn't really trust the recommendation of somebody online. I'd suggest buying the tree, but putting it up the day you buy it, just to be on the safe side.

>_>

<_<

I know what you mean. The reviews on their website are also pretty good. I just don't think I'll get to shop in person this year. The closest B&Q or HomeStore is about 30km away and into the next county.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22 Jc3112

I made my first Christmas purchase yesterday!! I got an alphabet jigsaw of Ireland for my welsh nephews. Delighted with myself

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,890 ✭✭✭Jude13

My Bunny rabbit garden ornament arrived today. You have no idea how excited this will make the wee one Christmas morning. Anything Peter Rabbit like.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 14,262 Mod ✭✭✭✭pc7

Giant Lindt Lindor balls are £10 on Amazon Prime, cheapest I've seen them even with the exchange rate https://www.amazon.co.uk/Lindt-Lindor-Maxi-Ball-550/dp/B006IUY480/ref=sr_1_1?dchild=1&keywords=lindt+lindor+giant+ball&qid=1602661030&sr=8-1

Just bought the No7 Advent Calendar for my sister from my husband. He buys it for her every year...nice little tradition :)

The little traditional gift arrived for my parents a few minutes ago, and I love it so much that I'm going to get one for myself :o

Sure why not, Eskie. :D

Was in Dunnes last night - they had gift sets for sale at half price

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 14,262 Mod ✭✭✭✭pc7

Has anyone seen rolls of wrapping paper yet? Dealz just have xmas bags at the minute, wonder is there a delay with stuff? Penneys just have rolls of brown paper at the till. (or is this some green movement to stop us wasting paper? - I'll still be wrapping them)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,413 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

pc7 wrote: »
    Has anyone seen rolls of wrapping paper yet? Dealz just have xmas bags at the minute, wonder is there a delay with stuff? Penneys just have rolls of brown paper at the till. (or is this some green movement to stop us wasting paper? - I'll still be wrapping them)

It’s slow this year but people are spotting it in places, it depends on where you are located I suppose!

Was in Dunnes last night - they had gift sets for sale at half price

Ohh what brands please?

So excited to get wrapping paper myself it is so slow !!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,865 ✭✭✭TRS30

We have a big bag with rolls of wrapping paper. We buy new ones every year and never use it all so have been steadily building a collection!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

TRS30 wrote: »
    We have a big bag with rolls of wrapping paper. We buy new ones every year and never use it all so have been steadily building a collection!

Post war we always unwrapped very carefully then smoothed the paper out and kept it to use next year. It went away with the decorations . I have always done that! Old habits.

You know, so many of us have had interesting childhoods and lives; may I start a thread on that? Please!

Graces7 wrote: »
    You know, so many of us have had interesting childhoods and lives; may I start a thread on that? Please!

Yes, please do :)

SarahLil wrote: »
    Ohh what brands please?

Nivea, Lynx and Dove from what I can remember

Cool thank you, looking for a radox muscle soak set for himself Christmas stocking

Damn whoever posted that Next info ( not really, but you know what I mean !)
    https://www.next.ie/en/g818043s25/217867#217867

https://www.next.ie/en/g818043s2/206615#206615

https://www.next.ie/en/g818053s37/947117#947117

The scented wooden decorations may not actually be gifted and the gingerbread candles in mugs are already being lined up for the Bailey’s Coffees once the candles are used.The pink heart baubles would be nice all year around .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,929 ✭✭✭kopite386

pc7 wrote: »

I saw these earlier on Amazon. They were reduced down to around £5/6 for prime day but obviously the deal was fully claimed as they are gone back up now to £15 but I say they might reduce them again for Black Friday. It was a great deal for 6 rolls, I haven't seen any anywhere else yet.

https://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B08H8VQ9FJ/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_apa_i_IbZHFb552XN7V

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 274 ✭✭Mutleyboo

Graces7 wrote: »
    Post war we always unwrapped very carefully then smoothed the paper out and kept it to use next year. It went away with the decorations . I have always done that! Old habits.

Absolutely! Would love that!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33 stephmcd

I know what you mean. The reviews on their website are also pretty good. I just don't think I'll get to shop in person this year. The closest B&Q or HomeStore is about 30km away and into the next county.

Can I just say I love a homestore and more tree. Had mine delivered last yr. It's 7ft Nebraska and lovely and full. And I shopped for weeks before deciding. I'll attach a pic below if I can work out how.

stephmcd wrote: »
    Can I just say I love a homestore and more tree. Had mine delivered last yr. It's 7ft Nebraska and lovely and full. And I shopped for weeks before deciding. I'll attach a pic below if I can work out how.
    Best I can do 😌

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 6,863 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sheep Shagger

We moved into a new house last year and has high ceiling (first world problem i know), our old 6ft tree was on a small table as looked odd on its basic stand.

Looked at Woodies for an 8 or 8.5ft version but quality wasn't great, saw one in Brown Thomas (but the price!) so waiting for home store and more to get their tree stock in. Should be cheaper than BTs!

White Company have them too but again the price!! Cheaper in GBP but they won't ship here (presumably too big). Still pricey even in sterling.

https://www.thewhitecompany.com/uk/Christmas/Christmas-Decorations/c/christmas-trees?

https://www.brownthomas.com/living/christmas/christmas-trees/

https://www.woodies.ie/christmas-gift-ideas/christmas-trees/undecorated-christmas-trees

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,650 ✭✭✭tscul32

Have finally ordered the youngest's main Christmas bits. Middle one hasn't a clue what he wants. Older one says he has a list but still hasn't handed it over. I need to know what they want, 2 of them have birthdays before Christmas too and the other is 2 weeks after Christmas so double pressies for all 3. I've told them they'll be getting nothing if they don't start thinking about it soon (only one believer left).

We moved into a new house last year and has high ceiling (first world problem i know), our old 6ft tree was on a small table as looked odd on its basic stand.

Looked at Woodies for an 8 or 8.5ft version but quality wasn't great, saw one in Brown Thomas (but the price!) so waiting for home store and more to get their tree stock in. Should be cheaper than BTs!

White Company have them too but again the price!! Cheaper in GBP but they won't ship here (presumably too big). Still pricey even in sterling.

https://www.thewhitecompany.com/uk/Christmas/Christmas-Decorations/c/christmas-trees?

https://www.brownthomas.com/living/christmas/christmas-trees/

https://www.woodies.ie/christmas-gift-ideas/christmas-trees/undecorated-christmas-trees

I paid 129 for my 7ft Nebraska and I don't regret it. They had another style tree but it wasn't near as full looking. They do it in 8ft as well but too tall for my room. I put the cluster lights on it from homestore and it looks great.

Christmas cards from Barnardos have arrived

tscul32 wrote: »
    2 of them have birthdays before Christmas too and the other is 2 weeks after Christmas so double pressies for all 3. I've told them they'll be getting nothing if they don't start thinking about it soon (only one believer left).
    I'm stressed just reading that! :p

For anyone with pets, Penneys have matching PJs for you and your fur babies :D

:D:D

Bought these today in Arnotts- hope they do last 72 days. :pac:

j9Wg3t7.png?1