Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Country singers

• 14-08-2020 10:40pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,593 ✭✭✭

What is the deal with them - there are so many of them now?

I'm not talking about the old duffers, but young ones in cringeworthy videos singing pure guff.

Was down home and the folks were watching the Irish music channel and jesus the videos would heat a small Parish on the embarrassment of watching them.

And do they have to pay royalties to sing these songs - sometimes they nick the melody and put their own lyrics on top.

Awful stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,968 ✭✭✭blindside88

I believe line dancing has taken off in a big way with the young crowd and they’re getting into the whole country scene

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,286 ✭✭✭✭Jordan 199

Lurleen Lumpkin is a great country singer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,869 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

I like country if it's done right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 76 ✭✭F5500

Jiving is huge in certain parts of the country, mostly around the border counties it seems. For the most part, Irish country music is catering to that market.

Quality isn't overly important, cheap and cheerful auld stuff and isn't it grand?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 357 ✭✭Normal One

I blame rural broadband. There was none of this when they were kept off the grid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,402 ✭✭✭Westernyelp

Country music is good. Irish 'Country and western' is horrific

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,457 ✭✭✭✭Kylta

Bless the souls of the infirmed and all those that can't escape the torture of C 'n' W music
    I will pray that the next world will introduce you to some real music

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,296 ✭✭✭✭Oscar Bravo

Not a big fan but I always liked this one from Dave Edmunds and Carlene Carter back in the day

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 47,537 CMod ✭✭✭✭Black Swan

Swannie is not into much country. Taylor Swift country-pop is so-so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,589 ✭✭✭touts

Country and Western is where people who want to be singers go when they can't sing.

Country music if done properly is great. I'd recommend checking out Luke Combs but our version of country music is an abomination

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,512 ✭✭✭KaneToad

Proper country music is brilliant. Hank Williams, Dolly Parton, Loretta Lynn, The Carter Family, Willie Nelson, Kris Kristofferson, Merle Haggard.

Irish country music is in the ha'penny place compared to the above.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,707 ✭✭✭Bobblehats

Transpires in 2020 what was once considered bland is now actually an edgy counter-culture in its own right. A defiant stetson tipped “so-long” to what’s now taken for hip

Three chords and the truth

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20 Girl from Whitesnake Video

Don't care for modern country music unless I hear something good but country music can be very good. The American heritage stuff with a little bit of English and Irish thrown in somewhere makes a great sound and focus on the story/ballad..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,219 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

i think it just has a following and a social occasion. I know people my age(30ish) who've gotten into it and the one thing I find about all of them is they are all cool and easy going people. There's no real bullying, pettiness, etc among the people I know who are into. it
    I can't stand the music to be honest.

i think it just has a following and a social occasion. I know people my age(30ish) who've gotten into it and the one thing I find about all of them is they are all cool and easy going people. There's no real bullying, pettiness, etc among the people I know who are into. it
    I can't stand the music to be honest.

Yeah, I dunno.. Good country music is great music.. I'd imagine people get into now it because it's good craic..I'd kind of consider it more authentic too than the uber-hipster-lads-dressing-like-it's-the1920's kind of thing that's prevalent now too..the likes of lankum and stuff.. It's just people from the country having a laugh..I dunno..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,213 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

Country n Irish is a fûcking abomination of a genre... there is music I don’t like, that I think is shît, but that stuff makes my ears bleed.... how or why the fûck people think... they think it’s a good idea to recreate and try and attempt to label authenticity to a genre that has been routed in a completely different life, experience, continent, about 8 hours away and 4,500 miles from this country is baffling. It sounds like shît but it’s an industry here... people falling all over some yokel from Ballygobackwards... in a cowboy hat that only has a not in his head as opposed to a note... odd..

But it's just the country folk rocking out..

Can someone give an example of modern Irish country music please because I don't know any of it?

Is it Cotton Eye Joe stuff gone wrong (which tbf could be good :pac:) or is it like boyzone pretending to be rockers?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 965 ✭✭✭shaveAbullock

Can someone give an example of modern Irish country music please because I don't know any of it?

Is it Cotton Eye Joe stuff gone wrong (which tbf could be good :pac:) or is it like boyzone pretending to be rockers?

Lots of views, very popular

^^ when I first saw that I thought maybe dixie chicks bad but it's worse than I thought :/

Female Vocalist of the Year 2019 - Keltic Country TV Irish Entertainment Awards
    Her website is full of people asking where they can buy a CD, non of this Mp3 or streaming nonsense.

Well travelled too, she's always off to somewhere exotic.

Female Vocalist of the Year 2019 - Keltic Country TV Irish Entertainment Awards
    Her website is full of people asking where they can buy a CD, non of this Mp3 or streaming nonsense.

Do you reckon that aul wan dancing in the navy dress that looks like everyones aunt is Kit or Mary?

Well travelled too, she's always off to somewhere exotic.

Did you not listen to the lyrics shave? She's dying to get the **** away from Mick and Pat, Kit and Mary and would you blame her?

Have you ever been in Tipperary?..
    When you leave, you would feel like writing a song..

Have you ever been in Tipperary?..
    When you leave, you would feel like writing a song..

No I've never been. It's a long way..

Another song written by someone trying to get as far away as possible from it..

Give us the makings of an aul country song there from your experiences cqd..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,024 ✭✭✭✭ShaneU

Lots of great new country singers around, haven't heard any from Ireland though (those two posted above are dreadful)

This only came out a few months ago

ShaneU wrote: »
    Lots of great new country singers around, haven't heard any from Ireland though (those two posted above are dreadful)

It's art, it's subjective.

Clearly Olivia Douglas has a large following, far more popular than what you posted.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,995 ✭✭✭Ipso

Three chords and the truth

The same chords

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,814 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

It's art, it's subjective.

Clearly Olivia Douglas has a large following, far more popular than what you posted.

This isn't art, it's shyte. And people tend to love this shyte as it's inoffensive and easily digested. It's even displaced proper Irish traditional music and song so that rural Ireland is now one big Cuntry n Irish music monoculture. Nothing so ridiculous as the pretend cowboy and cowgirl acts out there.

McDonald's has a big following, doesn't mean the food is very good, just designed to appeal to the lowest common denominator. There's no accounting for taste.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,814 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

They're called "The Chicks" these days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

If this is wrong, I dont wanna be right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,461 ✭✭✭Bob Harris

KaneToad wrote: »
    Proper country music is brilliant. Hank Williams, Dolly Parton, Loretta Lynn, The Carter Family, Willie Nelson, Kris Kristofferson, Merle Haggard.

Irish country music is in the ha'penny place compared to the above.

Heard some Linda Ronstad recently - some great stuff too.

The US know how to do country music, they gave us The Carter Family, we're cursed here with Nathan Carter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,431 ✭✭✭Sky King

Q: what happens when you play a country song backwards?

A: your wife comes back and your pickup truck gets fixed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,130 ✭✭✭Surreptitious

RIP

Another great song. Video is awful though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,011 ✭✭✭LimeFruitGum

I suppose you will always get people who will kind of like what their parents like... bacon & cabbage, Mike Denver, voting Fianna Fáil, and anything different means you’ve notions.
    I grew up in a culchie and western family, where Declan Nerney, wee Daniel, Joe Dolan etc would be blaring all day, and my uncle would play & sing at the weekends. My sister ended up being mad into Garth Brooks and I got into Nirvana, Oasis, The Offspring, anything but this c&w ****e ��

Honestly, it doesn’t really matter who sings what as everyone makes a steady living doing covers anyway, and there’s a very loyal fan base.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,984 ✭✭✭✭Deja Boo

I can't embed this, but Alison Krauss has lovely vocals.

This movie and soundtrack rocks. Great Country music evocative soulful

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,208 ✭✭✭LuasSimon

Compared to rap music and other rubbish young people listen to these days give me country music any day . When I was younger it used be country and Irish music and I’d prefer the Irish part of it to be fair , my native town Drumlish , Donegal Shore etc

LuasSimon wrote: »
    Compared to rap music and other rubbish young people listen to these days give me country music any day . When I was younger it used be country and Irish music and I’d prefer the Irish part of it to be fair , my native town Drumlish , Donegal Shore etc

I got into it for a while. Spent a good lot of time in Donegal at the festivals, those were good times. Always friendly people and great craic to be had.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭JohnnyFlash

Liking country music, even the ‘proper stuff’, is a sign you are getting old.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,426 ✭✭✭Quantum Erasure

Rock me momma like a wagon wheel

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,503 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

Country music is good. Irish 'Country and western' is horrific

The worst thing about " country N Irish " is how utterly fake and contrived it is

Country music in the states was created by the Scots Irish in appalachia, nothing to do with us at all , yet they try and portray it as being intrinsically Irish like traditional ceili music

• Closed Accounts Posts: 66 ✭✭Ultima Thule

Country music is great IMO. The songs are about real life and easily related to. The lyrics are actual English sentences and have meaning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,092 ✭✭✭The Tetrarch

What do you get when you play a country song backwards?
    You get your house back, your wife back, your dog back, your truck back...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

Of all the Americanisms that have evaded our culture, our 'Country and Western' is by far the cringiest.

I don't understand how it became a thing over here either. I would associate the 'scene' over in the States as encompassing large swathes of farm land (literally multiple times bigger than Ireland) and the divide between poorer country folk and the city dwellers. Cowboy lifestyle too.

Its chalk and cheese compared to the farmer-tanned, denim and checked shirt wearing, bacon and cabbage ateing, cider drinking young lads cutting silage in Offaly.