Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cars in Northern Ireland

• 20-07-2020 12:00pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 295 ✭✭gourcuff

travelling around n.i for a week or so and was struck by the quantum of high end or more expensive car brands you see on the roads up there. we even made a game of it for a while, it was nothing but audi, bmw, mercedes, land rover, range rovers etcs.

Especially the coastal towns like portstewart, it was actually staggering to me.
    Living in dublin but from a town outside dublin, the difference definitely struck me from the areas i'm used to.

Is it being part of the UK, cheaper imports, or is the cost of running a high end car so much less up there?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,698 ✭✭✭kenmm

Ireland is sh!te for cars in general vs NI Is closer to GB setup (i.e. not the same insurance and MOT systems) - but tax is generally much cheaper, cost price cheaper (larger economies of scale etc), cheaper finance / access to larger financial markets.

Looking at 2nd hand market tho - there is still more choice over the water - there are still a lot of "paddy spec" cars up north..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,795 ✭✭✭Isambard

the difference is VRT

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,360 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

The difference is tax, tax, tax and more tax.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 223 ✭✭pinktoe

Not only are the cars cheaper to buy, tax and insure, you also have to take into account how cheap houses are up there compared to us.

Restaurants, cinema, food, public transport etc is cheaper.

So having more disposal income helps alot

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 973 ✭✭✭grayzer75

gourcuff wrote: »
    travelling around n.i for a week or so and was struck by the quantum of high end or more expensive car brands you see on the roads up there. we even made a game of it for a while, it was nothing but audi, bmw, mercedes, land rover, range rovers etcs.

Especially the coastal towns like portstewart, it was actually staggering to me.
    Living in dublin but from a town outside dublin, the difference definitely struck me from the areas i'm used to.

Is it being part of the UK, cheaper imports, or is the cost of running a high end car so much less up there?

There's a lot of money around places like Portstewart, Bangor, etc.

Lower costs for tax and insurance help too e.g. I drive a 2.0TDI VW Tiguan 4Motion 150BHP - tax £120 per year and insurance was £280 fully comp this year. Also access to finance is a lot easier through dealerships in the north and don't forget there's quite a few DLA cars about too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,733 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

LIGHTNING wrote: »
    ^

But wages arent the same though. Looking at the same jobs in Dublin/Belfast there is a decent difference.

Also they don't have the same gold plated dole and pension we have down here, theirs is not far off 50% of ours.

But the DLA makes up for that on the car front.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 254 ✭✭micah537

LIGHTNING wrote: »
    ^

But wages arent the same though. Looking at the same jobs in Dublin/Belfast there is a decent difference.

Roughly what percentage did you find? I know Dublin would have the better opportunities but there seems to be savings everywhere up north.

https://www.numbeo.com/cost-of-living/compare_cities.jsp?country1=Ireland&city1=Dublin&country2=United+Kingdom&city2=Belfast
    The above shows 21% but other sites are around 30%. I think you wold have more disposable income up North.
    A Golf is 19% cheaper but I'm sure the percentage is higher for nicer cars.

Is it now part of the Ts and Cs of boards that every thread must have a "Dole people are scrounging off the state they are all scumbags" sort of post?

kenmm wrote: »
    Is it now part of the Ts and Cs of boards that every thread must have a "Dole people are scrounging off the state they are all scumbags" sort of post?

Yeah, did you not get an email on the 22nd of June about this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,310 ✭✭✭Pkiernan

Wait until there a United Ireland and all the Northerners will have to drive poxy little 1l kias!

micah537 wrote: »
    Yeah, did you not get an email on the 22nd of June about this?

Fu(k - in my spam.

Ok - ffs if we didn't have to pay all those millions of work shy, lazy benefit cheats we could reduce VRT - When can I get my new Audi?

better?

gourcuff wrote: »

Portstewart would be where wealthy people would have holiday homes. They are also much more into cars bikes and campervans up there, they seem to spend a huge proportion of their income on toys from what I have seen up there at bike races.

Also as noted vehicles are much cheaper.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,885 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

I recently saw a 2020 BMW 440i with 14 (yes, fourteen) miles on it for £32k (about €36k) on Autotrader. Now imagine what that would cost here - you'd be looking at north of €60k.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,102 ✭✭✭Roger Mellie Man on the Telly

A tale of two Sundays:

Bible-wielding, suited Presbyterian takes the new/almost new X5/Macan (inevitably sporting 'personalised' plates) to Church. Has roast beef for lunch and heads to Portstewart for a Morelli's.

Nursing a hangover, Paddy takes the '96 Almera/Fiesta to Mass. Spends the afternoon in the pub and Boylesports.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,085 ✭✭✭Charles Babbage

I think this perception might depend on where in NI you were. I noticed this while travelling in DOwn, North Down big cars, middle of the county very modest ones and the Mercs reappeared in Warrenpoint.
    Less VRT should mean bigger cars, but people cannot always afford them.

Best sellers in NI are not especially notable
    1 Volkswagen Golf
    2 Ford Focus
    3 Hyundai Tucson
    4 Ford Fiesta
    5 Volkswagen Tiguan
    6 Volkswagen Polo
    7 Nissan Juke
    8 Volkswagen t-roc
    9 Nissan qashqai
    10= Renault Kadjar

In the 26 counties the VW Tiguan outsells the Golf and the Yaris is the only smallish car in the top 10.
    Both sides of the border see some posher models coming in used from England.

10= Seat Arona

off topic but if you lived in NI and imported a car from the UK, do you put it on NI plates?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,593 ✭✭✭Northern Monkey

off topic but if you lived in NI and imported a car from the UK, do you put it on NI plates?

You have a choice. You can keep the UK plates or request a NI plate. It used to be much simpler and you would be offered the switch at the point of taxing the car in your name but now you have to write a letter to request it and return the tax book to Swansea.

A tale of two Sundays:

Bible-wielding, suited Presbyterian takes the new/almost new X5/Macan (inevitably sporting 'personalised' plates) to Church. Has roast beef for lunch and heads to Portstewart for a Morelli's.

Nursing a hangover, Paddy takes the '96 Almera/Fiesta to Mass. Spends the afternoon in the pub and Boylesports.

Paddy will have the fake Traynors RS4 TDI where the body kit doesn’t match the rest of the paint.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,718 ✭✭✭whippet

The grass is always greener and all that.

My inlaws are from NI and I spend quite a bit of time up there and live about 30mins from the boarder.

While there is some lovely metal about up there .. it’s no different to in the south. All depends on where you are ... and there are some absolute bangers on the road up there also.

Wages down south are much better than NI.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 555 ✭✭✭Philb76

I would be up the north often enough BMW are very popular when you think about it you can get a nearly new Audi a4 or 3 series for wot you would pay for a Nissan qashqai down here

A lot of people getting company cars will have access to better fleet options as well.

No, not usually. In the past people did this, sometimes through losing the logbook and the like, but as simple observation will show this does not happen now.
    The NI vehicle registry was closed and moved to Swansea, so there is no administrative difference and nobody bothers much changing plates.

I didn't realised they moved that?

I wish they would use Swanseas system for tax and MOT - UK(GB) MOT History check is handy when browsing the ol' classifieds

I didn't realised they moved that?

6 years ago now https://www.bbc.com/news/uk-northern-ireland-28336940
    Coleraine wasn't properly computerised, to "save jobs", and rather than upgrade it they just closed it. This is not a devolved function, apparently.

I wish they would use Swanseas system for tax and MOT - UK(GB) MOT History check is handy when browsing the ol' classifieds

The MOT remains different, with proper test centres.

Another point on the reg numbers is that people may have personalised numbers, so someone will have a BMW and will use their personalised reg W1 LLY or whatever which disguises the age.

ye - but you could always easily transfer reg numbers between GB and NI. Feck - you can even transfer the old Irish ones to UK but they tend to cost a fortune!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,216 ✭✭✭reubenreuben

tax/vrt,

high tax on old cars pre 2008. You can run an old jag v8 in the north for hardly anything if you can afford the fuel.

Its the worst thing about living in the republic that pre 2008 tax.

A lot of the young drivers in the north take great pride in their cars always seem to be spotless

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 331 ✭✭chalky_ie

More Protestants.

There's a serious amount of cars on the road in the north via the mobility scheme. It's a leasing scheme where the DLA gives an allowance and you can get a car with within that allowance or top it up for an upgraded car - the insurance, tax and all maintenance (including tyres) is included. I'm sure there's plenty genuine cases getting the allowance but there's a hell of a lot of people working the system too.

grayzer75 wrote: »
    There's a serious amount of cars on the road in the north via the mobility scheme. It's a leasing scheme where the DLA gives an allowance and you can get a car with within that allowance or top it up for an upgraded car - the insurance, tax and all maintenance (including tyres) is included. I'm sure there's plenty genuine cases getting the allowance but there's a hell of a lot of people working the system too.

Can you back that statement up, or is it a generalisation or impression (I would be genuinely interested).

From my understanding, its not quite so easy to work the system (I am sure there is fraud, no system can be free of it). How much is a "Serious amount" in the first place? 1%, 10%? 50%?

Can you back that statement up, or is it a generalisation or impression (I would be genuinely interested).

From my understanding, its not quite so easy to work the system (I am sure there is fraud, no system can be free of it). How much is a "Serious amount" in the first place? 1%, 10%? 50%?

I'll put it to you this way, I played 5-a-side in Newry and 2 of the lads were driving DLA cars all claimed for 'back' problems which only seemed to appear whenever they were being periodically assessed. I know lads working on sites in Dublin who drive their DLA cars at the weekend.

Over 10% of the population of the north are claiming DLA which is twice as many as the UK average:
    https://www.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/news/northern-ireland/210000-people-claiming-dla-in-northern-ireland-34483824.html

I'll put it to you this way, I played 5-a-side in Newry and 2 of the lads were driving DLA cars all claimed for 'back' problems which only seemed to appear whenever they were being periodically assessed. I know lads working on sites in Dublin who drive their DLA cars at the weekend.

Over 10% of the population of the north are claiming DLA which is twice as many as the UK average:
    https://www.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/news/northern-ireland/210000-people-claiming-dla-in-northern-ireland-34483824.html

Christ thats pretty bad.
    On the flip side I know someone who struggled to walk and couldn't get one! Plus the Torys in GB regions have been really militant (using companies with targets to do the assessments - another sort of scam..).

Maybe regional differences then?

Christ thats pretty bad.
    On the flip side I know someone who struggled to walk and couldn't get one! Plus the Torys in GB regions have been really militant (using companies with targets to do the assessments - another sort of scam..).

I heard they weren't very successful in their crackdown in the north as it's still carried out by civil servants rather than private companies.

It'll be one of the big issues to be resolved before any unity referendum (along with the free doctors, prescriptions, etc.)

I wouldn't necessarily call the private company approach 'successful' either.. but that's a topic for another thread..

RE Card in NI - ye - lots of reason then..!

He’s dead right. It’s a running joke up there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,661 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

We talk about it all the time. 15 minutes from Dundalk and 25% smaller population, there's some serious cars in Newry by comparison. I was only there last week, Bentleys, M3s, M4s, C63s, M135is, 750s, XKs, Range Rovers, its crazy. They're seriously into their hatches too and the spec on many cars is just so much higher than down here with the more normal brands, Ford, Vauxhall, Honda, etc.

But as mentioned above, many people claiming disability, lots of folks up to their eyeballs in payments and many people would live week to week up the north and still fork out for "necessary" car payments due to the greater car culture up north.

Plus cheaper list price, lower running costs, better finance deals and overall better deals from the dealers with heavily discounted prices for many of the German brands for example.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Are houses much cheaper up there? Are council houses more plentiful?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,674 ✭✭✭Faith+1

I was in Banbridge last week and as previous posters said the amount of top spec cars I seen was unreal. The cars we drive down south are so bland and generic in comparision.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,650 ✭✭✭✭road_high

Christ thats pretty bad.

Lot of stuff is viewed as politically sensitive in the North so basically to avoid trouble the English just let them at it.
    There’s a lot of buying off welfare and taxation wise to keep the peace.
    A big impediment to reunification that seems to be ignored completely- NI is a welfare state from top heavy with civil service jobs to straight welfare dependency.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,099 ✭✭✭tabby aspreme

Personal leasing is also a thing in NI, similar to the UK, you can drive a 220 e class for €400/month with 2500 deposit .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,130 ✭✭✭Rodin

Much more 0% APR too and VAT rate is less

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 223 ✭✭pinktoe

colm_mcm wrote: »

Belfast is cheaper than Cork or Galway to buy (easily 50 to 80k for average places) and a lot cheaper to rent. Lots of places 2 and 3 beds for 6-800 pounds.
    Derry is even cheaper.

Yeah, pretty sure that argument doesn't work in this thread. Nice try though.

The DLA is a good one. Also the insurance game is completely different, along with finance access. When I was trying to get on the road my mother was banging on about teenagers over the border telling her the deals they were getting. 60 quid a week for a brand new Polo including insurance for a newly qualified driver. Galling tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

pinktoe wrote: »
    Belfast is cheaper than Cork or Galway to buy (easily 50 to 80k for average places) and a lot cheaper to rent. Lots of places 2 and 3 beds for 6-800 pounds.
    Derry is even cheaper.

Could be a factor so, if you had a reasonable job you might have a bit more disposable income than in Dublin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,876 ✭✭✭The J Stands for Jay

There's a lot of money around places like Portstewart, Bangor, etc.

Lower costs for tax and insurance help too e.g. I drive a 2.0TDI VW Tiguan 4Motion 150BHP - tax £120 per year and insurance was £280 fully comp this year. Also access to finance is a lot easier through dealerships in the north and don't forget there's quite a few DLA cars about too.

Known as Derry Living Allowance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,876 ✭✭✭The J Stands for Jay

Yeah, pretty sure that argument doesn't work in this thread. Nice try though.

The DLA is a good one. Also the insurance game is completely different, along with finance access. When I was trying to get on the road my mother was banging on about teenagers over the border telling her the deals they were getting. 60 quid a week for a brand new Polo including insurance for a newly qualified driver. Galling tbh.

I remember the deals you'd see advertised in the late 90s, cars with free tax and insurance and young, newly qualified drivers snapping them up.

colm_mcm wrote: »

Yes, when we were purchasing in 2003 we paid £78k for a 3 bed semi - a comparable house just the other side of the border was more than double that.

Rents are about 50% cheaper also which is why there's quite a few people have went the extra few miles across the border to Newry to rent as they were priced out of the market in the south.

They also get the benefit of cheaper cars, tax, insurance, etc.

McGaggs wrote: »
    I remember the deals you'd see advertised in the late 90s, cars with free tax and insurance and young, newly qualified drivers snapping them up.

That scheme destroyed a few Saxos as young drivers on free insurance wrapped them round trees etc..

I remember one time renting a car and they just finished running a "Zero Excess" promotion fort 2 weeks..

Never again they said as people stopped giving a fu(k altogether :D