Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

DA for a 16 year old

• 19-07-2020 4:23pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 140 ✭✭

Just wondering has anyone applied for this for an adolescent. A social worker has suggested I apply for this for my 16 year old son. He left school in December thinking he would get work however he’s been suffering mentally for a while now to the extreme that his behavior means he cannot live with his family he is staying with an uncle. He has been suicidal, paranoid and going into awful rages. He is getting an appointment organised with CAMHS social worker believes he is on the autistic spectrum. Would this get him DA I’m thinking short term until he gets all his appointments and the help he needs to become a little more stable with the view to him perhaps doing an apprenticeship. Has anyone any advice with regards to applying is the wait long for a reply at the minute. Thanks in advance

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,420 ✭✭✭splinter65

loca1 wrote: »
    Just wondering has anyone applied for this for an adolescent. A social worker has suggested I apply for this for my 16 year old son. He left school in December thinking he would get work however he’s been suffering mentally for a while now to the extreme that his behavior means he cannot live with his family he is staying with an uncle. He has been suicidal, paranoid and going into awful rages. He is getting an appointment organised with CAMHS social worker believes he is on the autistic spectrum. Would this get him DA I’m thinking short term until he gets all his appointments and the help he needs to become a little more stable with the view to him perhaps doing an apprenticeship. Has anyone any advice with regards to applying is the wait long for a reply at the minute. Thanks in advance

The thing about DA is that it isn’t a payment that you get because you have a diagnosis of something.
    It’s a payment you get when you’ve proved to SW that your not available for any kind of work because your health is so bad. So when he makes his application he’ll need to have medical evidence to back that up plus a letter from himself or from ye describing how his current health is so poor that he wouldn’t be able for work.
    Lots of 16 year olds apply successfully. Best of luck

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,432 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

He probably will need an official diagnosis to be accepted for da, unfortunately asd diagnosis is a bit of a nightmare in Ireland, you're probably better of going private, which could cost you in excess of grand or so. It does sound like he could be asd, am myself, but assessment is the only way to be sure.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,816 ✭✭✭skooterblue2

Wanderer78 wrote: »
    He probably will need an official diagnosis to be accepted for da, unfortunately asd diagnosis is a bit of a nightmare in Ireland, you're probably better of going private, which could cost you in excess of grand or so. It does sound like he could be asd, am myself, but assessment is the only way to be sure.

Get you own private diagnosis from someone recommended by Aspire. In my considerable experience, the DoE/HSE havent got anyone suitable or its not in the interest of HSE/DoE to get your son a diagnosis. Seamas Feehan (Reg Psy) in Cork or Professor Tom Fitzgerald in Dublin are good starts. Speed is an issue. A late diagnosis (18+) means there is a lot more behaviour to correct. They will still face the same struggles but at least you know why stuff is happening and to prepare for it. Also having a good psychologist and a report means the less crap Dept of Social Protection/HSE will give you. If you go with a cheaper psychologist or Occupational Therapist, the HSE/DSP will take their time and may require more tests or question the report.

On your psychologists report you will get a recommendation of "vocational training". This is not a clearly explained term. It means that time in a vocational institution (Rehab or National Learning Network) may be beneficial. If your lad is suicidal and prone to temper tantrums nobody will take him on as an apprentice. Things go wrong on site, things break, stuff leaks, you need a cool head for that and not to panic.

You also need a good Social Welfare officer. I had a great one down in Waterford. He saw me, read my report and grabbed my file. IF I was late with paper work, he gave me extra time and told me if it wasnt done in a month, he would help me chase paper work. I was really lucky and He helped me loads.

Get you own private diagnosis from someone recommended by Aspire. In my considerable experience, the DoE/HSE havent got anyone suitable or its not in the interest of HSE/DoE to get your son a diagnosis. Seamas Feehan (Reg Psy) in Cork or Professor Tom Fitzgerald in Dublin are good starts. Speed is an issue. A late diagnosis (18+) means there is a lot more behaviour to correct. They will still face the same struggles but at least you know why stuff is happening and to prepare for it. Also having a good psychologist and a report means the less crap Dept of Social Protection/HSE will give you. If you go with a cheaper psychologist or Occupational Therapist, the HSE/DSP will take their time and may require more tests or question the report.

By the looks of things, the HSE has very little knowledge of asd, which is kinna disturbing, private assessment seems to be the only way, but unfortunately it's really bad out there, there's people that have been struck off that are still giving assessments. Is it Michael Fitzgerald you mean? Was assessed by him myself, wouldn't recommend him at all, many unhappy with his service of late, think he's also retired now

That is also sad and true about the HSE, not a clue (The important thing is we saved the money). Sorry Professor Michael Fitzgerald, Francis Fitzgeralds husband. I was assessed by Seamas Feehan, and absolute gent and kind man despite me being a prick on the day (not one of those days that I shined brightest). I would take Michael Fitzgerald over any of idiots employed by the HSE.

You are fooling yourself hoping that the HSE will solve your problems. If you dont get your own private assessment you are going to end up in mental health services and that is NOT where you will be treated. Its so much cheaper to medicate everyone and see them again in three months. If you get stuck in Mental health services that is where you are going to stay! It is very difficult to escape. Once you are on antidepressant they are near impossible to get off.

That is also sad and true about the HSE, not a clue (The important thing is we saved the money). Sorry Professor Michael Fitzgerald, Francis Fitzgeralds husband. I was assessed by Seamas Feehan, and absolute gent and kind man despite me being a prick on the day (not one of those days that I shined brightest). I would take Michael Fitzgerald over any of idiots employed by the HSE.

Fitzgerald is generally not advised these days, but I'm fairly sure he's retired now, I do know of a really good place in kilkenny though, isn't cheap, but I won't drag the the thread all over the place, may not help the op

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 140 ✭✭loca1

Thanks everyone for the replies ah it sounds like it might be a bit of a nightmare to get him assessed now at this late age but he is having really bad meltdowns and that is true I’m not sure how he would react on a site if things were not going his way. He took a knife to us last week hence why he is not allowed near my other children at present. It’s a constant worry and up to now he would not get involved with any services now he has no choice if he doesn’t comply he will be taken into care. I will get my GP to fill out the disability form for him it may not work but honestly he is not fit for education or work at present.

Best of luck OP. FWIW, re mental illness: diagnoses such as Generalized Anxiety Disorder, depression, social phobia,(paranoid)schizophrenia and the like are most probably easier to get. A GP should be able to give these quite easy and to recommend a psychiatric evaluation. Autism and the like is probably harder to diagnose. Going by what you mentioned I think you have a strong case.

FOR PAYMENT PURPOSES you should go for the easier option imo.

I do know of a really good place in kilkenny though, isn't cheap, but I won't drag the the thread all over the place, may not help the op

Cheap isnt good, good isnt cheap.
    One of these good psychologists are "cheap" compared to waiting for the HSE to pull their finger out of their ass.
    Check out the recommended list over at ASPIRE. My poor GP couldnt spell "Aspergers" with a psychologists report in front of her. It amazes me how someone with 550 points got to be a GP.

loca1 wrote:
    Thanks everyone for the replies ah it sounds like it might be a bit of a nightmare to get him assessed now at this late age but he is having really bad meltdowns and that is true I’m not sure how he would react on a site if things were not going his way. He took a knife to us last week hence why he is not allowed near my other children at present. It’s a constant worry and up to now he would not get involved with any services now he has no choice if he doesn’t comply he will be taken into care. I will get my GP to fill out the disability form for him it may not work but honestly he is not fit for education or work at present.

I'm really sorry to hear that, it's extremely upsetting for everyone involved, including him. He's not late diagnosed at all, he's kinna early in some ways, I was only diagnosed a couple of years ago and I'm in my 40's, it's been probably the best things that's ever happened me, I'm now getting the appropriate help. I get help from an asd group who's main objective is to get you into a job that suits you, they are extremely well experienced in dealing with adults with asd, and everything that goes with it. You do need an official diagnosis though in order to gain access to the service, it's also free, so I'd be trying to get him assessed asap, some places to accept installments. As I said I can recommend a place in kilkenny, but this may not suit you as it could be too far for you.

Cheap isnt good, good isnt cheap. One of these good psychologists are "cheap" compared to waiting for the HSE to pull their finger out of their ass. Check out the recommended list over at ASPIRE. My poor GP couldnt spell "Aspergers" with a psychologists report in front of her. It amazes me how someone with 550 points got to be a GP.

Doc could be dyslexic, think my own is asd. Hse just haven't been trained sufficiently in asd, you can probably thank things such as austerity for that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,093 ✭✭✭Rubberchikken

In applying for Da it may help for you to write about what your son is going through.
    If he's able to do so also, well and good, but explaining plainly and simply how difficult things are for him may help in their decision.

Good luck.

I'm really sorry to hear that, it's extremely upsetting for everyone involved, including him. He's not late diagnosed at all, he's kinna early in some ways, I was only diagnosed a couple of years ago and I'm in my 40's, it's been probably the best things that's ever happened me, I'm now getting the appropriate help. I get help from an asd group who's main objective is to get you into a job that suits you, they are extremely well experienced in dealing with adults with asd, and everything that goes with it. You do need an official diagnosis though in order to gain access to the service, it's also free, so I'd be trying to get him assessed asap, some places to accept installments. As I said I can recommend a place in kilkenny, but this may not suit you as it could be too far for you.

Thanks so much I’m so glad the diagnosis has been positive for you the group sounds great. Unfortunately we are in donegal and getting him to sit in a car any longer than an hour is a great task he has tried to jump out of the car on me numerous times so we might have to source help closer.

Doc could be dyslexic, think my own is asd. Hse just haven't been trained sufficiently in asd, you can probably thank things such as austerity for that

She wasnt dyslexic. She had the report in front of her and she was caught with her pants down around her ankles. She had the report and she didnt read it. she had a night to read it, she didnt. Then she proceeded to write a prescription for antidepressants. I think Seamas Feehan had a "kind" word with her for "rubbishing" his report. The next day she was very compliant but still spelt Aspergers wrong.

I take a different approach to GP's now when I meet them and I tell them their business and how we will proceed. I just need them to sign stuff now and again. Once we establish what they dont know about autism, we agree I know more. One GP actually read the report and was almost in tears on how I got treated.

Austerity is no excuse for not keeping up for developments in your own profession.

Unfortunately we are in donegal and getting him to sit in a car any longer than an hour is a great task he has tried to jump out of the car on me numerous times so we might have to source help closer.

Check with the Northern Ireland network. There is supposed to be a good Doctor in Derry city that specialises in it.

Get the DA anyway you can OP.

Once your child is on that payment more doors should open to help him avail of the services he needs.

loca1 wrote:
    Thanks so much I’m so glad the diagnosis has been positive for you the group sounds great. Unfortunately we are in donegal and getting him to sit in a car any longer than an hour is a great task he has tried to jump out of the car on me numerous times so we might have to source help closer.

I'm really sorry to hear this, it must be extremely upsetting for you as a family, he's clearly very distressed right now, but everyone's safety is critical now, including his, you re doing a great job under the circumstances. Discuss things with your gp, they might be able to give you recommendations on what to do, and potentially where to go, if he's experiencing suicidal ideation, he may need further assistance from the HSE. just be honest with your gp, they can be extremely helpful in such situations, and please be kind to yourself, there's nothing wrong with your parenting abilities. mental health issues are terrifying, it's extremely upsetting to watch a loved one struggle with them, there's an overwhelming feeling of helplessness

Thank you so much I’m hoping the GP will be kind to him. I myself have mental health problem on antipsychotics and had numerous admissions to the psych unit and my sons dad passed by suicide 10 years ago they were with me when I found him so there’s a hell of a lot going on for my son. Pieta house have been fantastic 2 years ago but I feel I need more support for him. He’s a good person just in a terrible rut. It may be the case that I will take him private to Northern Ireland for assessment. There is nowhere really to go with him when he’s suicidal only a&e but there’s no unit for under 18s it is so frustrating

Once your child is on that payment more doors should open to help him avail of the services he needs.

Autism Moms have to be lioness because the system will fob you off. Go kick down doors, threaten people, set cars alight in the car park, put horses heads in peoples beds. The rule book is thrown out. Show them you mean business. I suggest you drop into REHAB or National Learning Network(these people are more reasonable and understanding, although funded by HSE still not HSE). You need to schedule with the Manager and the Psychologist/Psychotherapist. Not going to lie to you. The first few days at NLN are tough and hard to adjust to.

Thank you I am hoping he will get the payment and get some support services then too for training in an environment that would be less stressful for him

Autism Moms have to be lioness because the system will fob you off. Go kick down doors, threaten people, set cars alight in the car park, put horses heads in peoples beds. The rule book is thrown out. Show them you mean business. I suggest you drop into REHAB or National Learning Network(these people are more reasonable and understanding, although funded by HSE still not HSE). You need to schedule with the Manager and the Psychologist/Psychotherapist. Not going to lie to you. The first few days at NLN are tough and hard to adjust to.

We have the national learning network nearby so this could be a possible route to explore for sure. I will try anything in order for my son to progress with his life a bit because at the minute he is so vulnerable

Check with the Northern Ireland network. There is supposed to be a good Doctor in Derry city that specialises in it.

Derry is close to us so I will definitely explore that too

I have been working with Dr Aoife Farrell in Maynooth University. She is heading off to do her Registered Psychologist doctorate. She is a rising star. I just hope she doesnt end up in the HSE.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 383 ✭✭Bicyclette

Irish Autism Mammys is a Facebook Page for Mums of children and adults on the Spectrum. There are lots of helpful people there who can guide you and who have been through what you are going through.

As the parent of one diagnosed adult with ASD and one undiagnosed but definitely having lots of characteristics, I personally think that it is never too late to get a diagnosis if it is needed. CAMHS are a good place to start. But going privately will help. Remember if the person paying is working you can get 20% tax relief on the private fee, as part of your Medical Expenses Claim.

Best of luck

Bicyclette wrote: »
    Irish Autism Mammys is a Facebook Page for Mums of children and adults on the Spectrum. There are lots of helpful people there who can guide you and who have been through what you are going through.

As the parent of one diagnosed adult with ASD and one undiagnosed but definitely having lots of characteristics, I personally think that it is never too late to get a diagnosis if it is needed. CAMHS are a good place to start. But going privately will help. Remember if the person paying is working you can get 20% tax relief on the private fee, as part of your Medical Expenses Claim.

Best of luck

That is really useful information I will join a Facebook group I could definitely do with support and also great to know about the tax relief on the private fee that would be a help anyway

The system is a bit of a joke.

No point banging one's head against the wall going for a Autism/dyslexia/ADHD diagnosis.
    These are, at the moment, probably up to the vagaries of differing opinions etc of Consultants. Something they
    can have 'intellectual' , 'stimulating' debates about amongst themselves. That's if you even get an appointment.
    I guess for want of a better word those are sort of 'ethereal' disabilities/illnesses.

Go with the more 'visceral' , 'concrete' umbrella of Mental Illness/Depression. What with all the examples of suicidal
    ideation, rages and paranoia; you have plenty of 'ammunition' to get a diagnosis that any psychiatrist would give, instead
    of one's that are still in a 'talking shop' phase.

Your son is not a guinea pig for some consultant to write a paper. Go with the path of least resistance. At the moment getting the
    DA payment, from your point of view is probably a greater priority than any diagnosis/correct diagnosis/all the correct diagnoses, sad as that is to say; because, once he is on that payment access to the relevant services will be far easier imo.

No point banging one's head against the wall going for a Autism/dyslexia/ADHD diagnosis.
    These are, at the moment, probably up to the vagaries of differing opinions etc of Consultants. Something they
    can have 'intellectual' , 'stimulating' debates about amongst themselves. That's if you even get an appointment.
    I guess for want of a better word those are sort of 'ethereal' disabilities/illnesses.

Go with the more 'visceral' , 'concrete' umbrella of Mental Illness/Depression. What with all the examples of suicidal
    ideation, rages and paranoia; you have plenty of 'ammunition' to get a diagnosis that any psychiatrist would give, instead

Your son is not a guinea pig for some consultant to write a paper. Go with the path of least resistance. At the moment getting the
    DA payment, from your point of view is probably a greater priority than any diagnosis/correct diagnosis/all the correct diagnoses, sad as that is to say; because, once he is on that payment access to the relevant services will be far easier imo.

Yeah it is really to just get it in writing to get the form filled out and allow him a little independence I’m not wishing for him to be on disability payment for life I was on it myself for approx 2 years when I was unable to work thankfully now i no longer need it. Hopefully the GP will be able to write enough to convince SW as we could be waiting a while on CAMHS even though social workers are looking into it to see if they can get him a quicker appointment. I am weary about him getting medication from a GP though I had a bad experience of this myself so I would rather him see the mental health team about that.

The Disability Allowance doesnt come like that. You need a psychologist diagnosis first and a good one, with a plan of action and recommendation. You will also need a space to become available in the National Learning Network. IF you dont have a proper one the HSE will fob you off with requests for additional supporting documentation and to be examined by their psychologist (muppet). It took me over a year to get my disability allowance and travel pass. That is why a private diagnosis could end up being the "cheaper" and faster option.

Once you have a diagnosis, social workers dont treat you as a statistic and dont put you under pressure to get a job and give you plenty of leeway to get documentation together. GP's still are clueless. You need to do a lot of reading. No excuse there are plenty of great books in your local library. I suggest you buy "the complete guide to Aspergers" by Tony Attwood and hilight passages as you go that are relevant. Then borrow Temple Grandin and Simon Baron Cohen books

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,982 ✭✭✭kravmaga

https://www2.hse.ie/wellbeing/mental-health/involuntary-admission-being-admitted-to-hospital-against-your-will.html

He may need to be sectioned under the Mental Health Act, he took a knife to you?? RED FLAG...............

kravmaga wrote: »
    https://www2.hse.ie/wellbeing/mental-health/involuntary-admission-being-admitted-to-hospital-against-your-will.html

He may need to be sectioned under the Mental Health Act, he took a knife to you?? RED FLAG...............

Would there be a place for him though? He's 16, so therefore could hardly be put in a Psychiatric Unit with adults.

No place or secure units for young people I was told I’m hoping through that it is false info

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 152 ✭✭Snow_White1987

He may get something but he’ll have to be assessed and means tested.

Disability Allowance (DA) is generally given to those who life situation is permanently affected by their disability and thus, full time work is much too difficult. It is much more difficult to successfully get the payment for health conditions which are viewed as temporary in the eyes of the State (though I’m sure some are successful).

You can work a little before your DA is affected though, it all depends on your situation.

It’s worth applying but as with any of these payments, there are no guarantees.

Good luck.

Yeah I know there are no guarantees with the payment but we will put it in anyway he’s going to be affected for some time. The GP and social worker managed to get him an urgent appointment with CAMHS so he had blood tests on Monday and then will see the consultant when the results are through. He kicked off at the GPS and on the way home so I’m no longer allowed to take him to appointments as he got so volatile. Medication has been suggested the same as I’m on myself which levels me out but has huge side effects it’s going to be a long road

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 152 ✭✭Snow_White1987

Yeah I know there are no guarantees with the payment but we will put it in anyway he’s going to be affected for some time. The GP and social worker managed to get him an urgent appointment with CAMHS so he had blood tests on Monday and then will see the consultant when the results are through. He kicked off at the GPS and on the way home so I’m no longer allowed to take him to appointments as he got so volatile. Medication has been suggested the same as I’m on myself which levels me out but has huge side effects it’s going to be a long road

I’m sorry, it sounds extremely stressful.

Definitely apply anyhow as there’s a chance he could be given it - people are on DA for all sorts of reasons and a little unfairly, it’s always the invisible conditions that you have to fight tooth and nail for.

Like anything in Ireland’s welfare system, if you don’t fit a particular set of boxes, you’re in it for the long haul when it comes to claims usually.

Definitely apply anyhow as there’s a chance he could be given it - people are on DA for all sorts of reasons and a little unfairly, it’s always the invisible conditions that you have to fight tooth and nail for.

Like anything in Ireland’s welfare system, if you don’t fit a particular set of boxes, you’re in it for the long haul when it comes to claims usually.

Maybe a politicians letter might help expedite the problem. There is a financial crash coming the second week of November, immediately after the American presidential elections regardless of who wins. Chase hard and fast before this. Also chase either a Rehab industries placement or National Learning Network. AFAIK NLN are on holiday leave at the moment.

A politicians letter will make no difference, never has and never will, thankfully. Either an applicant meets the criteria or they don’t. What would you expect the politician to say in the letter, as a matter of interest?

splinter65 wrote: »
    A politicians letter will make no difference, never has and never will, thankfully. Either an applicant meets the criteria or they don’t. What would you expect the politician to say in the letter, as a matter of interest?

"A Chara,
    blah blah blah
    Please find this case file and expedite this case to execution of my young constituent to relief further suffering on his family.
    Blah blah see you at election time. I am very grateful.
    Is mise, le meas
    Sean Fitzgregory T.D."

(signed by secretary with stamp)

"A Chara,
    blah blah blah
    Please find this case file and expedite this case to execution of my young constituent to relief further suffering on his family.
    Blah blah see you at election time. I am very grateful.
    Is mise, le meas
    Sean Fitzgregory T.D."

(signed by secretary with stamp)

Thats interesting. But what benefit or even point do you think this letter would be?

Pushes the application forward to the top of the pile. Cant say my family havent benefited from this system but yeah it does happen. Waiting list got cut from 8 months to 6 weeks for a Hernia operation.
    This is one reason why I hate socialised medicine.

Pushes the application forward to the top of the pile. Cant say my family havent benefited from this system but yeah it does happen. Waiting list got cut from 8 months to 6 weeks for a Hernia operation.
    This is one reason why I hate socialised medicine.

15 years I’m working in this area and I’ve never once seen a politicians letter push anyone’s application to SW anywhere rose except to the bottom of the pile.
    SW staff are not answerable to politicians. Actually it’s quite insulting of you to infer that SW staff would be influenced in a decision by a politician.
    It implies that SW staff could be induced or persuaded to act unfairly and in some cases unlawfully in reaching a decision. That’s quite an allegation to make. And as I already said, quite the opposite of my experience.
    The politician that lobbied the HSE for the hernia operation to be moved forwards probably did so with supporting medical evidence, or supporting evidence from a PHN, Social Worker etc that hadn’t already been forwarded. If the patient had written the same letter themselves with the same evidence attached, the operation would have been brought forward anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 442 ✭✭trihead

Obviously getting help for his mental health is first but if you want him to try and get back to some form of education this might be an option - www.iscoil.ie

15 years I’m working in this area and I’ve never once seen a politicians letter push anyone’s application to SW anywhere rose except to the bottom of the pile.
    SW staff are not answerable to politicians. Actually it’s quite insulting of you to infer that SW staff would be influenced in a decision by a politician.
    It implies that SW staff could be induced or persuaded to act unfairly and in some cases unlawfully in reaching a decision. That’s quite an allegation to make. And as I already said, quite the opposite of my experience.
    The politician that lobbied the HSE for the hernia operation to be moved forwards probably did so with supporting medical evidence, or supporting evidence from a PHN, Social Worker etc that hadn’t already been forwarded. If the patient had written the same letter themselves with the same evidence attached, the operation would have been brought forward anyway.

Well this politician is now retired but his brother was on the Regional Health board (it was over 20 years ago). In our constituency it only takes 12,000 first count to get elected. He was always elected on the first count.
    Then I had a friend who worked as an engineer for the county council. He said he used to meet with the county councillors once a week to socialise where ideas were exchanged and projects were pushed rejected and green lighted.

I have no doubt what so ever we are just as corrupt as any nation in Africa. Some families are treated differently to others. My parents are always compliant with the occupational therapist, they always get projects green lighted for them. Others I know fight them tooth and nail and get nothing.