If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Dairy Chitchat 4, an udder new thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,324 ✭✭✭alps

It was suggested that 10% extra cubicles be a necessity to pass the bord bia audit...

Massive resistance as you can imagine and topic went away.

How would such a suggestion go fown now?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,453 ✭✭✭Gawddawggonnit

Farmers are allowed farm because the public let them…social license. That license is even more pronounced when Gov grant aid farmers to a high degree. However when you’ve a Dail full of farmers, publicans and teachers, the industry almost has control of the Dept of Ag.

For perspective.

It takes from 5 to 7 years to get planning permission to start a dairy farm here from scratch. For argument’s sake let’s say that you’ve permission for 100 cows. Absolutely everything is registered on the farm computer. The Dept has 24/7/365 access to that computer. If the herd goes to 105 cows, the warnings start arriving on the computer, asking did you forget to register that you dried off cows etc etc.

Ye’re about 20mins away from scandal if an honest xposé comes public. I know that there’s some excellent farmers out there, but it only takes a small minority to fcuk it up for everyone.

Prudence is needed especially when outlandish claims are made about the brilliance of the industry.

I’m not discussing the matter further.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,215 ✭✭✭straight

If farming is so difficult in France how come the Gardiner's can sell their house in Ireland and in the space of 15 years be farming 3000 acres in France? No way could they have achieved anything like it in Ireland. The whole thing is a joke here as far as I can see. Trying their best to destroy the whole thing at every turn. The "best technical advice" from our advisors and journalists all follow the same narrative. As for your social licence, it looks like they'll be damn glad to have farmers very soon. I just dumped a load of fr bull calves for 5 euro a piece because no boat sailing. They shut down tillage, beef, beet, pigs. Everyone go into highly profitable dairying they said. Bunch of kunts, the whole lot of them...

Am I the only farmer with no grazing done yet? 18ml of rain here again yesterday. It was great to get all that slurry out I good conditions in January and not be under pressure with it now. Lads out these days with the rain gun and it's going straight to the river....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,570 ✭✭✭Mooooo

Know of nobody under pressure with slurry this year, regardless of grazing done or not?

Post edited by Mooooo on

Plenty pix of lads firing slurry over ditches on Twitter…I was under the illusion that was illegal.

Doing it and putting it on social media not the smartest of thinking on both counts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,183 ✭✭✭greenfield21

I haven't seen any pictures?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,333 ✭✭✭cosatron

We haven't the cows out yet either. Usaully after paddy days. Milking well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,333 ✭✭✭cosatron

Twitter is an absolute car crash sometimes and does farming no favours

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,645 ✭✭✭Wildsurfer

Ah get off your high horse Dawg if you only seek out the worst you will find it. But vast majority are doing the right thing and don't be posting pictures of themselves doing it. You're getting a tad tiresome with you're digs at Irish dairy farmers, which is a pity because you're other posts when you stick to your own farming practices are much more interesting.

Ah here, Straight brought it to our attention…and as per usual there were the denials.

A couple of days back a poster on here spread slurry before the rain saying it’s ‘washed off or washed in’.

I’m on good land and over 1000km south, and we were allowed spread on Thursday last for good reason. But hey attack me why don’t you. Le Ouest Sauvage.

https://twitter.com/jeomaher/status/1502980833044537345?s=21

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,667 ✭✭✭Gillespy

Wind up merchants are best ignored. One of a few regular posters on here that are not allies of the Irish farmer especially Irish dairy farmers. The hate is real with them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,183 ✭✭✭greenfield21

Some people are so out of touch tweeting that... its not even St Patrick's day and the excellent autumn we had... Also nice big shiny sheds in the pinned tweet...can someone send him a dm before Dawg notifies John Gibbons and Gavin Daly.

Settle lad.

There’s a few forthright posters here like Straight, Jay etc etc that I’ve the greatest respect for…but making the forum an echo chamber for navel gazers that enjoy the smell of their own farts, isn’t on. I’ll not do the ‘hear no evil, see no evil’ crap

I had over 30mins of footage a few days ago that had the potential to cause issues which I deleted, and furthermore encouraged the man that took it to delete it also.

Be a hero and report it to the relevant authorities then if you have such information. You have a pathetic obsession with Irish dairy making it difficult to take such claims seriously without evidence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,322 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Anyway cows have been out about 8 days here in 2022. Slurry out in early February in good conditions. Loads of silage left. Normally not out by night until April 10th

Only about 22% grazed. Heifers will go out this week, first of fert will be going out as well and maybe slurry if it stays dry for both.

Everything happening has me going around in circles in my head re what to do here and plans up in the air. Still pales compared to those directly effected by war but seeing a way ahead for making life easier and new issues delaying that or stopping it is frustrating

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,324 ✭✭✭alps

He had the evidence, and it was on twitter today put on by a poster himself (although it wouldnt be in execution territory)

However, massive expansion (in some instances), the drive on with 2nd and 3rd "platforms" ,has drawn the ire of of the authorities who have a legal obligation to reduce emissions, from some of the general public who see this carry on as rampant negligence.

So many expansionists have played the card of its easier to ask for forgiveness. Its been allowed by the lack of oversight, by an acceptance by neighbours and fellow farmers, but the whole disregard has now put us in a catch 22 situtation.

Whether we all get nailed here, or whether gov will start to unwind from the greater offenders...we'll see, but hardly a point in getting snotty with someone who points it out, just because he's detatched now from the problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,322 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Supposed to be building new parlour this year, don't know what to do

Like I said, report it and have it dealt with by the powers that be. Rather than coming on here creating an image it's widespread tarring all of us. It would be no issue if it wasn't for the constant snide remarks about the industry generally, grants, Teagasc advice and so forth. It's a clear agenda and it's tedious after a while.

Local builders have had builds cancelled and are expecting a rel quiet summer, due to the rise in costs.

Main fear is milk price dropping before everything else and managing that period

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,553 ✭✭✭Grueller

I had a builder laid on for a cubicle house extension, tank and a calf house. For exactly that reason I have cancelled. I will throw an extra 24 cubicles into a shed is already attached to the cubicle house and pump slurry to another tank for a couple of years and see how things settle. I might push on with the calf housing, €25k will go a long way there with the plan I have.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,439 ✭✭✭jaymla627

Theirs a reckoning coming for all of us next winter and into 2023 with what numbers our farms can actually carry in a basically organic type scenario, it's pretty ludicrous lads get tied up in knots about potential quotas and not been able to milk 400 cows and maybe only been let milk 200 cows, I once worked with a 60 year old ozzie who was managing a dairy farm for a a Chinese backed Australian company in Victoria, 10 years previous he had a 1500 acre dairy farm milking 750 cows, a 3 year drought occurred and in the wind up he ended up having to shoot his last 200 cows and the banks took the farm leaving him penniless and without so much as a roof over his head....

He said to me his biggest mistake was thinking he could keep his numbers up and hold out till the drought broke, if he had culled half the herd the first year when they where worth a couple of hundred bucks as canner cows and used this to buy in feed for the remaining cows he would of got through it, we have been so insulated from a event like the above in Ireland lads thought processes at the minute could never fathom a event like this happening here, but if these big herds go on a wing and a prayer reckoning the co-op will find them meal and fertiliser to keep the show going their is going to be some fallout for the Irish dairy industry

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 865 ✭✭✭Pinsnbushings

The lad doing the building here said he's after getting quite but it would traditionally be the quieter time of year. The steel fella rang me the other wondering how I was getting on and that he could have a look at doing it now he's much quieter, couldn't get him on the phone for weeks before Christmas.

They are both expecting a quiet year..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,976 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

For anyone that’s thinking of building etc is it easy get quotes and how long are they valid for ….I’m thinking of doing a job on a hay shed ,small extension …Yorkshire boarding sliding doors and set it up for an auto calf feeder …..wouldn’t be a huge spend….but with way inputs are and everything so volatile I’m in 2 minds

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 865 ✭✭✭Pinsnbushings

In fairness the lad doing the steel gave me a price the end of October and he says he'll honor that if I go ahead now..he is expected 150/ton plus to go on steel in the next couple of months....until ukraine they were expecting 150 off. Doesn't seem to be too hard get a quote now compared to pre Christmas.

Timber supposed to be going up tomorrow according to lad in the hardware.

Concrete and stone seems to be climbing steady enough...I got quoted 97+vat for grant spec concrete last week which is a good price I think.. it's terrifying at the moment building with such uncertainty and prices.

I'm picking out bulls for AI these days. Bit of a head wreck of a job. Usually breed for a bit of type, bit of EBI, bit of proven, bit of genomic.

I have a ZSR heifer into the parlour this evening and she is some looker. Teat placement alone is just perfection. Alot to be said for the proven bulls. 90+ reliability.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,036 ✭✭✭✭Birdnuts

Its a discussion forum, not just a vehicle for lazy group think. The issues Dawg raises are very relevant and directly impact the farming sector in terms of its direction and image despite what some here would like to pretend.