Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Pickup jeep opinion

• 10-07-2020 7:51pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,373 ✭✭✭

Hi folks,

Just a quick and nasty opinion poll which one.

All new 2020 not bothered about service cost,insurance etc more interested in comfort of use and reliability.

Head says hilux but the ranger is nice but the LTD has far to much chrome for my liking.

Upgrading to model above isn't an option.
    • Toyota Hilux SR5 2.4 D4D
    • ford Ranger LTD 2.0 eco blue
    • nissan navara DC 2.3 single turbo
    • mitsubishi L200 2.2 DID

VW Amarok is apparently being discontinued so a non runner. Looked at the isuzu d max and wasn't overly keen.

Thanks for the input and mods feel free to move elsewhere or direct me to a similar thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,249 ✭✭✭pippip

Sorry not familiar with pickups but just to add the Mercedes X Class is another option.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,373 ✭✭✭iwillhtfu

pippip wrote: »
    Sorry not familiar with pickups but just to add the Mercedes X Class is another option.

yeah I did look at those and they're a nice bus but not available at the minute.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 114 ✭✭nu_90

Hilux getting facelift this year as well

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 918 ✭✭✭RoscommonTom

the Isuzu are mighty yokes,

nu_90 wrote: »
    Hilux getting facelift this year as well

I saw that alright but I think its a 2021 release. Looks like they're following the same style a few small changes on the exterior anyway. Pronounced wheel arches and a faux nudge bar at the front. Not to sure what they're doing with the interior.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,310 ✭✭✭Pkiernan

Not sure why you'd list a single turbo Navara.

Navara is the most comfortable to drive.
    The twin turbo is 190hp.

Mine came with a 160000km, 5 year warranty.
    Nissan gave replaced the front disks and pads for me under warranty at 45000km, and replaced the battery under warranty too.

I'm getting 37mpg from mine .
    Its an automatic Tekna. The surround camera is best in class.

Pkiernan wrote: »
    Not sure why you'd list a single turbo Navara.

Navara is the most comfortable to drive.
    The twin turbo is 190hp.

Mine came with a 160000km, 5 year warranty.
    Nissan gave replaced the front disks and pads for me under warranty at 45000km, and replaced the battery under warranty too.

I'm getting 37mpg from mine .
    Its an automatic Tekna. The surround camera is best in class.

The list is the list no deviating :D

I have heard good things about the Navara and apparently has the most sorted rear suspension. The older models have had their share of issues though. I used to drive a patrol and that was very comfortable to drive but the 3.0d engine was very hit and miss.

I'm going to take a trip around the showrooms this afternoon.

the Isuzu are mighty yokes,

I was all set for a D-max as I like the look of the new model but I wasn't won over when I went to see one. It didn't help I was chased out of the display model by a sales man as it had been sanitized :rolleyes:

iwillhtfu wrote: »
    The list is the list no deviating :D

I have heard good things about the Navara and apparently has the most sorted rear suspension. The older models have had their share of issues though. I used to drive a patrol and that was very comfortable to drive but the 3.0d engine was very hit and miss.

I'm going to take a trip around the showrooms this afternoon.

You'll be underwhelmed by the 160hp single turbo.

Drive a top spec auto SVE.

Pkiernan wrote: »
    You'll be underwhelmed by the 160hp single turbo.

Drive a top spec auto SVE.

I'm not looking to set the world alight :D

I do think the navara is a bit big boned though so understandably the bigger engine would suit better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,388 ✭✭✭Widdensushi

I'm not looking to set the world alight :D

I do think the navara is a bit big boned though so understandably the bigger engine would suit better.

I test drove a navara and couldn't get out of it quick enough, I found it very tractor like, I am used to driving bigger vehicles but it felt like a lorry on the road

Wait until you try a hilux so.

What model Navara did u drive.

The nice suspension only comes with the crew cab.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,442 ✭✭✭ofcork

BIL on his second dmax has only good things to say about them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,537 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

discontinued, no?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,397 ✭✭✭CBear1993

Hilux a heap of sh*te. Loud noisy article, terrible in wet weather, the tail swings out at any chance on greasy roads and forget about braking with any sort of weight in the back.

CBear1993 wrote: »
    Hilux a heap of sh*te. Loud noisy article, terrible in wet weather, the tail swings out at any chance on greasy roads and forget about braking with any sort of weight in the back.

It seems there's one of these kind of comments for every model. I think it's a natural trait for most pick ups to have a loose tail end when unloaded, particularly those with leaf suspension.

I'm probably going to go with the hilux but to be honest I think if I got any of them I'd always be thinking the other was better somewhere.

Thanks for the input lads.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,738 ✭✭✭Heres Johnny

Father just sold his 07 Hilux he had for years. Never let him down although not my cup of tea. Sold in under an hour for asking price on donedeal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,055 ✭✭✭selectamatic

Test drive an amarok if you can find a 2020 one that's reasonably priced.

The 258bhp tdi engine and 8 speed auto box is supposed to be a great combo.

Test drive an amarok if you can find a 2020 one that's reasonably priced.

The 258bhp tdi engine and 8 speed auto box is supposed to be a great combo.

They're being discontinued.

I know but why would that stop you buying one if it ticked all the boxes. (Not saying it will but it might)

For example a clean reasonably spec'd low mileage 2015 d4d avensis is quite sought after precisely because it was the end of the toyota powered diesel avensis.

So it stands to reason that the very same could happen in ths case of the amarok especially one with the 258bhp engine and 8 speed auto.

Look at the 3.1 trooper and how sought after they are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,611 ✭✭✭Mooooo

They seem to be about the 50k mark including VAT on vw website. Engine is in a lot of other models also so wouldn't be overly worried about it being discontinued. The amorok and the 3.2 Ford ranger seem to consistently come top in terms of comfort and performance etc. Haven't seen much on the new ranger with the 2.0L engines. Australia are getting a v6 diesel ranger but doubt that will get to Europe.

I know but why would that stop you buying one if it ticked all the boxes. (Not saying it will but it might)

For example a clean reasonably spec'd low mileage 2015 d4d avensis is quite sought after precisely because it was the end of the toyota powered diesel avensis.

So it stands to reason that the very same could happen in ths case of the amarok especially one with the 258bhp engine and 8 speed auto.

Look at the 3.1 trooper and how sought after they are.

I'm not doubting you but they're simply not available.

Mooooo wrote: »
    The amorok and the 3.2 Ford ranger seem to consistently come top in terms of comfort and performance etc.

I'd imagine some of this is to do with the Chelsea tractor brigade. The Amorok gets panned in a lot of reviews and I'd be a fan of VW.

The 2.0l engine in the ranger is an unknown but presumably a fairly generic lump the single and twin turbos though might be another story though.

I'm not doubting you but they're simply not available.

Are you sure? I thought stocks were being filled to see out the 2020 season. Maybe the covid shut down scuppered this.

That's what I've been told. Everything in a commercial is in short supply.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,503 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

Ford ranger wildtrak 3.2 all the way

Mad_maxx wrote: »
    Ford ranger wildtrak 3.2 all the way

They're a 2.0l now and indeed very nice interior but as with all they have their negative reviews and resale value is pretty bad apparently.

Do you need the bed and seats? A lwb commercial landcruiser would be more comfortable to drive and have a fair bit of space at the same time. I think the 5 seaters don't qualify for commercial new. Disregard if it's not what you need

72 k new

I'd agree on the comfort alright but rear seats are needed as is decent load carrying abilities No new Landcruisers to be had till Nov at the earliest I've been told but also an eye watering price tag on them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,772 ✭✭✭✭fits

72 k new

For commercial? Fcuk me that's some amount for work vehicle

fits wrote: »

Mistsubishi L200 by another name

For commercial? Fcuk me that's some amount for work vehicle

That's the business model the 2 seat LWB can be had for around €44k which I guess isn't terrible but for basically a nice van it's steep.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 35 Top chief

Anyone have any experience with land rover discovery.
    Looking to trade in and get one around 2012 - 2013 probably up the north .

Top chief wrote: »

gorgeous to drive but not that reliable

It's ok to buy a car like that but you need a maintenance budget in reserve according to my local mechanic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,039 ✭✭✭Jizique

Discontinued; awful product, built by Nisan for LatAm market

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58 ✭✭AgriLad

That's the business model the 2 seat LWB can be had for around €44k which I guess isn't terrible but for basically a nice van it's steep.

It’s bulletproof, comfortable and brilliant off road, not just a nice van

Top chief wrote: »

Will northern dealers take in a Southern car on trade?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 35 Top chief

gorgeous to drive but not that reliable

It's ok to buy a car like that but you need a maintenance budget in reserve according to my local mechanic

True I have heard that , I normally fix my own car but any big jobs i get a friend of family to look at . Always wanted one.
    Will only have if for year or so and probably get something else seems alot come with cream interior, I'm looking for black

AgriLad wrote: »
    It’s bulletproof, comfortable and brilliant off road, not just a nice van

I've owned one before I know what they are but thanks for the input.

not many who have owned a landcruiser would compare it to a van , interesting perspective

Christ ye are determined to add nothing to my thread. Jog along to the next one.

Mods ye can lock this now or delete. Thanks to those for their input

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,797 ✭✭✭scwazrh

The ford ranger is so far ahead of the rest there’s just no comparison.And the 2ltr with 10 speed auto box is more powerful and responsive than the 3.2

The VW is quickest but is more an suv in pickup clothing.The Mercedes is a Navara underneath and after the last model navara’s suffering from the chassis folding In half there is no way I’d risk buying one .

The Hilux will last for ever but even the invincible model is basic enough .Ranger all the way for me except the raptor model which at €65 k is mad money

scwazrh wrote: »
    The ford ranger is so far ahead of the rest there’s just no comparison.And the 2ltr with 10 speed auto box is more powerful and responsive than the 3.2

The VW is quickest but is more an suv in pickup clothing.The Mercedes is a Navara underneath and after the last model navara’s suffering from the chassis folding In half there is no way I’d risk buying one .

The Hilux will last for ever but even the invincible model is basic enough .Ranger all the way for me except the raptor model which at €65 k is mad money

Well turns out you're the winner :D

Not a hilux to be had for love nor money in the country so ended up going with the ranger wildtrack 10 speed auto.

I have to say it is a lovely place to be and the auto box is a gift. I still have a hankering for the Hilux but sure perhaps another time. I'm missing all the issues with a change in model/engine I guess although this 2.0l ranger engine is also an unknown.

Thanks to all for the input.