Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

2007 BMW 325I coupe?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Moved out from Bangernomics which is strictly sub 2K

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,203 ✭✭✭partyguinness

Car looks immaculate.

With 4 users over 13 years and 4 different clutch styles and 171k on the clock I would be a little quesy personally speaking and would prefer the extra endurance of a diesel if I had €3-4k lying about.

You have mentioned fun rather than functional so maybe why not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 289 ✭✭Behind you Joey

With 4 users over 13 years and 4 different clutch styles and 171k on the clock I would be a little quesy personally speaking and would prefer the extra endurance of a diesel if I had €3-4k lying about.

Very good point, however would the issue not be the same on a manual diesel setup? I would definitely consider a diesel maybe 3.0 or so, just thought the sound and overall power delivery of this 2.5 would be sweet. Gonna go have a look and see nonetheless.

I've also been looking at GTIs which are very plentiful, mostly mark Vs, but I'm wondering are they a bit too common these days and perhaps a tad overrated?

Anything else out there sporty with a bit of panache?

Essentially it'll be a car I'll use for a few months regularly and then only at weekends onwards come the new year. MPG wouldn't be a huge factor in deciding. Regarding tax, the less the better but wouldn't wince at €1k or thereabouts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,617 ✭✭✭ba_barabus

would prefer the extra endurance of a diesel if I had €3-4k lying about..

:D:D:D

Ah here, this has to be someone taking the piss.

Very good point, however would the issue not be the same on a manual diesel setup? I would definitely consider a diesel maybe 3.0 or so, just thought the sound and overall power delivery of this 2.5 would be sweet. Gonna go have a look and see nonetheless.

I've also been looking at GTIs which are very plentiful, mostly mark Vs, but I'm wondering are they a bit too common these days and perhaps a tad overrated?

Anything else out there sporty with a bit of panache?

Essentially it'll be a car I'll use for a few months regularly and then only at weekends onwards come the new year. MPG wouldn't be a huge factor in deciding. Regarding tax, the less the better but wouldn't wince at €1k or thereabouts.

True. TBH it would be same for any car really unless it is brand new which is why I mention a diesel as the engine is more robust.

But if you are quite relaxed about it and for that price and what you want it for then it seems well worth the punt. I would certinaly prefer it to a VW all being equal. Repair costs can be expensive.

A Celtic Tiger Beemer...classic. That cost someone a lot of money back then...:D

I had a 2006 320 couple in 2007 but I imported and saved €27k even with VRT paid.

diesel as the engine is more robust.
    Ok, lets clear this up. The diesel engine you're referring to in a 3series of this age is not robust. At 13 years old it's definitely not robust. The reason you brough up a diesel being preferable over a petrol manual is also odd. The diesel clutches fail a lot more than the petrol ones but to be fair it's a consumable part.

OP, it looks a lovely car. Personally I'd prefer an auto but a manual will deffo be very nice to own and drive. And it's a straight 6, they're a great engine.

Just to add, I do think you're being optimistic thinking a 13 years old BMW of any description will be reliable to own. They do give problem but a lot will come down to how the car has been cared for.

ba_barabus wrote: »
    Ok, lets clear this up. The diesel engine you're referring to in a 3series of this age is not robust. At 13 years old it's definitely not robust. The reason you brough up a diesel being preferable over a petrol manual is also odd. The diesel clutches fail a lot more than the petrol ones but to be fair it's a consumable part.

I was referring to diesel cars generally not specifically a 3 series diesel and again it was the diesel engine (generally) I stated was more robust rather than the clutch which of course can give up at any time relatively speaking.

Diesel engines are no more robust than a petrol engine.

TBH if you want something robust buy a hybrid or electric car.

Thanks folks. I think reliable at 13 years old is probably the incorrect word to use in fairness especially considering the brand.

Interestingly, my very first car was an '08 320d coupé. I loved everything about it apart from that horrible horrible horrible 2.0 diesel engine. Completely ruined the experience but I was young and foolish. I learned that a coupé should never really have a diesel engine.

I think between a GTI and the above, I'd dodge the GTI, all things being equal. But surely to God, there's other interesting options out there? Perhaps MX-5, old Saab or even a Civic (which are madly pricey)?

Thanks folks. I think reliable at 13 years old is probably the incorrect word to use in fairness especially considering the brand.

Interestingly, my very first car was an '08 320d coupé. I loved everything about it apart from that horrible horrible horrible 2.0 diesel engine. Completely ruined the experience but I was young and foolish. I learned that a coupé should never really have a diesel engine.

I think between a GTI and the above, I'd dodge the GTI, all things being equal. But surely to God, there's other interesting options out there? Perhaps MX-5, old Saab or even a Civic (which are madly pricey)?

Yeah I had a 2006 320d Coupe...I was price orientated.

I am getting a brand new petrol 2020 420 MSport Gran Coupe with adaptive suspension delivered next week....:D

It will be my first petrol (and probably last) car in 13 years. Kids now sensible and gave up the 520d.

If you'd consider others from the VAG stable you'd have the Leon FR and Octavia VRS. Coupes are a bit hard at that age, not many of them. You could also look at a Renault Laguna Coupe, 407 Coupe (looks are subjective), CLK etc.

Ah here now...you are not going to recommend a Renault Laguna to someone with his eye on a 3.25 Coupe? Cop on...:D

I am getting a brand new petrol 2020 420 MSport Gran Coupe with adaptive suspension delivered next week....:D

It will be my first petrol (and probably last) car in 13 years. Kids now sensible and gave up the 520d.

By God, you've great taste. Fair play and well wear! What colour out of interest? Also an auto surely to God?

My last car was a 3.0 A5 and I had tested a SE 4 Series which drove better but looked like muck in comparison to a Black Edition Audi. Trying out bangernomics for a bit.

Just spotted a Mazda MPS, bit over budget, not a notion what they're like.

By God, you've great taste. Fair play and well wear! What colour out of interest? Also an auto surely to God?

My last car was a 3.0 A5 and I had tested a SE 4 Series which drove better but looked like muck in comparison to a Black Edition Audi. Trying out bangernomics for a bit.

Just spotted a Mazda MPS, bit over budget, not a notion what they're like.

Metallic grey and white leather seats. No I didnt go for auto...yeah yeah I know. But the extras such as suspension, the metallic paint and the full maintenance package meant the price was creeping up so had to leave it at that. Auto also increases your insurance cost so I am told- never driven one mind.

I have two small children so I have to be a bit sensible.

I stayed away from Audi (my wife drives an A1) purely because where I live in the UK every wannabe gangster and boy races drives a black Audi A3, A4, or A6. They are everywhere.

Ah here now...you are not going to recommend a Renault Laguna to someone with his eye on a 3.25 Coupe? Cop on...:D

If you knew your cars you'd know there is nothing wrong with a Laguna Coupe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,516 ✭✭✭XsApollo

Couple of V6 SaaBs on done deal, LOW km , asking crazy money really but within budget.

Remap will bring them to 285- 290 bhp

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,055 ✭✭✭selectamatic

E92 with the 2.5 n/a engine is about as reliable a combination as you'll find in bmw's of that era.

I was very close to buying one a year ago but in the end I chose not to as my work commute changed to 65km of which near 70% was terrible country roads so the car just wouldn't have suited.

They're pretty thirsty but not awful if driven easy. The manual box makes the 2.5 seem pretty lively too although the auto in them is supposed to be very good.

Suspension components can be a bit soft and by all accounts the e46 is a more engaging drive but an e90 still isn't bad on that front either.

A lexus is250 would be worth considering too, more luxury than driver orientated though.

If you knew your cars you'd know there is nothing wrong with a Laguna Coupe.

I am sure they are a great car I don't doubt that at all but "..cruisin in my Laguna.." just does not have the same ring to it.

XsApollo wrote: »
    Couple of V6 SaaBs on done deal, LOW km , asking crazy money really but within budget.

Remap will bring them to 285- 290 bhp

Always liked Saab but I hear they are a demon for burning through oil.

E92 with the 2.5 n/a engine is about as reliable a combination as you'll find in bmw's of that era.

I was very close to buying one a year ago but in the end I chose not to as my work commute changed to 65km of which near 70% was terrible country roads so the car just wouldn't have suited.

They're pretty thirsty but not awful if driven easy. The manual box makes the 2.5 seem pretty lively too although the auto in them is supposed to be very good.

Suspension components can be a bit soft and by all accounts the e46 is a more engaging drive but an e90 still isn't bad on that front either.

A lexus is250 would be worth considering too, more luxury than driver orientated though.

That's as far as my research got me; go for the 2.5 as opposed to 3.0 petrol engine in the 3 series of that era. The auto seems to come more recommended than the manual interestingly, tougher to find on non-M-Sport models however.

What car did you go for in the end out of interest?

I haven't a notion about Lexus to be honest, but would definitely consider it. How many horses does the IS250 produce? Also, which transmission would be advisable and would it be the F-Sport spec to go for?

You could also look at a Renault Laguna Coupe, 407 Coupe (looks are subjective), CLK etc.

Something like this perhaps? Decent power I'm surprised!

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/09-renault-laguna-3-0-dci-v6-235bhp-coupe/24389657

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,346 ✭✭✭TheW1zard

Clio 182

Pretty much. Get that for a little bit cheaper and fix any niggles and it should have plenty of life left.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,107 ✭✭✭bcklschaps

They are a beautiful car. Black not the best colour though, and this particular one has a few tacky mods (big exhaust, black Alloys and the 'GT' badge)

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

Always liked Saab but I hear they are a demon for burning through oil.

Compared to an e46?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Leonard Hofstadter

Compared to an e46?

E46 oil issues aren't anything to really worry about though. They burn oil but it's not an issue for passing the NCT. Just top it up when the light comes on and they'll be fine. They also like to leak oil through the rocker cover gasket and oil filter housing gasket. Only some engines have these problems; the N42, N46 and M54 engines all suffer from oil burning (although that does mean anything after about 2000).

Saabs had issues with oil sludge depending on the year.

E46 oil issues aren't anything to really worry about though. They burn oil but it's not an issue for passing the NCT. Just top it up when the light comes on and they'll be fine. They also like to leak oil through the rocker cover gasket and oil filter housing gasket. Only some engines have these problems, only the N42, N46 and M54 engines suffer from oil burning (although that does mean anything after about 2000).

Saabs had issues with oil sludge depending on the year.

I am on my second 2.0 9-3 Aero I don’t see any issues with oil consumption.
    Definitely needs a top up half way through the interval tho.
    Sludge was an issue in the 9-3 before the 9-3ss arrived, also in the 2.3 in the 9-5 of that era.
    The 2.0T in the 9-3 and 9-5 is pretty bullet proof from 2004 onwards.
    Don’t think there were any major issues with the 2.8 but wouldn’t really know.

I am on my second 2.0 9-3 Aero I don’t see any issues with oil consumption.
    Definitely needs a top up half way through the interval tho.
    Sludge was an issue in the 9-3 before the 9-3ss arrived, also in the 2.3 in the 9-5 of that era.
    The 2.0T in the 9-3 and 9-5 is pretty bullet proof from 2004 onwards.
    Don’t think there were any major issues with the 2.8 but wouldn’t really know.

Something like this fit the bulletproof profile? Seems to be in good knick also. What kind of power do they give out?

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/stunning-2007-saab-95-2-0t-low-km-new-nct/24348272

180bhp I think.
    Yup that looks in decent nick.
    I’d nearly buy it myself.

180bhp I think.
    Yup that looks in decent nick.
    I’d nearly buy it myself.

What about this weapon?

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/saab-95-aero/25336451

Also, a left of field choice over budget

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/nissan-350z-roadster-3-5-v6-300bhp/24821835

I’m not an expert on cars.
    I like Saab’s and had a few of em so I know a bit about them and anything else I have owned.
    Outside of that I wouldn’t be giving advice :-D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,127 ✭✭✭✭Idbatterim

the 2.5 L petrol makes good sense. decent power, six pot, but anything over 2.5 here starts going mad money on old tax rate, worth low two thousands IMO. I much prefer the m sport though personally and actually think the facelifted E46 coupe were a much nicer looking car...

I think you may be better off going for a 2008 if you dont care about m sport etc, do you care about engine size within reason?

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/e46-bmw-325-convertible/24823325

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 331 ✭✭chalky_ie

I'd go for a 2008 330i if you can get one, 750 tax and 270bhp, much better than the 325.

Idbatterim wrote: »
    I think you may be better off going for a 2008 if you dont care about m sport etc, do you care about engine size within reason

No, as long as the engine isn't a 2.0 or lower I'm open minded.
    conor-w wrote: »
    I'd go for a 2008 330i if you can get one, 750 tax and 270bhp, much better than the 325.

Yes I completely agree, I'd much prefer a post '08 M-Sport 3.0 litre however, they are literally 2/2.5 times the price of a '07 SE 2.5 equivalent. The one I'm looking at is a '07 SE for €3,000(probably get it for a bit less), then there's an '08 M-Sport 330i up for €7,500. The difference in tax between them is actually only approximately €300/500 a year depending (€1,040 v €570/750) so to get the value out of the more expensive '08 model I'd have to keep it for 6 years or so to see the real value in it from a strictly financial point of view.

However, I do realise you'd be getting the added bump in power and refinement from the 3.0 as opposed to the 2.5 (although anecdotally, I have heard the 2.5 is more robust) and of course the M-Sports package including the bodykit, lower suspension and lovely electric memory sports seats.

The way I look at it is if I get a '07 SE I save up to €4,000 and with that I would go with Bilstein B6 or B8 shocks for suspension, add a M-Sport bumper or two, change the head and taillights for LEDs and add a new set of Pilot Sports, then pay the tax man for a year or two with change.

I've tried to find some '06/'07 M-Sports here to no real joy.

Need to be wary of injector problems and high pressure fuel pump problems on the newer 3.0 engine both are a pricey enough fix.

There are several revisions of injector replacements and only the newest ones are fully reliable (I think I remember them being called index 11 but I could be wrong on that)

Great cars with regards the balance of power fuel consumption and reasonable tax but just be aware of the added pitfalls. A 3.0 325i can also be remapped to near 330i power but I dunno are there many in Ireland who do them.

I'd be more inclined to get a 325i with the N52 (2.5 litre) engine. That engine is pretty much bulletproof, only problem is they stopped selling it at the start of 2008.

The N53 (3.0 litre) engine used to have a reputation for coil pack and injector trouble, a shame as it's the last ever naturally aspirated straight six they made, not sure what it's like now.

I'd wonder if you're best for is a two litre from 07 or 2008... I was just looking there , a remapped 320d m from 08 might be your best bet...

Definitely the best choice of colour and spec but I simply cannot hack that engine, it's truly horrible even with a remap it's so agricultural and then there's the dreaded timing chain paranoia hanging over the experience.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,813 ✭✭✭clintondaly

I have a 2008 E93 SE 325i Auto with the N53B30A engine.
    I have it just over a year and got it with a cracked cylinder(I knew this at the time)

The most commons problem are the Injectors,Coil packs,NOX sensor all of which I have changed as well as the engine.
    The CAT is showing up an aging error as they only last to about 100K I believe, but this can be overcome by installing NOXEM.
    PCV/CCV valve can go as well.
    Check for soot/carbon build up on the exhaust tips

I have a 2008 E93 SE 325i Auto with the N53B30A engine.
    I have it just over a year and got it with a cracked cylinder(I knew this at the time)

The most commons problem are the Injectors,Coil packs,NOX sensor all of which I have changed as well as the engine.
    The CAT is showing up an aging error as they only last to about 100K I believe, but this can be overcome by installing NOXEM.
    PCV/CCV valve can go as well.
    Check for soot/carbon build up on the exhaust tips

Thanks that's very helpful, I'm not sure whether the N52 experiences the same issues but will check it out. How do you find the auto gearbox and does it have the paddle shifters? I'm wondering is it the better option.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,813 ✭✭✭clintondaly

Gearbox is good but no paddles.DS mode is fun to drive in,I prefer this over the sequential.

Most efficient at 70MPH where it will do about 40MPG,around town and you are in the low 20's.
    Tax is 1,494

Thanks that's very helpful, I'm not sure whether the N52 experiences the same issues but will check it out. How do you find the auto gearbox and does it have the paddle shifters? I'm wondering is it the better option.

As far as I know, the N52 engine doesn't have any of those issues (it certainly won't have the NOx cat issue as they don't have such a thing, they use different injectors to the N53 being port injection not direct injection), about the worst they suffer from is some oil burning (like many petrol BMWs as they get older), oil leaks (rocker cover gasket and oil filter housing gasket, again very common on petrol BMWs of that era) and I have heard of the electric water pump giving trouble on them as well.

If you're going to be done on tax, and not on depreciation etc, I reckon the e46 coupes are way nicer visually and now way rarer...

But getting a decent facelift 2.5 petrol... could be waiting a while...

Would you consider an audi a5?

was just browsing and came across this, it has had face lift lights and bumper fitted to front, looks a hell of a lot better than pre facelift SE. has the reliable 2.5 engine also. put a nice set of alloys on her and its not a bad car at all...

https://www.adverts.ie/car/bmw/3-series/2007-bmw-325i-automatic-new-nct/20294543

If you're going to be done on tax, and not on depreciation etc, I reckon the e46 coupes are way nicer visually and now way rarer...

But getting a decent facelift 2.5 petrol... could be waiting a while...

Would you consider an audi a5?

was just browsing and came across this, it has had face lift lights and bumper fitted to front, looks a hell of a lot better than pre facelift SE. has the reliable 2.5 engine also. put a nice set of alloys on her and its not a bad car at all...

https://www.adverts.ie/car/bmw/3-series/2007-bmw-325i-automatic-new-nct/20294543

I might take a look at some e46s so, never drove one to be honest. How do they compare to e92s and the e90 generation generally?

I just sold my A5 would you believe it! Although it was a boring enough diesel but black edition spec so it looked the biz in daytona grey pearlescent.

From some reason I can't open that adverts.ie link or any adverts link, I even have the app downloaded on my phone. The same car is hardly is on donedeal is it? Would definitely consider it.

Never even considered Merc:

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/cl-500amazing-specnct-01-21/24315210

E46's are ahead on the driving stakes compared to e90's.

E36s and e46s in particular are seriously well balanced cars nicely sized too. e90s are a bit more cumbersome.

The big problem with them is rust though. Insurance might be an issue too.

E46s are sublime to drive, a bit of a culture shock compared to a modern car because the steering provides the kind of feedback that's only possible with the hydraulic power steering that car has.

Rust would be the biggest problem, they rust around the arches (front and rear), bootlid and the chassis can from the fuel tank backwards.

The best engine, by a mile, for the E46 is the glorious naturally aspirated straight six petrol, i.e. a 320i/Ci upwards. The diesels are very good as well and being turbocharged, have remapping capabilities that the petrols just don't, but I'd take the noise and character of the petrols all day long.

Battery box, Sills and jacking points too.

msport sideskirts can hide a world of problems.

Christ lads, they sound like a minefield!

With regards to rust they are unfortunately.