Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What are your best and worst Irish radio shows of the last 30 years?

• 29-06-2020 9:45pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17

For my favourite, I was initially going to say the Pat Kenny Show(both it's Radio One and current Newstalk incarnations) but after careful consideration, I've decided that the best Irish radio show of the last 30 years has to be Joe Duffy's Liveline. From the people that call in, to the host who is the real-life Alan Partridge, it's often comedy gold and for all the wrong reasons.

I think the worst is the Gerry Ryan Show on 2FM. To me, it seemed like he couldn't give a hoot and was only phoning it in. I never understood why this show was so successful.

So, what are your best and worst Irish radio shows of the last 30 years?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 574 ✭✭✭PacMan

Nova's Nitecap with Jason Maine on the original Radio Nova.
    Introduced me to so many bands that I still enjoy listening to today.

EDIT : Just realised that 30 years ago, was not the 1980's.
    I am older than I thought :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,084 ✭✭✭✭neris

Worst = Ray Darcy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,751 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

Worst - the afternoon show on the original incarnation of Newstalk (in its Dublin-only days, waaay before Moncrief), two hours of pretentious self-indulgent crap The only saving grace was that it was interrupted by a news bulletin every 20 minutes (not the best decision in itself)

From the same era - David McWilliams breakfast show, the man knows about and can talk economics, but any other subject he floundered badly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 988 ✭✭✭The Royal Scam

Best Ivan and Chris when they did the Breakfast Show. Every day was entertaining aswell as being in formative.Pat Kenny now following close behind.

Worst by a mile is Ray Darcy on RTE . It is embarrassing how bad this show is. It stinks of somebody coasting to early retirement with daily inane drivel collecting 500k a year on the way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 129 ✭✭The_Dark_Lord

Best = The FM104 Phoneshow with Adrian Kennedy, especially circa 2002-2007. Classic radio.

Worst = Ray D'Arcy on RTÉ Radio 1. Don't need to explain why...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,309 ✭✭✭✭Bard

I'd be a fan of Dermot & Dave on Today FM - both for their serious and comedy bits. Also liked Dara Quilty when he was on 98FM, and Fergal D'arcy when he was on iRadio (with Peter Ganley as his sidekick).

Also, Ann-Marie Kelly - aside from her very good breakfast show - does an excellent 'alternative' show on Friday nights called "The Roadhouse Café" on Midlands 103 - for which she's won IMRO awards. I'm biased, in that I work with her (and have filled in for her before), but it's still brilliant.

Worst? I'll agree with the others. D'arcy by a country mile.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 386 ✭✭Biafranlivemat

I'm picking the same show
    The Best was Marian Finucane 30 years ago, she was great, loved her.
    The worst was Marian Finucane in the last few years, especially with Trump and Brexit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 744 ✭✭✭TheBMG

Here’s some from my formative years ..

Loved Pat, Bob and Lisa on Energy 103 back in the 80s.

Schools Out! with John O’Hara Energy 103

John Creeden on Rising Time RTE Radio 1

Greg Merriman overnight on 104.
    Mr Fantastic (Mr Spring/Tim Hannigan) on the Soundcrowd Breakfast Show Sunday nights on Sunset FM

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 74,297 ✭✭✭✭Welsh Megaman

Best: ‘The South Wind Blows’ and John Creedon on RTE Radio 1, plus ‘Stuart Maconie’s Freak Zone’ on BBC 6Music :)

Worst: Shaun Keaveney on BBC 6Music - so painfully unfunny, I miss Radcliffe and Maconie in the afternoons :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,812 ✭✭✭Addle

Best = Ray D’Arcy 20 years ago.
    Worst = Ray D’arcy now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,536 ✭✭✭Cole

Best - Pat Kenny in his RTE days and Marian Finucane.

Worst - Gareth O' Callaghan from Q102 up to 2FM (wasn't too bad on 4FM). However. I would rather listen to Gareth on a 24 hour loop than endure the mental trauma of listening to Ray D'Arcy (past and present)...the only presenter that I lunge at the radio to switch off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,023 ✭✭✭✭Joe_ Public

Tough but if had to pick a favourite I'd say Mystery Train with John Kelly. My then partner was a Tom Dunne fan which in hindsight i think alluded to deeper irreconcilable differences! Was like blur v oasis at times, though never personally had a dog in that particular battle.

Worst, d'arcy at present is as close to a low point as national airwaves can get I'd say. Has neither the wit to do low brow nor the intellect to manage even middle brow. Val Joyce could get away with mucking up the technology back in the day because it was all part of his engaging charm, but with D'Arcy it's merely another illustration of his incompetence and lazy, just winging it approach. No redeeming features.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,258 ✭✭✭✭Losty Dublin

I'll try to not repeat the other posts here.

The best?
    • RTÉ Doc on 1. No matter the topic, no matter the person or persons and no matter the demeanour, it never fails to impress and are timeless capsules of Irish social history.
    • Balfe Street, like most of Brendan's work over the years has been amazing both for his musical selections and for the comedic blending. RTÉ's schedule is a lot weaker since he retired.
    • 98FM's Dublin Tonight with Fr. Michael Cleary. Of it's day undoubtedly but the beauty here was how it was all listener led. Anybody could say anything about anything on the show. No pressure, no F bombs, no threats and no stress. Local radio was the better for it, and the show is missed by a lot of people even today.
    • The Rude Awakening, FM 104. Throw in a culchie Tim Ryan, a cynical Scott Williams and a whiny music hating Jonathan Philbin Bowman to argue for 3 hours, not play music and generally break every rule in radio and it should be the worst breakfast show ever. Somehow or other it actually worked and it was addictive listening for the 2 years that it managed to stay on air.
    • Honourable mention for Tony Ainscough's rock show on Radio Nova.

The worst?
    • That Baz Thing; it was just an hour of awful self indulgent ramblings.
    • Any of a number of Desert Island Disc clone shows that emerge.
    • Des Cahill in general is a brutal, ignorant and arrogant broadcaster but his time on Sportscall was especially painful.
    • Gift Grub. Mildly funny when it was drop in's on the then Radio Ireland. 23 years later, Rosenstock is still doing the same old nasally voices for the same old characters and telling the same old jokes.
    • Station News, Radio Dublin. Admittedly a must listen for anoraks but in general it was the guts of 50 years of Eamon Cooke spinning lie after lie after lie about whomever he crossed that given week. All of this was coughed and spluttered into his mic that itself would cough and splutter back at him. In fact the mic would chip in with some AM whine and whistles, which was no mean feat as the AM transmitter was miles away from the studio and rarely switched on :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,839 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

RTE.

Best- Morning Ireland on RTE Radio One.

Worst- Rick O'Shea and Ruth Scott Breakfast on 2FM.

Commercial Radio.

Best- The Last Word with Eamon Dunphy on Today FM.

Worst- Global Village on Newstalk.

Honourable mention to Pat and Elaine breakfast show on Classic Hits 98FM.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 823 ✭✭✭newcavanman

I think Best and Worst were probably the same thing. The original Last Word with Eamonn Dunphy, wasat the same time and possibly in the same episode, frustratingly bad and brilliant all at the same time. His style was bizarre. Incisive questioning and interrogating interviews, followed by sycophantic grovelling to people he admired.
    I think he brought about the biggest change in Drivetime radio in our time, and with the soon demise of Ivan Yates, it will reach a new low

• Closed Accounts Posts: 42 leoXX

BEST, The Blast with Ray Foley, it was the final show on national radio to have a massive cult young audience. Worst everything 2fm has done in the past 20 years or so, the rot started when John Clarke was boss and he fired Tony Fenton and Dusty Rhodes and replaced them with Jenny Huston, Cormac Battle and Dan Hegerty, trying to appeal to the Tom Dunne audience. Clarke then went on to reshuffle the schedule evey 6/9 months during his tenure, he was replaced in the late 00s by John McMahon who gave us such awful shows such as Baz and Lucy and a colm Hayes early lunchtime chat show. Don't get me started on the Dan Healy era

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 534 ✭✭✭tv3tg4

Best - I always enjoyed Dave Heffernan on 4fm.

He used dig out old vinyl and play rare tunes

Worst Ray D'Arcy RTE

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,558 ✭✭✭paddylonglegs

Strawberry alarm click on fm104 mid 90s. There were three presenters with a really good dynamic and were naturally funny. I was in my teens so maybe it might sound stupid today. Anyway, anyone remember that?

Also a big fan of ray foley on today fm. Just great radio.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,342 ✭✭✭seagull

I'm amazed Colm and Lucy haven't been mentioned anywhere among the worst. I've never bothered listening to Ray Darcy, but he must be truly dire to be consistently beating those two.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,646 ✭✭✭California Dreamer

Bard wrote: »
    I

Also, Ann-Marie Kelly - aside from her very good breakfast show - does an excellent 'alternative' show on Friday nights called "The Roadhouse Café" on Midlands 103 - for which she's won IMRO awards. I'm biased, in that I work with her (and have filled in for her before), but it's still brilliant.

You really should be a radio awards judge, absolutely no bias there whatsoever! :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,736 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

The best is Ed Smith's Songs of Praise on Today FM.

Not sure about the worst because I have a habit of not tuning into shows I don't like but D'Arcy in his last years on Today FM was brutal.

I've not listened to him on RTE.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,753 ✭✭✭its_steve116

Best: John Creedon, Dan Hegarty, Ed Smith, John Barker, John Kelly's Mystery Train
    Worst: most of SPIN 1038.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 90 ✭✭draoicht

My favourites would be: Donal Dineens Here Comes The Night, The latest incarnation of Late Date with Cathal Murray and Fiachna Ó Braonáin, The South Wind Blows with Philip King and The John Creedon Show.

My hatelist includes Adian Kennedy and his clones on the commercial stations, Colm and Jim Jim and all the other let's be manic at 7 in the morning type shows.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 444 ✭✭RCK1

Best - John Creedons eveing show every night on R1 and also Ryan Tubridys show since coming back to R1 which I'm waking to up listen during COVID unemployment. Sean
    Moncrieff on Newstalk too.

In the past tense Marion Finnaunces show was great on a weekend mornings and George hook despite disagreeing with him often.

Worst- Probably Ray Darcy or any of the commercial pop stations show with the huge ego presenters

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,255 ✭✭✭lucalux

draoicht wrote: »
    My favourites would be: Donal Dineens Here Comes The Night, The latest incarnation of Late Date with Cathal Murray and Fiachna Ó Braonáin, The South Wind Blows with Philip King and The John Creedon Show.

My hatelist includes Adian Kennedy and his clones on the commercial stations, Colm and Jim Jim and all the other let's be manic at 7 in the morning type shows.

Agreed on all counts, with honorable mentions to Cian Ó' Cíobhains An Taobh Tuathaill, and Mooney Goes Wild for a bit of educational escapism of a Monday night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 444 ✭✭RCK1

lucalux wrote: »
    Agreed on all counts, with honorable mentions to Cian Ó' Cíobhains An Taobh Tuathaill, and Mooney Goes Wild for a bit of educational escapism of a Monday night.

Forgot to add Mooney goes wild to my own list. Excellent. Always love his Dawn Chorus shows with the link up across Europe. Pity he gave up the weekday afternoon slot

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,255 ✭✭✭lucalux

RCK1 wrote: »
    Forgot to add Mooney goes wild to my own list. Excellent. Always love his Dawn Chorus shows with the link up across Europe. Pity he gave up the weekday afternoon slot

It's the one show I've ever really liked him on, I thought it suited him better than a lot of other stuff he has done, plus I love the bickering that goes on between Éanna Ní Lamhna and the two lads.

I think the Dawn Chorus is such a great concept, really enjoyed it the past few years, radio at its best.

The Ruth Scott and Rick O'Shea Breakfast Show, it was very brief. I remember it was Summertime, I think it was the Leaving Cert Summer, that's why I remember it so clearly/ nostalgically

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,023 ✭✭✭✭Joe_ Public

It's the one show I've ever really liked him on, I thought it suited him better than a lot of other stuff he has done, plus I love the bickering that goes on between Éanna Ní Lamhna and the two lads.

I think the Dawn Chorus is such a great concept, really enjoyed it the past few years, radio at its best.

Dawn chorus is a fair achievement given the recognition it has garnered in a global context. I wouldn't spare a minute for Mooney on any other topic, but on wildlife I'm in all the way. Ni Lamhna, Richard Collins, Niall Hatch among others, just the sheer passion and knowledge of all these guys i find comforting and inspiring. I don't believe even the bbc has a dedicated regular wildlife radio show anymore, I'm glad rte does and hope it continues for years yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 943 ✭✭✭swampy353

Best - Ray Foley at lunchtime, particularly when he "not" campaigning for the meteor award. Was just a group of people who were willing to take the piss out of themselves and each other.
    Anton Savage - genuinely interested in people, insightful and fun. When he took over Ray D'Arcys slot, he kept the format but brought fun back to it. She's a big yoke was classic or Anton doing an interview with Abondoman (youtube it)

Worst - Fergal D'Arcy, no content, charm or intelligence. He's a pinnacle of what is wrong in radio

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,716 ✭✭✭DJIMI TRARORE

Today fm from 15-20 yeArs ago
    Was as good a radio as u got, dempsey, early D'Arc/Anton, foley, it was all fresh and entertaining, unlike now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,309 ✭✭✭✭Bard

You really should be a radio awards judge, absolutely no bias there whatsoever! :rolleyes:

Christ :rolleyes:

I *literally* said I was biased with that particular one, and explained exactly why. I also suggested other 'best' shows.

How about actually contributing to the thread with your opinion on the topic instead of just sniping from the sidelines?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭JohnnyFlash

Best: Pat Kenny - on both RTÉ and Newstalk. The finest current affairs broadcaster of a number of generations at this stage, and far better at the light and fluffy stuff than he is given credit for.

Strong nods to: Doc on One, Sunday Miscellany, Off the Ball, John Creedon. Val Joyce on Late Date. I'll admit to having enjoyed George Hook, especially his movies, travel, and health slots.

Worst: I don't listen to radio shows I don't like, but I've never warmed to Mary Wilson on Drivetime, and tend to listen to the alternatives on Newstalk and Today FM.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29 Wilbury Twist

Best by a distance is Pat Kenny on both RTE and Newstalk radio. Not great as a TV host but on radio he is an absolute pro for current affairs coverage. Honourable mentions to The Last Word with Eamon Dunphy, Bowman Sunday on RTE radio 1 presented by John Bowman, The afternoon Moncrieff show on Newstalk and the Dave Fanning weekend show on 2fm. Miriam O'Callaghan was good when she stood in for the RTE weekend mid morning shows.

Worst: The 2020 version of the Off The Ball show on Newstalk. For me this show has gone downhill in recent times. I do rate Joe Molloy as a good presenter and interviewer, John Duggan is also good at the weekend but I miss the old days with Eoin, Murph and Ken.
    The start of the lunchtime show with Ciara Kelly on Newstalk was my daily que to switch the dial.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,456 ✭✭✭garrettod

My worst can be simply summarised as all of the stupid breakfast shows across multiple radio stations, that have a couple of presenters (usually one of each sex) taking absolute crap and thinking that they are hilarious. It's a sure fire way to make be change stration.

Notwithstanding the above, I do like a bit of talk radio - used to get a few laughs out of George Hook and Ivan Yates, enjoy Marion Finucan and even Pat Kenny (can't stand that plank Ryan Turbidy though).

I've zero time doh for any of the large night chat call in type chat shows on some of the radio stations - again, they just incentivise me to turn off.

Absolutely love a good run of uninterrupted music, but it's very hard to find, at least across the licensed radio stations

Thanks,

G.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,503 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

worst is Liveline as Joe Duffy is the most cynical of operators

best = Off the Ball circa ten years ago before the three guys left for internet radio

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,364 ✭✭✭✭dvcireland

draoicht wrote: »

Donal played some great stuff on that show. One bank holiday Monday he played a great set including my first hearing of Goreckis Symphony of Sorrowful Songs

bickering the exact work I had in mind...Eanna would cause a row in an empty room

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,593 ✭✭✭funkey_monkey

Joe Duffy - horrible - RTE's equivalent to Stephen Nolan on BBC NI.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,827 ✭✭✭StevenToast

The worst is by far Ryan Tubridy.....easiest hours work in radio...starts 5 minutes after 9am because of the news and morning Ireland running late...talks sh1te about random nonsense for 15-20mins, 1 soft interview for 10-15mins, 10 minutes of ads, 10 minutes of music....

He is an insufferable pr1ck....

"Don't piss down my back and tell me it's raining." - Fletcher

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,872 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

Best
    Gerry Anderson on BBC radio ulster.
    Such a quick witted presenter.
    It always reminds me of northern ireland and listening with my mum. The podcast is well worth a listen as well

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 98 ✭✭CylonXIII

Best: The Classics with Steve Downes (used to be on Radio Nova every Sunday night a few years ago)

Worst: Anything D'arcy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,730 ✭✭✭TheHomeService

I always enjoyed Jazz Alley with Donald Helme on Lyric.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 291 ✭✭Morathi

Love anything John Kelly does, and quite like listening to Pat Kenny on occasion.

I've also started to listen to the Purple Verpertine on Lyric, good stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,189 ✭✭✭mr_edge_to_you

Best for me:
    Dave Fanning of the 90s 8-10
    - I loved the sessions. They would make an excellent box set I reckon.
    - Fab 50 at Christmas was brilliant.

Aidan Leonard (2fm)
    - cool, straightforward, no nonsense music show with one or two competitions.

Off The Ball
    - its still quite good but when the original team (Second Captains) were there it was top quality broadcasting.

Martin King (Today FM weekend morning)
    - loved this show. He'd always give an AcDc tune a "spin". You could text in your requests and dedications and he'd read them out. Good fun.

Newstalk Breakfast (Ivan and Chris)
    - thought this was a great show.

Playback (RTE)
    - may be still on but not sure, nice round up of the week.

Maxi (RTE1 pre Morning Ireland)
    - great early start to do the day on a long commute. Would play as sorts and types of music. Nice friendly voice and a bit of chat.

I can't think of any particularly bad ones because I just don't bother with them but in recent months my wife has the radio permanently on 2fm. Louise McSharry has a show on Saturday and Sundays but it has the most unsuitable and uninteresting material/topics for a weekend morning slot - its "supposed" a music station.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 129 ✭✭irs

The worst is by far Ryan Tubridy.....easiest hours work in radio...starts 5 minutes after 9am because of the news and morning Ireland running late...talks sh1te about random nonsense for 15-20mins, 1 soft interview for 10-15mins, 10 minutes of ads, 10 minutes of music....

He is an insufferable pr1ck....

My mother who only listens to Northern Sound listened to an episode of Tubridy online a few months ago as there was a feature she was looking for. She asked me to to get full show for her and couldn't believe what she listened to was all there was.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,696 ✭✭✭dhaughton99

Eamon Dunphy when he was doing the drive time on today fm. Also, Donal Dinnen in the night time. Haven’t listened to the radio since Dinnen lost his gig.

Best - early Ray D'arcy show. This was when I first started listening to radio, it was an optimistic time, height of the Tiger and everyone had money and the show was good craic. And it had great audience involvement, fix it Friday was huge and people bought its books. And does anyone remember the "Us" book, hundreds of readers took a picture at the same time on a certain day and they were sent in. And there was good craic with himself and Will and Mairead, and a sexual tension with Jenny before they hooked up! Now he looks like all the life has been bled out of him.

Also Chris and Ivan. The odd couple isn't a new format but it really worked here. Ivan loved playing up to his role (which a lot of people don't understand) and there was genuine affection between them.

Moncrief - god bless the researchers and he handles it well. And I listen to the podcasts which are in nice short segments

Future proof - suprised this isn't mentioned yet. Fascinating and informative with a genuinely passionate host. And again, the podcasts are great.

Worst - Dill Vikram Asigne , if you can't get the jingle right you're screwed. That was my drive time at the weekend but it was so boring.

Ciara Kelly - she was always a good guest but her show is poor

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,094 ✭✭✭.anon.

Now he looks like all the life has been bled out of him.

His show nowadays could be summed up as one great big 90-minute sigh. Horrible radio, painful to listen to. Derek Mooney, for all his flaws, was much better in that slot - the sole reason being his sheer enthusiasm for whatever the topic happened to be. D'Arcy just sounds like he's hosting the show under duress. He needs to be put out of his misery. By far the worst thing on Irish radio. Bring back Rattlebag.

A dishonourable mention must go to Liveline, which badly needs a new host. Ideally one with no hobby horses or irritating verbal tics, so to speak.

The best Irish radio show? The Full Irish. I used to wake up early on my day off just to listen to it. Tubridy was surprisingly funny back then - there was some great back 'n forth between him and Shane O'Donoghue, who read the sports news on the show.

Eamon Dunphy when he was doing the drive time on today fm. Also, Donal Dinnen in the night time. Haven’t listened to the radio since Dinnen lost his gig.
    Navan Man & Bill Cullen sketches on Dunphys show were enjoyable , written by live hate Creator Stuart Carolan