Advertisement
If you have a new account but can't post, please email Niamh on [email protected] for help to verify your email address. Thanks :)
New AMA with a US police officer (he's back!). You can ask your questions here

Online interview for Civil Service role

• 22-06-2020 1:50pm
    Registered Users Posts: 853 Idjit

Due to Covid measures, my upcoming interview for promotion (to HEO) will be carried out in a video call. I've never done a video call interview before and any resources for HEO interviews specifically are related to in-person situations.

I know there are lots of resources for video interviews online but very little on Irish Civil Service interviews specifically.

Is anyone here in a similiar situation to me, or have you had a Civil Service interview online during the lockdown? I'd love to hear any tips you have or even anecdotes of how it went.

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 457 ✭✭ Smegging hell

• Registered Users Posts: 78 ✭✭✭ BMHOPE

Practice answering possible interview questions while recording yourself.

Type out answers to potential question, with key words highlighted, like a prompt card.

Make a list of points you want to get across in the interview.

Bring in a topical issue such as civil service renewal, pressures of covid etc. Make sure you have the topic well researched though.

Dress in comfortable businesses clothes.

Prepare for sticky question such as _ how did that example show your delivery of results, was that not just doing your job.

As there won't be the preparation and presentation exercise , there may be more questions that would normally be covered by doing this, such as undermotivated staff, problems with deadlines, budget constraints etc.