Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Advice please.

• 21-06-2020 11:04pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8

A farmer beside me left a dead cow and three dead calves on my land as he was due a farm inspection. In addition he had already sent some dead animals to the local knackery and didn't want to raise suspicion by sending more in a short period of time. His yard and my land are side by side. About two weeks later the animals were collected by the knackery but the remains of one calf were left. Only noticed when I was topping and came on remains. The smell was shocking and the ground is all blackened from where the other animals were hidden. I work away from farm and only picked up bits of the story from a mutual relation. Not his first time either, dead calves are often left out for the foxes to eat. What can I do with this idiot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,796 ✭✭✭148multi

Ben72 wrote: »
    A farmer beside me left a dead cow and three dead calves on my land as he was due a farm inspection. In addition he had already sent some dead animals to the local knackery and didn't want to raise suspicion by sending more in a short period of time. His yard and my land are side by side. About two weeks later the animals were collected by the knackery but the remains of one calf were left. Only noticed when I was topping and came on remains. The smell was shocking and the ground is all blackened from where the other animals were hidden. I work away from farm and only picked up bits of the story from a mutual relation. Not his first time either, dead calves are often left out for the foxes to eat. What can I do with this idiot.

Pictures and report in writing. No excuses.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 533 ✭✭✭RD10

Report. disgraceful carry on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,630 ✭✭✭memorystick

You don’t want that type of person as your friend. Hold your head up high and report him. I’d even tell him it was me. You wouldn’t want to be intimidated by a Snip like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,719 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Lads are right.
    No room for this behaviour and you have to ask why his mortality rates are so high.
    I’d be contacting the department and ISPCA today.

We did it years ago with a neighbor who would buy on old screw cows to fatten and a good few were dead in the fields at the same time. Problem cleared up right off.

This isn’t a case of its his business, this guy discredits every farmer in the country and jeopardises the whole industry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,217 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

The department are there to help too not to penalise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,630 ✭✭✭memorystick

whelan2 wrote: »
    The department are there to help too not to penalise.

There’s a few Mod Snip in there who like making hardship for some. A right Mod Snip

Mod note. I'm getting fed up editing your profanities from posts here. Either you desist from using such language or don't post . The choice is yours.
    Edit. Unless you've a link to back up your allegation I'm inclined to remove it . Thanks.
    GC

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 405 ✭✭Donegalforever

Tell your neighbour to lift his "rubbish" or you will have to get in tough with the Dept. of Ag. and the Environmental office.
    Also leave him in no doubt that your are putting an end to him dumping dead animals on your property

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8 Ben72

Thanks folks for the replies. The problem is we are related, if I report it, it would cause an awful split in the family and his father is a decent man. Saying that, I probably will report it. It seems to be any way but the right way with him. What sickens me is the fact he just dumped them on my land, no regard for anything and left one of them there to rot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,457 ✭✭✭✭Base price

Thanks folks for the replies. The problem is we are related, if I report it, it would cause an awful split in the family and his father is a decent man Saying that, I probably will report it. It seems to be any way but the right way with him. What sickens me is the fact he just dumped them on my land, no regard for anything and left one of them there to rot.
    As an alternative to going directly to DAFM maybe you could have a quiet word with his Vet.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 9,041 Mod ✭✭✭✭greysides

The vet is limited in what he can do too.

The aim of argument, or of discussion, should not be victory, but progress. Joseph Joubert

The ultimate purpose of debate is not to produce consensus. It's to promote critical thinking.

Adam Grant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,719 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Hang him out.

Was he thinking of the mess he’d have you in when he was dumping dead animals in your land, what if they had been found ??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,181 ✭✭✭Lady Haywire

That is disgraceful carry on, I honestly wouldn't pass one bit of heed being related to him & I'd get on to the Dept.
    If you're dead set against that though, as you say the Father is a decent man. Have a word with him perhaps & he can maybe set the son straight on what will & will not be tolerated.

Another point not brought up yet is what about the disease these carcasses could have brought on to your land, left rotting on the ground. Isn't that how botulism is spread? It's disgusting farming practice & the sort of thing which gives a bad name to farmers. Surely something isn't right on his place if he's losing so many stock too, hiding the bodies for a few weeks won't make that problem go away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,883 ✭✭✭Lime Tree Farm

That is disgraceful carry on, I honestly wouldn't pass one bit of heed being related to him & I'd get on to the Dept.
    If you're dead set against that though, as you say the Father is a decent man. Have a word with him perhaps & he can maybe set the son straight on what will & will not be tolerated.

Another point not brought up yet is what about the disease these carcasses could have brought on to your land, left rotting on the ground. Isn't that how botulism is spread? It's disgusting farming practice & the sort of thing which gives a bad name to farmers. Surely something isn't right on his place if he's losing so many stock too, hiding the bodies for a few weeks won't make that problem go away.

Maybe if he cared properly for his animals, and sent for the Vet when needed, he wouldn't have that many casualties. An absolute disgrace to have someone like that in charge of animals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,808 ✭✭✭✭Water John

By going the official Dept route, the issue is then out of your control. Approach some other family member who'll clearly convey the message to him, or do it yourself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 675 ✭✭✭LilacNails

You have to report this man OP, related or not, the suffering the animals are going/have gone through..... For what? Cause some careless fool can't be bothered to mind them properly?

This makes my blood boil. This man should NOT be allowed to keep any animal. He clearly hasn't the intelligence, or the decency to properly dispose them, let alone look after them.

People who do things like this most have some mental issues, and that's not a dig at him.

Please do the right thing OP and report him. This has to stop, there will only be more animals suffering because of this lousy bastard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 734 ✭✭✭longgonesilver

Ben, any idea why the farmer is losing so many animals at the moment?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,813 ✭✭✭kk.man

Hold on a second. This behaviour can be an illness too, depression, alcoholism etc. Not for one moment am I condoning it.

I know of a case where a neighbour went to a local guard. Guards dealt with it and they never told where info came from.

Definately not a depression or alcoholism issue with him. To be fair, he does call the vet, I have seen that for myself. I think its just a case of when they die, he doesn't care about regulations or anybody other than himself. Not sure why there is a high mortality rate, its ususlly calves and I had always put it down to him not cleaning his sheds. Dairy farmer, so the financial loss of a calf is not massive. He is one of these people who has always got away with stuff, he is like teflon. He isn't a young fella, nearly fifty, married with children and without doubt knows what he is doing is wrong. Not sure if talking to his father would help, he is bull thick and wouldnt listen to him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 476 ✭✭jntsnk

Report him. Not acceptable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,194 ✭✭✭alps

The Dept, Gardai, and IFA have what's called an "early warning system". Ring the Gardai or your local IFA office who will pass on the details without involving you. They will treat the case sensitively, determining if along with animal welfare issues that there are mental or financial drivers to the situtation.

The man might just be acting the downright bo###x or he may need help.

In any case, it will never be known who made the call.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,460 ✭✭✭tractorporn

Tell him you've had an unannounced inspection and the Department man was doing fierce questioning of you about the smell and the area of black ground and that he was asking plenty of questions about next door and the rumours that there is high mortality. Might put the frighteners on him that the Department are talking about him?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,808 ✭✭✭✭Water John

Tell him you've had an unannounced inspection and the Department man was doing fierce questioning of you about the smell and the area of black ground and that he was asking plenty of questions about next door and the rumours that there is high mortality. Might put the frighteners on him that the Department are talking about him?

If that doesn't work then he knows who is annoyed with him. Either go with what Alps said or direct open conversation with him or via intermediary.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 344 ✭✭Hershall

Was it a Dept. inspection he had. Im just wondering how the animals weren't missed. If the cat was missing around here the Dept. man would cop it.......

Not sure if it was a Dept inspection or an inspection as he is supplying milk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,246 ✭✭✭Good loser

The number of animal deaths he has means he is being cruel and not treating his animals properly. This situation should not be allowed continue - however it's stopped.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,217 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Good loser wrote: »
    The number of animal deaths he has means he is being cruel and not treating his animals properly. This situation should not be allowed continue - however it's stopped.

No it does not. He could have had an outbreak of crypto or pneumonia or something. These things happen to the best of farmers too.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 4,056 Mod ✭✭✭✭Siamsa Sessions

alps wrote: »
    The Dept, Gardai, and IFA have what's called an "early warning system". Ring the Gardai or your local IFA office who will pass on the details without involving you. They will treat the case sensitively, determining if along with animal welfare issues that there are mental or financial drivers to the situtation.

The man might just be acting the downright bo###x or he may need help.

In any case, it will never be known who made the call.

100% agree - call the IFA county chair and have a chat. Your mental health is as important as his and this situation is obviously not doing much for your well-being. There's help there - act now and reach out for it.

Trading as Sullivan’s Farm on YouTube

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,829 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

It would be stinking, but sure just take the remains that are left. Either bring them on the front loader and leave them at his yeard gate, or if they are broken up, lob them across the hedge with a pitchfork into the middle of his field.

Edit: Although you could also first give him the chance to remove them. That might be the better option.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10 smallcows

You would expect the milk purchaser to be aware of the conditions when they collect milk. If this farm was randomly picked for inspection by an international buyer he could do a lot of harm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,333 ✭✭✭✭wrangler

whelan2 wrote: »
    No it does not. He could have had an outbreak of crypto or pneumonia or something. These things happen to the best of farmers too.

Definitely these things happen, but farmers don't dump the carcases on their neighbours, that's acting the pup