Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cheap reliable car 2k

• 19-06-2020 6:09pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 524 ✭✭✭

Hello,

I would appreciate some guidance on a cheap car. I need to get something relatively quick as my old golf has given up the ghost.

I dont know much about cars, I just need something cheap an reliable that will be a kind of stop gap car for a year or two, please god. I do a 60k round trip for work. I also go out west a lot from Dublin

Looking at spending +/- 2k. Diesel or petrol. I dont care about looks. Estate or hatchback or at least a bit of space for gear/equipment. Reasonable mileage for 2k.

I know there is a discussion on cheap cars in the Bangernomics thread so I hope Im not wasting time here. The nature of that thread tends towards the lower end of the 2k limit and I was wondering about cars nearer the 2000+ mark that could maybe be bargained down.

I am not looking for specific links to ads.

I am more looking for some advice on what makes and models I should be looking for.

I know for this money its a gamble but I'm kinda stuck at the moment and I need a stop gap car.

I know asking for cheap reliable car may be a contradiction in terms but anything approaching a happy middle would be good.

Thanks for reading and I appreciate any and all advice.

Cheers,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,003 ✭✭✭handlemaster

I'd there such a thing. Cheap and reliable?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 524 ✭✭✭Exar Khun

I'd there such a thing. Cheap and reliable?

I did say it might be a contradiction in terms but any models that might be older that have a reputation as reliable might be what I meant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,360 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

There is a huge bangernomics thread here already with the same criteria:

https://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2057996773&page=340

bazz26 wrote: »
    There is a huge bangernomics thread here already with the same criteria:

https://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2057996773&page=340

Thanks man.

Yeh I've been reading through that some good stuff.

It does seem to be random models and makes ranging from 350-2500

I have 2000 I can spend. I am wondering what company makes and models I should be looking at to get the best chance of a good stop gap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 170 ✭✭JCN12

Perhaps keep an eye out for a well maintained 08/09 Astra/ Ford Focus.

Probably where the best value is to found at the moment, unless you have a preference for gadgets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,632 ✭✭✭Aint Eazy Being Cheezy

Exar Khun wrote: »
    Thanks man.

Yeh I've been reading through that some good stuff.

It does seem to be random models and makes ranging from 350-2500

I have 2000 I can spend. I am wondering what company makes and models I should be looking at to get the best chance of a good stop gap.

Don’t assume that just because it costs €2k that it will be more reliable than one costing €1k. Make, model, age, colour & mileage all affect the price, but aren’t necessarily an indicator of reliability. A happy medium for you maybe to spend €1k and keep €1k for potential repairs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,644 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

Renault Clio, megane, fluence or Laguna. 1.5dci well used across manufacturers. Reliable
    Skoda fabia, Octavia or superb.
    Kia ceed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,655 ✭✭✭Wildly Boaring

Older japanese /Korean petrols would be my first thoughts.

Brother sold on his mazda 3 at Christmas. 2007, 1.3 petrol, unstoppable. Minor rust but flying through nct. That's the sort of car I'd be looking at for a stop gap.

Lot of the below 2k cars will have higher tax. Need to take into account.

Don’t assume that just because it costs €2k that it will be more reliable than one costing €1k.

That's a very good point.

Renault Clio, megane, fluence or Laguna. 1.5dci well used across manufacturers. Reliable
    Kia ceed.

Ill have a look out for these. Thanks.

Older japanese /Korean petrols would be my first thoughts.

Brother sold on his mazda 3 at Christmas. 2007, 1.3 petrol, unstoppable. Minor rust but flying through nct. That's the sort of car I'd be looking at for a stop gap.

Lot of the below 2k cars will have higher tax. Need to take into account.

I had seen a few mazdas that seemed to fit the bill.

What about this?

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/mazda-3-clean/25100097

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,578 ✭✭✭monkeysnapper

Like that has already been said a 1k car is potentially going to be as reliable as a 2k ...

4 years ago I was in a very similar position as you and I bought a 2006 citroen c4 for €2,200 that drove nice and looked showroom condition .... within 3 months I'd sank about 700 into it because head gasket went..... an absolute dissaster followed shortly by another 200 for other stuff ..... totally depressing but I decided to go with it and take chance.....

I owned that car after for 4 years and never spent another dime on it and sold it for 1000 .... drove to uk 4 times in it.

Anyway if it was me I'd look at a roughly €1000/ €1200 car and use the extra cash as an emergency fund...

I think astra would be ok personally or a Corolla maybe .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,191 ✭✭✭RandomViewer

Kia ceed.

Kia is okay, the Renaults aren't,

Toyota Auris ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,092 ✭✭✭The Tetrarch

Toyota Auris ?
    I had one from new. It was so reliable it was boring.
    Get in, turn the key, drive.
    The other plus is it is a retired person's car (like me) and you often get one with very low mileage.

4 years ago I was in a very similar position as you

Thanks for the insight.

As you and others have said. I should probably be looking cheaper and keeping extra cash for emergencies.

I hadnt been looking at the circa 1k range because I assumed they would be lemons.

Corolla seems to have a good rep.

I had one from new. It was so reliable it was boring.
    Get in, turn the key, drive.
    The other plus is it is a retired person's car (like me) and you often get one with very low mileage.

Interesting. That might be the ticket. Appreciate you and randomviewers suggestion.

Kia is okay, the Renaults aren't,

Mark3 Renault are as reliable or more then many other manufacturers.

The electronic gremlins were taken care of.

I've a 2011 and had 213k km on it now 267k km and going strong.
    Serviced it myself twice.

These can be picked up for around the €2k mark

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,169 ✭✭✭antimatterx

My parents an 2008 Opel astra about 3 years for 2.5K. It's been a very reliable car, hasn't broken down. Yes it needed some work throughout he years, but it's pretty solid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,531 ✭✭✭Car99

I had a 1.9 tdi 99 golf for nearly 16 years but in the end I had to retire it when I was saving €500 on tax per year and €400 per year on insurance by moving up to an A4 2.0tdi less than 1p years old. Is buying an older car a false economy if you do the sums?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,005 ✭✭✭Green farmer

Car99 wrote: »
    I had a 1.9 tdi 99 golf for nearly 16 years but in the end I had to retire it when I was saving €500 on tax per year and €400 per year on insurance by moving up to an A4 2.0tdi less than 1p years old. Is buying an older car a false economy if you do the sums?

All swings and roundabouts. On a average midsized new car, it'll loose 3 grand a year on depreciation, but you'll have no worries about expensive repair bills. If you've a old car, alot less or no depreciation, but then the extra fuel and repairs costs, in addition to the worry about it breaking down. After that depends what you want to spend your money on and what other financial commitments you have in your life. No real right or wrong answer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,057 ✭✭✭mulbot

A 1.4 litre petrol Ford focus, bombproof cars once they've been serviced regularly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 258 ✭✭Wanderer19

I'd definitely stay away from Renault, had 2, both money pits, and one was only 5 years old.
    Almeras, Micras for Nissan, Fiestas and Focus for Ford and Skodas would be my recommendations.

Toyotas, chevrolets and golfs aren't bad either

Wanderer19 wrote: »
    I'd definitely stay away from Renault, had 2, both money pits, and one was only 5 years old.
    Almeras, Micras for Nissan, Fiestas and Focus for Ford and Skodas would be my recommendations.

Toyotas, chevrolets and golfs aren't bad either

Almera are dirt and thirsty feckers, Micra pre 2003 were good.

Focus 1.4 were dirt also.

I guess it's Toyotas then.

If you could haggle this down to 2k then it might do the job:

OWM3NTg0YjIxYTQwNzAwYTg5YjUwZWQ1Y2ZmNTgxY2Xrsrxf_o7y3hM5Ubz7u7cbaHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b18xNDc3NjY0MTR8fHw2MDB4NjAwfHx8fHx8fHw=.jpeg

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/kia-ceed/24935542

Just as reliable as a Toyota.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,224 ✭✭✭WestWicklow1

Kia Ceed 1.6 diesel. Try to stretch to the 2010 (nicer gearbox than the 2008/2009). The estate is really nice. €280.00 / €200.00 road tax.

NOT MY CAR - https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/2010-kia-ceed-crdi/25001956

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 472 ✭✭Turbohymac

What ever you do stay well clear of opel / Vauxhall complete crap buckets.. maybe a well minded Octavia or fabia estate..

Kia Ceed 1.6 diesel. Try to stretch to the 2010 (nicer gearbox than the 2008/2009). The estate is really nice. €280.00 / €200.00 road tax.

Very viable thanks

What's reliability like on the 1.6 diesal versus the 1.4 petrol in the Kia's ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,539 ✭✭✭dobman88

This car looks good in the ad and posted by a reliable member too. If I didnt get my missus a car last week I'd snap this up tbh
    https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/volvo-s40-ncttax-low-mileage-67000-miles/25128403

ZTY5NzE3ODRkMjU4YTc0MDVkNjFkYWZjMWExMzg5YTXkufNfF5Rca68-scvNXtD2aHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b18xNDkzODMzNjN8fHw2MDB4NjAwfHx8fHx8fHw=.jpeg

Cheap petrol (flexifuel) S40 claiming 67k miles and 1 previous owner, NCT til January and tax til November, €999

Could well be worth a look. Unfortunate graze on back nearside arch though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 258 ✭✭Wanderer19

I've had 2 Micras both pre 03, hubby ran one into the ground and it still kept going. hubby now has an 05 Micra, bought in 2016, no problems.

I'd a 5yo almeras for 5 years, only let it go because bits (rear heater not working - not mechanical problems) started to go on it, then got a Suzuki, which was brought back after the weekend and got another almeras. Both provided good mileage, and I was doing approx 1,000k a week, so mpg was an important buying point for me.

Daughter has had an 04 fiesta for 2 years, no problem. A friend has an 06 focus for 8 years, no problems.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,224 ✭✭✭WestWicklow1

What's reliability like on the 1.6 diesal versus the 1.4 petrol in the Kia's ?

I only have experience of the 1.6 crdi. Bought three years ago. 150k kms added without as much as a hiccup.

I know of another with a lot more kms on it than mine and it's as reliable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,321 ✭✭✭alan partridge aha

I'd go for 1.4 petrol Corolla hatch, 06 or you might get an 07. They are a superior car to the Auris which replaced them and are bomb proof. The late Luna ones have ac and radio controls on steering wheel and ain't bad looking.

bazz26 wrote: »
    If you could haggle this down to 2k then it might do the job:

OWM3NTg0YjIxYTQwNzAwYTg5YjUwZWQ1Y2ZmNTgxY2Xrsrxf_o7y3hM5Ubz7u7cbaHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b18xNDc3NjY0MTR8fHw2MDB4NjAwfHx8fHx8fHw=.jpeg

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/kia-ceed/24935542

Just as reliable as a Toyota.

Diesel ones don't like being driven slow, DPF,

Turbohymac wrote: »
    What ever you do stay well clear of opel / Vauxhall complete crap buckets.. maybe a well minded Octavia or fabia estate..

What's the going rate for an insignia these days? Money with?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,029 ✭✭✭um7y1h83ge06nx

What's the going rate for an insignia these days? Money with?

Insignias are very hit and miss cars, especially the early ones. Look nice I think but fairly Shiite to say the least.

Brother in law has a 12, engine went, gearbox went, serious rust issues, stuck with the fxxker ,hard to believe how bad they've got compared to the old Vectras

Diesel ones don't like being driven slow, DPF,

That one is petrol. ;)

Wanderer19 wrote: »
    I've had 2 Micras both pre 03, hubby ran one into the ground and it still kept going. hubby now has an 05 Micra, bought in 2016, no problems.

I'd a 5yo almeras for 5 years, only let it go because bits (rear heater not working - not mechanical problems) started to go on it, then got a Suzuki, which was brought back after the weekend and got another almeras. Both provided good mileage, and I was doing approx 1,000k a week, so mpg was an important buying point for me.

Daughter has had an 04 fiesta for 2 years, no problem. A friend has an 06 focus for 8 years, no problems.

You're having a laugh the Almera were dirt, gearbox, clutch and mpg was shocking bad for a 1.5.
    My 2 litre had a better mpg.

Hey, appreciate the advice guys.

Im going to look for kia, Toyotas, and others suggested here.

Fair play.

One extra question.

If im looking at 2006 -2009 Skodas. What engines should i concentrate on?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 808 ✭✭✭FrankC21

Can't go wrong with a ford fiesta, an all-rounder, used it to move boxes of tiles and still suspension is good as new, mine was 265k when I let her go.

Too old, high tax, thirsty,

For a skoda superb what year onwards would the O.P need to look at, if they still wanted to get a reliable superb, even though it might be outside their budget ?

No point buying something with €700 tax on it, insurance gets a bit iffy over 12 years old as well, 2010 up, bound to be Ford's and Kias falling into that price range by now, Nissan Note and the entire Citroen range must be close to that price , Berlingo Multispace might be a runner, Seat might be cheaper than a Skoda for mechanically the same car

FrankC21 wrote: »
    Can't go wrong with a ford fiesta, an all-rounder, used it to move boxes of tiles and still suspension is good as new, mine was 265k when I let her go.

Will you stop, it was too expensive when you bought it and nothing close to what you actually should have bought for the driving you do.

Fiesta are great for city driving not for what you bought it for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,257 ✭✭✭chicorytip

Ford Fusion 1.4 petrol or diesel. Rugged, reliable and fairly cheap compared to the Focus or Golf.