Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

RTE does comic relief

• Registered Users Posts: 1,906 ✭✭✭Banana Republic.

Ol' Donie wrote: »
    Ah, flip did I miss Pat?

This is a good idea, but I can't deny the feeling that I'm primed and ready to cringe at any moment.

I know it’s terrible as it’s for a great cause.

• Registered Users Posts: 81,073 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

Is that why Eoin wasn’t on the breakfast show all week so he could rehearse for this?

Probably away having that jacket he's wearing made from the fluff off the seats of a 1982 Ford Cortina.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,571 ✭✭✭✭Ol' Donie

Skid X wrote: »
    Neil Delamare

I like Neil

token positive comment of the night from me

Ah, he has his moments alright.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,282 ✭✭✭✭salmocab

giphy.gif

Be quiet you awful comedians.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,851 Mod ✭✭✭✭Insect Overlord

Cole wrote: »
    Why would Pat Shortt's sketch have been funny in 1995 but not in 2020?

Because when I was 7 years old I might have laughed at the idea of a Kerryman with a hurley.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,534 ✭✭✭Chalk McHugh

Ah, he has his moments alright.

Yea Delamere is good to be fair. Little baldy culchie head on him :)

Shame David O'Doherty is (presumably) not on this.

His Isolating podcast finished today after doing an episode every day from Achill where he was with his parents during lockdown.

I've listened to every single one, but I don't know if I'm able for the last one ever. Twas the best thing about this who mess.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,826 ✭✭✭Truthvader

Pat Shortt doing a "funny voice". Gone already

M

David McSavage doing his finest Joe Duffy would have been ideal tonight.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,990 ✭✭✭✭Purple Mountain

Truthvader wrote: »
    Pat Shortt doing a "funny voice". Gone already

That's the worst I've ever seen him.

To thine own self be true

Is this bit about Micheál Martin being made Taoiseach part of Comic Relief?

I mean, he was a TD in the goverment that brought the country to it's knees, right?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,734 ✭✭✭ShatterProof

Who is the guy in the chair asking the questions?

Colm O’Regan. Think he wrote the Irish mammies / Anne Devine books

David McSavage doing his finest Joe Duffy would have been ideal tonight.

3 hours of the Bull Mick was the way to go for this. I’d have donated.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,492 ✭✭✭Sir Oxman

The rest of the cast would have collectively choked on their soy lattes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 873 ✭✭✭StackSteevens

Is this bit about Micheál Martin being made Taoiseach part of Comic Relief?

I mean, he was a TD in the goverment that brought the country to it's knees, right?

No. He was a Minister.

Yeah, sorry, that's what I meant.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,870 ✭✭✭Hangdogroad

murpho999 wrote: »
    I wish RTE and Irish Independent would stop thinkiing that firstly Amy Huberman is anyway funny or that Irish people view her and BOD as a special celebrity couple.

She was in it? OK that's it. The Indo will declare it "a triumph".

• Registered Users Posts: 31,816 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

Colm O’Regan. Think he wrote the Irish mammies / Anne Devine books
    He is really funny.
    He runs a night in kilmainham which is excellent.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,580 ✭✭✭Glebee

Have I missed Jason Byrne???

Is this bit about the guards rescuing yer woman & her dog for comic relief?

Hugs all round and then the guard who says he's not great with dogs...or water!

M

Is this bit about the guards rescuing yer woman & her dog for comic relief?

Hugs all round and then the guard who says he's not great with dogs...or water!

A dangerous looking culvert all the same, should be sealed up with railings.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,747 ✭✭✭fleet_admiral

Me too, I miss the Bull

M

The gear Siobhan is wearing for the weather, jaysus, Lara Croft material.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,990 ✭✭✭✭Purple Mountain

If the last 2 hours miraculously happen to be brilliant, I'd imagine a lot of people already have turned off.

To thine own self be true

• Registered Users Posts: 11,619 ✭✭✭✭Jordan 199

The gear Siobhan is wearing for the weather, jaysus, Lara Croft material.
    Tomb Raiding :)

I keep expecting that voice to start going on about appliances delivered.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,230 ✭✭✭✭fritzelly

Was that meant to be funny?

• Registered Users Posts: 51 ✭✭eprndrgst

Storm 10 wrote: »
    Here ya go

Hosted by Deirdre O'Kane, Nicky Byrne, Jennifer Zamparelli and Eoghan McDermott,

https://www.rte.ie/entertainment/2020/0609/1146299-rte-announces-emergency-comic-relief-fundraiser/

That sounds painful!

• Registered Users Posts: 18,069 ✭✭✭✭fryup

"i'm surrounded by queeeeeeeeers!!!!"

• Registered Users Posts: 1,906 ✭✭✭Banana Republic.

The less I see of the studio the less I have to cringe, jaysus lads the production is pee poor