Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Newstalk: 'Lunchtime Live' with Andrea Gilligan

• Registered Users Posts: 2,674 ✭✭✭4Ad

I had the misfortune of having the radio tuned into Newstalk this morning as I switched it on..
    I haven't moved that quick that to change station in a long time, just the sound of her voice...aghhhhh....

• Registered Users Posts: 12,365 ✭✭✭✭mariaalice

Am I not getting it or something? caught a clip with Andrea Gilligan sounds like the worse almost shock jock drivel.

Id say the production meeting would be great to eves drop on, how to whip it up a bit while simultaneously attempting to pretend its serious journalism.

Its Joe Duffy for a younger generation.

mariaalice wrote: »
    Am I not getting it or something? caught a clip with Andrea Gilligan sounds like the worse almost shock jock drivel.

Id say the production meeting would be great to eves drop on, how to whip it up a bit while simultaneously attempting to pretend its serious journalism.

Ciara Kelly used to get a lot of slagging here but Andrea Gilligan is the pits.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,365 ✭✭✭Higgins5473

Corcaigh84 wrote: »
    What controversy were they talking about in a Carlow school? I missed the actual details

The kids from the school went home with some version of events of what was said to them by staff which was completely untrue. *SHOCK HORROR*. Some eejit put a post up on Facebook which was a completely untrue. The parents went on a warpath accusing the school of all sorts because the facebook post was of course completely true and accurate. Ends up in the media. Ciara Kelly throws a wobbler in support of the students and accuses the school of misogyny and male staff seem to be perverts without doing a single bit of fact checking. Principal releases a statement which gives a true account of what was said and the whole thing turns out to be a load of bollocks.

What happened next?

Ciara of course, issues a lengthy statement the following morning apologising for her rant and accusations the previous day which were totally unfounded.

or

Nothing said, move along, reputations damaged but who cares.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,594 ✭✭✭joebloggs32

The kids from the school went home with some version of events of what was said to them by staff which was completely untrue. *SHOCK HORROR*. Some eejit put a post up on Facebook which was a completely untrue. The parents went on a warpath accusing the school of all sorts because the facebook post was of course completely true and accurate. Ends up in the media. Ciara Kelly throws a wobbler in support of the students and accuses the school of misogyny and male staff seem to be perverts without doing a single bit of fact checking. Principal releases a statement which gives a true account of what was said and the whole thing turns out to be a load of bollocks.

What happened next?

Ciara of course, issues a lengthy statement the following morning apologising for her rant and accusations the previous day which were totally unfounded.

or

Nothing said, move along, reputations damaged but who cares.

And dont forget too the newstalj reporter who couldn't tweet quick enough has now deleted the tweet thst sent the whole thing viral.....no apology though.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,365 ✭✭✭✭mariaalice

I suppose unlike public broadcasting commercial radio is dependant on advertising revenue to a large extent, so the presenters must be under a lot of pressure because they will be booted out if they are not bringing in revenue. That possibly shapes a lot of the content.

• Registered Users Posts: 295 ✭✭gourcuff

4Ad wrote: »
    I had the misfortune of having the radio tuned into Newstalk this morning as I switched it on..
    I haven't moved that quick that to change station in a long time, just the sound of her voice...aghhhhh....

love the donegal accent personally, there are loads of mid atlantic alternatives on irish radio, personally would hate to not have irish accents represented on irish radio...

• Registered Users Posts: 16,693 ✭✭✭✭BPKS

And dont forget too the newstalj reporter who couldn't tweet quick enough has now deleted the tweet thst sent the whole thing viral.....no apology though.

I heard the "reporter" one getting her knickers in a twist about this on The Hard Shoulder. Casey something or other was her name.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,477 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

BPKS wrote: »
    I heard the "reporter" one getting her knickers in a twist about this on The Hard Shoulder. Casey something or other was her name.

Kacey O'Riordan.

That caller needs to take the phone out of her mouth.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,479 ✭✭✭Kamili

Ciara Kelly used to get a lot of slagging here but Andrea Gilligan is the pits.

I've just had this on and had to turn it off. Is it policy to interrupt callers constantly to get the next person on? Perpetually talking over them basically saying they need to go to another caller for them to do the same thing again to the new caller.
    Really really awful to listen to. Whats the point inviting callers in and not even allowing them speak?

Kamili wrote: »
    I've just had this on and had to turn it off. Is it policy to interrupt callers constantly to get the next person on? Perpetually talking over them basically saying they need to go to another caller for them to do the same thing again to the new caller.
    Really really awful to listen to. Whats the point inviting callers in and not even allowing them speak?
    Someone said earlier in the thread that Andrea Gilligan sounds like she should be on Midlands FM, not NewsTalk. Love him or hate him, Pat Kenny is a very professional radio host so its quite jarring to go from him to Andrea.

Its a bit like Sunday nights on RTE One going from the news to The Den.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,479 ✭✭✭Kamili

Someone said earlier in the thread that Andrea Gilligan sounds like she should be on Midlands FM, not NewsTalk. Love him or hate him, Pat Kenny is a very professional radio host so its quite jarring to go from him to Andrea.

Its a bit like Sunday nights on RTE One going from the news to The Den.

I have to agree, it's really difficult to listen to, with lots of "ah here now you can't be saying that" type of interruptions from the host. Don't put the person on if you're not willing to listen to their point of view let alone interview properly!

Really can't listen to it at all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,415 ✭✭✭generalgerry

Kacey O'Riordan.

Yeah she really needs to take a long look at herself. She was so fixed supporting her feminist agenda, she never checked the facts. I wonder will the school principal take action. He would surely be well within his rights to take a case against all of the media outlets that reported this.

• Registered Users Posts: 28,812 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

mariaalice wrote: »

This best describes it for me.

I couldn't put my finger on why I couldn't bear it, but I'm completely allergic.

Shock jock/ JD just about sums it up.

Awful radio.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,363 ✭✭✭✭Del.Monte

What ever shred of credibility she had gone today when talking to a Yank she said "are we a bit clicky? Despite being a bogger she then continued by running down Irish cuisine...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 291 ✭✭Morathi

It's painful to listen to.

Adults finding it hard to make adult friends is not a uniquely Irish issue.

I cant listen to Andrea Gilligan, I've given her a chance...... and I can't listen to Ronan Collins but today made a great discovery when I switched to Niall Boylan on Classic Hits. At least he is not just rehashing stuff and using stupid PC soundbites. He has the balls to say it like it is.

• Registered Users Posts: 388 ✭✭insert name here 123

Turned it on today for background noise, god she really is painful. Way out of her depth here. Better off sticking to the other slot she had.

Constantly interrupting, and seems unsure of what follow up questions to be asking.

I will be changing the dial now permanently at lunch time.

Andrea, if you reading this, nothing personal, it's me not you. I know you will find happiness again. Love x

• Registered Users Posts: 19,579 ✭✭✭✭Ol' Donie

Holy christ jesus Mary and joseph and all the angels and saints

Is Kids Talk back? The single worst idea in the history of radio just keeps popping up over actual years and years.

What is the point of this section? What is the point????

• Registered Users Posts: 922 ✭✭✭mikep

I gave it 5 mins or so again..

Absolute drivel...

mikep wrote: »
    I gave it 5 mins or so again..

Absolute drivel...

Yep. About the same for me.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,542 ✭✭✭Allinall

Ol' Donie wrote: »
    Holy christ jesus Mary and joseph and all the angels and saints

Is Kids Talk back? The single worst idea in the history of radio just keeps popping up over actual years and years.

What is the point of this section? What is the point????

It's to hear what kids have to say about stuff.

I thought that would be obvious to most.

• Registered Users Posts: 322 ✭✭plastic glass

Turned it on today for background noise, god she really is painful. Way out of her depth here. Better off sticking to the other slot she had.

Constantly interrupting, and seems unsure of what follow up questions to be asking.

I will be changing the dial now permanently at lunch time.

Andrea, if you reading this, nothing personal, it's me not you. I know you will find happiness again. Love x

I kinda agree. While my opinion is not as strong as yours I just don’t she is good enough for a daily 2 hour show. I do blame the producers and direction to an extent though. Not really sure what the show wants to be. I think somebody like Jess Kelly in that slot would be great. Lovely to listen to and never seems to interrupt. Not sure what she is like in CA though

Ah God. You can hear the loss in his voice :(

• Registered Users Posts: 2,669 ✭✭✭jay0109

Guest presenter today is Hazel Chu, Green party Lord Mayor of Dublin.

If she doesn't get elected at the next heneral election it certainly won't be the fault of the MSM who have promoted her at every possible opportunity

• Registered Users Posts: 28,670 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

jay0109 wrote: »
    Guest presenter today is Hazel Chu, Green party Lord Mayor of Dublin.

If she doesn't get elected at the next heneral election it certainly won't be the fault of the MSM who have promoted her at every possible opportunity

I switched off at the promise of a topic of "integration" coming up.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,472 ✭✭✭Grolschevik

_Kaiser_ wrote: »
    I switched off at the promise of a topic of "integration" coming up.

What do you have against maths?

• Registered Users Posts: 12,363 ✭✭✭✭Del.Monte

She spent the first thirty minutes of the show saying that she was standing in for Andrea Galligan - eventually corrected. All I heard was nothing more than a left wing, feminist, politically correct, pro-immigration echo chamber with her pals ringing in. Dreadful stuff even by the very low standards of Newstalk.

The environment hadn't been mentioned once in the 90 minutes or more that I listened to - is she in the Green Party or a member of People Before Profit/Sinn Fein/Socialist Workers Party? Another reason, along with Eamonn Ryan's pathetic performance, that my subscription to the party is on hold - probably permanently.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,441 ✭✭✭Heroditas

Del.Monte wrote: »
    She spent the first thirty minutes of the show saying that she was standing in for Andrea Galligan - eventually corrected. All I heard was nothing more than a left wing, feminist, politically correct, pro-immigration echo chamber with her pals ringing in. Dreadful stuff even by the very low standards of Newstalk.

The environment hadn't been mentioned once in the 90 minutes or more that I listened to - is she in the Green Party or a member of People Before Profit/Sinn Fein/Socialist Workers Party? Another reason, along with Eamonn Ryan's pathetic performance, that my subscription to the party is on hold - probably permanently.

That's one of my biggest gripes about the Greens recently. They seem to have morphed into a party focussing on populist social issues