Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What do you do on Saturday night now

• 23-05-2020 11:09pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,585 ✭✭✭✭

While I would not have gone to the pub on every Saturday night. I have gone every second one and be at something else other wise. As this wiy go on for a while what were you doing tonight.

In own case tonight, I had dinner around 7pm went for an hour's walk and after that a shower. So after that was watching some TV and decided I have a drink. Normally never measure my drinks. But my daughter had the shot measure so I am measured my drinks. I had a bottle of Jameson stoutcask whiskey and I have had 3 doubles. At present I watching Rod Stewart.

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,046 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

Reading tweets from eejits going on about misrepresenting words and libellous and getting solicitors involved over what's said on a Saturday morning on Damien O Reilly's Countrywide radio show on the subject of the national herd.

Pure unadulterated escapism.
    For the zinger I was watching Normal People at the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 877 ✭✭✭Sacrolyte

Filth

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,630 ✭✭✭memorystick

Empty the bag.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,358 Mod ✭✭✭✭K.G.

While I would not have gone to the pub on every Saturday night. I have gone every second one and be at something else other wise. As this wiy go on for a while what were you doing tonight.

In own case tonight, I had dinner around 7pm went for an hour's walk and after that a shower. So after that was watching some TV and decided I have a drink. Normally never measure my drinks. But my daughter had the shot measure so I am measured my drinks. I had a bottle of Jameson stoutcask whiskey and I have had 3 doubles. At present I watching Rod Stewart.
    Came in at 9 which would be earlier than usual and had dinner and started watching a film called "baby driver".Saturday night wouldn't have been a big thing for us anyway but god do we miss the sport.i always liked taking them to games and training as we used have great chats going to and fro whereas now if im honest we re all abit sick of each other.they have been working away the 0ast few weeks so we said we d get them new bikes yesterday -something they could make abit of headway on.you cant get a bike for love nor money at the minute.so the eldest opened up on the way home oulining how bad his life was for him and do you know i had alot sympathy for him.he had great.friends,a job lined up,going well at sport,and a nice girlfriend and the whole thing was wiped out.so last night it suited me fine to watch a.film on my own.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,611 ✭✭✭Mooooo

Ordered a bike for the godchild from cycle superstore took 4/5 weeks to arrive.
    Tis all getting sickening tbh, normally be quiet enough thru the spring but would start getting a few nights out after but not even going out for the dinner of a Sunday or something is a bollix. Brother was to be married next wkend as well so will see if anything can be done there for em.
    Did a zoom call with the lads and twas grand, will do something similar next wkend, better than nothing. One of em tried poker over it with a work crowd so will see if that was any good when he reports back

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,217 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

You only realise how much you were doing when you're not doing it anymore. Rushing to get milking done to get kids to school in the morning. Rushing to get milking done in evening to go to football or whatever. Games or races at weekends. Training, playdates etc. All wiped out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,719 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Haven’t gone to a pub on a Saturday night in years so no changes here.

We’re mostly introverts here so lockdown has made no real change to our lives. Sat nights would be lateish dinner, maybe board games and then movie or just listening to music reading a book.

We would usually be up 6:30 Sunday mornings to pack picnic and head off. Girls train in Magherafelt with swim Ulster from 10 to 12 and then hill walking or cycling after so Saturday nights are easy going and rarely late.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,218 ✭✭✭zetecescort

On a morning like today its a shame not to be getting ready to head to the likes of Pairc Ui Chaoimh or Thurles

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,110 ✭✭✭cute geoge

I have not being out saturday nights with yonks but it is when you can not go out you ,it seems you want to go out more badly !!Used always get out sunday for a bite to eat with family ,at this stage hardly know what day of the week it is .Imo when if ever all this is over people will be glad to support local pubs ,cafes and resturaunts they will really need a break after all this like someone said when they reopen they should ad €1 to the price of every drink for a period

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

whelan2 wrote: »
    You only realise how much you were doing when you're not doing it anymore. Rushing to get milking done to get kids to school in the morning. Rushing to get milking done in evening to go to football or whatever. Games or races at weekends. Training, playdates etc. All wiped out.

I'd rather be busy than bored and an idle mind is the Devils workshop is what I tell myself when I find myself burning the candle at both ends, it definitely helps give perspective then ha.

But on the zoom or other videoing fronts, afew friends regularly do sessions with it but my Internet just not good enough for it which is frustrating. The only Internet I have here is 3g and that's definitely been slower during the lockdown since everyone else also using it more. Proper rural broadband is a big necessity moving forward in this post covit world, and it certainly won't come in the form of 5g which is where alot of the current development is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,611 ✭✭✭Mooooo

Timmaay wrote: »
    I'd rather be busy than bored and an idle mind is the Devils workshop is what I tell myself when I find myself burning the candle at both ends, it definitely helps give perspective then ha.

But on the zoom or other videoing fronts, afew friends regularly do sessions with it but my Internet just not good enough for it which is frustrating. The only Internet I have here is 3g and that's definitely been slower during the lockdown since everyone else also using it more. Proper rural broadband is a big necessity moving forward in this post covit world, and it certainly won't come in the form of 5g which is where alot of the current development is.

The landline broadband isn't fast enough so do it on the phone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,217 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Eldest lad has 2 zoom chats a week with his 6th class colleagues. Only 1 child out of 27 can't take part due to poor internet access. She lives right across the road from me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,175 ✭✭✭Kevhog1988

Timmaay wrote: »

im working on the new rollout. Its full steam ahead for it so far

i should of been all over twitter saturday night ahead of kildares first championship game on Sunday but not to be for now so instead i was down in the sisters place removing old bushes the father had trimmed back for her, two loads of the horsebox full to the gills of them rotten conifers.
    I havent drank in 18 months so after working late at that i watched a few bits on youtube and went to sleep early. The gaa would have been my main hobby and tbh id miss it badly for the craic and the sunday away days .

i should of been all over twitter saturday night ahead of kildares first championship game on Sunday but not to be for now so instead i was down in the sisters place removing old bushes the father had trimmed back for her, two loads of the horsebox full to the gills of them rotten conifers.
    I havent drank in 18 months so after working late at that i watched a few bits on youtube and went to sleep early. The gaa would have been my main hobby and tbh id miss it badly for the craic and the sunday away days .