Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Jaysus..

• 23-05-2020 7:47pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,129 ✭✭✭

I'd fcuking love a nice cold pint of Smithwicks (or Guinness) down the local while talking sh1te with friends and having the craic with ould lads who prop up the bar talking even more sh1te. 5 or 6 pints, maybe a few whiskeys near closing to keep the cowld away and a big dirty chipper on the way home.

About once a month I'd do this and miss it so much.

Sick of folk saying walk, run, cycle, swim to keep occupied. Bollox to that, I want a good session!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,644 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

Where is Jaysus haven't heard from him in a long time.... I know he is busy and that answering all the calls.

Lundstram wrote: »
    I'd fcuking love a nice cold pint of Smithwicks (or Guinness) down the local while talking sh1te with friends and having the craic with ould lads who prop up the bar talking even more sh1te. 5 or 6 pints, maybe a few whiskeys near closing to keep the cowld away and a big dirty chipper on the way home.

Sick of folk saying walk, run, cycle, swim to keep occupied. Bollox to that, I want a good session!

You can still do it all but at home.... Make a man cave

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,129 ✭✭✭Lundstram

You can still do it all but at home.... Make a man cave
    No, it's not the same. Never was, never will be.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

I run, cycle and swim and guess what I'd slaughter, a few jars in the local. Saturday night is my Kindle and beers at the bar night. If I'm feeling peckish I'll get a bowl of chicken wings with hot sauce and smoother it in salt, and neck the pints like the world ends tomorrow :D

A chipper on the way home and then a few chip sambo's :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,627 ✭✭✭Woke Hogan

I run, cycle and swim and guess what I'd slaughter, a few jars in the local. Saturday night is my Kindle and beers at the bar night. If I'm feeling peckish I'll get a bowl of chicken wings with hot sauce and smoother it in salt, and neck the pints like the world ends tomorrow :D

A chipper on the way home and then a few chip sambo's :D

Chicken wings and a Kindle? I’d say the device is greasier than a Boards.ie moderators hair when you’re finished.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,531 ✭✭✭Car99

A buddy of mine in Switzerland just sent me a pic of him sitting in a pub this evening drinking pints of the black stuff. That's way off the radar here why are we being so much more cautious in our approach than mainland Europe .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,958 ✭✭✭DopeTech

Car99 wrote: »
    A buddy of mine in Switzerland just sent me a pic of him sitting in a pub this evening drinking pints of the black stuff. That's way off the radar here why are we being so much more cautious in our approach than mainland Europe .

Because they were on the road to recovery sooner than us?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,414 ✭✭✭Quantum Erasure

Pints,

Pints, pints, pints....

PINTS!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,531 ✭✭✭Car99

DopeTech wrote: »
    Because they were on the road to recovery sooner than us?

But not 2 months on the road to recovery ahead of us

Pints,

Pints, pints, pints....

PINTS!

Gabo

GABO GABO GABO

Woke Hogan wrote: »
    Chicken wings and a Kindle? I’d say the device is greasier than a Boards.ie moderators hair when you’re finished.

I'm a clean eater and drinker :)

514083.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,445 ✭✭✭Rodney Bathgate

Woke Hogan wrote: »

A bunch of greasy kernts.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 18,650 Mod ✭✭✭✭Leg End Reject

That looks like a lovely pub, Mak!

I'd love a good night out, the poor weather makes the lockdown harder.

That looks like a lovely pub, Mak!

I'd love a good night out, the poor weather makes the lockdown harder.

Its a great boozer, and poor weather!.. I was looking for a photo of my Kindle and beers beside the fire there :)

But this will have to do, ahhhh the memories

I'm usually a Guinness man but if I'm eat wings and chips its got to be a few lager's (usually Hop House 13)

514085.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,054 ✭✭✭Tuco88

Ah stop will ya... I'm getting depressed looking at it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,877 ✭✭✭BENDYBINN

An alcoholic near me told me today that Covid has saved his life in the form of pubs been closed for the last few months. Says he hopes they never open again.

I don't like chicken wings and I don't drink, but I still want to sit in Maks pub and eat chicken wings and drink and read my Kindle. Looks cosy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,614 ✭✭✭WrenBoy

BENDYBINN wrote: »
    An alcoholic near me told me today that Covid has saved his life in the form of pubs been closed for the last few months. Says he hopes they never open again.

Boo that man !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,997 ✭✭✭Adyx

That's his problem, not ours.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭fleet_admiral

There's ways around everything. I've been to the pub for a few pints a good few times since they 'closed'. But then I work in one so we have regular 'meetings'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,235 ✭✭✭Patser

Where is Jaysus haven't heard from him in a long time.... I know he is busy and that answering all the calls.

Working from home, and can't go more than 20km from Heaven.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,457 ✭✭✭✭Kylta

Being a proper bollix and enjoying your suffering I hope they don't open the pubs til after xmas. Think of all the bolloxology you will miss out on with the lads, oh God can you feel a cold pint just touching your lips before it wets your palate, but with the first pint the satisfaction is knowing there's more to follow, oh the banter the joy oh life is worth living. Oh I forgot your not getting them til hopefully after xmas... It's okay I can picture you crying into a manky tinnie calling me all kinds of makey-up names. Hallelujah brother roll on xmas

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,171 ✭✭✭trashcan

He can't find anywhere else to get his booze ? What sort of an alcoholic is he ? Rank amateur !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,457 ✭✭✭✭Kylta

I know a lot of folks can't wait to get back into the pub, but I wonder if its not like it with atmosphere and mingling will it turn people off. I expected a lot of people to be warned or most probably be barred from the local establishment within a week, especially with the social distancing rules that will be attached to them reopening. Oh expect the pint to go up to cover the costs of whatever safety measures that the owner has to install. I expect the conversation will change too ( remember the pubs in the pre-covid era you could actually chat your wan up be talking to her face to face).. bottoms up revellers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,877 ✭✭✭BENDYBINN

trashcan wrote: »
    He can't find anywhere else to get his booze ? What sort of an alcoholic is he ? Rank amateur !

Seems drinking on his own at home doesn’t do it for him...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,809 ✭✭✭Hector Savage

I hear ya, and a load of anti social f*ckers are loving this , going around with their masks ringing the Stasi police to report on anyone not observing the 2m rule, or going 5.0001 km outside their home, **** themselves off silly to all the bad news and wanting this sh1t to go on forever ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,809 ✭✭✭Hector Savage

Kylta wrote: »
    I know a lot of folks can't wait to get back into the pub, but I wonder if its not like it with atmosphere and mingling will it turn people off. I expected a lot of people to be warned or most probably be barred from the local establishment within a week, especially with the social distancing rules that will be attached to them reopening. Oh expect the pint to go up to cover the costs of whatever safety measures that the owner has to install. I expect the conversation will change too ( remember the pubs in the pre-covid era you could actually chat your wan up be talking to her face to face).. bottoms up revellers

Yeah but how long will that go on for honestly ?

Do people seriously think it will be like that from now on ?
    At most a year of that ****e, and then back to normal,