Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Stupidest person you have ever met

• 18-05-2020 1:55am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 153 ✭✭

I have lived with him for the past few years, and I have never come across someone with such a lack of common sense, and being such an idiot.

I'll tell you some of the things he has done -

I was getting something out of the fridge one day, I spilled some milk on the floor and onto the bottom shelf of the fridge. He happened to be right beside me moping the floor, and he noticed the milk spill. So, he gets the mop and wipes the milk spill on the bottom part of the shelf of the fridge with the mop, and then the milk spill on the floor. I was like what are you doing, and he was like, what? Looking puzzled.

He cannot fill out any sort of forms himself, like official forms for employment or any sort of government forms. I had to go through them with him and explain what they were asking him about.

Doesn't know what to say to a girl, in terms of trying to chat her up, as he asked me about what he should say.

I had to show him how to clean the house, and how to use a cloth when cleaning a surface.

Cannot order a delivery for food over the phone.

Was unable to order oil for the house, even after I explained it to him.

Came into the house recently with gloves on due to the virus, opens the front door with them on, puts on the kettle, uses his phone etc. I had to ask him if he could remove the gloves before he comes into the house, and I had to explain to him why he needed to do that.

Wearing a mask that only covers his mouth.

I've lived with him for a few years, and seriously lately he's very difficult to live with because of his lack of basic common sense and stupidity.

Ever come across anyone this stupid?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,211 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

People who live with people they have issues for a long time and instead of moving out or trying to change the situation. They post on the internet or moan about the person all the time.(I have encountered people like this). They can't seem to grasp the person isn't going to change and the best option for them is to move out but they refuse to accept this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 153 ✭✭MissJustice

People who live with people they have issues with with a long time and instead of moving out or trying to change the situation. They post on the internet or moan about the person all the time.

I've adapted to it for a long time, lately he's just frustrating to live with, and his level of stupidity.

I've had to show him how to do lots of the issues above and have to explain things to him. What more can I do about it, I cannot teach him common sense?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,498 ✭✭✭auspicious

People who live with people they have issues for a long time and instead of moving out or trying to change the situation. They post on the internet or moan about the person all the time.(I have encountered people like this). They can't seem to grasp the person isn't going to change and the best option for them is to move out but they refuse to accept this.
    Move to relationship issues....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,041 ✭✭✭con747

I think your a bit "Judgemental" MissJustice :)

Don't expect anything from life, just be grateful to be alive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,211 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

I've adapted to it for a long time, lately he's just frustrating to live with, and his level of stupidity.

I've had to show him how to do lots of the issues above and have to explain things to him. What more can I do about it, I cannot teach him common sense?

Well he's clearly annoying you with a long time and it's frustrating you. You not his helper or assistant.

So,you should move out if he's so annoying.

con747 wrote: »
    I think your a bit "Judgemental" MissJustice :)

At the moment I am, as I'm frustrated with living with such an idiot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 381 ✭✭ToddDameron

Awkwardness around chatting up women hardly qualifies as stupidity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,041 ✭✭✭con747

At the moment I am, as I'm frustrated with living with such an idiot.

He's either mentally challenged or just an idiot and you can't fix idiot.

Don't expect anything from life, just be grateful to be alive.

Well he's clearly annoying you with a long time and it's frustrating you. You not his helper or assistant.

So,you should move out if he's so annoying.

Lately, its just frustrating.

I cannot teach him common sense, and I shouldn't have to. He just doesn't have it. Like I was saying, lately its just head wrecking.

After putting up with his level of stupidity for so long, I'm just not going to engage with him anymore. I cannot teach him cop on.

Awkwardness around chatting up women hardly qualifies as stupidity.

Every man has a level of awkwardness around chatting up a woman, but he didn't have the first clue as to what to say to them, and asked me what he should say to a girl.

He's 27 and still a virgin. He's lived here for nearly 5 years, and has never had a girl stay overnight, ever. That might be by choice, but seriously, he just does not know what to say to a girl or even how to approach one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,007 ✭✭✭s7ryf3925pivug

Once I read this thread where a woman was really slagging off her housemate in a way that would make it really obvious who it was if the guy read it. This was during lockdown when moving was impractical and she'd be stuck in the same small space with him for most of her free time.

He couldn't distinguish between what should be put in the food bin and in the recycling bin in the kitchen.

The sink in the bathroom was recently blocked, and was full of water, so he decided to have a look at it.

Within 15 minutes I heard him banging the bottom of the basin of the sink with his hand, I guess to try to push the water down the plug hole. I saw him doing this, and I was like how is that going to help?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,211 ✭✭✭✭ILoveYourVibes

Only every second person online!

I doubt they are as bad as who I have described!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,016 ✭✭✭Ultrflat

Congrats you are officially a surrogate Mammy.

Ultrflat wrote: »
    Congrats you are officially a surrogate Mammy.

I'm a good person and wasn't going to tell him to get lost, as I knew he wasn't the sharpest tool in the box.

I'm just not going to engage with him in anyway anymore. He's too head wrecking

Just now..

Me: Tendons attach muscle to bone. Ligaments bone to bone.

Someone else : yes i would have thought that was common knowledge like junior cert level.

Me: the quad inserts at the patellar tendon.

Someone else : no it inserts at the patella...the kneecap..(which is a bone)

Me: No muscles are attached to bone via tendons ..the patella is attached to the quad via wait for it the PATELLAR TENDON...It's common knowledge remember?

I LITERALLY don't know what to say?

I am not even going to explain which head of the quad.

Just now..

Someone else : yes i would have thought that was common knowledge like junior cert level.

Me: No muscles are attached to bone via tendons ..the patella is attached to the quad via wait for it the PATELLAR TENDON...It's common knowledge remember?

Also would have to explain how the quadricep tendon leads to patellar tendon through tibial tuberousity

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,016 ✭✭✭Ultrflat

I'm a good person and wasn't going to tell him to get lost, as I knew he wasn't the sharpest tool in the box.

I'm just not going to engage with him in anyway anymore. He's too head wrecking

I'm not doubting you in anyway, your right to help him if he struggles with paper work.

But Jesus mopping a fridge. I've had 17 year old commies chef who show more hygiene intelligence:)

Just be nice and aloof he probably wont even notice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,898 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

Just now..

That's actually not what was said.

You claimed the patella was a tendon. It's not.

https://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=113471347

Mellor wrote: »
    That's actually not what was said.

You claimed the patella was a tendon. It's not.

https://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=113471347
    The patellar tendon ..is a tendon.

The patella is a bone. You said the quadriceps ( no idea which head you meant) inserted into the patella...a bone.

I said the patellar TENDON is a tendon. Its sometimes called the patella tendon ..or the patellar tendon.

Obviously the patella BONE is not the patella tendon!

Obviously if i said the patella TENDON ..i mean the patella a tendon!

The patella BONE is also sometimes called the patellar bone ..eg patellar fractures ..patellar grafts etc.

How could i be saying a muscle inserts into a bone? It has to insert into a tendon first ..if you know the first thing about anatomy you know that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 55 ✭✭Portmanteau

I'm not doubting you in anyway, your right to help him if he struggles with paper work.

But Jesus mopping a fridge. I've had 17 year old commies chef who show more hygiene intelligence:)

Is it really so bad just to mop up the excess liquid on the fridge though? :o

I've never done it myself but as long as the fridge is then cleaned further with a cloth and disinfectant, and the mop washed also with disinfectant in hot water I don't see anything too bad?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,409 ✭✭✭Quantum Erasure

Also would have to explain how the quadricep tendon leads to patellar tendon through tibial tuberousity

i know what you mean....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,935 ✭✭✭eyerer

i know what you mean....

Common sense isn't it!

Ya seriously. I'll never forget that day when the milk spilled and he put the mop into the bottom of the fridge where the milk spilled. What's even worse is when I said to him what the hell was he doing, he looked at me puzzled?!

He used to work in a kitchen, but he could not take the heat so he left that. I can only begin to imagine how the hell he manages at work.

I religiously never use the chopping board in our house because of him. He would chop raw meat, then vegatables on the same chopping board. Then when he washes the chopping board he would give it a quick wipe, I don't think he even uses any washing up liquid to clean it never mind boiling water.

He would complain then about digestive distress that he would get alot, and all I'm thinking is I'm not bloody surprised.

As I was saying he used to work in a kitchen, and I have no doubt he was told these basic hygiene guidelines then, but he probably doesn't understand them.

He will notice it over the next while, when I won't help him out with things he can't understand, or me simply being a nice housemate to him, as I have helped him out with so many common sense things over the past few years. I'll be civil, but I can't deal with his level of stupidity anymore, he's a complete dope.

The patella is a bone.
    [
    Nobody disputes that
    I said the patellar TENDON is a tendon. Its sometimes called the patella tendon ..or the patellar tendon.

You do realize that anyone can see what you actually said (and it's been quote so too late to edit).

https://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=113471308&postcount=54

Let's just quote it here for the enjoyment of other.
    I can tell you where muscles insert and originate. For example the rectus femoris originates in the anterior ( to the front) inferior iliac spine...it inserts in the patella...which is a tendon

DERP!

Nobody disputes that

You do realize that anyone can see what you actually said (and it's been quote so too late to edit).

https://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=113471308&postcount=54

Let's just quote it here for the enjoyment of other.

DERP!

Dude obviously if you know the first thing about anatomy you know muscles have to attach to bone via tendons. You obviously didn't.

I obviously do.

Its quite clear what i mean. I SAID IT WAS A TENDON!.

I assure you it is IMPOSSIBLE for a muscle to attach or insert to a bone.

The patella ...a tendon...could not be more clear.

And yes ..there is indeed a patella bone also.

The patella which is a tendon

The patella which is a bone.

The patella tendon ..the patella bone ..the patellar tendon the patellar bone.

I dont think it could be clearer.

i know what you mean....

He's just reading off the wiki page after he got spank trying to sound smart.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Patellar_ligament

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,409 ✭✭✭Quantum Erasure

The patella is a bone.
    Nobody disputes that

The patellar tendon attaches the bottom of the kneecap (patella) to the top of the shinbone (tibia).
    It is actually a ligament that connects to two different bones, the patella and the tibia.
    The patella is attached to the quadriceps muscles by the quadriceps tendon.

He's just reading off the wiki page after he got spank trying to sound smart.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Patellar_ligament
    I'm female.

For your info ...i just complete a year long PT course focusing on human anatomy sports physiology in UCD.

I am not getting anything from anywhere I assure. You.

Whereas you said the quad ( i dont know which head you meant) inserted into a bone. Which is way way out there.

You no fitness qualification yet you seem to give out advice to people. Shrug. I don't think that is a good idea.

You could hurt someone.

The patellar tendon attaches the bottom of the kneecap (patella) to the top of the shinbone (tibia).
    It is actually a ligament that connects to two different bones, the patella and the tibia.

I've heard it called both the patella ligament the patella tendon etc.

I'm female.

For your info ...i just complete a year long PT course focusing on human anatomy sports physiology in UCD.

Whereas you said the quad ( i dont know which head you meant) inserted into a bone. Which way way out there.

You no fitness qualification yet you seem to give out advice to people. Shrug. I don't think that is a good idea.

At least you have some cop on! ;):P

If i had cop on I wouldn't be arguing with him!

I go down too many rabbit holes. I need to stop!

Anyone else have any stories about someone fairly stupid? :)

I'm female.

Whereas you said the quad ( i dont know which head you meant) inserted into a bone. Which is way way out there.

You could hurt someone.

Congrats on your course from UCD. A girl with loads of cop on :)

Dude obviously if you know the first thing about anatomy you know muscles have to attach to bone via tendons
    Mate, nobody claimed otherwise.
    Its quite clear what i mean. I SAID IT WAS A TENDON!.

The patella ...a tendon...could not be more clear.

But the patella itself is not a tendon, as you pointed out in this thread, remember;

The patella is a bone. I said the patellar TENDON is a tendon. I

The irony is delicious tbh

Like it's tiny mistake, it's no big deal at all. I casually point it out as you seem a stickler for details. But instead of owning it, you here, change the words, and labeling others stupid.

Is you ego really that fragile?

For those wondering, patella is the kneecap.
    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Patella

But the patella itself is not a tendon, as you pointed out in this thread, remember;

QUOTE=ILoveYourVibes;113471375]The patellar tendon ..is a tendon.

Like it's tiny mistake, it's no big deal at all. I casually point it out as you seem a stickler for details. But instead of owning it, you here, change the words, and labeling others stupid.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Patella[/QUOTE]

The only stupid one here is my housemate! :pac:

QUOTE=ILoveYourVibes;113471375]The patellar tendon ..is a tendon.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Patella[/QUOTE]

Oh face palm.

Dude please stop giving advice on the fitness forum you are going to seriously injure someone.

The patella tendon the patellar tendon the patellar ligament ..all the same thing.

They are called this ..because its all related to the patella bone.

Who would think the patella bone is a tendon? You maybe.

The mods should stop any poster not registered with reps from giving out fitness advice on the fitness forum honestly.

Exactly. Thank you.
    The patella is the bone. The patella ligament is the ligament/tendon that connects it to the tibia. I mean it's really basic stuff, baffled that poster is arguing that.

And you are right, it's more commonly called a ligament these days. But the kneecap is a sesamoid bone - so the pataella ligament and quadriceps tendon are common structures.

The patella tendon the patellar tendon the patellar ligament ..all the same thing.

They are called this ..because its all related to the patella bone.

Who would think the patella bone is a tendon? You maybe.
    Nobody disputed that a patella tendon/ligament exists.

You said the patella was a tendon. It's not.
    You made a mistake, move on. No need for the personal attacks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 128 ✭✭Silly Gilly

You made a mistake, move on. No need for the personal attacks.

Not the sharpest tool in the box are you, Mellor? You don't even know who you are arguing with do you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,058 ✭✭✭✭anewme

Some people can be very intelligent, but have no common sense.

And you are right, it's more commonly called a ligament these days..
    Cringe.

I'll prob get banned ..but honestly some of the mods.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 592 ✭✭✭rickis tache

I would have to say my wife..... She married me ffs and that's saying something.

This doesn't even make sense.

The patella tendon ..is a tendon ..so when someone says the patella a tendon they don't mean a tendon.

Not the sharpest tool in the box are you, Mellor? You don't even know who you are arguing with do you?
    Sorry, I have no clue or care who that posters is.
    Why would that be relevant.
    This doesn't even make sense.

The patella tendon ..is a tendon.
    You said patella, not patella tendon.
    I'm at a loss how you can't grasp that those two phrases mean different things. It's not complicated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,003 ✭✭✭Hammer89

I have lived with him for the past few years, and I have never come across someone with such a lack of common sense, and being such an idiot.

I'll tell you some of the things he has done -

I was getting something out of the fridge one day, I spilled some milk on the floor and onto the bottom shelf of the fridge. He happened to be right beside me moping the floor, and he noticed the milk spill. So, he gets the mop and wipes the milk spill on the bottom part of the shelf of the fridge with the mop, and then the milk spill on the floor. I was like what are you doing, and he was like, what? Looking puzzled.

He cannot fill out any sort of forms himself, like official forms for employment or any sort of government forms. I had to go through them with him and explain what they were asking him about.

Doesn't know what to say to a girl, in terms of trying to chat her up, as he asked me about what he should say.

I had to show him how to clean the house, and how to use a cloth when cleaning a surface.

Cannot order a delivery for food over the phone.

Was unable to order oil for the house, even after I explained it to him.

Came into the house recently with gloves on due to the virus, opens the front door with them on, puts on the kettle, uses his phone etc. I had to ask him if he could remove the gloves before he comes into the house, and I had to explain to him why he needed to do that.

Wearing a mask that only covers his mouth.

I've lived with him for a few years, and seriously lately he's very difficult to live with because of his lack of basic common sense and stupidity.

Ever come across anyone this stupid?

This is a horrible OP if I'm honest. I'd rather be stupid than mean.

Sorry, I have no clue or care who that posters is.
    Why would that be relevant.

You said patella, not patella tendon.
    I'm at a loss how you can't grasp that those two phrases mean different things. It's not complicated.
    I said the patella a tendon. I obviously know the diff between the kneecap and a tendon mellor.

Hammer89 wrote: »
    This is a horrible OP if I'm honest. I'd rather be stupid than mean.
    Most mean people are stupid and most stupid people are mean.