Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

I'd love to go to college in the States for a year

• 14-05-2020 7:56pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,292 ✭✭✭

College I mean. I think it would be awesome. Think about it, endless days chilling out in beautiful campuses with glorious sunshine beaming down on you. These colleges all receive billions in funding so I get to play with some experimental fusion reactors and million dolla oscilloscopes. Join a fraternity and get to have mad parties with punk rock music in the frat house, beer tastes like ass there but I'll ship over a pallet of Beamish to keep me going.

I'll get to meet lots of perfect looking girls and because over there there's no free tuition the age difference wont be too big since a lot of them will have to "work their ass off in McDonalds" for a few years before they scrape together enough dosh afford college. Might pick up an auld convertible with a 5.7 litre V8 engine for half nothing and cruise down some lovely straight roads again in lovely weather cause it rarely rains there.

When the lockdown is over of course. Good plan?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,231 ✭✭✭Odhinn

College I mean. I think it would be awesome. Think about it, endless days chilling out in beautiful campuses with glorious sunshine beaming down on you. These colleges all receive billions in funding so I get to play with some experimental fusion reactors and million dolla oscilloscopes. Join a fraternity and get to have mad parties with punk rock music in the frat house, beer tastes like ass there but I'll ship over a pallet of Beamish to keep me going.

I'll get to meet lots of perfect looking girls and because over there there's no free tuition the age difference wont be too big since a lot of them will have to "work their ass off in McDonalds" for a few years before they scrape together enough dosh afford college. Might pick up an auld convertible with a 5.7 litre V8 engine for half nothing and cruise down some lovely straight roads again in lovely weather cause it rarely rains there.

How do you plan paying for it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,292 ✭✭✭Ubbquittious

Odhinn wrote: »

Out of my back pocket

• Site Banned Posts: 13 Just Be Confident Bro

I'm sorry but unless you're a Chad then this fantasy life of joining a frat and banging hot Stacies every night will be just that, a delusional fantasy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,430 ✭✭✭✭EmmetSpiceland

Wrap before you tap.

“It is not blood that makes you Irish but a willingness to be part of the Irish nation” - Thomas Davis

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 18,664 Mod ✭✭✭✭Leg End Reject

I'm sorry but unless you're a Chad then this fantasy life of joining a frat and banging hot Stacies every night will be just that, a delusional fantasy.

Maybe he's just confident, bro?

I said nothing about banging. There might be a bang if I fcuk up with the auld fusion reactor though. Tis the States I want to go to not Chad

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,720 ✭✭✭Schwiiing

Aware bruh.

I said nothing about banging. There might be a bang if I fcuk up with the auld fusion reactor though. Tis the States I want to go to not Chad

Sure, I believe you. In that case you'll be glad to know the American chicks will view you as the 'werid foregin guy who talks funny'.

You'll have as much status as the Indian computer programming students.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,995 ✭✭✭Ipso

We got a bad ass here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Out of my back pocket

"How do you do fellow kids"

Sure, I believe you. In that case you'll be glad to know the American chicks will view you as the 'werid foregin guy who talks funny'.

Ah no they digg the Irish fellas, get on fairly well with Statesian girls usually. Even in the unlikely event that they did all shun me that wouldn't worry me. The good weather, the lovely campus, the petrol V8 and the fusion reactor would more than make up for it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,275 ✭✭✭Your Face

Do it. Now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 161 ✭✭LeYouth

I'd like to go to Florida. It would be nice and warm there.

But I'm definitely no Chad....maybe the Anti-Chad haha.

I wouldn't be interested in a Stacey neither. I tell you who's gorgeous though....Native American women! Did you see that girl from the Choctaw Nation on RTE the other day. She was positively shining!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,582 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

Wrap before you tap.

Tap then unwrap, the chocolate orange code.

If the warm weather can be dropped you can get scholarships in Anchorage.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 12,875 Mod ✭✭✭✭iamstop

Don't forget the massshootings. :(

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 12,875 Mod ✭✭✭✭iamstop

iamstop wrote: »

Op goes full Elliot Roger after one rejection too many...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,807 ✭✭✭Jurgen Klopp

Plot twist: the OP is a raging homo and bangs the arse raw off the Indian programming students

Poor Sanje thought he was gonna be learning python but little did he expect it was an Irish python he'd be staring at

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,211 ✭✭✭✭ILoveYourVibes

Hmm i think a lot of them use family money. College is an upper class thing in the states.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,017 ✭✭✭SharpshooterTom

American women tend to prefer their own.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 286 ✭✭mossy95

O HELL YE BROTHA BEAR U GOING TO THE QUAD LATER?

IM going to chase down some cherokee chicks on the trail of booze, you know they can get VERT!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,211 ✭✭✭✭ILoveYourVibes

Yep..they love women.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

iamstop wrote: »

I hear they're a big hit around campus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,807 ✭✭✭ShatterAlan

I say GO FOR IT.

Come back a year later, a year older, 40k in hock and nothing to show for it...except maybe you inject the word "like" into every third word.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,984 ✭✭✭✭Deja Boo

I...
    Come back a year later, a year older, 40k in hock and nothing to show for it...except maybe you inject the word "like" into every third word.

...and come back completely disillusioned, cos no such experience as what op is dreaming of exists in the states.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,819 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

For the most part they're a bunch of boring oddballs over there from my experience. It's not like de filims.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,370 ✭✭✭✭GreeBo

LeYouth wrote: »
    I'd like to go to Florida. It would be nice and warm there.

But I'm definitely no Chad....maybe the Anti-Chad haha.

I wouldn't be interested in a Stacey neither. I tell you who's gorgeous though....Native American women! Did you see that girl from the Choctaw Nation on RTE the other day. She was positively shining!

Florida is disgusting in summer.
    You need to narrow down your idea of "America" as California is not Cleveland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,856 ✭✭✭irishguitarlad

OP has absorbed too much American movies.

GreeBo wrote: »
    Florida is disgusting in summer.
    You need to narrow down your idea of "America" as California is not Cleveland.

Just as disgusting as Ireland in winter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,430 ✭✭✭RWCNT

Jesus, get a load of Billy Buzzkill over here.

Ever been to Seattle? How about Michigan, Minnesota, Illinois, Ohio, NY, Connecticut, Vermont, Massachusetts?

From November to about March you can expect to be wearing snow-shoes to your lectures.

Deja Boo wrote: »
    ...and come back completely disillusioned, cos no such experience as what op is dreaming of exists in the states.

Absolutely and American women are prudes. Sure they'll say "Gee, like I love your accent" but that's as far as it goes.

Better off to go to a college in the UK, preferably the midlands or North. You won't get the Fort Lauderdale weather but you'll get more ass than a toilet seat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,874 ✭✭✭Edgware

OP has absorbed too much American movies.
    You reckon? Just wait till the D.A. brings you to the Grand Jury

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,419 ✭✭✭corner of hells

Edgware wrote: »

And you can hand in your gun and badge to the chief too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,984 ✭✭✭✭Deja Boo

Edgware wrote: »

not sure if op could... handle the truth :pac::pac::pac:
    SI9jTOE.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,454 ✭✭✭NSAman

Lol no. American chicks are the easiest ones out there. You must have been trying pick up girls in Mormon country or something.

It's his pick up line that he hates everything American that didn't get him anything.

American Girls are not easy, it takes time, finesse, lots of humour and a Burger King Coupon to get them to "put out"..;)

Ever been to Seattle? How about Michigan, Minnesota, Illinois, Ohio, NY, Connecticut, Vermont, Massachusetts?

From November to about March you can expect to be wearing snow-shoes to your lectures.

I''ll avoid those so. Though I have been to a couple of them in the winter. Might aim for the Bible belt instead

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,874 ✭✭✭Edgware

I''ll avoid those so. Though I have been to a couple of them in the winter. Might aim for the Bible belt instead
    Well as Granpaw Willie would say "if de cap don't fit it ain't yo cap"

I say GO FOR IT.

This is what I'd be worried about. I could come back waving a degree from some posh place and nobody would give a damn. They'll take someone with more experience or someone who is better craic during the interview

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,771 ✭✭✭Dr. Bre

Get the ride and get home

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 652 ✭✭✭DanielODonnell

I've spoken to many young American men online and you will only get sex at college if you are 7/10 or above in looks, college girls are reserved for Chad or Tyrone. Many of them even told stories about how their Chad room mate would have sex in the room next to them or even in the same room as them whilst incel had to pretend to sleep. Yes you will get sex with your girlfriend if you have one but not casual sex with Beckies, also chances are your girlfriend would be getting pounded by a Tyrone behind your back anyway.

Don't be fooled by the idea that foreign women will like an Irish man, yes if you are handsome then an accent will just be a novelty charm but you needed the looks in the first place. Becky will always choose the good looking man even if he is from her own country.

So many people are blue pilled, they need to understand the brutal animalistic mating culture of society, it isn't some fairy tail where charismatic ogre can get the pretty girl. If ogre does get the girl then it is just a rare exception of the rule.

Ah no they digg the Irish fellas, get on fairly well with Statesian girls usually. Even in the unlikely event that they did all shun me that wouldn't worry me. The good weather, the lovely campus, the petrol V8 and the fusion reactor would more than make up for it

Yes they may want you as a friend for a novelty but don't be surprised if they left your coffee date early when Chad pops up on tinder. You may have a chance with 4/10 women and below but all the average and good looking women crave Chad.

Absolutely and American women are prudes. Sure they'll say "Gee, like I love your accent" but that's as far as it goes.

Better off to go to a college in the UK, preferably the midlands or North. You won't get the Fort Lauderdale weather but you'll get more ass than a toilet seat.

Only if you are good looking or at least average looking with a charasmatic persona. If you are an ugly autistic man the only ass you will be getting will be the 8/10 ass of an escort. Trust me I know from experience.

I've spoken to many young American men online and you will only get sex at college if you are 7/10 or above in looks, college girls are reserved for Chad or Tyrone. Many of them even told stories about how their Chad room mate would have sex in the room next to them or even in the same room as them whilst incel had to pretend to sleep. Yes you will get sex with your girlfriend if you have one but not casual sex with Beckies, also chances are your girlfriend would be getting pounded by a Tyrone behind your back anyway.

Don't be fooled by the idea that foreign women will like an Irish man, yes if you are handsome then an accent will just be a novelty charm but you needed the looks in the first place. Becky will always choose the good looking man even if he is from her own country.

So many people are blue pilled, they need to understand the brutal animalistic mating culture of society, it isn't some fairy tail where charismatic ogre can get the pretty girl. If ogre does get the girl then it is just a rare exception of the rule.

What....County Tyrone. Basterds. They bloody well win everything. First Sam and now American women.

Dr. Bre wrote: »
    Get the ride and get home

All the way to America for that!?!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,292 ✭✭✭TheBoyConor

Pay for it? ha. Sure he can just become a really good American Football player and get a scholarship and they'll let him pass all the exams then too as long as he wins games. And as a jock he'll get all the twiggy big titted girls called Stacey and Amber flocking around him while he jeers some nerdy kid with spots.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,773 ✭✭✭✭fits

I cant tell if this is sarcasm. Think it is? :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 55 ✭✭Portmanteau

fits wrote: »
    I cant tell if this is sarcasm. Think it is? :confused:
    Could be real. Some Irish lads like to write as though they're living in Missouri or Pennsylvania.

I mean yeah, if you're not a looker you won't get interest from members of the opposite sex - no need for the word salad and phrases used by angry Americans.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,016 ✭✭✭Hulk Hands

You've obviously never been an average looking lad on a J1

Hulk Hands wrote: »
    You've obviously never been an average looking lad on a J1

Alright let's hear some J1 stories.