Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Any public toilets in the city centre during quarantine?

• 10-05-2020 5:20pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 363 ✭✭

Since all the pubs, cafes, and restaurants are closed, I obviously cannot use their bathrooms. Is there anywhere with public toilets in the city centre that is still open? Even somewhere that you have to pay to use.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71,159 ✭✭✭✭L1011

Jervis Centre ones might still be open as there are still three stores (Boots, Tesco and part of M&S) operating; same with Stephens Green (four stores)

DCC's tiny amount public toilets are all outside the city centre.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,216 ✭✭✭✭listermint

Aren't you meant to be in work or home..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,039 ✭✭✭✭Kintarō Hattori

listermint wrote: »

What if you're an essential worker travelling to or from work.

Go at work.....

Or home............

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 371 ✭✭Savage_Henry

I have the same problem and i didnt find anything. Our shop doesnt have bathroom. Luckly im alone there and just use a bottle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,423 ✭✭✭✭Outlaw Pete

Eh, they could live in, or near, the city centre (as I do) and so could be exercising or shopping in the area.

Who are you to question what someone's business is in the city centre anyway?

Rhetorical question of course.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 547 ✭✭✭RugbyLad11

what about busaras

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,819 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

Even in normal times there were no public toilets in Dublin, it's ridiculous. St Stephen's Green shopping centre and Jervis have them though but usually you have to dive into a pub.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,946 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

Maybe but As far as I know there was horrific drug (injection) and sex (prostitution) problems when there were city centre toilets

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 291 ✭✭01902

L1011 wrote: »
    Jervis Centre ones might still be open as there are still three stores (Boots, Tesco and part of M&S) operating; same with Stephens Green (four stores)

DCC's tiny amount public toilets are all outside the city centre.

Jervis toilets are definitely closed, whole of the 2nd floor is shut. Ilac is a possibility.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,610 ✭✭✭adam88

Most towns are empty of public toilets. It ridiculous

If anyone on this has read Column O Gormans book you will know why the toilets were closed - shudder

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 879 ✭✭✭Kablamo!

Toilets in Stephen's Green are shut.

If anyone on this has read Column O Gormans book you will know why the toilets were closed - shudder

Gwan. Tell us

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 909 ✭✭✭JPCN1

Even in normal times there were no public toilets in Dublin, it's ridiculous. St Stephen's Green shopping centre and Jervis have them though but usually you have to dive into a pub.

Something that has always bothered me. The people running our cities and country cannot provide the most basic things.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 723 ✭✭✭jrmb

Heuston Station's public toilets are open. They're the only ones I know of anywhere in the city.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,966 ✭✭✭JDxtra

jrmb wrote: »
    Heuston Station's public toilets are open. They're the only ones I know of anywhere in the city.

I'd rather hold it in.

Are you possibly thinking of Frank McDonald's book?

JDxtra wrote: »
    I'd rather hold it in.

Some people don’t have that luxury. People will be further prisoners

L1011 wrote: »
    Are you possibly thinking of Frank McDonald's book?

Nope, Colm OGorman from amnesty International

I won’t go into details but he was homeless and living rough in dublin and had unpleasant encounters in public toilets

His book overall is a very good read and documents the changes in society over the last 30/40 years.

Curious - What does franks book say?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 656 ✭✭✭drake70

the toilets in Connolly station should be open

Nope, Colm OGorman from amnesty International

I won’t go into details but he was homeless and living rough in dublin and had unpleasant encounters in public toilets

His book overall is a very good read and documents the changes in society over the last 30/40 years.

Curious - What does franks book say?

https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/frank-memoir-on-the-trials-of-growing-up-gay-in-1960s-ireland-37456448.html

Seems to be on this side of the paywall, at least currently

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,810 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

JPCN1 wrote: »
    Something that has always bothered me. The people running our cities and country cannot provide the most basic things.

Open a public toilet and it would be destroyed in a few days by two legged animals who pass as people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Eh, they could live in, or near, the city centre (as I do) and so could be exercising or shopping in the area.

Dublin city is hardly unique in that case so. There are no public toilets around Tallaght when Im out for a walk either. People seem to manage though.

I try to avoid public toilets as much as possible anyway but I'd want to be near death to go in to one now.

Open a public toilet and it would be destroyed in a few days by two legged animals who pass as people.

Sure, put an attendant in.

Throwing in the towel because we cant control the behaviour of some knackers is not good enough. Find a way.

I've long since gone from taking comments off someone who worships Donald trump.

Lol.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,184 ✭✭✭riclad

Jervis St shopping centre toilets are closed. Maybe bus aras toilets
    are open. We are in a pandemic.
    No one expected all the pubs closed and cafes
    To be closed. It's a strange time. Hopefully
    Cafes will be open before August. Only ground floor shops open in Jervis St shopping centre boots and tesco
    Maybe they were told to close
    Due to hse rules on social spacing

I was in Riga, Latvia, last year. At the height of their summer festival. They have plentiful public toilets, all perfectly clean & well respected. Don’t know how they are able to provide what are essential facilities and the lines of us can’t because of the abuse of such facilities in Ireland.

Sure, put an attendant in.

Throwing in the towel because we cant control the behaviour of some knackers is not good enough. Find a way.

Would you do that job?

Back in the day many Dublin nightclubs had bathroom attendants and every restaurant/bar has to keep their bathrooms clean.

Do you think it's demeaning?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,943 ✭✭✭✭the purple tin

We'd be better off with the old pissoirs like they have in France. Out in the open and you can see feet and heads so they wouldn't attract junkies, muggers, vandals etc.

Back in the day many Dublin nightclubs had bathroom attendants and every restaurant/bar has to keep their bathrooms clean.

Way to dodge the question by offering an obvious statement and asking another question.
    Are you in politics?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Massively different to a public toilet though.

Youd be more security guard than toilet attendant. So youre either a security guard thats also expected to clean toilets or a person employed to clean and maintain toilets thats also expected to deal with scumbags and junkies in an enclosed space.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 363 ✭✭Galbin

Taking a relative to donate blood. This is on the list of essential reasons to leave home.

I have problems with my kidneys so need to know in advance.

Does anyone know if Connoly or Heuston station have open toilets now?

Thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,819 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

Oh Brown Thomas has some too. When I lived in London my area had some kind of community toilet scheme where local businesses would sign up to it so that the council could list their premises as having public toilets. There was a map showing where they were as you exited the tube station.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,139 ✭✭✭✭expectationlost

I have the same problem and i didnt find anything. Our shop doesnt have bathroom. Luckly im alone there and just use a bottle.

is the legal?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭Lux23

I nearly pooped myself when I went for a cycle to Grand Canal Dock, this was before the total lockdown. I just had to get back on my bike and peg it home; I was sweating buckets, but I made it thankfully.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Regional East Moderators, Regional North West Moderators Posts: 12,523 Mod ✭✭✭✭miamee

Galbin wrote: »
    Does anyone know if Connoly or Heuston station have open toilets now?

Thanks.

If you are allowed accompany the person inside, there are toilets in the blood clinic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,974 ✭✭✭✭Gavin "shels"

miamee wrote: »
    If you are allowed accompany the person inside, there are toilets in the blood clinic.

Only people with appointments for donation are allowed to enter the blood bank at the moment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,342 ✭✭✭fatknacker

Hmm. I’m not getting the whole “for everyone’s safety toilets are closed”

There was a massive stank of piss all over the Northside in the sun today.

Surely it’s unhealthy to have people pissing everywhere too.

fatknacker wrote: »
    Hmm. I’m not getting the whole “for everyone’s safety toilets are closed”

There was a massive stank of piss all over the Northside in the sun today.

Surely it’s unhealthy to have people pissing everywhere too.

Yes, especially since scientists discovered a few years back that urine is *not* sterile and has a microbiome (whole host of good and bad bacteria) just like the gut.

Anyhow, I can confirm that Connelly station toilets had cleaning signs up, but the attendants told me to go right ahead and use them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,874 ✭✭✭Edgware

Galbin wrote: »
    Yes, especially since scientists discovered a few years back that urine is *not* sterile and has a microbiome (whole host of good and bad bacteria) just like the gut.

Anyhow, I can confirm that Connelly station toilets had cleaning signs up, but the attendants told me to go right ahead and use them.
    Oooh Matron!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,505 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

Go at work.....

Or home............

Some people may need a toilet a lot more frequently than most, e.g. Crohn's disease. Dublin really is appalling in its lack of provision of public toilets.

(Under normal circumstances) We're happy to have people drink pints all night and then chuck them out on the street with bladders that are still filling up from that last pint and give them "nowhere to go". The Dutch, as usual, are a very pragmatic people and they have provided pop-up urinals in Amsterdam and other cities. Paris had its pissoirs - we actually had these in the city centre many years ago until some eejit decided to remove them. So now we have people p*ssing in alleyways because they have nowhere else to go.

RugbyLad11 wrote: »
    what about busaras

Busaras IS a toilet :eek:

In Cavan there was a great fire / Judge McCarthy was sent to inquire / It would be a shame / If the nuns were to blame / So it had to be caused by a wire.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,114 ✭✭✭PhilOssophy

I was in Riga, Latvia, last year. At the height of their summer festival. They have plentiful public toilets, all perfectly clean & well respected. Don’t know how they are able to provide what are essential facilities and the lines of us can’t because of the abuse of such facilities in Ireland.

Yeah but other countries can respect public facilities, in Ireland somebody would probably poo on the floor, p1ss all over the toilet seat, and dump cans, syringes, rubbish, etc in there.

Its just why we can't have nice things. They get wrecked by scumbags

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 561 ✭✭✭thenightman

Public toilets in Heuston and criminal courts on Parkgate Street were open on Friday. I went for a walk in the Phoenix Park and was caught short, lots of people about so didn't want to pee in the bushes or whatever.

It is a joke that there's no public toilets in the city though. I get the bus on Hawkins Street most evenings and the stink of urine along the stretch of bus stops beside Department of Health building is horrific.

Its just why we can't have nice things. They get wrecked by scumbags

Remember when lots of people predicted that Dublin Bikes would end up in the canal or the Liffey? It didn't happen. If we give in to the scumbag element then all is lost.

In Cavan there was a great fire / Judge McCarthy was sent to inquire / It would be a shame / If the nuns were to blame / So it had to be caused by a wire.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,114 ✭✭✭PhilOssophy

Remember when lots of people predicted that Dublin Bikes would end up in the canal or the Liffey? It didn't happen. If we give in to the scumbag element then all is lost.

That was because people didn't understand how the thing worked, i.e. you have to register your credit card and if the bike ends up in the Liffey, you fork out for it.

If the bikes were left lying around, do you think it'd be the same?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,039 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

That's very much the (welcome) exception though.

They tried those pod toilets in Dublin about 10 or 15 years ago, and they just became glorified shooting-up galleries and had to be taken away again.

Well - crazy idea here - but if we provide safe areas for addicts to inject, then we can have alleyways and toilets free of shooting-up junkies. It's better for the unfortunates hooked on drugs, and it's certainly better for the rest of us...