Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Late Late Show - 8th. May 2020

• 08-05-2020 8:41am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 74,302 ✭✭✭✭

Hollywood star Pierce Brosnan and U2 bassist Adam Clayton are among the guests lined-up to chat to Ryan Tubridy on this week's edition of 'The Late Late Show'.

Ireland's James Bond and star of films such as 'The Thomas Crown Affair', 'Mrs Doubtfire', 'Mamma Mia!' and the hit TV show 'Remington Steele' will be speaking to Ryan from Hawaii. Pierce will talk about growing up in Navan, and reveal which Irish actors he would like to see following in his footsteps as the next 007.

U2's Adam Clayton will be chatting to Ryan from his Dublin home about his experiences in lockdown, and the importance of looking after your mental health.

In the absence of the 'Darkness Into Light' walk this year due to Covid-19 restrictions, Elaine Austin, CEO Pieta House, will be live in studio to discuss the impact the loss of the fundraising event is having on the charity, and their efforts to raise money via their Sunrise Appeal this weekend. Former President of Ireland Mary McAleese will share her hopes for Ireland in the aftermath of the pandemic, as well as her support for Pieta House’s 'Darkness Into Light' campaign.

In 1992, the compilation album 'A Woman's Heart' was released, going on to sell nearly a million copies worldwide. Mary Black, Mary Coughlan, Frances Black and Sharon Shannon will be live in studio, to give a number of very special performances from one of the most loved Irish music albums ever released.

Commander Chris Hadfield, the Candian astronaut who is no stranger to isolation given his long stints aboard the International Space Station, will be on hand to give some tips on enduring long stints away from family and friends.

'The Late Late Show', RTE One, tonight at 9.35pm.

sleeping-puppy19.gif

tumblr_n21o32V5hQ1rudcwro1_400.gif

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,713 ✭✭✭Gods Gift

Stuck in Hawaii the poor fecker.

And here’s me complaining about been stuck in Borris-in-Ossory.

Pierce is two days younger than me, and he still has all his hair (the Bast*rd!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,540 ✭✭✭✭2smiggy

Not too bad a line up !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89,019 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

Will star of the moment, Ballyhaunis Paul get a shout out for Bond :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,420 ✭✭✭✭sligojoek

Ireland's James Bond and star of films such as 'The Thomas Crown Affair', 'Mrs Doubtfire', 'Mamma Mia!' and the hit TV show 'Remington Steele' will be speaking to Ryan from Hawaii. Pierce will talk about growing up in Navan, and reveal which Irish actors he would like to see following in his footsteps as the next 007.

Will Saoirse Ronan be one of them?

Leo from Fair City would make a great 007.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

and yet still no..........Matt Damon ????

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,013 ✭✭✭✭James Brown

'Remington Steele" ffs... was Ryan even born? :)
    That is not a bad line up. Gay would have had a section on Varadkar referring to Northern Ireland as being 'overseas' today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,734 ✭✭✭✭Ol' Donie

Did you know that for every episode of Frasier you watch on the RTE player, you get to watch that Arranmore ad one hundred and fifty times?

Feels like I haven't been here in ages.

May I just take this opportunity to wish you all well, I hope you are all coping okay with the pain in the face that is lockdown.

Tonight, I shall be mostly enjoying Brewdog Punk IPA. Well, 2 of them. Then it's back to the usual Lidl's finest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 74,302 ✭✭✭✭Welsh Megaman

Evening all :)

I missed 'A Woman's Heart' first time around - I was too busy listening to cool stuff in '92... :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,837 ✭✭✭Doctors room ghost

Here we go people

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,185 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

Back for first time in a while - have found the show terrible in this format.

Have been getting very drunk on Zoom with friends instead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,380 ✭✭✭sonofenoch

The weekly Irish Queen's address to the nation...

When Mary macaleese comes on I’m going to go outside and hide in the hedge with scraws of grass wedged in my ears.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,259 ✭✭✭donkeykong5

2smiggy wrote: »
    Not too bad a line up !

Not a fan of mcaleese. Will have a fag break then

Just as well Chris Hedfield (Hadfield?) has some charisma. He's dangerously close to getting the dreaded LLS frequent flier card.

this speech is terrible.

I thought Tubs was going to jettison himself off into space for a moment. No such luck.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 95 ✭✭DrGreenThumb82

Mary McArse and Only A Woman's Heart...jaysus I'll probably need Pieta House by the end of this.

Is Ryan all back to normal after the 'rona?

Certainly seems like it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,750 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

Ol' Donie wrote: »
    Did you know that for every episode of Frasier you watch on the RTE player, you get to watch that Arranmore ad one hundred and fifty times?

Did you know that without the ads RTE Player is actually working like a Swiss clock, science experiment I have done so to speak ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91 ✭✭J_V_C

Ooh la la, if only I could tune in, unfortunately have some High Gloss Fleetwood to observe first.

this speech is terrible.

I wish he'd just p1ss off with this patronising sh1t talk every week. Overpaid twat. :mad:

Nothing worse than looking at an empty fruit bowl and they had the week to fill it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

RTE misery cult

M

Suicides in the coming months in this country will be many multiples of the Covid deaths.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,514 ✭✭✭Cody montana

He’s so insincere.

I’m out!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,520 ✭✭✭passremarkable

Another speech
    Says we don’t talk about mental health
    That’s all the late late is these days
    I know it’s an important issue but it is spoken about no this show regularly

• Closed Accounts Posts: 95 ✭✭DrGreenThumb82

Someone needs to send a memo to RTE that it is Friday night and people want entertainment FFS.

Fairly cool dude.

That's as cool as anyone out of U2 has ever looked.

Nothing worse than looking at an empty fruit bowl and they had the week to fill it

Cutbacks. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,593 ✭✭✭funkey_monkey

Had he had a hair transplant?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,826 ✭✭✭Truthvader

Ryans Deathwatch. Need therapy now. Now U2 Aaaaaaaaagh

I’m fcukin sick of looking at bookshelves these days.

M

I'd eh doubt he would have any problem jumping in a private jet to get home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

He looks like the homeless lad who had the radio voice in America

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,213 ✭✭✭Mena Mitty

Love the Kenny Rogers look.

Evening all !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,259 ✭✭✭donkeykong5

Health care professional running the country... wtf

Heard him on Tommy Tiernan show - and was an amazing interview.

Look - I love Bono - but we could have done with more of Adam talking over the years.

Very interesting

He looks like the homeless lad who had the radio voice in America

He does.golden voice they call him

• Closed Accounts Posts: 145 ✭✭Seven Septs

I’m fcukin sick of looking at bookshelves these days.

I'd love to see someone on zoom with a fridge or a cooker in the background.

Reading is great but there are a lot of other things in life.

Leave Ryan alone.

Great speaker.

I'd love to see someone on zoom with a fridge or a cooker in the background.

Reading is great but there are a lot of other things in life.

Guaranteed half the one’s posing infront of bookcases don’t even read the books.its all for show.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,282 ✭✭✭PsychoPete

Nice to see captain birds eye doing well

• Closed Accounts Posts: 145 ✭✭Seven Septs

Was he addicted to drink or something more serious like opal fruits?

drink and drugs.

Heard him on Tommy Tiernan show - and was an amazing interview.

Look - I love Bono - but we could have done with more of Adam talking over the years.

Very interesting

Which one is Adam? Larry?