Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Garda losses her job after failing bleep test. How tough is it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,130 ✭✭✭Rodin

https://www-irishtimes-com.cdn.ampproject.org/v/s/www.irishtimes.com/news/crime-and-law/garda-body-criticises-excessive-bleep-tests-for-recruits-1.4047687?amp_js_v=a3&amp_gsa=1&mode=amp&usqp=mq331AQFKAGwASA%3D#aoh=15865166729930&amp_ct=1586516683389&referrer=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.google.com&amp_tf=From%20%251%24s&ampshare=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.irishtimes.com%2Fnews%2Fcrime-and-law%2Fgarda-body-criticises-excessive-bleep-tests-for-recruits-1.4047687

So basically it's as the title says. She passed it in templemore and but failed it before becoming a fully fledged guard. The article says they get multiple attempts to pass it too.

The required score for a female in 7.6 for someone between 18-25 and 6.6 for someone 26-35. Does anyone have any experience of how tough that is?

Running between 11 and 12kmh for just over a minute.
    They already make it easier for women by having lower standards. They also get to do the press-ups on their knees.

Should be one standard for all. No wonder nobody takes female gardai seriously.

Looking at the picture of the garda in question, she's clearly well overweight.

But no more than trying to deport refugee children who have been here for years and have built up social ties... she should never have been allowed to get 10 years in if she wasn't fit enough.

Make the decision early.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,638 ✭✭✭Homelander

She's clearly a fair bit overweight from photos and you do get a few attempts to pass it. I don't think it's as unfair as is being made out - she really had ample opportunity to get in shape but didn't.

Obviously it's not very nice for her, but she's not being unfairly treated. It's hardly shocking that Gardai should be in decent physical shape with decent fitness levels. The bleep test isn't exactly seeking out superhuman athletes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,874 ✭✭✭deadlybuzzman

Homelander wrote: »
    She's clearly a fair bit overweight from photos and you do get a few attempts to pass it. I don't think it's as unfair as is being made out - she really had ample opportunity to get in shape but didn't.

Obviously it's not very nice for her, but she's not being unfairly treated. It's hardly shocking that Gardai should be in decent physical shape with decent fitness levels. The bleep test isn't exactly seeking out superhuman athletes.

Yeah I was amazed about how her dad moaned about it on the radio. Does he really think for a moderately fit criminal to get away from a cop purely because the cops out of shape?
    Not only that but she didn't didn't even maintain fitness long enough to become a full cop.
    As a reference what would be an expected beep test score for a ladies GAA club team or county team?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,239 ✭✭✭Jimbob1977

Could she not just stay in the office and perform administrative duties?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,734 ✭✭✭✭noodler

Jimbob1977 wrote: »

We have way too many members of AGS doing this already.

All of the force out and about should be expected to maintain a certain level of fitness. Loads of them are in shocking physical condition.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,653 ✭✭✭✭Plumbthedepths

I did the test with my son when he was training for the fitness test. You can get it on YouTube. He passed the test and is a Garda. I was able to carry on further than him when we do it and I was 46 at the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,104 ✭✭✭fatbhoy

Yeah I was amazed about how her dad moaned about it on the radio. Does he really think for a moderately fit criminal to get away from a cop purely because the cops out of shape?
    Not only that but she didn't didn't even maintain fitness long enough to become a full cop.
    As a reference what would be an expected beep test score for a ladies GAA club team or county team?

I found it shocking that Newstalk and Pat Kenny entertained the story at all, and even more so, the amount of sympathy afforded it by Pat Kenny.

Jimbob1977 wrote: »

What use is she, better to employ a clerical officer and hire another Garda who is fit to serve the community

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 83 ✭✭Dorakman

https://www-irishtimes-com.cdn.ampproject.org/v/s/www.irishtimes.com/news/crime-and-law/garda-body-criticises-excessive-bleep-tests-for-recruits-1.4047687?amp_js_v=a3&amp_gsa=1&mode=amp&usqp=mq331AQFKAGwASA%3D#aoh=15865166729930&amp_ct=1586516683389&referrer=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.google.com&amp_tf=From%20%251%24s&ampshare=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.irishtimes.com%2Fnews%2Fcrime-and-law%2Fgarda-body-criticises-excessive-bleep-tests-for-recruits-1.4047687

So basically it's as the title says. She passed it in templemore and but failed it before becoming a fully fledged guard. The article says they get multiple attempts to pass it too.

The required score for a female in 7.6 for someone between 18-25 and 6.6 for someone 26-35. Does anyone have any experience of how tough that is?

7.6 for a woman is average. So I’m guessing this one is a right porker.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,945 ✭✭✭CalamariFritti

Where do ye all get that 'pictures of the guard in question' from? The pic in the article is clearly a stock photo, no?

Twiiter........EUrOxhVUUAEbtZG.jpg

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 83 ✭✭Dorakman

Augeo wrote: »

Hefty enough now.

There is another picture floating about and she looks bigger again in it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,534 ✭✭✭Chalk McHugh

I'd say about a deuce. Deuce and a half?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,457 ✭✭✭Gerry T

My son plays soccer, did the beep test in school 2yr (then 16) ago when he was just back from a long term (12mth) injury and he got 11. I would think GAA players are fitter and Women playing at county level would score higher.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,420 ✭✭✭splinter65

If you don’t meet the criteria then you don’t meet it. If you let her carry on then you’ll have other candidates saying “ I failed a written exam 3 times but I’m a very good Garda it’s just that I’m not very clever and I would have trouble with dealing with a complicated situation and I’ll have difficulty taking a statement or filing a report but someone else can do that for me because I’ll be very good at jumping over walls and chasing scrotes through gardens and down back alleys”.

Sacking is a bit harsh for this no? How bout a quarter pay for a couple of months and she do a garda boot camp and once she loses a bit of deli belly ramp her back up to full pay.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 299 ✭✭SSr0

I read that she had served for 10 years? So she had 8 years to do it, after she failed it at the end of her 2 year probation?

Yeah, she's had years to pass this and for whatever reason hasn't succeeded. I've no doubt it's not easy but it's doable, no doubt.

Most of the force would fail it on any given day but they'd have (most of them) passed it when they needed to, I can see her point to a degree as she's likely working with folk that aren't any fitter then her.

Yeah, she's had years to pass this and for whatever reason hasn't succeeded. I've no doubt it's not easy but it's doable, no doubt.

Most of the force would fail it on any given day but they'd have (most of them) passed it when they needed to, I can see her point to a degree as she's likely working with folk that aren't any fitter then her.

Could be more to it. Maybe she was poor at her job and the garda were just waiting for any reason to offload some dead weight (pardon the pun).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,906 ✭✭✭Banana Republic.

Rodin wrote: »
    Running between 11 and 12kmh for just over a minute.
    They already make it easier for women by having lower standards. They also get to do the press-ups on their knees.

Should be one standard for all. No wonder nobody takes female gardai seriously.

Looking at the picture of the garda in question, she's clearly well overweight.

If you watched Inside The K you’ll see that they take female Gardaí seriously, I’ve met a few in my time and you take them serious as a Guard and not their gender. You’d be foolish not to take them serious.

The point though is they should be in good shape and be physically fit for purpose.

Dorakman wrote: »
    Hefty enough now.

Jesus lads I’ve seen Gardaí twice her size at least, I wouldn’t say she’s hefty, take off all the stuff she’s wearing and she be a lot slimmer. In this day and age they’re dealing with alot of younger criminals so they need to be able to give chase and catch these criminals but after 10 years of service that’s very harsh. Something is off there with that now.

You don't get away with being overweight in the military, i don't see why anyone would believe a physically demanding job such as a Garda should be different.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,125 ✭✭✭Akabusi

I wouldn't feel sorry for her, that is life. You meet the standard or you're not in. As has been said she had ample time to get herself in decent shape to pass the test.

If you watched Inside The K you’ll see that they take female Gardaí seriously, I’ve met a few in my time and you take them serious as a Guard and not their gender. You’d be foolish not to take them serious.

The point though is they should be in good shape and be physically fit for purpose.

But don't need to be in as good a shape as a man.
    All gardai should have to pass the same standard.

Jesus lads I’ve seen Gardaí twice her size at least, I wouldn’t say she’s hefty, take off all the stuff she’s wearing and she be a lot slimmer. In this day and age they’re dealing with alot of younger criminals so they need to be able to give chase and catch these criminals but after 10 years of service that’s very harsh. Something is off there with that now.

I doubt too many fit female garda have ever caught young lads in a chase.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 460 ✭✭eastie17

Theres a standard, you have to adhere to that standard.
    With 10 years invested in her I cant imagine they wanted to get rid of her so I imagine she was given every opportunity.
    I served in a foreign police force, we had to do a PT every year and you had to pass it to remain "on the job". Do AGS not do one every year?

I don't think she's wearing anything to make her thighs bigger.
    They're bigger than most men's.

But don't need to be in as good a shape as a man.
    All gardai should have to pass the same standard.

I’m not sure but I think there is differences in the genes that legally is has to be lower for women. Be worth finding out.

I can’t argue that haha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,172 ✭✭✭NaiveMelodies

That's an extremely generous level for someone who needs to be fit to carry out their job.

Mike Tyson had big thighs. You can be extremely fit with big thighs. The girl is just overweight and very unfit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭Fann Linn

When they're finished with the fat gardai they might start then with some of those in the Prison Service.

I doubt too many fit female garda have ever caught young lads in a chase.

If you can’t pass that bleep test the only thing your catching is a cold :) but I get your point, in the same breath they have to be able to chase a criminal for long enough to get back up. I’d have loved to pit myself against them, then again don’t we all find extra acceleration when the Gardaí are in pursuit :D

Mike Tyson had big thighs. You can be extremely fit with big thighs. The girl is just overweight and very unfit.

Tyson's thighs were muscular.
    Yer one's are most certainly not.

I'd say I could give her a 50m head start in a 100m sprint and catch her.

The real scandal is that she was allowed to serve 10 years. Shouldnt have been allowed to graduate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,450 ✭✭✭LollipopJimmy

That's an extremely generous level for someone who needs to be fit to carry out their job.

Yep, not able to pass that would put you out of breath walking up a couple of flights of stairs

Tyson's thighs were muscular.
    Yer one's are most certainly not.

I'd say I could give her a 50m head start in a 100m sprint and catch her.

The real scandal is that she was allowed to serve 10 years. Shouldnt have been allowed to graduate.

Yea i here ya but i didnt even realise garda had to do yearly fitness tests. Im surprised many other garda haven't failed it if thats the case and shes the first ive ever heard of.

To be honest theres too many female garda out on the beat. What use are they if there's a row? And they just cant physically deal with most men. Maybe the odd feeble skinny junky but 99% men would laugh at a female trying to run after them or restrain them. So surely this woman could be used in another area?

Yea i here ya but i didnt even realise garda had to do yearly fitness tests. Im surprised many other garda haven't failed it if thats the case and shes the first ive ever heard of.

To be honest theres too many female garda out on the beat. What use are they if there's a row? And they just cant physically deal with most men. Maybe the odd feeble skinny junky but 99% men would laugh at a female trying to run after them or restrain them. So surely this woman could be used in another area?

Sure when they make a lower standard for them to get in this is what happens.

All part of the larger gender agenda.

Sure when they make a lower standard for them to get in this is what happens.

All part of the larger gender agenda.

Can she not do filing or office work or some other stuff? Mabe drive the squad car. Whether she lost a stone or two now anyway what difference does it make. Walking the streets is not really a job for female garda in my opinion. Far too many out there. The streets should be for 99% male garda.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,768 ✭✭✭timsey tiger

I'd def run 2km no bother at 12km/h, but the turning must up the level considerably over running in a straight line, I'm def. no athlete. I feel sorry for her, they should have had her out years ago, when it would have been easier for her change direction career wise. They've done her no favours by stringing her along for 8 or so years. If you are going to fail, fail early.

Can she not do filing or office work or some other stuff? Mabe drive the squad car. Whether she lost a stone or two now anyway what difference does it make. Walking the streets is not really a job for female garda in my opinion. Far too many out there. The streets should be for 99% male garda.

I’ll disagree on that one, it’s not all physical work, a situation can be brought under control with the voice of reason, a good negotiator and levels of intelligence, a high percentage of people Gardaí come across pose no threat at all. Even when you watch The K you can see the skills they possess.

But the physicality must be present should diplomacy fail.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,495 ✭✭✭PCeeeee

If you can’t pass that bleep test the only thing your catching is a cold :) but I get your point, in the same breath they have to be able to chase a criminal for long enough to get back up. I’d have loved to pit myself against them, then again don’t we all find extra acceleration when the Gardaí are in pursuit :D

It isn't all about catching someone though. If you are not aerobically fit then you are much less likely be able to defend yourself from a a determined attacker.

You are a danger to yourself and worse to your colleagues.

She wasn't sacked because she was unfit. She was sacked because she refused to get fit.

I feel sorry for her, they should have had her out years ago, when it would have been easier for her change direction career wise. They've done her no favours by stringing her along for 8 or so years. If you are going to fail, fail early.

She was only a garda reserve for most of that time and was a proper guard in training the last aprox 2 years. Here's the thing though, she knew the level she had to be up to and theyre allowed multiple tests if they fail and she still failed.
    I really don't see how she has any cause for complaint

Dublins most famous on the beat garda was called Lugs Brannigan not Jugs Brannigan. And proper order. The streets are for male coppers. Thats my take on it anyway.

Equal pay equal duties.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,371 ✭✭✭TheAnalyst_

Vast, vast majority of police work requires no physicality or fitness. Everyone does their time on the beat and yes sometimes women get into bad situations because of size etc. Still valuable to have them in the police force for a 30+ year career.
    In general there is a culture of extreme fitness. Not with all of them and not for their whole career but there are some serious athlethes in all police forces.

Vast, vast majority of police work requires no physicality or fitness. Everyone does their time on the beat and yes sometimes women get into bad situations because of size etc. Still valuable to have them in the police force.

Thats the way i see it. So why is she getting the bullet? How is she the first copper to fail this fitness test?