Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Older age

• 29-03-2020 7:00pm

When the time comes will you accept the passing of time or will it be rage aginst not being relevant? being considered vulnerable.

I like to think when and if the time comes I will give up driving and the like, be sensible.

Thre is something slightly sad about someone trying to hang on to being cool and with it and not accepting things. On the other hand society seem to have a conflicted view of older people, society wants to see them as nanna and pops or granny and grandad and vulnerable and in need of support, certainly not having sex and getting on with their life and well able to look after themselves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 807 ✭✭✭Jenneke87

So, when does not being relevant start? 40? 50? 60? I think there are plenty of ways to be relevant outside of a career if that's what you mean. I like to think I will continue to practice music and enjoy my hobbies and volunteering if health allows it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,092 ✭✭✭The Tetrarch

Everybody is older.

Jenneke87 wrote: »
    So, when does not being relevant start? 40? 50? 60? I think there are plenty of ways to be relevant outside of a career if that's what you mean. I like to think I will continue to practice music and enjoy my hobbies and volunteering if health allows it.

It starts when someone looks at their peers and thinks they have nothing to do with them, someone could be 70 and climbing Mont Blanc fit and healthy but they know and accecpt they are 70.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,016 ✭✭✭Ultrflat

I think age is a state of mind, my old man's in his early 70s he listen to underworld and orbital, so proud about that, works on computers all day every day has written 3 books and one novel.

He looks like he's in his late 50s walks every day and for the most part is pretty fit. Loosing relevence is only something you can do as a human if you stop, start sitting around waiting to die. His words not mine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,440 ✭✭✭✭Sardonicat

mariaalice wrote: »
    It starts when someone looks at their peers and thinks they have nothing to do with them, someone could be 70 and climbing Mont Blanc fit and healthy but they know and accecpt they are 70.

???
    I think this thread is more about younger people's attitudes to and expectations of older people than it is about older people 'accepting' their age.

Anyone 'trying' to be cool isn't. It's usually younger people who do that. Anyone just being themselves, regardless of age or anything else is relevant to the only person that matters: him/herself

• Closed Accounts Posts: 234 ✭✭Shady Grady

When the time comes will you accept the passing of time or will it be rage aginst not being relevant? being considered vulnerable.

I like to think when and if the time comes I will give up driving and the like, be sensible.

Thre is something slightly sad about someone trying to hang on to being cool and with it and not accepting things. On the other hand society seem to have a conflicted view of older people, society wants to see them as nanna and pops or granny and grandad and vulnerable and in need of support, certainly not having sex and getting on with their life and well able to look after themselves.

It is about as a older gent.having goals and aspirations to achieve. Just because we are over 50 or 70,doesn;t mean we should be written off. I've still a lot of fight in me.

Sardonicat wrote: »
    ???
    I think this thread is more about younger people's attitudes to and expectations of older people than it is about older people 'accepting' their age.

Anyone 'trying' to be cool isn't. It's usually younger people who do that. Anyone just being themselves, regardless of age or anything else is relevant to the only person that matters: him/herself

It a mixture of everything thats why there is a conflicted view of older people in society.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

There will be a lot more of us in 30 years time than those pesky kids

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,700 ✭✭✭storker

Define "relevant".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,034 ✭✭✭Ficheall

storker wrote: »
    Define "relevant".
    Also define "old".

storker wrote: »
    Define "relevant".

Instagram influencer?

Ficheall wrote: »
    Also define "old".

Its not old its older an important point.

Ultrflat wrote: »
    Instagram influencer?

You can be a fashion influencer at any age.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,213 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

Age is a statistic that shows how long since you were born.

Age is not a barrier to you being able to enjoy life.

Age is not a barrier to setting goals and achieving them.

My father is in his 80’s, still healthy, still driving, still visiting friends and family weekly.

There is a guy in the gym I go to, again, in his 80’s, uses a great variety of equipment and gives it socks. A couple of months ago while driving through the Phoenix Park I see him out running or jogging.

Don’t let the date on your birth certificate define your enjoyment or how you live and enjoy life, you what you want, the only expectations you should aim to meet are your own.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,772 ✭✭✭Montage of Feck

I want to be like Clint Eastwood in gran torino, sitting out on the porch with a bag of cans shooting at skangers with a M1 rifle.

🙈🙉🙊

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 18,664 Mod ✭✭✭✭Leg End Reject

What's the qualifying age for "older", it's difficult to understand your point?

There must be some older people who hear that the over 70s should stay in because they are more vulnerable and think to themselves they don't mean them its some other 70s-year-old.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,449 ✭✭✭✭pwurple

As soon as you are 1 day old, you are "older" than someone else.

WHY CANT YOU ACCEPT THAT and STOP DRIVING dammit.
    Or some other mumbo jumbo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,160 ✭✭✭Huntergonzo

Well this is the oldest I've ever been, which is an interesting fact.

But eh no, I don't worry too much about the future, I'll let the future do all the worrying.

pwurple wrote: »
    As soon as you are 1 day old, you are "older" than someone else.

WHY CANT YOU ACCEPT THAT and STOP DRIVING dammit.
    Or some other mumbo jumbo.

There was an older woman who use to drive up the estate taking both side of he road at the same time and had numerous bumps, she was a danger to herself and others thats what make me want to be sensible about giving up driving if i even need to.

I dont like the old = vulnerable societal image of older people because lots are not and are doing just grand.

It was a joke :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,292 ✭✭✭0lddog

OP, if you had hoped for considered replies then AH was probably not the best place to start this thread.

There is a forum called 'Oulwans 'n' Oulfellas'. You could ask for it to be moved there.

There must be some older people who hear that the over 70s should stay in because they are more vulnerable and think to themselves they don't mean them its some other 70s-year-old.

My Dad is 88. When that announcement was made he ssked: "Who are they classing as old!?"

Guess what, you and I and everyone else will react exactly the same if we get to that age.

Older than who?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 234 ✭✭Shady Grady

I may be classed as an old dog,but,I still have my bite.

Not being relevant? :( Every person is relevant. An 80 year old has much to teach a 10 year old and a ten year old has plenty to teach that older person.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 18,664 Mod ✭✭✭✭Leg End Reject

This is like deciphering hieroglyphs. :confused:

Are you specifically referring to Covid-19? Older people are more susceptible, even if fit and healthy, and especially vulnerable if they have an underlying medical condition. There is a predicted shortage of ICU beds and a scramble to procure ventilators and PPE.

Many older people will not be treated, if some decide they are invincible they are putting themselves at risk.

As for driving, report anyone driving in an unsafe manner.

I doubt many elderly people are deluding themselves that they're spring chickens, but many are keeping their bodies and minds in good shape.

I've no idea if I've answered the question!

I intend to live forever, or die trying

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,275 ✭✭✭Your Face

I won't go quietly.

Not being relevant? :( Every person is relevant. An 80 year old has much to teach a 10 year old and a ten year old has plenty to teach that older person.

That was a poor choice of words every one is relevant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,787 ✭✭✭Feisar

Rage, rage against the dying of the light.

First they came for the socialists...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 632 ✭✭✭Sorry about that

Quote; I like to think when and if the time comes I will give up driving and the like, be sensible

There are many young people who should give up driving and the like, be sensible.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭Raconteuse

Some of the attitudes towards old people in light of this pandemic do seem to indicate a perception of them as less relevant. Before the reality hit, the attitude from even some professionals in the area of data analysis was "ah shur it only kills old people". Muppets.

I disagree with "age is only a number though" when it comes to health. Your health will deteriorate as you get old. Looking after it will certainly benefit you, but you are still more prone to illness/degenerative conditions.

Now there are people who go on as it they're old when they're in their 20s and 30s, which is stupid, but no matter how youthful someone is in their 70s, they're still quite old.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 625 ✭✭✭dd973

Saw a recent BBC4 music doc about London's Eel Pie Island music scene in the early 60's, The Who, The Stones, The Kinks, Rod Stewart, Hawkwind and many others were all connected with it in some way.

What caught my eye was the interviewees, all in their 60's and 70's who now look like the comfortably off Gran and Grandad type people you'd see in those daytime telly Life Insurance ads, some of the women in the documentary still had something of the fine young wan they were back in the day about them, these were the first real 'young people', prior to them were the WW2 generation and before them you left school at 13, went down a mine or into a shipyard, married at 19, kids by 21, and be quite conceivably underground by 65 due to smoking and drinking.

I think there is such a thing as having an attitude of mind and interests which keep some people culturally and socially young, there are 75 year olds who are still into Biking and Led Zepellin and people 25 years their junior whom are jowly, obese, unfit and clapped out individuals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,211 ✭✭✭✭ILoveYourVibes

I fully intend to take advantage of being considered vulnerable.:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,435 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

mariaalice wrote:

Don't be surprised if your reaction is, 'over my cold dead body', when the time comes, never underestimate the power of freedom and independence, when that is being slowly removed from you, you ll be saying and doing things that aren't exactly sensible, just to protect those levers of freedom and independence

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,524 ✭✭✭Gynoid

My personal classifications of age

0 - 25 = babyhood
    25 - 50 = early youth
    50 - 75 = middle youth
    75 - 100 = elder youth
    100 + = lucky

The human span goes so fast in terms of the ages of infinite time. We are hardly round long enough to really mature into wisdom. Every age has its troubles and boons. One boon of getting towards middle and elder youth is how many less fcuks you have to give.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,845 ✭✭✭Antares35

You think older people only drive to be cool??

In my experience, the older people are the less likely they will try to be cool because they give zero f*cks, unlike many younger, insecure folk who have something to prove.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,845 ✭✭✭Antares35

There was an older woman who use to drive up the estate taking both side of he road at the same time and had numerous bumps, she was a danger to herself and others thats what make me want to be sensible about giving up driving if i even need to.

I dont like the old = vulnerable societal image of older people because lots are not and are doing just grand.
    There are a lot of younger people who drive recklessly in my area and that makes me want to be sensible about giving up driving young... or something. Rabble rabble.

Giving up driving is sensible? Only if you fail the sight test or if your mind starts to go.

I'm hitting 42. My back hurts, my legs hurt and I'm tired all the ****ing time.

I walk in work and cycle to work but am overweight because while I don't drink, I enjoy my grub.

I'm married with kids and generally work overtime so they can have extras and holidays, etc instead of traveling around the world. I in turn like nights out to the Cinema, dinner or a show but you can keep your night clubs and hangovers.

I like to look good in clothes but but but at the price of comfort. Skinny jeans and tight shirt getting on a plane? Feck that. It's traveling on a plane, not working the catwalk.

I am who I am, I'm old, I'm broken, leave me to enjoy it before I die.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,700 ✭✭✭storker

...or imagine you are.

I'm hitting 42. My back hurts, my legs hurt and I'm tired all the ****ing time.

I walk in work and cycle to work but am overweight because while I don't drink, I enjoy my grub.

I'm married with kids and generally work overtime so they can have extras and holidays, etc instead of traveling around the world. I in turn like nights out to the Cinema, dinner or a show but you can keep your night clubs and hangovers.

I like to look good in clothes but but but at the price of comfort. Skinny jeans and tight shirt getting on a plane? Feck that. It's traveling on a plane, not working the catwalk.

I am who I am, I'm old, I'm broken, leave me to enjoy it before I die.
    You're exhausted from work and kids - you're nowhere near old. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,412 ✭✭✭✭the beer revolu

All I know is that when some well meaning, patronising person describes me as x years YOUNG, I will become known as a cantankerous old fukcer!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,707 ✭✭✭Bobblehats

Feisar wrote: »
    Rage, rage against the dying of the light.

Perhaps one would hope to be retaining ones dignity?!

..along with an auburny hue and a defined bicep; that harks back to former glories.

I also like to think we will be one of those older couples with hiking boots and jackets on out hillwalking, making the great use of our bus and train pass, out and about healthy and active.

Being a daily swimmer might be a stretch too far but you never know.

We are getting there fairly rapidly as is, my husband is more puzzled that he is the age he is, as he, like a lot of people has preconceived notions of what people his age are like.