Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Just want to say something...

• 10-03-2020 1:34am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 5,736 ✭✭✭

I posted this as a comment elsewhere so I hope it's okay to repeat it here.

The world has changed drastically before my eyes. I hope everyone here, no matter whether they disagree with everything I say, think I'm an idiot or have just never even seen me around here gets through this safely as does everyone you care about.

Good luck to you all. I genuinely mean that. Good luck to everyone in the country and the world.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,666 ✭✭✭Treppen

You too buddy.....

Fade in space oddity

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,864 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

Let's keep AH insincere. It's the only way I'll know things are functioning normally.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,326 ✭✭✭Scuid Mhór

I posted this as a comment elsewhere so I hope it's okay to repeat it here.

The world has changed drastically before my eyes. I hope everyone here, no matter whether they disagree with everything I say, think I'm an idiot or have just never even seen me around here gets through this safely as does everyone you care about.

Good luck to you all. I genuinely mean that. Good luck to everyone in the country and the world.

It is sincerity and a sense of community and perseverance that will get us through this. Nothing remains the same but things can change for the better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,047 ✭✭✭con747

There is always more liquid to fill the glass.:)

Don't expect anything from life, just be grateful to be alive.

Amen brother. My best to you and yours.

With sincerity.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,586 ✭✭✭4068ac1elhodqr

Wish also luck to the 5% (circa) in coming months. Not to mention any and all (unwise) smokers*, obese, unfit, heavy drinkers, and even the casually dismissive atheist types out there.
    It's never too late to change your lifestyle, mindset or habits.

* Some of the short-term inflammatory changes to the lungs can be reversed when people quit smoking, carbon monoxide binds to red blood cells in place of oxygen.
    Research shows, very soon after quitting, actual reversal of damage will begin and oxygen saturation levels will improve.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,047 ✭✭✭con747

Wish also luck to the 5% (circa) in coming months. Not to mention any and all (unwise) smokers*, obese, unfit, heavy drinkers, and even the casually dismissive atheist types out there.

* Some of the short-term inflammatory changes to the lungs can be reversed when people quit smoking, carbon monoxide binds to red blood cells in place of oxygen.
    Research shows, very soon after quitting, actual reversal of damage will begin and oxygen saturation levels will improve.

W.T.F

Don't expect anything from life, just be grateful to be alive.

con747 wrote: »
    W.T.F
    If you're a smoker, unfit and over 60, chances of seeing the other end of this coming pandemic, are simply not good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 566 ✭✭✭adrian92

Let us hope that we shall all be caring rather than some behavior that ignores others, which can easily lead to breakdown of a society

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,717 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

If you're a smoker, unfit and over 60, chances of seeing the other end of this coming pandemic, are simply not good.

Solves Sinn Féin's quandry about an aging population anyway!

Honestly, I think we will see the best of humanity emerge during this crisis. It will be a distraction from the conflict and the greed, the celebrity culture, the consumer mentality, the haves and the have nots.

Its almost HG Wells-ian in its scope. It discriminates not between colour or creed, identity or means. In fact it may bring out the wartime comradeship, only without the war, of the type that creates a new hope at the other end, that booms innovation and advancement.

This is Disease-X, the 'unknown unknown', a silent killer of maybe 300 million of our fellow man, and heaven knows the bible thumpers will covet it as a great reckoning overdue to mankind, but never more has man's indomitable spirit been poised to restore us all.

"We will not go quietly into the night. We will not vanish without a fight. We’re going to live on. We’re going to survive."

"Do not go gentle into that good night,
    Old age should burn and rave at close of day;
    Rage, rage against the dying of the light"

Larbre34 wrote: »
    Solves Sinn Féin's quandry about an aging population anyway!
    Suits Greta & Co's plans better for resource restrictions and pollution reduction. Could also be natures way of simply shedding a new coat.

See that you are not troubled; for all these things must come to pass, but the end is not yet. For nation will rise against nation, and kingdom against kingdom. And there will be famines, pestilences(plagues), and earthquakes in various places....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,597 ✭✭✭tdf7187

All the disaster junkies come out at night. Some day a real rain is gonna fall.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,736 ✭✭✭Irish Guitarist

I'm having trouble getting through this. I have an elderly mother. I've been trying to stop her doing things. I asked her if she thought maybe she should stop going to mass. She loves going to mass and for a short trip into town. She's not going on a weekend away with my sister she had planned. I hate to see this happening to her but I fear what will happen otherwise. I have a friend, a woman about 23 years older than me that had a bad health scare a couple of years ago. I'd like to meet her for lunch or call around to her house but I'm afraid to. I'm afraid of getting sick myself, not for me but the idea of spreading this to anyone kills me. I'm a grown man but I'm laying awake at night in bed crying.

I don't care how this sounds but I need to hug a human being.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 566 ✭✭✭adrian92

Suits Greta & Co's plans better for resource restrictions and pollution reduction. Could also be natures way of simply shedding a new coat.

See that you are not troubled; for all these things must come to pass, but the end is not yet. For nation will rise against nation, and kingdom against kingdom. And there will be famines, pestilences(plagues), and earthquakes in various places....

Let us hope such dire prediction of nation against nation as you suggest does not come to pass
    One person helping another will suffice

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,736 ✭✭✭Irish Guitarist

Just thought I'd post a picture I took on Christmas Eve 2014.

505168.jpg

Anyone want to share anything? A picture you (or someone else) has taken? Or anything else?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 623 ✭✭✭Fiolina

You sound like you're having a panic attack.
    Take some deep breaths and try and relax.
    All we can do is use our common sense.
    Worrying will get you nowhere.
    Take care.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,717 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

tdf7187 wrote: »
    All the disaster junkies come out at night. Some day a real rain is gonna fall.

Night. The low ebb of circadian rhythm, when we fade away.

Seriously but, what do you foresee as a real rain. Nuclear war? Climate change destroying the world food supply?

Everyone hopes this thing is tackled effectively through common sense and eventually a vaccine, but even a limited spread with a 3% mortality rate is a global disaster not seen since preindustrial times, at least outside of mass warfare.

We'll get through it, but its going to badly effect society and, as always, hit the poorest and weakest worse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,771 ✭✭✭✭fits

I’m getting a little freaked out too at times. Wish I could speak to some relatives who have passed that lived through times of TB etc for their wisdom on it.

Anyway in the past I’ve found it best not to catastrophise. Often you worry and then get blindsided by something completely different.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

I'm having trouble getting through this. I have an elderly mother. I've been trying to stop her doing things. I asked her if she thought maybe she should stop going to mass. She loves going to mass and for a short trip into town. She's not going on a weekend away with my sister she had planned. I hate to see this happening to her but I fear what will happen otherwise. I have a friend, a woman about 23 years older than me that had a bad health scare a couple of years ago. I'd like to meet her for lunch or call around to her house but I'm afraid to. I'm afraid of getting sick myself, not for me but the idea of spreading this to anyone kills me. I'm a grown man but I'm laying awake at night in bed crying.

I don't care how this sounds but I need to hug a human being.

(((HUGS)))

I hug my cats, and it helps. I am in total isolation as I have impaired immune system.

You are being wise, whatever the reason. You are respecting others and that is great, really great.

See your life now as wisdom, whatever the reason for it Fear is akin to wisdom, it really is and is far better than brash ignorance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 876 ✭✭✭ITman88

This is after hours so will warrant different responses to the mass hysteria thread.
    Whats your 5% about??
    Your right about fitness smoking etc we as a nation need to increase our fitness, however it’s a free country and smoking is optional.

This virus has been a drop in the ocean of the total death rate in Italy, where the total death rate is on average 1500 per day.

This virus has highlighted the morbid fantasy people thrive upon, people have been incessantly sharing theories of death rates and other uneducated ramblings.

We are guaranteed only death in our lives. We all have vulnerable close family and loved ones, and we must take all precaution about this virus to prevent the spread but the economy tanking is a real side effect here and may well far greater and longer lasting implications for the health and quality of life of citizens in this country.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 503 ✭✭✭Rufeo

Ok

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,194 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

Lo, there do I see my father.
    Lo, there do I see my mother,
    and my sisters, and my brothers.
    Lo, there do I see the line of my people,
    Back to the beginning!

Lo, they do call to me.
    They bid me take my place among them,
    In the halls of Valhalla!
    Where the brave may live forever!

Keep your hands properly clean, stay a respectful distance from people, and don't eat yellow snow.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭Raconteuse

Jeez lads I dunno.

I mean I cannot abide the attitude of people who are being quite blase about it - so self centred, and don't any of them have parents or grandparents?

But this thread is a bit The Stand. It's worrying for certain, but I wouldn't be that terrified - just yet at least. Some people are loving being able to terrorise others, and causing the type of upset that the OP was experiencing.

Stunning photo anyway Irish Guitarist.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

Say no to drugs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 65 ✭✭1882

Fr_Dougal wrote: »
    Say no to drugs.

and Gin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,143 ✭✭✭Auguste Comte

Nothing spreads faster than panic.

OP are you ok? It might be no harm to talk to someone about how this is affecting you.
    I have people in my life who are elderly and immunocompromised. Its very worrying and all I can do is hope they take the necessary precautions and are safe. My dad intends on going to mass as normal and I can't chain him to his bed to prevent this.

We are in a state of complete unknown and that's scary. We can fill that unknown space with all sorts of 'what ifs' and go down a rabbit hole of worst case scenarios. We look at other countries and see ourself in that same predicament. The reality is we are where we are right this moment. We have 24 confirmed cases right now.

I think that constantly talking about how terrible it is and will be only feeds fear and panic. It would be better if we as individuals followed the guidelines and our own common sense to stay safe and took each day as it comes. For example go to work. I can do that today. I'm not going to torture myself with tomorrow.

Allow the experts to carry the decisions around school closures and lockdowns. Keep doing your part with hand washing and being vigilant. All of the panic and fear isn't going to make Covid-19 go away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

Good luck to everyone in the country and the world.

I'm sure it speaks volumes about the heartless cúnt that i am, and i'm sure you meant it sincerely - but i did get a giggle out of this i have to say!

Don't stress it OP - this shít will all blow over, 2 or 3 months from now you'll be wondering what the fuss was all about!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,627 ✭✭✭Woke Hogan

Lads, calm down.

adrian92 wrote: »
    Let us hope such dire prediction of nation against nation as you suggest does not come to pass
    One person helping another will suffice
    Ideally. However, not my prediction, but instead some blokes (rightly or wrongly) Matthew (24:3-31), Luke (21:11) from a big book, written some time ago.
    Reckon there's still another decade of good times at hand, before a big rock (Apophis 99942) touches down (wear a yellow hardhat that day: 13/04/29).

The approximate figure of 5% as suggested earlier, could well reflect peak conditions (end of May), of the L-type variant, coupled with the normal expected provision of public services temporarily ceasing.

The good news is that even very small changes can easily slash this figure in half.
    Smokers take note. Junk salty-food fans also, and also the unclean/unexercised.

Also by mid-July and all of Aug will see a full global wide re-normalisation and even new prosperity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 566 ✭✭✭stratowide

Jaysus I dunno..Maybe it's time for trashcan man to step forward and show himself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

I had to look up the bible passages
    “ And then all the peoples of the earth[c] will mourn when they see the Son of Man coming on the clouds of heaven, with power and great glory

Fúck sake Jesus - we all do but get a tissue or something:mad:

Mary is going to be pissed!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,419 ✭✭✭corner of hells

Woke Hogan wrote: »
    Lads, calm down.

I cant enjoy my rasher sandwich with this thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,217 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

I'm building a fort with years of supplies. I'll kill anyone of you's who try to take whats my mine .... let god sort you lot out.

... too far? :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,439 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

I'm sure it speaks volumes about the heartless cúnt that i am, and i'm sure you meant it sincerely - but i did get a giggle out of this i have to say!

Don't stress it OP - this shít will all blow over, 2 or 3 months from now you'll be wondering what the fuss was all about!

There’s no being a heartless cúnt about anything. To be fair the OP appears to have lost any sense of perspective, and I’m still not sure they aren’t on a wind up, so bizarre is that level of insincerity. The opening post is almost as insincere as this crap -

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,194 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

Well, if we're going to Bible-bash:

Proverbs 26:4 - Do not answer a fool according to his folly, or you yourself will be just like him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,513 ✭✭✭Ray Palmer

WTF!!!!!
    Must people who are religious be taught about their religion. I am assume you are some christian faith? One of your rules is not to stand in judgment of others.

Casually dismissive atheists have a greater risk? That is the most idiotuc thing I have heard in years. The fact you link it to unhealthy lifestyles is absurd. I can walk into a church and start pointing out unhealthy people and it will be most who believe in the magic man in the sky.

About time you changed your lifestyle and beliefs. Probably don't even understand what preying is for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,217 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

Ray Palmer wrote: »
    WTF!!!!!
    Must people who are religious be taught about their religion. I am assume you are some christian faith? One of your rules is not to stand in judgment of others.

Casually dismissive atheists have a greater risk? That is the most idiotuc thing I have heard in years. The fact you link it to unhealthy lifestyles is absurd. I can walk into a church and start pointing out unhealthy people and it will be most who believe in the magic man in the sky.

About time you changed your lifestyle and beliefs. Probably don't even understand what preying is for.

But you must remember about athiests is the catacliptic, or dare I say downright, over influnced quashing nature of their breyesus or attitude.

yes im talking bollocks lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,943 ✭✭✭Deebles McBeebles

WTF!!!!!

Don't feed, Ray, don't feed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 128 ✭✭Silly Gilly

WTF!!!!!

The dude (an assumption) thinks he can predict the lottery numbers. He is a moron of the highest order.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

WTF!!!!!

Interesting and revealing spelling error

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,513 ✭✭✭Ray Palmer

Graces7 wrote: »
    Interesting and revealing spelling error

No it is not, small keyboard and auto correct.

You are also religious right?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,700 ✭✭✭storker

I'm building a fort

How many pillows will you need?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,627 ✭✭✭Woke Hogan

There’s no being a heartless cúnt about anything. To be fair the OP appears to have lost any sense of perspective, and I’m still not sure they aren’t on a wind up, so bizarre is that level of insincerity. The opening post is almost as insincere as this crap -

Whatever you think “insincere” means, you’re wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,819 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

I don't think it's going to be that bad a situation but hopefully it changes our views on things and slows us down for a bit. The world shouldn't all be about work, consumption, buying things, money, etc. We take everything for granted now and people can't deal with any tiny inconveniences without throwing a fit. I sometimes wonder how people got through the wars and the emergency rationing in Ireland etc given how fragile everyone seems to be nowadays.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,181 ✭✭✭Immortal Starlight

This virus is a monstrous bastard. It doesnt care if you are black white fat thin religious or not its coming for you. Its main mission is to get into your body and do the worst it can. What we can do to try and stop it is mainly wash our hands a lot with hot soapy water keep away from big crowds especially anyone coughing or sneezing and bin any tissues you use.

WTF!!!!!
    Must people who are religious be taught about their religion. I am assume you are some christian faith? One of your rules is not to stand in judgment of others. Casually dismissive atheists have a greater risk? That is the most idiotuc thing I have heard in years.
    Am simply saying those with less outward perspective, less hope, without faith (even slight, or token amounts) are at a disadvantage from the getgo. The most elementary of psych-studies show any type of religion will improve health (esp mental health) and general outlook, or wellbeing.

Your own pent-up mocking anger, and name-calling on display, here, now, is self-demonstrating. It won't help your blood pressure one bit. Do try to relax, hypertension really, really isn't ideal under a looming pandemic.
    The fact you link it to unhealthy lifestyles is absurd.
    Not directly linking, it's an additional, secondary, seperate, complimentary but cumulative factor. Same as diet, smoking, exercise, and various other lifestyle habits.

No it is not, small keyboard and auto correct.
    You are also religious right?
    Soooo much anger...

have a nice cup of (green matcha) tea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,439 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

Woke Hogan wrote: »
    Whatever you think “insincere” means, you’re wrong.

Insincere: not being or expressing what one appears to be or express

Whatever definition you have in mind is your own business.