Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

If Covid 19 forces us to stay at home box set recommendations to pass the time

• 07-03-2020 4:15am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,009 ✭✭✭

If Covid 19 gets worse some of us may have to stay at home because:
    1. We are old.
    2. Have compromised immune system like me.
    3. We have to self isolate.

To pass the time we might as well watch box sets. So let's recommend shows we should watch.

I have subscriptions to Amazon Prime and Apple TV+ and will list below some of my recommendations.

Amazon Prime

American Gods
    Boys
    Bosch
    Carvinal Row
    Expanse
    Goliath
    Good Omens
    Hanna
    Hunters
    Jack Ryan
    Mozart in The Jungle
    Patriot
    Picard
    Sneaky Pete
    The Grand Tour
    The Looming Tower
    The Man in The High Castle
    The Marvellous Mrs Maisel
    Treadstone

Apple TV+

Dickinson
    For All Mankind
    See
    Servant
    The Morning Show

I've been off because of it for ages. Best thing I did was to learn cryptic crosswords. It's a hobby I'll always have now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,128 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

I concur with ads, I've been on lockdown for 2 months and I'd suggest be proactive, keep the mind active, eat healthy, try not to sit and watch TV all day and keep a good routine like waking up early. Just some examples.

- Exercise
    - Learn a language
    - Learn a skill
    - Try baking
    - Deep clean your home

And I'm sure there's plenty of other things too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 312 ✭✭73bc61lyohr0mu

Star Trek The Original series
    Star Trek The Animated series
    Star Trek The Next Generation
    Star Trek Deep Space 9
    Star Trek Voyager
    Star Trek Enterprise

Read 'The Plague' by Camus..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,381 ✭✭✭Yurt2

Oranage2 wrote: »
    - Learn a language

Can't wait to show off my street Urdu to the boys in the office when I get back from quarantine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,128 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

Yurt! wrote: »
    Can't wait to show off my street Urdu to the boys in the office when I get back from quarantine.

Ha they'll certainly be impressed, alternatively you could learn Irish, Spanish, French etc.

https://www.freecodecamp.org/ for anyone who'd like to learn how to code. It's an excellent site.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55,571 ✭✭✭✭Mr E

Mod: moving to after hours.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,975 ✭✭✭Greyfox

Just get a switch with the best game ever, Zelda breath of the wild. Far more interesting than leaving the house and a lot more fun than learning a language.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,787 ✭✭✭Feisar

The Wire

First they came for the socialists...

Read Survivors by Terry Nation or The Stand by Stephen King!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,733 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

Watch The Last Ship...then join the Navy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,065 ✭✭✭✭Odyssey 2005

Star Trek Deep Space 9
    Star Trek Voyager
    Star Trek Enterprise

Spacer :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34 haydeyhi

Contagion is a pretty good film.

The stranger was a pretty awesome series i've seen lately.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 81,083 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sephiroth_dude

Breaking Bad
    Chernobyl

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,707 ✭✭✭Bobblehats

Kingdom
    Bad Blood
    The Outsider
    The Strain
    Sick of It

• Closed Accounts Posts: 686 ✭✭✭0xzmro3n4y7lb5

Is there any TV series based around viruses on any of the streaming sites? Not zombie ones.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 322 ✭✭Midster

Stay in, turn the tv off, and make babies ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 955 ✭✭✭Neames

Star Trek Deep Space 9
    Star Trek Voyager
    Star Trek Enterprise

May the force be with you.

All of the Fargo boxsets.
    Banshee is really super.
    Curb Your Enthusiasm
    Love Hate if you haven't seen it.

Neames wrote: »
    May the force be with you.

You do know Jacksie is talking about star treck, and not Star Wars don’t you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,795 ✭✭✭Mrcaramelchoc

Star Trek Deep Space 9
    Star Trek Voyager
    Star Trek Enterprise

so you think this star trek thing is good yea?

the west wing ......... twice

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,736 ✭✭✭Irish Guitarist

I can't recommend anything on Apple TV (I've never had it). I cancelled Amazon Prime Video but I enjoyed Man In The High Castle when I had it.

All I can really recommend is stuff that's on Netflix. You could always get a free trial of it.

I'm currently watching American Horror Story. I'm only on the third series but so far it's hit and miss, although never unwatchable. The first series was decent but slow. The second series was much better. The third series so far is better than the first but not as good as the second series.

Black Mirror is very good for the most part. The recent series wasn't that good but the previous ones were enjoyable.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,736 ✭✭✭Irish Guitarist

Is there any TV series based around viruses on any of the streaming sites? Not zombie ones.

I haven't watched it but there's a documentary series called Pandemic on Netflix about an upcoming pandemic. I think it appeared just a couple of weeks before covid-19 hit the headlines. I find it eerie anytime I'm looking for a something to watch and stumble on this trailer with people talking about an inevitable pandemic and saying "it's not a matter of if this will happen, but when".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,163 ✭✭✭10000maniacs

If you have not seen House MD or The Gilmore Girls box sets, they are strangely addictive. Maybe because of the comedic dialogue.

Watch The Last Ship...then join the Navy.

Came here to post exactly that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,717 ✭✭✭pgj2015

Entourage

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,609 ✭✭✭smilerf

Justified

A good supply of beer and crisps and you won’t need any telly at all.

Less well known but quite good: New Amsterdam

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,858 ✭✭✭Church on Tuesday

Luther

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 4,034 Mod ✭✭✭✭Planet X

.......online, real time, from opponents around the world, any level.
    It'll keep the auld marbles ticking......

chess.com

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 940 ✭✭✭d51984

Im on self isolation since last week. Ive started watching the Sopranos all over again. Currently on season 2.

Its a disgrace Joe!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 503 ✭✭✭Rufeo

I have to finish editing my novel. I don't have time for box sets.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,078 ✭✭✭IAMAMORON

Read " The Stand" by Stephen King.

"Google" the most underrated movies of the last decade and watch them all, there are some peaches out there you will have never even heard of.

"Yahoo" the most underrated movies of the last decade and watch them all, there are some peaches out there you will have never even heard of.

Also you could spend time comparing the results.

The development of the covid-19 virus was a deliberate collaboration between Netflix, you tube, Apple TV and amazon.

Paw Patrol,
    The Wiggles,
    PJ Masks

Or stick on challenge and watch old game shows.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 901 ✭✭✭one armed dwarf

Watch all 5 parts of JoJo's Bizarre Adventure.

Or if you don't like Chinese cartoons (understandable) then there's Deadwood. Not very long but very ****ing good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,711 ✭✭✭HBC08

Feisar wrote: »
    The Wire

Or from the same writer The Deuce,can't believe there's isn't more talk about this show,already in my top three of all time and better than the Wire imo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34 haydeyhi

One Night in Paris

Midster wrote: »
    You do know Jacksie is talking about star treck, and not Star Wars don’t you?

Yes. It was a joke.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,020 ✭✭✭uch

Lads if yiz are bored and isolated watch 'The Gods must be Crazy' you will piss and shít every bad thing out of you laughing, and as they say, laughing is the best cure

21/25

• Moderators, Regional Abroad Moderators Posts: 2,322 Mod ✭✭✭✭Nigel Fairservice

I'm watching The Shield right now. It's good stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,733 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

Hands box set, old school crafts show on RTE, available at your local library, proper old Ireland.

Download all of Southland if you can find it. Best thing you could watch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

Total solitude has been my chosen/ adapting lifestyle for many years so there is no hype etc about it.

Fully at peace in it. A full and fulfilled life.

And the sweet realisation that at my age no one is going to expect anything of me. True " retirement.

The days can be filled with sweet and simple things in leisure. Sad that I am too disabled to really live as fully as I would have liked but hey! I have so much, and enjoy so much quietly.

I can get up, ( or not at all!) go to bed, eat watch youtube, potter in the garden , meander the lanes at first light. ( if the rain ever stops!)

Enjoy the experience; although hard that it has become needful and wise in these times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,381 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

Watch all 5 parts of JoJo's Bizarre Adventure.

Or if you don't like Chinese cartoons (understandable) then there's Deadwood. Not very long but very ****ing good.

I take it you're referring to anime, which is Japanese btw. 'Chinese cartoons' as you put them, are known as Chinese anime. There is a big difference.

So, yeah, get into anime if you're looking for something to watch, and let the typical view of watching cartoons being childish behind. Some serious shows out there, if you're willing to suspend disbelief. You have the likes of One Piece, which is still going strong 21 years later, and imo is the grand-daddy of anime (no, DBZ is not) at 923 episodes so far, and plenty to come.

Then you have newcomers like Demon Slayer: Kimetsu no Yaiba, which basically sweeped the anime awards and for good reason, amazing animation, excellent story and voice acting, and quick progression. Some of the best moments of tv, imo, ever (fight against Rui, Zenitu's 'moments', Inosuke's character in general).

You have more adult orientated stuff with Attack on Titan, Beserk, Goblin Slayer et al (don't ever let a child watch Goblin Slayer, the first episode put off half of the adult viewers and they had accidentally set it up as a childs anime, it is not). There are drama based animes out there too, and if you like your romance there's ones based on that. There's really an anime for everything, with volleyball based Haikyu being very popular at the moment).

Again, you just have to suspend disbelief for a lot of them, kinda like when you go to watch a Marvel movie, except it's a lot more common and just expected. Also, anime is sometimes used as a way for men to vent their sexual frustrations without getting in trouble, as Japan is still quite old fashioned when it comes to talking about sex and desires. And the legal age is quite low there (13...), so quite a bit of what we would consider inappropriate (90% of Shonen anime have moments, some a lot more than others, but most draw the line at nudity. Does mean quite a lot of morto conversations about breast size and clothing/lack thereof, but it's a cartoon so get over it.)

Edit: Also, forgot to say, always watch with Japanese audio. The english speaking counterparts just can't do it the same.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,722 ✭✭✭PoisonIvyBelle

I find this whole panic a bit mad. Panic about catching it, yeah, that's grand. But I don't get why people are having a fcuking meltdown over having to stay in their own company for a small while.

Was looking for a new box set to watch and came across a good review for “The Americans” about a couple of Russian spies living in Washington in the early eighties, I’m onto second season now and it’s very good.

Dav010 wrote: »
    Was looking for a new box set to watch and came across a good review for “The Americans” about a couple of Russian spies living in Washington in the early eighties, I’m onto second season now and it’s very good.

What’s that on?