Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Sinn Fein Protest at visit of British Royals to Ireland?

• 05-03-2020 2:42pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,200 ✭✭✭

Has Sinn Fein mounted any protest at the visit of William and Kate to Ireland.?

If not it would be the first time in the last 30 years that they haven't.

It they haven't is it a sign of maturity or emasculation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 932 ✭✭✭Utter Consternation

imme wrote: »

It's a sign that they don't want to let the mask slip.

Like that arsehole singing up the 'Ra down in Waterford.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,020 ✭✭✭uch

COuld be wrong but I don't recall them protesting when Lizzie or Charlie were here, but I'm open to correction

21/25

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,203 ✭✭✭partyguinness

I am surprised to hear "William and Kate" have been visiting Ireland for the last 30 years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,716 ✭✭✭pgj2015

It's a sign that they don't want to let the mask slip.

Like that arsehole singing up the 'Ra down in Waterford.

the mask doesnt need to slip. we all know what they are like, they will always be the same.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,078 ✭✭✭Vic_08

The most compelling reason I can think of to vote for SF is to stick it to all the anti-shinner shytehawks who never shut up whinging about them even to the point of making up a sinister conspiracy as to why they haven't done something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 932 ✭✭✭Utter Consternation

Vic_08 wrote: »
    The most compelling reason I can think of to vote for SF is to stick it to all the anti-shinner shytehawks who never shut up whinging about them even to the point of making up a sinister conspiracy as to why they haven't done something.

Ah yes, it's one of the 'I'd never vote for SF, but...' brigade. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,497 ✭✭✭skinny90

Someone was playing wolftones on a load speaker just of shop st:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,203 ✭✭✭partyguinness

Ah yes, it's one of the 'I'd never vote for SF, but...' brigade. :D

Suck it up buttercup.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,839 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

skinny90 wrote: »
    Someone was playing wolftones on a load speaker just of shop st:cool:

While wearing a Celtic shirt no doubt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,955 ✭✭✭Conall Cernach

uch wrote: »
    COuld be wrong but I don't recall them protesting when Lizzie or Charlie were here, but I'm open to correction
    Was it them that released balloons when Liz came in 2011?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,761 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

Sinn Fein politicians have been meeting members of the British royal family for years.
    They have moved on, but not everyone on the island has. We just need to welcome people to Ireland, we can remember our history but we can't judge the people of today with the sins of the past as if they committed them.
    We will never move on if we live in the past.
    I am not a SF voter, but they have moved on and everyone else should too.

RobertKK wrote: »
    Sinn Fein politicians have been meeting members of the British royal family for years.
    They have moved on, but not everyone on the island has. We just need to welcome people to Ireland, we can remember our history but we can't judge the people of today with the sins of the past as if they committed them.
    We will never move on if we live in the past.
    I am not a SF voter, but they have moved on and everyone else should too.

did you miss "up the RA" being shouted by one of their newly elected TD'S, the guy who looks like someone who just got released from Mountjoy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,135 ✭✭✭Better Than Christ

Huge protests.

Martin%20Mc%2031%202%20INT_ED5_S01%20INT_ED6_S01%20Read-Only.jpg

II%20glencai%203.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 894 ✭✭✭ollkiller

Ya that's exactly how you should vote for political parties. Never mind stuff like policies etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,005 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

Why don't you protest at the lack of protest?

ollkiller wrote: »
    Ya that's exactly how you should vote for political parties. Never mind stuff like policies etc.

I like their policies, but I didn't give them my number one last month. The party isn't left-wing enough for my liking, and I don't trust them not to evolve into another Fianna Fáil. The obsessive whinging about them since the election has swung me though. They'll probably be getting my Number 1 next time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭Raconteuse

Ah this thing of "I'd vote for them to piss off that crowd" - no matter where it's coming from - grow up ffs.

Raconteuse wrote: »
    Ah this thing of "I'd vote for them to piss off that crowd" - no matter where it's coming from - grow up ffs.

The only thing preventing me from voting for them was the fear of what they'll become in government (no better than what came before them). The over-the-top reaction to their relative success makes me more inclined to give them the benefit of the doubt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,084 ✭✭✭✭neris

there were a few clowns "protesting" around sutton cross and howth yesterday, they werent sinn feinn.

https://twitter.com/AIAIreland/status/1235227315153571840?s=20

Ring of steel :D:D:D. Probably friends of the clown in the soccer jersey protesting at no foreign games in croke park years ago

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,761 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

pgj2015 wrote: »
    did you miss "up the RA" being shouted by one of their newly elected TD'S, the guy who looks like someone who just got released from Mountjoy.

and the said person was scrutinised for saying it. He showed his colours but it is not as if the party then went and endorsed it.
    I remember growing up and Northern Ireland being on the news due to violence, death and destruction of lives.
    I don't agree with SF policy in some areas and thus I don't vote for them, and I have not yet fully reconciled their party to what happened in the past given they existed as the political wing of a terrorist group, but people have a right to vote for them if they agree on current policy.
    However I can say they have worked towards peace after all the wrong, there was so much wrong on all sides. So while I do not agree with SF, I accept they took the right path to peace and that should be appreciated.
    They now meet the royal family of England and it is normal. This is good, where would we be if we all decided to define ourselves by the darkest periods of our history?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 63 ✭✭Manc_Red

I always get the feeling with SF that they're more anti-UK then pro-Irish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,005 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

I always get the feeling that FF and FG are more unionist than republican.

RobertKK wrote: »
    and the said person was scrutinised for saying it. He showed his colours but it is not as if the party then went and endorsed it.
    I remember growing up and Northern Ireland being on the news due to violence, death and destruction of lives.
    I don't agree with SF policy in some areas and thus I don't vote for them, and I have not yet fully reconciled their party to what happened in the past given they existed as the political wing of a terrorist group, but people have a right to vote for them if they agree on current policy.
    However I can say they have worked towards peace after all the wrong, there was so much wrong on all sides. So while I do not agree with SF, I accept they took the right path to peace and that should be appreciated.
    They now meet the royal family of England and it is normal. This is good, where would we be if we all decided to define ourselves by the darkest periods of our history?

If a TD who wasnt in sinn fein shouted up the RA they would be kicked out of the party straight away. mary lou was probably proud of him but she has to pretend she was disappointed in him for saying it.

And herein lies the mentality we have to live with today, what does a person that was just released from Mountjoy, or any other prison look like?

21/25

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,769 ✭✭✭Pinch Flat

They usually show up to protest while wearing their favourite premiership football top

Pinch Flat wrote: »
    They usually show up to protest while wearing their favourite premiership football top

Right, carry on

21/25

Manc_Red wrote: »
    I always get the feeling with SF that they're more anti-UK then pro-Irish.

And do you know what? thats an honest opinion, fair play, instead of the herd mentality here when you're from somewhere and yer da and ma voted for them and told you the others were evil so thats the way it is

21/25

And herein lies the mentality we have to live with today, what does a person that was just released from Mountjoy, or any other prison look like?

They look like him. he looks like a very angry man, just picture him going mental about something. as my dad says "its enough to look at him"

Right, as my dad says!... carry on voting for the healy raes and the like so, do you not have your own opinion yet or do you have to ask yer Da, Jesus christ I thought we were moving away from this shíte but apparently no.

No Healy Rea's were hurt in the making of this post and I apologise for any hurt caused

21/25

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭Raconteuse

That really shouldn't be the most compelling reason to vote for a particular party.

Now the types you're talking about - I agree with you about them. But there are also people who can't handle any criticism of SF.

Like many here (but also unlike many here) I remember some of the conflict years, including nationalists being treated like sh1t, and utter imbalance in reporting (including by this country's media). I empathise greatly with the nationalist community and I despise loyalism and apologists for it. But I also remember some of the horrific things done by the IRA. The heartbreak of Enniskillen and Warrington... it was unimaginable. Even though I know they originally had to defend their community from scummy security forces and loyalists, they then went too far, ending the lives of innocent civilians. Frankly some kids today haven't a notion.

So while I know not all members of SF are terrorists, and the likes of Eoghan Harris are full of nonsense, I have my reservations about SF due to what they are connected to.

Pity they didn’t. The fawning is revolting.

Right, as my dad says!... carry on voting for the healy raes and the like so, do you not have your own opinion yet or do you have to ask yer Da, Jesus christ I thought we were moving away from this shíte but apparently no.

No Healy Rea's were hurt in the making of this post and I apologise for any hurt caused

my dad says he is gonna get me a cool hat like the Healy Rea's so there.

yer man looks like such a knacker in fairness and obviously is one which is handy.

my dad says he is gonna get me a cool hat like the Healy Rea's so there.

yer man looks like such a knacker in fairness and obviously is one which is handy.

You better go to bed, school is starting soon, and god forbid what yer Da will say if ye late

21/25

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,646 ✭✭✭washman3

neris wrote: »
    Ring of steel :D:D:D. Probably friends of the clown in the soccer jersey protesting at no foreign games in croke park years ago

You do realise that the photo of that guy was set up by a journalist..??
    The same guy hardly even know that morning there was a game on Croke Park and did'nt have a clue what the soccer shirt he was wearing meant.
    You need spend a bit more time reading, instead of just the fake headlines.;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 625 ✭✭✭dd973

Why get worked up about them, it's not as if they're British is it?....

A lot of people should be ran out of this country. Fawning over those *****.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,200 ✭✭✭imme

Zebra3 wrote: »
    I always get the feeling that FF and FG are more unionist than republican.

No-one is as republican as sinn Fein!

republican means different things to different people, sinn Fein has caused that.

C'est la vie!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,200 ✭✭✭imme

Zebra3 wrote: »
    Why don't you protest at the lack of protest?

Was that a raw nerve?

I never said that sf should be protesting.

Maybe read a thread before jumping in.