Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

6 burnt out cars welcome culchies on trains to county Dublin

• 04-03-2020 8:36am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,658 ✭✭✭

Clondalkin area, why don't the burnt out cars get removed from that field?

Bit like saying "cities full turn around or else!"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,779 ✭✭✭1o059k7ewrqj3n

They are natural to that habitat. Be like moving dolmens or something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,963 ✭✭✭D3V!L

See the "Planning and Development Act, 2000" and the 2014 amendment titled "ah sure its our culture boss" sub section. They can't be moved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,760 ✭✭✭Effects

Maybe we don’t want culchies to feel welcome?
    They’ll just complain about dublin regardless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Be like taking away the rusting ford escort that's in so manys farmers fields in this country

Part of the vibe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,574 ✭✭✭✭Victor

Have you reported the location to the litter warden?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,845 ✭✭✭Antares35

They already have their views on Dublin, nothing will change that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,943 ✭✭✭Deebles McBeebles

Steyr 556 wrote: »
    They are natural to that habitat. Be like moving dolmens or something.

Same as the mangy, malnourished horses you see as you enter/leave Heuston. Same as it ever was.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,806 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Appropriate for a city whose coat of arms is three burnt out gaffs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,005 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

If you don’t like Dublin, don’t visit.

We’ll survive without you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,658 ✭✭✭veryangryman

Zebra3 wrote: »

I like Dublin. I don't like burnt out cars. Are the 2 things related for you?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,245 ✭✭✭Gretas Gonna Get Ya!

It kind of is tbf though! :p

We'll withdraw the Gardaí and leave you to deal with the Kinahans. I'm sending an email out on the culchie web right now.

ETA of e-mail, 6-8 weeks.

Do the burnt out cars ruin your view from the First Class carriage OP? If so just pull down the shade on the Window!

ETA of e-mail, 6-8 weeks.

About as long as it will take the lads to take over the GPO and name it their new lair once all the culchies leave.

There's a burnt out car in a field on the N52 between Kells and Ardee since October.

Also along the same road there are a good few junked tractors, trailers and small vans in fields and in front of farm yards, what is it with culchies leaving their rubbish all over the place.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,148 ✭✭✭Salary Negotiator

DubInMeath wrote: »
    There's a burnt out car in a field on the N52 between Kells and Ardee since October.

Also along the same road there are a good few junked tractors, trailers and small vans in fields and in front of farm yards, what is it with culchies leaving their rubbish all over the place.

To be fair, it wasn't burnt out at first it was only crashed and overturned. It's only been burnt out since after Christmas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭conorhal

The salty Dub version of 'if u can't handle me at my worst u don't deserve me at my best!'?

To be fair, it wasn't burnt out at first it was only crashed and overturned. It's only been burnt out since after Christmas.

Ah OK only travel it every couple of weeks and mainly in the dark at that time of the year, so sitting there for a few weeks before being burnt out.

Its to distract the roaming Dub gangs from the valuable stuff. :pac:

Even the dogs are dangerous in Dublin
    https://www.dublinlive.ie/news/dublin-news/notorious-dogs-terrorise-locals-tallaght-17857010

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,148 ✭✭✭Salary Negotiator

Ah OK only travel it every couple of weeks and mainly in the dark at that time of the year, so sitting there for a few weeks before being burnt out.

Well it wasn’t burnt out at Christmas but it was last weekend when I drove past it. I hadn’t been on that road between then so not sure how long it’s actually been burnt out for or how long it’s been there.

It's there since the second week of October and fairly sure it was burnt out before January at least.

Its to distract the roaming Dub gangs from the valuable stuff. :pac:

Even the dogs are dangerous in Dublin
    https://www.dublinlive.ie/news/dublin-news/notorious-dogs-terrorise-locals-tallaght-17857010

Ah they wouldn't fall for that.

The dogs aren't just a Dublin phenomenon unfortunately.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,301 ✭✭✭Flesh Gorden

Never noticed the burnt out cars on my way into The Pale, but I have to say there's something I enjoy everytime I've taken the non-stop train:

That's the pissed off faces when it slows down in Kildare, Newbridge, Sallins etc... but doesn't stop. :D:D

It's the only time I book a seat reservation, to make sure I'm sat windowside near the back of the train.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 755 ✭✭✭Vita nova

6 burnt out cars welcome culchies on trains to county Dublin

Call yourself a culchie, bogger, muck savage, etc. if you want but leave the rest of us out of it.

The burnt out cars aren't a pretty sight; perhaps fire off an email to SDCC, if enough people do it then maybe they'll do something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,862 ✭✭✭mikhail

That's right. There are no guards recruited in Dublin. We're completely at the tender mercies of people who've never seen a roundabout. It's why the traffic corps is in such disarray.

Never noticed the burnt out cars on my way into The Pale, but I have to say there's something I enjoy everytime I've taken the non-stop train.

Do you jump off those trains?

mikhail wrote: »
    That's right. There are no guards recruited in Dublin. We're completely at the tender mercies of people who've never seen a roundabout. It's why the traffic corps is in such disarray.

Ah we only send the slow lads up there. As revenge for half of Tallaght moving down the country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,862 ✭✭✭mikhail

Ah we only send the slow lads up there. As revenge for half of Tallaght moving down the country.
    What'll you give us for the other half?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,126 ✭✭✭✭Idbatterim

Antares35 wrote: »
    They already have their views on Dublin, nothing will change that.

funny their opinions on the golden goose that keeps this country with the standard of living it has :rolleyes:

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 12,859 Mod ✭✭✭✭iamstop

It's a test to make sure only the culchie who can count are allowed in.
    If you don't see 6 burnt out cars you failed. Go home to the bog.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,745 ✭✭✭MrMusician18

Is that beside the same station that has a gigantic forest of steel beams and columns for ramps, so they wouldn't have to put in lifts?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,627 ✭✭✭Woke Hogan

conorhal wrote: »
    The salty Dub version of 'if u can't handle me at my worst u don't deserve me at my best!'?

That actually is the kind of thing someone from Dublin would say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,193 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

Is that beside the same station that has a gigantic forest of steel beams and columns for ramps, so they wouldn't have to put in lifts?

Are you referring to Inchicore Works, about a mile East of Clondalkin? That isn't a station per sé, they service and repair trains there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,474 ✭✭✭Obvious Desperate Breakfasts

One of my favourite things about train travel is passing through different areas, seeing different things: scenery, nice areas, not-so-nice areas.

Alot of the towns you pass through on the train have a fairly crap area on the line, and not just in Ireland.
    Used to be a good few on the Cork line, but given its about 20 years since I used to travel it, things may well have been cleaned up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,172 ✭✭✭cannotlogin

I don't culchies are that delicate that a few cars are going to bother them!

Most aren't.

Some though, a minority, are obsessed with Dublin and desperate to put it down whenever they can.

You can bet nobody from Dublin is bothered about whatever kip they're from.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

That's been like that for over twenty years, a well known dumping ground for stolen/"joyriding" cars, the burnt out husks just change every other week. I knew two people who had their cars stolen by scum and dumped there. One guy got a call from someone who seen his stolen car being brought in there, he calls the Guards, goes to the nearest station and what did they do? Fcuk all. They only warned him against going in to try to retrieve it.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,627 ✭✭✭Woke Hogan

Most aren't.

Some though, a minority, are obsessed with Dublin and desperate to put it down whenever they can.

You can bet nobody from Dublin is bothered about whatever kip they're from.

You’re calling the places outside of Dublin a “kip” when this is a discussion about burnt out cars in the capital.

People in glasshouses, mate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,706 ✭✭✭fonecrusher1

Ah sure its only a few burnt out cars.

Its the herds of roaming junkies in the city center that puts me off. Lived in a few properly big cities in my time and i've never seen it as bad. Oh and the grating "aaaaaahh here bud giz a euro" accent.

Ah sure its only a few burnt out cars.

Its the herds of roaming junkies in the city center that puts me off. Lived in a few properly big cities in my time and i've never seen it as bad. Oh and the grating "aaaaaahh here bud giz a euro" accent.

Glasgow is worse in my opinion followed by Amsterdam and not just because of the tourists.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,658 ✭✭✭veryangryman

Glasgow is worse in my opinion followed by Amsterdam and not just because of the tourists.

Edge of the cities that bad in both cases?

Did security in Glasgow (as well as Dublin) Glasgow seen it a lot in the center both day and night. Walking back to where I was staying near the train station was weird. Companies like compaq had offices around it, and during the day it was full of office workers etc, but after 6 it was full of prostitutes. The outskirts would be similar in terms of burnt out cars etc.

Amsterdam I noticed them around the tourist areas a lot from begging, pickpocket and dealing, but didn't go out to the outskirts.

Prague when I was last there had a lot of graffiti on the outskirts and when in a pub they had a warning sign up for the tourists telling them not to take any taxi outside, the bar would order one.
    Got talking to the owner who was an Irish guy and asked about the sign and it was there because customers were leaving getting into taxis and being driven to the outskirts and being robbed and beaten.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,814 ✭✭✭harry Bailey esq

Alot of the towns you pass through on the train have a fairly crap area on the line, and not just in Ireland.
    Used to be a good few on the Cork line, but given its about 20 years since I used to travel it, things may well have been cleaned up.
    It hasn't. There is some poxy little estates dotted around stations on the route.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,310 ✭✭✭Pkiernan

They should use the burned out cars to block access to the dole offices in Clondalkin.