Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Do the 'lock hard' men still operate in Dublin?

• 01-03-2020 3:44pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,733 ✭✭✭✭
    M

Been a while since I parked in Dublin City Centre off peak, do the lock hard men still operate? I remember it back in the day it was pure intimidation, place a cap on your head and a newspaper in your hand controlling the free parking spaces and looking for a 'tip' from motorists. It was like something you would see in a Mafia region of Southern Italy, operating in full view of authorities.

https://www.rte.ie/archives/2016/0108/758711-the-lock-hard-men/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,899 ✭✭✭passatman86

Chap at dalymount done it for years not sure if he's still about

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,564 ✭✭✭Deep Thought

Been a while since I parked in Dublin City Centre off peak, do the lock hard men still operate? I remember it back in the day it was pure intimidation, place a cap on your head and a newspaper in your hand controlling the free parking spaces and looking for a 'tip' from motorists. It was like something you would see in a Mafia region of Southern Italy, operating in full view of authorities.

Man in cap: mind your car for you ?
    Me: no thanks, I have in the car for that
    Man in cap: Does your dog put out fires?
    Me: here’s a fiver

The narrower a man’s mind, the broader his statements.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,219 ✭✭✭pablo128

Man in cap: Are you not tipping me?
    Me: Why would I?
    Man in cap: What if your car gets broken into?
    Me: If my car gets broken into today, you won't be here tomorrow or ever again.

Rotunda hospital in the 90s.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,977 ✭✭✭mikemac2

The Halfway House on the Navan Road have an elderly chap with a peaked cap like those in the videos. An old Telecom Eireann phonebox for whatever he wants to store.

I'm sure he works for them, maybe gets a carvary dinner and a few pints for directing the cars outside. Not like those extortion boyos on the public street

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 18,650 Mod ✭✭✭✭Leg End Reject

Everyone was so well spoken in that clip apart from the lock hard men. I haven't seen them in years, they used to be outside hospitals before pay parking became the norm at them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,913 ✭✭✭v638sg7k1a92bx

Everyone was so well spoken in that clip apart from the lock hard men. I haven't seen them in years, they used to be outside hospitals before pay parking became the norm at them.

Delusions of grandeur among country folk who came up to the big smoke. Even rte was riddled with them, civil service also filled positions with country people over Dubs.

It sounds more like the authentic D4 type accent than culchie, before the American twang and Dort affectation became prominent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,166 ✭✭✭Still waters

I wonder where the reporter is now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,119 ✭✭✭NewbridgeIR

You have to wait until the last 10 seconds to hear them say “lock hard”.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

jayzus i cant believe those scumbags got away with that kind of extortion

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

jayzus i cant believe those scumbags got away with that kind of extortion
    They were harmless enough and you knew what they were up to!

Vita nova wrote: »
    Those are fairly neutral Irish accents they could be from anywhere in Ireland and btw most people from outside Dublin don't have a "culchie" accent, just like most people from Dublin don't have a "skanger" accent.

I'm not a Dub so I'm not insulting a culchie accent, but most of us can be placed by our accent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

is_that_so wrote: »
    They were harmless enough and you knew what they were up to!
    gougers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,474 ✭✭✭jippo nolan

mikemac2 wrote: »
    The Halfway House on the Navan Road have an elderly chap with a peaked cap like those in the videos. An old Telecom Eireann phonebox for whatever he wants to store.

I'm sure he works for them, maybe gets a carvary dinner and a few pints for directing the cars outside. Not like those extortion boyos on the public street

He’s not elderly!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 586 ✭✭✭Redneck Reject71

That video was funny. Loved how they were scrambling and coming up with all sorts of excuses, once they knew there was a camera.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,058 ✭✭✭✭anewme

You have to wait until the last 10 seconds to hear them say “lock hard”.

Ahh stop, I'm in knots laughing here. It was brilliant. And the reporter like he was covering a huge expose.

Cant believe that was 1991.

Loved when Naked Camera PJ Gallagher had a character modelled on the lock hards complete with cap and rolled up newspaper.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,016 ✭✭✭Ultrflat

When ever my old man was parking near the illac in the 80s and 90s he'd park by the attendants, they'd watch his car and he'd come back to a car apposed a one with a smashed windows. The local parking attendants new his car knew most of knew him by name. He did the same at football matches when he was a kid he grew up a stones throw away from Goodasin park and watched over cars during foot ball matches. Truthfully I'd trust a lad who wants to earn money keeping an eye on my car then a security guard in a booth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,530 ✭✭✭Naked Lepper

mikemac2 wrote: »

youre on the money there
    he is an alcho

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,219 ✭✭✭pablo128

youre on the money there
    he is an alcho

That's all any of them were. Middle aged alcos trying to intimidate people. Laughable when you think of it.

pablo128 wrote: »
    That's all any of them were. Middle aged alcos trying to intimidate people. Laughable when you think of it.

That's why I'm laughing at yer man chasing them in the film like he's tracked down a mafia godfather.

As my Dad used to say "sure you"d bate him with your Mickey."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71,142 ✭✭✭✭L1011

Once on-street parking went pay people weren't willing to pay twice and they died out in a very short period of time

Don't get the lads trying to 'wash' windscreens with canal water anymore either as it happens. Every car had washers in that era too so I presume it was just less and less people willing to pay them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,918 ✭✭✭Terrontress

It just shows that there was a perceived value in parking in town, the council weren’t taking it and those guys stepped in to lift the money. Pay and display appears and they disappear.

I was in Tbilisi last year and the same setup was going on over there, hat and rolled up paper directing in to spaces. I’m not sure if there was the same threat of menace as I can’t speak Georgian.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,494 ✭✭✭PCeeeee

anewme wrote: »
    That's why I'm laughing at yer man chasing them in the film like he's tracked down a mafia godfather.

As my Dad used to say "sure you"d bate him with your Mickey."

Hard to bate them when they were no where to be seen when you got back

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 418 ✭✭S. Goodspeed

Bring well spoken equates to having delusions of grandeur? Jaysus we really are a begrudging bunch of ****

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,918 ✭✭✭Terrontress

L1011 wrote: »
    Once on-street parking went pay people weren't willing to pay twice and they died out in a very short period of time

Don't get the lads trying to 'wash' windscreens with canal water anymore either as it happens. Every car had washers in that era too so I presume it was just less and less people willing to pay them.

I just said the same thing as you but, looking at the video again, are they parking meters at 50 seconds in?

PCeeeee wrote: »
    Hard to bate them when they were no where to be seen when you got back

Lol.

But why would anyone give them money in the first place?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,494 ✭✭✭PCeeeee

anewme wrote: »
    Lol.

But why would anyone give them money in the first place?

Ah. Cos I was young and foolish and wasn't sure maybe.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 586 ✭✭✭Redneck Reject71

In Mexico we had something similar. One would be in the tourist spots. Someone would take a photo of tourists the demand money for the picture. Another very seedy one is a gang would send out a young kid to target tourists. Saying their family member was injured and would they help. Only to lure them in a side ally to be robbed by gangs who was in waiting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71,142 ✭✭✭✭L1011

I just said the same thing as you but, looking at the video again, are they parking meters at 50 seconds in?

Would have been peak time only back then, video is night - so probably out of action.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,810 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

The vacuum left by the 'lock hard' men is filled by 'any spare change' men.

Give them nothing either.

Any spare change, Bud?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,810 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Ah Jaysus de salt of de eart Dubs got shoved out of the civil service and forced to become parking attendants!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,119 ✭✭✭NewbridgeIR

My uncle knew Alice Glenn years ago (c.1950) and said she was a looker.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,913 ✭✭✭v638sg7k1a92bx

Bring well spoken equates to having delusions of grandeur? Jaysus we really are a begrudging bunch of ****

How is that well spoken?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,942 ✭✭✭topper75

... I’m not sure if there was the same threat of menace as I can’t speak Georgian.

I won't hold that against you. I gather it is one of the most complicated of all. I saw a youtube video on it once and just asked Why?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭JohnnyFlash

My uncle was at the AI hurling final in 2018 where Galway ended their drought for senior hurling success. He was asked for, and handed over, 10 euro to some lockhard operating on a side street in Ballybough.

He just presumed it was still a thing. My uncle would be the sort of man who brings a biscuit tin full of ham sandwiches to a match, and who eats them out of the boot of the car. A very rural sort of man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,078 ✭✭✭Castlekeeper

The first lady could be Eamon Ryan's mother!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,078 ✭✭✭Castlekeeper

My uncle was at the AI hurling final in 2018 where Galway ended their drought for senior hurling success. He was asked for, and handed over, 10 euro to some lockhard operating on a side street in Ballybough.

He just presumed it was still a thing. My uncle would be the sort of man who brings a biscuit tin full of ham sandwiches to a match, and who eats them out of the boot of the car. A very rural sort of man.
    That would have been Limerick, a much more severe drought ; )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

The only people who stop to be interviewed by RTE back then were the gentrified types, asking Alice Glen her opinion says it all

That RTE lad, bit of an attitude on him, getting stroppy with little oul fellas

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,370 ✭✭✭✭GreeBo

Very common practice in South Africa still.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,281 ✭✭✭CrankyHaus

Is it still a thing for big games in Croker though? I live round there and haven't noticed it but matchgoers pile their cars in everywhere, footpaths etc, so I assumed someone must be collecting money from them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,839 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

And the junkie with the hospital name bracelet (usually about three years old)*

*The bracelet that is, not the junkie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,467 ✭✭✭✭salmocab

I remember years ago on the radio, Gerry Ryan I think it was a fella was on, he’d driven up for a match and was running a bit late and was looking for somewhere to park and some young lad said to park in a driveway as it was his uncles and he was away. He came back after the match and the owner had blocked him in, the young lad did it for a laugh and the owner wouldn’t move as he was sick of match day parking making their lives hard. The Garda if I remember right said they had no power to make him move his car. I might be misremembering the full facts but that was the jist.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,814 ✭✭✭harry Bailey esq

Still around. Usually on big gaa match days. Usually youngfellas around drumcondra

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 549 ✭✭✭Limerick91

GreeBo wrote: »
    Very common practice in South Africa still.

In South Africa a few years ago. I agreed to pay the chap when I came back to the car.
    By mistake I paid the wrong chap and all sort of cursing and threats followed!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 932 ✭✭✭Utter Consternation

Limerick91 wrote: »
    In South Africa a few years ago. I agreed to pay the chap when I came back to the car.
    By mistake I paid the wrong chap and all sort of cursing and threats followed!!

How did you make this mistake?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,474 ✭✭✭jippo nolan

How did you make this mistake?

Don’t answer!