Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Recovery truck business

• 26-02-2020 7:16pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 223 ✭✭

Hi was wondering if any one could give info on starting up a recovery business.is it a good business to start any ideas where to start.
    Post edited by LIGHTNING on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,946 ✭✭✭Bigus

Start with an insurance quote, it might be a show stopper for newcomers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭Toyotafanboi

Plenty of operators already out there working for nothing. It'd be hard to get into and actually make money I'd say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,218 ✭✭✭Whocare

Plenty of operators already out there working for nothing. It'd be hard to get into and actually make money I'd say.

With that attitude I don't know how you get out of bed in morning

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,600 ✭✭✭BanditLuke

The amount of recovery trucks for sale on done deal tells its own story. I'd say most have multiple previous owners.

BanditLuke wrote: »
    The amount of recovery trucks for sale on done deal tells its own story. I'd say most have multiple previous owners.

Yeah that trading up to a newer one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,688 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

I don't see anything mad cheap. I'd nearly buy one for my track car if could be picked up handy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭Toyotafanboi

Whocare wrote: »

Sure, go on, set it up so and see how you fair out.

Unless you get a good contract sub contracting for the AA or Allianz or someone like that in an area of the country that isn't Dublin, you'll find it very hard to make a good living from it and those crowds wont sublet work to just anyone either.

One man and a Transit beavertail or the likes trying to operate by the books will find it very tricky. You're competing against lads with Landcruisers and double axle trailers that will tow a car from anywhere to anywhere for €100 cash, you're also trying to compete against all the other lads with beavertail Transits who are already working for very little.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,038 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

His 'attitude' is correct. It's a tough business to make a living out of especially of you're trying to do everything above board.

.....and getting out of bed in the morning and at all hours of the day and night is par for the course. Why be a busy fool? More money to be made with better working conditions in Tesco or McDonalds.

His 'attitude' is correct. It's a tough business to make a living out of especially of you're trying to do everything above board.

.....and getting out of bed in the morning and at all hours of the day and night is par for the course. Why be a busy fool? More money to be made with better working conditions in Tesco or McDonalds.

Who said op will do it a above board at start of any business cash in hand. And no self-respecting man wants to work in McDonald's at Tesco

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,783 ✭✭✭jmreire

Down the Country anyway, most of the tow truck business is linked to an existing garage business, and not as a "stand alone " job in it's own right. Its not just having a tow truck ( best one's have sliding platform,and can tow a trailer too,)Most of the recovered vehicles will need a secure place to be stored, while this is not a problem for established business, it could be for some one starting out. Since the Garda crack down on uninsured / drugged / drunk drivers, the business has improved for sure. And even for those who have a contract with the Guards , Insurance etc. It's a 24 Hr 7 day a week job.....you have to be ready to answer a call at the drop of a hat ( or a buzz of the phone) which often means having a back up driver. What's it like financially ? I don't know, but common sense would dictate that you do quite a bit of research before committing yourself to it. If you do decide to go ahead with it, I wish you "Good Luck," and I hope that it works out for you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,099 ✭✭✭tabby aspreme

Tough business, pal of mine at it for years, mostly insurance work and a bit for the Gardai, on call 24/7, insurance company have him linked with an app, tracking him all the time, rarely takes a day off but seems to enjoy it.

... at start of any business cash in hand....
    You think the large insurance companies, the Gardai, the AA, fleet leasing companies, the DPT, the HSE etc. will pay cash in hand?

No cash in hand, for any contract work anyway. You submit your invoices with all the details correctly entered, and then wait. If all is correct, then in time you will be paid. If not, and your invoices are queried, you will have correct and then re-submit them. You will be paid, thats for sure, just it takes a bit of time. I'm pretty sure though, that you will get the occasional cash in hand "Nixer".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 336 ✭✭firstlight

Like said above
    Hard game to make money at
    You need to know people
    Need to be good at fixing things yourself to keep bills down
    I know a few lads who done it,needless to say no longer at it
    Easy part is buying the equipment
    Hard part is chasing wages and been payed for work
    Anything to do with haulage as you would call it is dog eat dog
    Having drove trucks myself
    I'm glad to be away from it
    Mugs game
    Best of luck anyway

Sure, go on, set it up so and see how you fair out.

Unless you get a good contract sub contracting for the AA or Allianz or someone like that in an area of the country that isn't Dublin, you'll find it very hard to make a good living from it and those crowds wont sublet work to just anyone either.

One man and a Transit beavertail or the likes trying to operate by the books will find it very tricky. You're competing against lads with Landcruisers and double axle trailers that will tow a car from anywhere to anywhere for €100 cash, you're also trying to compete against all the other lads with beavertail Transits who are already working for very little.

One of those lads with a trailer would suit me so!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,682 ✭✭✭User1998

I looked into it and thought well if I spent a bit on marketing and advertising and I got two recovery's a day thats a good €150/€200 for a couple of hours work. €50k per year before expenses for about 15 hours work per week. Obviously loads of expenses to consider, VAT, Corporation tax, insurance, fuel, maintenance, purchase of the truck.. I looked at lots of those Transits advertised saying “can be driven on car license”. After some research I was pretty sure that once you have a car any heavier than a micra on board your over 3500kg and need a C license. After that I just forgot about it. Could be wrong on that one but thats what it seems according to RSA.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,610 ✭✭✭CoBo55

Weight for licence is done on the ulw ( unladen weight) of the truck you intend to drive.

You think the large insurance companies, the Gardai, the AA, fleet leasing companies, the DPT, the HSE etc. will pay cash in hand?

Of course not but when possible like private people are paying

Not trying to tell you your business, but in the area you live in, just check how many recovery vehicles within a 20 mile radius are working, and maybe call one or two of them and ask if they need a spare driver? That would give you a bit of practical experience before you take the plunge yourself. You will need to know how to load and secure the vehicle. I've recovered vehicles for a company I used to work for, and their client's included a self drive business, so you would think that it would be a full time job...it's not, I can assure you. If I recovered 10 or 15 cars throughout the tourist season ( April -Sept ), that would be about it.

CoBo55 wrote: »
    Weight for licence is done on the ulw ( unladen weight) of the truck you intend to drive.
    The previous poster was referring to driving a recovery vehicle on a B licence. The maximum weight allowable for a B is 3,500kgs. So if the recovery vehicle weighs 2,000kgs the maximum load cannot exceed 1,500kgs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 336 ✭✭firstlight

Better of with a 7.5/ 10 tonne
    More payload and money to be made
    Your gona be always overweight on a small 3.5 tonne
    Simple truth is you need a small fortune to keep you going before you start making money and hopefully getting a contract somewhere
    Go out and see can you get a job doing it for someone else first and make contacts

Anyone suggest by pm someone who might transport a track car mayo to Kildare in 2 weeks time?
    Cash prices welcome.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,837 ✭✭✭✭AMKC
    Ms

I Know someone @MicKdw

He is the greatest spoofer you will ever come across do and has no problem ripping you off either.

I know only 3 years late lol.

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 724 CMod ✭✭✭✭LIGHTNING

Stop dragging up old threads. I wont say it again