Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Wednesday 19th

• 19-02-2020 10:27am
    Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 2,036 Mod ✭✭✭✭The Mig

Laurina is 11/10. Double the Chelters stash lads. Don't tell the missus :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,625 ✭✭✭RivetingRoger

Said I wouldn't back her
    Swore blind I wouldn't back her
    Laughed at the idea of backing her when asked yesterday

went to bookies earlier

Backed her

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 823 ✭✭✭Kauto

Said I wouldn't back her
    Swore blind I wouldn't back her
    Laughed at the idea of backing her when asked yesterday

went to bookies earlier

Backed her

shrewd

Not even with the free bet sitting in me account am I touching Laurina.

Lord of the Lodge (15:40 Newc) and Adrimel (17:02 Donc) double @5s.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,474 ✭✭✭longshotvalue

Ive backed Surin in that first race w/o laurina and elfie at 6/1 on bet365. Needs to return to form but thats 2 big in a 3 horse race.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,078 ✭✭✭IAMAMORON

Laurina was odds on last night. The paper price is 4/6.

Now available at even money..... just gone 11/10.

She has over a stone in hand on hurdle ratings and has been pulled up the last twice. Given how things have capitulated since her beginners chase romp at Gowran you would have to be worried. You couldn't be backing her.

I have backed Black Tears.

if she hacks up ( i hope she does) does she come into the Mares reckoning??

No, on the basis that her ratings indicate that she should be hacking up. She should be stuffing these mares by a stone.

I reckon she is regressive Rog, it happens. If she hacks up she will merely become "inconsistent". She is a hype horse, a bookies favourite.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,484 ✭✭✭Peintre Celebre

In a bumper with plenty of unknowns Line Break shaped with plenty of promise before falling in a juvenile hurdle last time. Big fan of hurdlers dropping back into a bumper and is worth chancing at 12/1

If she is beaten today, I propose a new race, the "whatthe****happenedthere" Hurdle
    Run over 2m, featuring once seemingly great horses who lost their way!

Heading the market we have Samcro, Yorkhill, Laurina, Klassical Dream, Limini, Ivanovic Gorbatov and I am bringing back Capri for the craic!

In a bumper with plenty of unknowns Line Break shaped with plenty of promise before falling in a juvenile hurdle last time. Big fan of hurdlers dropping back into a bumper and is worth chancing at 12/1

Right man on board too
    Hoping he stays on OK Corral in a few weeks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 336 ✭✭Banner2theend

Laurina will finish last or pulled up and the excuse would be that she bled again. We will find out in 5 mins time. This mare should not be running full stop.

5/4

IAMAMORON wrote: »
    5/4

11/8

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 2,036 Mod ✭✭✭✭The Mig

Shîte

What to do with her now

Desperate

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,484 ✭✭✭Andrew00

Shes a nice mare that Elfie

• Closed Accounts Posts: 141 ✭✭PillarToPost

not so long ago she was hammering stormy ireland , something badly amiss

Laurina needs a wind op and come back again next season. However WP Mullins is not sold on wind ops etc. But if we are to see the very best of the mare then such an operation is an absolute must.

This time last year she was the second coming, Fergal O'Brien chose her as the one horse in training he would love to have on SSR

Christ lads, tis a shame

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 823 ✭✭✭Kauto

Laurina needs a wind op and come back again next season. However WP Mullins is not sold on wind ops etc. But if we are to see the very best of the mare then such an operation is an absolute must.

She doesnt need a breathing op! She needs to stop bursting! Unfortunately that more than likely wont happen.

The mares novice hurdle at Cheltenham should be downgraded to a handicap. It is a donkey derby, don't make the mistake of following winners or placed horses from this race, it is worse than the bumper.

The Laurina saga is now over. Stop backing her, she is finished. When good ones go wrong they never come back, especially mares.

The grade 1 she won at the Fairyhouse festival does not amount too much either, a grade 1 in name only.

https://www.irishracing.com/result?race=Fairyhouse_Sun_1st_Apr_2018_2_50&prc=088&prd=201804011450

Kauto wrote: »
    She doesnt need a breathing op! She needs to stop bursting! Unfortunately that more than likely wont happen.

There is a link between bursting blood vessels and have issues with either your wind or breathing. That's why a wind op is a solution to solve such issues and certainly the likes of Paul Nicholls, Nicky Henderson and Colin Tizzard are in such agreement with me, as they have no issue of having their horses operated on to solve wind or breathing issues, if they see a horse not finishing their races or make noices.

Hopefully come next season we will see the real Laurina as this has been a write off of a season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,878 ✭✭✭Pogue eile

IAMAMORON wrote: »
    The mares novice hurdle at Cheltenham should be downgraded to a handicap. It is a donkey derby, don't make the mistake of following winners or placed horses from this race, it is worse than the bumper.

The Laurina saga is now over. Stop backing her, she is finished. When good ones go wrong they never come back, especially mares.

The grade 1 she won at the Fairyhouse festival does not amount too much either, a grade 1 in name only.

https://www.irishracing.com/result?race=Fairyhouse_Sun_1st_Apr_2018_2_50&prc=088&prd=201804011450

Ah here! If it was a handicap so what rating would you have giving Laurina after she beat the 152 rated Maria's benefit by over 20 lenghts?

The race is only 4 years old and plenty of good horses have come out of it; Laurina, Epitante, Verdanna Bleu, La Baque au roi, Maria's Benefit etc.

Mare's are just very fragile and more vunreable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 567 ✭✭✭stretchaq

is relegate a really well handicapped horse if Colm Murphy has her tuned up for today or just a first 6 to qualify for chetenham job??

• Site Banned Posts: 221 ✭✭SAM SO NITE

What was Maxwell doing on Captain Cattistock in Doncaster.

Made way too much use of the horse for most of the race and got himself ****ed over the last fence for good measure. He went "lickety split" as Mick Fitz would say.

Legitimate pocket talk I feel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 680 ✭✭✭lemush

What was Maxwell doing on Captain Cattistock in Doncaster.

Made way too much use of the horse for most of the race and got himself ****ed over the last fence for good measure. He went "lickety split" as Mick Fitz would say.

Legitimate pocket talk I feel.

Surely you know you're receiving little help in the saddle when you punt one of his mounts, no point complaining afterwards.

Sublimo Senor , muchos grasssssssiossss.

Up Nico!

I'll have a little nibble on Arctic Vega and Al Badr double for the evening races.

Just penciled Arctic Vega into the notepad. Very sound debut.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,137 ✭✭✭gazza1

Wasnt on but great spot