Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What to do now? [Car broken into]

• 14-02-2020 3:57pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,940 ✭✭✭✭

Woke up this morning and not sure if the missus locked her car or not as no outside damage but inside was wrecked and someone had left an ODB cable on the passneger seat ,

They obviously tried to rob the car but couldn't for some reason
    I have rang the Garda and reported it but is there anything I need to do with the car itself ,

I'm not 100% on what the you can do with an ODB cable so bare with me
    Could they now have the ability to turn off my immobiliser ? or would they have had to steal it there an then , Should I take it to the garage or will it be fine,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

"OBD" cable

Leave until the guards have had a look.

What car is it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,940 ✭✭✭✭yourdeadwright

biko wrote: »
    "OBD" cable

Leave until the guards have had a look.

What car is it?

On-board diagnostics , they connect it to a laptop and your ECU I believe its to read your key codes so they can clone a key ,

Very strange they left it behind must have been spooked ,

Its a Octavia estate 2017 VRS interior but not a VRS

Just spoke to Skoda and they told me when the ODB is hooked up they have a tool that scans to pick up the key code and off they go, Hen e why its always the car in the drive as its closer to the key in your hall .

So they reckon my key was out of range or something was blocking the signal , You can wrap your key in tin foil or a lead pooch to protect it ,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,092 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

As Biko pointed out, it's OBD, not ODB :)

Was there much actual damage done?

Not your ornery onager

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 991 ✭✭✭TuringBot47

So they reckon my key was out of range or something was blocking the signal , You can wrap your key in tin foil or a lead pooch to protect it ,

They're cheap to buy in Amazon

https://www.amazon.co.uk/RFID-Blocker-Wallet-Keyless-Blocking/dp/B07MJKBL9B

Buy two... one for your spare car key too.

Or, if you don't want to spend anything, I imagine you could store them in the microwave.
    That doesn't / shouldn't allow signals out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,082 ✭✭✭enricoh

I'd be getting a length of chain n a lock just in case he did get the code! Tie the steering wheel to the bottom of the seat.
    A lad I know had his hi spec Octavia robbed cops told him it was probably half way to eastern Europe when they called out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 591 ✭✭✭NBar

Put your keys in one of those metal coffee tins, great at blocking signals

Spoke to the Garda I now I know why no Crimes are solved
    3 of them tried to tell me it had nothing to do with a car and was a simple scart lead,
    I had to Google the product number on the barcode to show them what it was,
    Said they'd never heard or seen one,
    Now take into account its a Garda station in Dublin that probably sees first or second about of car thefts in the country,
    Mind boggles

Esel wrote: »
    As Biko pointed out, it's OBD, not ODB :)

Was there much actual damage done?

No damage or anything taken just stuff throw every where

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,082 ✭✭✭enricoh

3 of them tried to tell me it had nothing to do with a car and was a simple scart lead,
    Now take into account its a Garda station in Dublin that probably sees first or second about of car thefts in the country,
    Mind boggles

On the plus side they called out!

enricoh wrote: »
    On the plus side they called out!

Actually they didn't,
    I should have said the missus was first out the door to nip up the local garage and noticed the mess but thought it was kids looking for money in the car, It was when she got back she said it to me and I went out had a look and noticed the Cable,
    Because she drove it the "scene" was disturbed so the Garda said I'd be better calling down to them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

I assume the car has keyless start, and automatic unlocking when the key is nearby?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,244 ✭✭✭swarlb

Mind boggles

Plenty of 'crimes' are solved.
    The police have enough to be doing without having to keep abreast of the latest technology that may or may not be used to steal cars.
    If owners of cars are so up to date with the latest... wrapping your key in tinfoil.... for example, then it's up to the owner to look after their own property, not up to the police to do it for you...
    If cars are that simple to steal, ie, buying a cable via amazon, and following the instructions... then maybe the car manufacturers are at fault in not providing some kind of 'blocking' technology to prevent it from happening.
    Barring that, get a stout chain and padlock, construct a cage to clamp around the pedals, and chain it to the steering wheel.
    If for no other reason to deter any potential thief from having to carry a bolt cutters along with an OBD cable....
    A bit of preventative means can go a long way...

https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/CAR-STAINLESS-BRAKE-CLUTCH-PEDAL-LOCK-STEERING-WHEEL-LOCK-SECURITY-ANTI-THEFT-UK/312971808573?_trkparms=aid%3D555018%26algo%3DPL.SIM%26ao%3D2%26asc%3D20160323102634%26meid%3D7db1958b4a854c1bacccc9e98ee8bddc%26pid%3D100623%26rk%3D1%26rkt%3D6%26sd%3D283217446122%26itm%3D312971808573%26pmt%3D1%26noa%3D0%26pg%3D2047675&_trksid=p2047675.c100623.m-1

I made something like this 50 years ago to stop people trying to steal my Cortina.... and it worked.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,292 ✭✭✭Ubbquittious

Id definitely lock the gate put the car somewhere it would be hard for them to leave the premesis even if they had the key.

swarlb wrote: »
    Plenty of 'crimes' are solved.
    The police have enough to be doing without having to keep abreast of the latest technology that may or may not be used to steal cars.
    If owners of cars are so up to date with the latest... wrapping your key in tinfoil.... for example, then it's up to the owner to look after their own property, not up to the police to do it for you...
    If cars are that simple to steal, ie, buying a cable via amazon, and following the instructions... then maybe the car manufacturers are at fault in not providing some kind of 'blocking' technology to prevent it from happening.
    Barring that, get a stout chain and padlock, construct a cage to clamp around the pedals, and chain it to the steering wheel.
    If for no other reason to deter any potential thief from having to carry a bolt cutters along with an OBD cable....
    A bit of preventative means can go a long way...

https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/CAR-STAINLESS-BRAKE-CLUTCH-PEDAL-LOCK-STEERING-WHEEL-LOCK-SECURITY-ANTI-THEFT-UK/312971808573?_trkparms=aid%3D555018%26algo%3DPL.SIM%26ao%3D2%26asc%3D20160323102634%26meid%3D7db1958b4a854c1bacccc9e98ee8bddc%26pid%3D100623%26rk%3D1%26rkt%3D6%26sd%3D283217446122%26itm%3D312971808573%26pmt%3D1%26noa%3D0%26pg%3D2047675&_trksid=p2047675.c100623.m-1

I made something like this 50 years ago to stop people trying to steal my Cortina.... and it worked.....

We all know its up to the car owner first and foremost but you'd expect the Garda to know about keyless car theft, its nothing new at this stage

Id definitely lock the gate put the car somewhere it would be hard for them to leave the premesis even if they had the key.

It's been done they won't be moving it even with a key without making a massive scene,

Can you disable automatic lock/unlock through the touchscreen? Might be an idea to enable the lock/unlock chirps too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,937 ✭✭✭SmartinMartin

Just bought one of those Swarlb, thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,102 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

I'd be getting a length of chain n a lock just in case he did get the code! Tie the steering wheel to the bottom of the seat.
    A lad I know had his hi spec Octavia robbed cops told him it was probably half way to eastern Europe when they called out.

Steering wheels are made out of soft metal, if they have the kit to open the doors and program the key they'll be carrying something to cut the wheel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,506 ✭✭✭Interslice

No use in hindsight but if you pull the obd fuse out it could
    help prevent this. Hopefully, it sounds like they were disturbed before anything got done. For peace of mind I would either sell the car or have a specialist look into recoding the ecu and new keys. Wonder would insurance cover it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,648 ✭✭✭✭beauf

Woke up this morning and not sure if the missus locked her car or not as no outside damage ...,

Does the car not autolock after a set a time?

We all know its up to the car owner first and foremost but you'd expect the Garda to know about keyless car theft, its nothing new at this stage

Why would you expect the Garda to keep up with the latest technology in car installations.... there are technicians out there who work in Main Dealerships who don't know everything about the cars they allude to repair, so why should the Garda.
    I betcha if the OP rang his local Main Skoda Dealership and asked the same question he'd most likely get a 'Ye Wha ?'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,648 ✭✭✭✭beauf

Why would you expect the Garda to keep up with the latest technology in car installations.... there are technicians out there who work in Main Dealerships who don't know everything about the cars they allude to repair, so why should the Garda.
    I betcha if the OP rang his local Main Skoda Dealership and asked the same question he'd most likely get a 'Ye Wha ?'

In my experience most people in car dealerships take very little interest in cars. It's just a job for most people in there. Least that's the impression you get.

I think most people if dealing with car theft every other day would eventually pick up the basics.

Are you for real?
    This isn't new or specific to a certain make of car, Kay less car theft is rampant in Dublin endless high end car and jeeps stolen this way weekly,

I rang Skoda and they knew exactly what the lads where up and told me what I needed to do, Infact I rang 2 sperate garage because like yourself I was sceptical of their knowledge so wanted as many professional opinions as possible and all 3 where basicly the same but worded differently

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,512 ✭✭✭runawaybishop

Latest? Obd ports have been around for 25 years. You'd want to live in a cave to not know thieves can relay the key signal to a car also. No excuse if you are involved in law enforcement not knowing this, it's basic stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,761 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

Will a car continue to drive until the ignition is stopped with no key present once it's initially started with the magnified key signal?

Latest? Obd ports have been around for 25 years. You'd want to live in a cave to not know thieves can relay the key signal to a car also. No excuse if you are involved in law enforcement not knowing this, it's basic stuff.

If it's that 'basic' then each and every owner of a car with OBD ports should be aware of it, and not have to rely on the police (who obviously in the case of the OP are unaware of the issue) to help them out.
    I'm around long enough to know how to safeguard my property.... it seems however that some 'woke' people are not...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,644 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

Will a car continue to drive until the ignition is stopped with no key present once it's initially started with the magnified key signal?

Yes, it won't start again unless they've cloned the key which is possible.

If it's that 'basic' then each and every owner of a car with OBD ports should be aware of it, and not have to rely on the police (who obviously in the case of the OP are unaware of the issue) to help them out.
    I'm around long enough to know how to safeguard my property.... it seems however that some 'woke' people are not...

Woke? Thats not how you use the word but that's irrelevant.

It's very weird that gardai would not know that thieves can use an obd port to help bypass car security. Weird and a bit concerning tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43 Xwebstar2

Isn't that obsolete now with cordless grinders

Xwebstar2 wrote: »
    Isn't that obsolete now with cordless grinders

Physical deterants like chains and bolts are effectively useless as they will only deter opportunistic thieves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,484 ✭✭✭Andrew00

The Guards are useless. Don't even bother getting them involved

Cable tie over the port slows them down, moving the actual port or putting a switch somewhere that kills it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,088 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

Ah you must be joking - or a member given your posts here.

AGS should absolutely be expected to be on top of trends regarding various crimes. Car theft is one of the more common and OBD access and cloning is around ages with plenty of articles and even cctv footage of people's cars being stolen on YouTube ffs.

Sounds to me like the OP encountered the all too common lazy disinterested bunch who see serving the public as an inconvenience. I'd probably report them to the local Super and ombudsman if it were me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,749 ✭✭✭corks finest

No damage or anything taken just stuff throw every where

They'll be back most likely

Strangly enough I noticed today that they did infact rake something, They took a material bag that a wet suit was stored in, the suit and shoes where left but the bag was 100 %, taken,
    I then started worrying had left something in the car I forgot was there but no just the material bag that's gone,

Would i be right in saying when they played the cable into the ecu and laptop they would also need to have someone at my door to read the signal sent to the car key fob?

Strangly enough I noticed today that they did infact rake something, They took a material bag that a wet suit was stored in, the suit and shoes where left but the bag was 100 %, taken,
    I then started worrying had left something in the car I forgot was there but no just the material bag that's gone,

Would i be right in saying when they played the cable into the ecu and laptop they would also need to have someone at my door to read the signal sent to the car key fob?

Usually they use a sandwich board or food tray to pick up the signal, tends to be 2 people or more at it...

Have you CCTV? If not get it, fit a dash cam too.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

They're two separate ways to steal your car and I doubt they'd use both at the same time.

The data port hack is to code a blank fob/key to make the ECU think the right key is present so it'll start. The guy at the door waving an aerial around is looking to use it as a range extender to make the car think your key sitting on the hall table is in the car so it'll start.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 362 ✭✭Die Hard 2019

They're cheap to buy in Amazon

https://www.amazon.co.uk/RFID-Blocker-Wallet-Keyless-Blocking/dp/B07MJKBL9B

Buy two... one for your spare car key too.

Or, if you don't want to spend anything, I imagine you could store them in the microwave.
    That doesn't / shouldn't allow signals out.

Microwave doesn't work. Put a phone in the microwave shut the door and ring the phone.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Microwave doesn't work. Put a phone in the microwave shut the door and ring the phone.
    Well they're operating at different frequencies, but I would agree, don't use a microwave. A mate did and well due to a mistake the oven turned on for a few seconds and... Well it was an expensive mistake. :D A "tin" tea caddy works very well as a faraday cage. It'll stop phones ringing too. No chance of accidents either. :)

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,226 ✭✭✭Stallingrad

Pity it's not a SCART cable, you could have made a few quid bringing it to the antiques roadshow.

Usually they use a sandwich board or food tray to pick up the signal, tends to be 2 people or more at it...

Have you CCTV? If not get it, fit a dash cam too.

I have CCTV but as is life by pure fluke it was turned off a couple of months ago due to a technical issue fixed it the weekend,
    The lads would have seen it and the light on it was still on so wouldn't have know it was off they just don't care these days ,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,319 ✭✭✭Miscreant

I have CCTV but as is life by pure fluke it was turned off a couple of months ago due to a technical issue fixed it the weekend,
    The lads would have seen it and the light on it was still on so wouldn't have know it was off they just don't care these days ,

Exactly, CCTV is not a deterrent to these guys any more. They cover their faces and wear hoodies so that they are unrecognisable to anyone and use stolen cars to get to and from the scene. I think most of these criminals laugh nowadays when they see a camera or will openly flip it the "bird". Same goes for a dashcam in these circumstances, if they can see it in the car, they will rip it out once they gain access.

Miscreant wrote: »
    Exactly, CCTV is not a deterrent to these guys any more. They cover their faces and wear hoodies so that they are unrecognisable to anyone and use stolen cars to get to and from the scene. I think most of these criminals laugh nowadays when they see a camera or will openly flip it the "bird". Same goes for a dashcam in these circumstances, if they can see it in the car, they will rip it out once they gain access.

Better to have it as they are human and make mistakes....

Only had a traveller banging my door down looking to see was anyone in and of course the usual bs to see do we want to sell the car....

Nice clip of him on CCTV.

Better to have it as they are human and make mistakes....

Only had a traveller banging my door down looking to see was anyone in and of course the usual bs to see do we want to sell the car....

Nice clip of him on CCTV.

That’s grand til they rob the DVR

colm_mcm wrote: »
    That’s grand til they rob the DVR

WiFi cams.... As back up.

Everything goes to my phone or email....