Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

SAS Ad....

• 12-02-2020 5:04pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 842 ✭✭✭

Vile

Why do they hate themselves so much ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,275 ✭✭✭Your Face

They should have just claimed to invent everything like the British.

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,631 ✭✭✭✭antodeco

What are they adding?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 524 ✭✭✭DelaneyIn

Ad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,707 ✭✭✭Bobblehats

Sassy. Sweden or American?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,753 ✭✭✭✭Timberrrrrrrr

I'm still waiting for op to explain what his issue is with the ad.

What’s svedish about it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,753 ✭✭✭✭Timberrrrrrrr

Bobblehats wrote: »
    What’s svedish about it?

Does something have to be purely Swedish? That's the whole point of the ad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,627 ✭✭✭Woke Hogan

An ad harking back to the days when Vikings used to sail everywhere, raping and pillaging what they liked before scuttling back to the Scandinavian peninsula with their spoils.

I would have thought the wannabe-alpha, rightwing-betacuck-snowflake brigade on boards.ie would have loved it. Sad middle aged men desperately bragging about how much they love eating meat and how many press-ups they can do.

Does something have to be purely Swedish? That's the whole point of the ad.

Not entirely ..

So they're going back to the old rape and pillaging then? Only with SAS airlines instead of the Viking fleets.

I'll tell the parish priest at Knock to lock the church.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,807 ✭✭✭Jurgen Klopp

Vile

Why do they hate themselves so much ?

But they don't it's just a small amount of clowns getting an ad put out, look at the likes to dislikes as well as the comment's.

In fact there's a line in it about taking things adding their own tweaks and making it "better"

You could troll them that they sub consciously believe themselves to be superior based off that if you were bold enough to toss it into the likes of Twitter rage land and get a few of the lunatics going :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,995 ✭✭✭Ipso

Woke Hogan wrote: »
    An ad harking back to the days when Vikings used to sail everywhere, raping and pillaging what they liked before scuttling back to the Scandinavian peninsula with their spoils.

I would have thought the wannabe-alpha, rightwing-betacuck-snowflake brigade on boards.ie would have loved it. Sad middle aged men desperately bragging about how much they love eating meat and how many press-ups they can do.

Ders more to vikings dan dis

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 426 ✭✭MrAbyss

Sweden is the nation version of a paranoid schizophrenic with suicidal and self-harm behaviors taken to the socio-cultural level.

Notice how it is corporations who push this stuff to the delight of psychotic western liberal socialists who tells us capatalism must be banned on their latest iPhones made in Chinese sweat shops...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,810 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Fairly inoffensive ad. Dunno what's yanking your chain OP.

Looking for offence on Boards? Post an ad for the other SAS.

The african referring to his viking ancestors is goofy as hell :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,807 ✭✭✭Jurgen Klopp

MrAbyss wrote: »
    Sweden is the nation version of a paranoid schizophrenic with suicidal and self-harm behaviors taken to the socio-cultural level.

Notice how it is corporations who push this stuff to the delight of psychotic western liberal socialists.

I get what you're saying but corporations are so embarrassing when it comes to this stuff. They think it will buy them goodwill and sell more stuff if they jump on board with the "in" cause

The trouble is a lot of them are getting it soooo wrong and I wonder how. Look at Gillette who's main customer is men bashed men of every creed and colour about toxic masculinity and had resorted to slashing prices practically to begging levels they lost so much. Is it just a bunch of out of touch types see a Twitter hashtag and think "this is what ALL the people want!" or maybe

Let me tell you if Nazism became mainstream again they'd be running ads about how great it is

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,864 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

Sure even the "craic" isn't Irish.

It originates from an old Norse word: Krackensteinmen.

Arghus wrote: »

#Krackensteinmenntoo

“We wuz vikings” :pac: can anyone else not help but laugh anymore?

More livestock! More laughing stock...

They knew the controversy they were courting. It was a calculated marketing decision - the advertising version of clickbait.

**** I hate advertising.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,434 ✭✭✭1800_Ladladlad

What do you expect from the uber progressive, woke hogan left? It's now 2020, and even after their cute attempts to try to deny biology, they are trolling themselves at this stage, going after culture and identity. The einstein who gave the ok on this ad either ignored the Gillette ad or just didn't get the memo.

1.3K Likes 34K Dislikes
    Says it all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,044 ✭✭✭✭TheValeyard

dude_is_this_really_about_big_lebowski_08.gif

All eyes on Kursk. Slava Ukraini.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

'Everytime we leave our border..we bring colour, progress, and bring the best of everywhere to here. '
    Yeh sounds so self hating:confused:

It seems like they are just celebrating the social progress and standard of living of the country rather than common stereotypes and generic associations with the place. Theyre also basically saying scandinvia developed from a combination of the best features of all other places around the world..isnt that like the opposite of self hating?

Funny how they never deconstruct and reinvent African, Asian or Islamic cultures isn't it?

It's always Europeans that have to forget their heritage, history, culture and sacrifice them all to create a new entity that doesn't work.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 133 ✭✭Urethral Buttercup

Appalling and cynical advert. You don't have to be an ultra-nationalist to recognise commonalities in countries or communities. It's not about meatballs, or paperclips, or who invented the bicycle.

The only effect adverts like this have is antagonising the far right. Which makes you wonder, what really is their purpose?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 900 ✭✭✭sameoldname

Jaysus, some of you lads are precious aren't you?
    Of all the ads you could be upset about you pick one from a different country?

Now, if it was that one on the radio from Home Instead Senior Care that I get assaulted by 15 times a day in work, that'd be something I could get behind!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 503 ✭✭✭Rufeo

Did anyone else come into this thinking it was going to be an add for the British Army or some TV show.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,787 ✭✭✭Feisar

Lay off the ether!

First they came for the socialists...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭Raconteuse

"We are no better than our viking ancestors."

Yeah, coz... they're murdering, raping and plundering? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,551 ✭✭✭AllForIt

United Colors of Benetton

...so yeah not particularly original.

I think they went out of business.

Rufeo wrote: »
    Did anyone else come into this thinking it was going to be an add for the British Army or some TV show.

I too was disappointed it wasn't about Super Army Soldiers.

I suppose it would be kind of odd to see a blonde haired Dane talking about our Zulu heritage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

Amazing that there was a human being on this planet that thought this video was a good idea. Its almost as if they are trying to push regular people away from subscribing to "Diversity".

I suppose it would be kind of odd to see a blonde haired Dane talking about our Zulu heritage.

Who are you to judge what they can identify as?

Ipso wrote: »
    Who are you to judge what they can identify as?

I'd say the old Zulu's would be sort that out fairly 'sharpish'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,434 ✭✭✭1800_Ladladlad

I see that multiple stories across many news websites are sharing the same sentiment and narrative stating that the ad itself has been pulled because of "far-right" criticism and that it was an online " hate campaign" by the far-right and an outright "assault". :D

Different variations of Sentences and buzz words were being used across the sites and were all identical, which is ironically coincidental. Its almost as if all "media" were provided with a statement of what to say :rolleyes:

They haven't a clue at all, do they!! Using statements like the above to associate the negative response from viewers and conflate the response to the "far-right". Agendas are definitely being pushed/forced on people by governments and the media.

Well they say we all evolved from Africa. There’s no way hozay am I goin back there however

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

SAS - 'What is truly Scandinavian?

Well, apparently self-loathing..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,858 ✭✭✭Church on Tuesday

Arghus wrote: »

More Irish than the Irish themselves.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 586 ✭✭✭Redneck Reject71

I thought this was about the special forces SAS,not someone whining about their culture or how the rest of the world should be,heh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

This is how you do a Scandinavian advert that doesn't suck

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,084 ✭✭✭statesaver

Sweden really is fcuked.