Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Phillip Schofield is gay

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,826 ✭✭✭✭nullzero
    °°°°°

Best of luck to him but who really cares in this day and age?

Glazers Out!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,203 ✭✭✭partyguinness

I wonder what story about him is about to break over the next few days.

I fully expect that he has been tipped off that this is already at the printers and this is a preemptive strike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,211 ✭✭✭LineOfBeauty

Looking forward to the sheer amount of "who cares" comments.

The irony is that you're taking the time to comment, so you must care a little bit. Also you can bet that this will be one of the more highly read topics on most UK news sites today, so the people reading it based off the headline will probably care a bit too.

It's a high profile UK television personality and the more representation the better. Good on him!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,733 ✭✭✭OMM 0000

Always loved him on Saturday morning kids TV.

This is probably much harder for his wife and kids.

Hope they can carry on as normal.
    <snip>

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,726 ✭✭✭✭El_Duderino 09

nullzero wrote: »
    Best of luck to him but who really cares in this day and age?

Nobody cares when they say it them selves and it looks stupid. But if a tabloid wants to tell a story about the shady secret life Schofield lives and god knows what else he's hiding. Maybe he's a child molester, or a puppy kicker and a knicker sniffer.

Much better to control the narrative and say it himself and have people like yourself say "why bother saying it, who cares?" than have the tabloids sell any story they want.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,555 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

I play this game. I call the gays out before they come out.

Its like a gay version of the celebrity death pool.

This, i claim as a win.

Hes too well groomed to be straight

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,814 ✭✭✭FortuneChip

Hope he's just made the decision be open about it, and it's not as a result of some "shocking" story about to break.

Regardless, fair play.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,467 ✭✭✭✭salmocab

The irony is that you're taking the time to comment, so you must care a little bit. Also you can bet that this will be one of the more highly read topics on most UK news sites today, so the people reading it based off the headline will probably care a bit too.

It's a high profile UK television personality and the more representation the better. Good on him!

Surely people who say who cares are just saying this isn’t nor should be newsworthy? Which I’d agree with.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,910 ✭✭✭begbysback

OMM 0000 wrote: »
    Always loved him on Saturday morning kids TV.

This is probably much harder for his wife and kids.

Hope they can carry on as normal.
    <snip>

This has to be the best post ever, from childrens tv to hardcore porn, it’s got everything!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,032 ✭✭✭tastyt

Makes sense, no wonder he could sit beside and be so close to Holly all these years and not get the horn and try it on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89,023 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

I wonder what story about him is about to break over the next few days.

I fully expect that he has been tipped off that this is already at the printers and this is a preemptive strike.

Yes thought the same

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,904 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

salmocab wrote: »
    Surely people who say who cares are just saying this isn’t nor should be newsworthy? Which I’d agree with.

This. He might as well have told us he's allergic to shellfish or doesn't eat pasta.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,826 ✭✭✭✭nullzero
    °°°°°

Nobody cares when they say it them selves and it looks stupid. But if a tabloid wants to tell a story about the shady secret life Schofield lives and god knows what else he's hiding. Maybe he's a child molester, or a puppy kicker and a knicker sniffer.

Much better to control the narrative and say it himself and have people like yourself say "why bother saying it, who cares?" than have the tabloids sell any story they want.

I agree, but stories about closeted gay people shouldn't be something that's tolerated anymore.
    Being gay isn't a big deal, it's a sad state of affairs when somebody has to take the type of action Philip Schofield has had to take.

Glazers Out!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

The signs were there from the start. He literally start his career 'in the closet' with Gordon the Gopher.

In some kind of magic utopia where there's no stigma attached to being gay then sure, it's not news. But reality isn't utopia and there is still a big stigma attached to it and in many parts of the world it remains illegal. Closer to home there's still parts of society that are openly hostile towards gay people or are more discrete with their prejudices, but those prejudices still remain. One of the UK's top TV presenters coming out as gay in reality is always going to be noteworthy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,878 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

I am shocked tbh he did a show at Christmas with his wife where they looked at presents etc.
    Him and Holly are great fun, I hope him and his family are ok, it must be very tough for them all especially his wife.
    It must have been tough for him being gay and having to hide it for so long, but I suppose a different generation so wasn't an option for him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,819 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

So that's what he was doing to Gordon the Gopher

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

I don't know a whole lot about Philip Schofield, other than i got sick of seeing him on everything years ago and he's still damn hard to avoid.

But what has shocked me is that he has a wife and kids - i have generally just assumed he was gay.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 890 ✭✭✭Johnny Sausage

he wont shag you LOB

In some kind of magic utopia where there's no stigma attached to being gay then sure, it's not news. But reality isn't utopia and there is still a big stigma attached to it and in many parts of the world it remains illegal. Closer to home there's still parts of society that are openly hostile towards gay people or are more discrete with their prejudices, but those prejudices still remain. One of the UK's top TV presenters coming out as gay in reality is always going to be noteworthy.

But the people who would say who cares are surely people who think this isn’t worth talking about and therefore aren’t part of any of the groupings you named? They are giving what presumably the gay community would always like to be the reaction if they came out?

he wont shag you LOB

:p He might, I can be very....persuasive....

But the people who would say who cares are surely people who think this isn’t worth talking about and therefore aren’t part of any of the groupings you named? They are giving what presumably the gay community would always like to be the reaction if they came out?

To be honest I read the "who cares" remarks as being somewhat dismissive. Like ideally nobody would care, and ideally there's be no need to come out at all. The thing is coming out is still a big deal and it's difficult. Invariably someone as famous as Schofield coming out will pique people's interest. Maybe just a simple "fair play" would do.

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,631 ✭✭✭✭antodeco

:p He might, I can be very....persuasive....

Hes probably more interested in "johnny sausage" now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,417 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

*shocked*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 890 ✭✭✭Johnny Sausage

antodeco wrote: »
    Hes probably more interested in "johnny sausage" now

a spitroast may be the only option

To be honest I read the "who cares" remarks as being somewhat dismissive. Like ideally nobody would care, and ideally there's be no need to come out at all. The thing is coming out is still a big deal and it's difficult. Invariably someone as famous as Schofield coming out will pique people's interest. Maybe just a simple "fair play" would do.

That’s fair enough but I think it’s different to people not caring about his sexuality, I certainly don’t care what his sexual orientation is. I get why it’s news but I also think it shouldn’t be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 798 ✭✭✭Rockbeast2

I'll be just as surprised when David Walliams and Robbie Williams come out. Not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,761 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

He is one of the UK's best TV presenters and that doesn't change.
    The main thing for any human is how they treat each other, not who they fancy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,733 ✭✭✭OMM 0000

RobertKK wrote: »
    The main thing for any human is how they treat each other, not who they fancy.

Found the pedo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,314 ✭✭✭✭branie2

He's come out, and it's his life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,301 ✭✭✭✭banie01

I for one, am shocked!

Shocked that in this day and age....
    Anyone could be shocked by an Erudite, well groomed and impeccably mannered silver fox might well be gay!

Along with, apart from his wife and children...
    Who cares?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

Do you actually think there’s a stigma attached to being gay these days? Most people I know wouldn’t give a damn. And the ‘who cares’ comments would be more like ‘that’s grand sure’ than it don’t like gay people’.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

Rockbeast2 wrote: »
    I'll be just as surprised when David Walliams and Robbie Williams come out. Not.

Not to mention Simon Cowell and Louis Walsh

So his wife must be thinking during all the sex over 27 years he was fantasizing about some lad in tight or some ****.

I have to admit I laughed when the BBC news alert appeared.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,614 ✭✭✭WrenBoy

So ? The days of these revelations being big news is past. It'd only be newsworthy if he was caught doing the dirt on the missus or something, beyond that whoop-de-feckin-doo.

Not to mention Simon Cowell and Louis Walsh

Louise Walsh has been out for years and Graham Norton just in case you missed that memo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71,802 ✭✭✭✭Ted_YNWA

not the place for cheap gay jibes. We have exceeded the quota of 0 within page 1