Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Kirk douglas dead

• 05-02-2020 11:47pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,769 ✭✭✭Pinch Flat

What a life. RIP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭Fann Linn

I'm Spartacus.
    RIP

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 41,239 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

103 wow.
    RIP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,243 ✭✭✭✭RMAOK

RIP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,798 ✭✭✭✭DrumSteve

What an innings all the same.

Fair play to him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,474 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

RIP

103 What an age to go and what a life he must of lived

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,117 ✭✭✭✭elperello

Deserves to be remembered as a legend RIP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,589 ✭✭✭touts

He was still alive? Fair play. I honestly thought he passed a few years ago. Maybe that was tributes to him turning 100.

But seriously RIP. I saw Spartacus on TV over Christmas and it's still a good watch. Paths of Glory is another good one that stands the test of time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,439 ✭✭✭✭Purple Mountain

He seemed to be so cherished by his family.

To thine own self be true

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,316 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

elperello wrote: »
    Deserves to be remembered as a legend RIP.

Last relic of Old Hollywood I'd say...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,231 ✭✭✭Odhinn

Definition of a legend. RIP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,871 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

Had the pleasure of meeting Kirk Douglas at a charity do once. He was surprisingly down to earth, and VERY funny.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,488 ✭✭✭Padre_Pio

Michael Douglas is 75. Imagine having your father all the way to that age.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,820 ✭✭✭smelly sock

Wow. Only watched Spartacus on Sunday with herself.

RIP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,698 ✭✭✭✭Itssoeasy

Ah no. But at 103 he had a good innings as they say. The phrase last of a generation surely applies to him given he was around during a golden age of Hollywood.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,820 ✭✭✭smelly sock

Padre_Pio wrote: »

Amazing. Good that his father went before him. Something not right about a father out living his child due to old age.

Legends.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

loved him in tough guys in which he plays an ex con rehabilitated into society...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,054 ✭✭✭Tuco88

Lonely are the brave was excellent... Great actor.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,779 ✭✭✭1o059k7ewrqj3n

He made this with his other son Eric in the 90s. It’s both a homage to Paths of Glory but also as much about his son Eric who had serious drug problem and couldn’t seem to cope with the immense pressure that being a Douglas brought in Hollywood.

Served in WW2.

His second wife is 100, married for 65 years.

He got a good run at it and made the most of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,305 ✭✭✭Martin567

Itssoeasy wrote: »
    Ah no. But at 103 he had a good innings as they say. The phrase last of a generation surely applies to him given he was around during a golden age of Hollywood.

Olivia de Havilland is still alive and was born four months before Kirk Douglas!

Vera Lynn is also alive but won't be 103 until next month.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 789 ✭✭✭Beanntraigheach

Born and raised in extreme poverty and manged to build an amazing life for himself.
    Also, lived in 12 decades!

RIP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,850 ✭✭✭ShamNNspace

Did he die sudden??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,169 ✭✭✭joeguevara

My father always tells the story of when my brother was born, the first thing he said when he described him was ‘he has a dimple on his chin, just like Kirk Douglas’.

Legend. RIP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,634 ✭✭✭Sgt Hartman

Lone are the Brave has to be my favourite Kirk Douglas movie about a rural cowboy on the run from the police. RIP Kirk

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,301 ✭✭✭✭banie01

Now at last....

I am Spartacus!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,966 ✭✭✭Mefistofelino

Padre_Pio wrote: »
    Prince Charles is probably thinking "103? Fück."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,966 ✭✭✭gifted

He was class.....loved his films RIP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,592 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Why was my comment on the rape allegations against him removed?
    It's factual and we'll documented.

Thought all rapists were scumbags around here?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,829 ✭✭✭Cork Boy 53

Prince Charles is probably thinking "103? Fück."

Sure the Queen won`t be 94 until April. She is only a youngster by comparison.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,927 ✭✭✭Sugarlumps

103, no thanks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 373 ✭✭careless sherpa

A movie icon and lived a great long life, one he certainly didn't wish for Palestinians as he was an ardent supporter of Zionism

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,195 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

Some man for one man. I remember being very entertained as a small boy by his performance as hearty harpooner Ned Land in Disney's 20,000 Leagues Under The Sea. RIP. :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,148 ✭✭✭Salary Negotiator

Last relic of Old Hollywood I'd say...

Olivia de Havilland says hello.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

She's still kicking? Fair play. Another one of the greats from that era.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,419 ✭✭✭corner of hells

Best ever Star Trek captain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,809 ✭✭✭Hector Savage

RIP Kirk Douglas.

I was lucky enough to see a special screening of Paths of Glory in the cinema (for the 1st time too) last year.

Wibbs wrote: »
    She's still kicking? Fair play. Another one of the greats from that era.

Yup, she's 103 as well, as it happens. Beautiful woman back in the day,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,690 ✭✭✭✭Skylinehead

jimgoose wrote: »
    Yup, she's 103 as well, as it happens. Beautiful woman back in the day,

And her cousin made a damn fine wooden plane in the Mosquito :D

Aha! I see what you did there! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,942 ✭✭✭topper75

If he did nothing else, he financed One Flew Over the Cuckoo's Nest and made it happen.

One of the best films of all time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,957 ✭✭✭Dots1982

topper75 wrote: »
    If he did nothing else, he financed One Flew Over the Cuckoo's Nest and made it happen.

One of the best films of all time.

Did he? Thought it was just Michael who produced it but maybe Kirk did aswell.

Edit - yeah I see on google you are correct

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,503 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

A movie icon and lived a great long life, one he certainly didn't wish for Palestinians as he was an ardent supporter of Zionism

PBP voter eh?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,680 ✭✭✭mondeo

Honestly I wouldn't want to live until I am 103. That is some age to be still knocking about. Wow

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,984 ✭✭✭Stovepipe

Mad_maxx wrote: »
    PBP voter eh?

Look up and watch "cast a giant shadow", about the foundation of the State of Israel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,393 ✭✭✭MonkieSocks

Odhinn wrote: »

The Vikings :)

One of my favorite movies as a kid...loved that particular scene above.

RIP Kirk truly a legend of the silver screen

=(:-) Me? I know who I am. I'm a dude playing a dude disguised as another dude (-:)=

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,314 ✭✭✭✭branie2

He was a brilliant actor. RIP. Kirk

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 565 ✭✭✭frosty123

RIP to Kirk and RIP to his legendary willy
    ...he slept with half the women in Hollywood back in the day didn't he??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,570 ✭✭✭vriesmays

Also Norman Lloyd who was in A Walk in the Sun, Spellbound, The Southerner, Saboteur, and Limelight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

kneemos wrote: »
    Why was my comment on the rape allegations against him removed?
    It's factual and we'll documented.

Thought all rapists were scumbags around here?

they're scumbags when its proven, what we have in that case is hearsay